You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 03-10-2005, 07:03 PM   #31
vegabass
BASS ON BOARD!

Originally Posted by NZ
I've affectionally named it poop brown rather than crappachino

In the pictures it looked much whiter than "Poop Brown" or "Crapachino"

what colours were available in the NL range?
Old 03-10-2005, 07:09 PM   #32

its definatley cuppa, i was with him when he picked the seats up...
i have noticed in pics all leather seats look lighter than normal......
Old 03-10-2005, 11:44 PM   #33
vegabass
BASS ON BOARD!

Default Fitting

Will they fit right up to my EL? or will they need mods?
Old 03-10-2005, 11:50 PM   #34
ScoopED
Thumbs up for fossil fuel

Man, that is one nice interior. Keep up the good work, It should turn out to be a sweet cruiser at the end of it.

Persistance is the key.....

Mike

1992 EB Fairmont
351cu in Windsor Roller Cam
Valve Body "Shift Kitted" BTR 4spd Auto
Hi Tek Headers Tri Y
Twin 2.25 into Single 2.5in
17in x 8in BA XR8 Copies
235x45x17 Nankang NSII
Ultra Low King springs
Whiteline 30mm Swaybar
Nolathane box section trailing arms
Slotted DBA front rotors
Yella Terra roller rockers
ScoopED is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-10-2005, 11:57 PM   #35
NZ
~~~

Originally Posted by vegabass
Will they fit right up to my EL? or will they need mods?
Yes, complete bolt in. if the rear side boulsters are from a lwb they wont fit a swb. Youd need to get some swb ones recovered with the lwb material.
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-10-2005, 11:13 AM   #36
vegabass
BASS ON BOARD!

Default Sweet

Sounding good. will the wireing be there for the electric seats? or will i need to get that as well?
Old 12-12-2005, 10:47 AM   #37
NZ
~~~

ANother update. The last 2 weeks has seen the most progress. A month ago i bought an ef wreck from a forum member. It had the cappa interior which is what I needed. Having a donor car is the only way you can really do an interior conversion. I spent a day stripping the ef and drpped its motor/ trans and kframe and front suspension. I did this because I wanted to use its firewall lining mainly, but then further down the track it turned out to be a good move because there was other crap i needed to get out as well. I had to degass the aircon system as well. Naughty naughty but meh.

I then spent another day srtipping the EB of its interior and driveline. I have another windsor which i have bolted heads and extractors on to and i will be putting my manifolds on to it shortly. I have to use the ef k frame to run the rack inoder to run the ef column. no real drama doing that.

I spent another day cleaning up inside the car and engine bay before getting onto putting the ef interior in. I had to weld in the floor panel which I'd previously cut out of a fairlane. That was needed for the front seat mounts and handbrake mount. A 65mm hole had to be made in the side of the drivers footwell to run the NL wiring loom. That proved to be a pita. Dont buy cheap hole saws;). ANother hole (35mm) needed to be made in the floor for the handbrake cable. The dash mounts i had to drill the spotelds and reweld them into the eb. Fitting the dash was straight forward. Its much easier than the ea - ed dash as the wiring looms are 100x tidier and it has proper support for the dash itself. I laid some sound deadning stuff on the floor. its like recycled matarial with a layer if tarry stuff then a nother layer of matarial . its about 10mm thick. I also put in the roof lining. I had bought a bonnet insulation pad but decided to use it on the roof since it was relativly thin and had a preglued side. I also went around al the holes i the body that could let in noise/ dust and filled them with expanding foam where i could and covered them with this sticky rubbery stuff that has a reflective layer on top.

The carpet is brand new genuine which came from trufit carpets in Dandenong. Best $125 I ever spent

And here is my workshop complete with engine crane capable of lifting 2000kg

In the next day I will be putting the driveline back in and welding up an exhaust. For now it'll be a dual 2-1/4 inch system using 2 4l falcon cats and 2 standard mufflers dumping before the diff. This is a temp thing to beable to drive it
Old 12-12-2005, 11:05 AM   #38
DUMTEF

looks awsome karl, its about time you started doing something with one of your cars. you have come a long way since the old yellow ea...
DUMTEF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-12-2005, 11:10 AM   #39
niko
likes falcon's

lookin good mate, wayne's doing similar things to his car, brilliant ideas, and its grouse how most of it bolts up with ease
Old 12-12-2005, 12:35 PM   #40
vegabass
BASS ON BOARD!

Is that normal price for carpet? could i get black to fit for that price? and i did see that it wasnt 2 part!

Very nice job will be sweet when its back on the road!
Old 12-12-2005, 12:37 PM   #41

Awesome stuff karl, the interior simply looks like an EF now!
you wouldn't even know it was your EB if it wasnt for the colour
Old 12-12-2005, 12:41 PM   #42

Sweet Karl, very sweet.

Old 12-12-2005, 12:58 PM   #43
Stevo

Top job there Karl.
p.s., love the cappa :P
Old 12-12-2005, 03:08 PM   #44
Rmyers
Does Steve have a car?

Woah dejavu (spl?) Looking excellent so far Karl, it really is a worthwhile conversion...

"When Chuck Norris jumps into water, he does not get wet, the water gets Chuck Norris..."
Rmyers is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-12-2005, 05:09 PM   #45

looking awesome karl, good job.
Old 12-12-2005, 05:33 PM   #46
efgiar
rofl copter

id love to have the space to do somthin like that, good job mate wen do u expect it to be ready?

thats all
efgiar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-12-2005, 06:59 PM   #47
ilsautomotive
Former E-Series Member

Looking great Karl, keep us posted for sure.
ilsautomotive is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-12-2005, 07:03 PM   #48
neb
hibernating

looking really good karl! nice progress you're making there
neb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-12-2005, 08:12 PM   #49
NZ
~~~

I want to have the diveline back in by wed. Gotta go to geelong on friday night
Old 12-12-2005, 08:56 PM   #50

looks good carl.
Damo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-12-2005, 09:01 PM   #51

looks awesome! Can't wait to see it in the flesh sometime
Old 12-12-2005, 09:36 PM   #52
TUFED6

Love it, would love to do it but dunno if i CBF.

Why does everyone hate cappa? Anything that makes the interior look a bit less grey taxi-spec gets my thumbs-up...!

- John
TUFED6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-12-2005, 09:44 PM   #53
Sundeep

Cappa is sick.

Originally Posted by NZ
didn't mind paying heaps because of their condition.
Yeah, you're not wrong there. The seat I saw on GOR was almost new, they go to crap after like 50,000km.

BTW, aren't the Fairlane rear seat bases longer than sedan ones? You'd lose a bit of leg room because of that but you're probably not concerned about that I guess.

And that last pic....WHAT A MESS!

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-12-2005, 09:48 PM   #54

Originally Posted by Sundeep
BTW, aren't the Fairlane rear seat bases longer than sedan ones? You'd lose a bit of leg room because of that but you're probably not concerned about that I guess.
they arent all that much longer at all really. they're just really a wagon base with a bit of extra padding and leather...
thats why you get the extra legroom with the LWB cars

if the bases were longer they wouldnt latch on the floor:P
Old 12-12-2005, 10:25 PM   #55
InitialD
Low and Loud

Looking good karl ;) did set fire to the underbody of the EB like the NF this time? LMAO j/k

should be great when the car is complete. Good on you for going the extra mile for what you want ;)

1993 Ford Falcon XR6 Poly Green Stationwagon - 4.0 I6, Auto, 3:45LSD, All the usual XR6 Stuff but in a wagon :
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2005, 12:37 AM   #56
Sundeep

Originally Posted by MADNC_8
if the bases were longer they wouldnt latch on the floor
Can't see why not. They can easily change the length of the upper part of the seat base by 100mm and not worry about moving anything at the bottom, and I'm pretty sure that that's what they did.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2005, 05:57 AM   #57
NZ
~~~

the upper part of the seats needs to have the whole mounting points changed over to the swb type. The guy i bought the seats from did this for me. The lower fits well so I just assume that its the same but i haven't actually compared it to one from a swb. The motor is going in today. I had a mate who was going to come out on sunday but he didnt come in the end he polished his car didnt wanna get bugs on it. :togo: To pull the deiveline out I undid the k frame and front suspension and lifted the car off the engine. worked quite well.
Old 13-12-2005, 09:20 AM   #58
banarcus
hmm eyebrows

That will be one very classy EB mate, absolute class. Theres a ford wrecker in Sydney where I bought my 5 speed from and the bloke there did the same to his NA fairlaine. BTW, can you use your V8 loom with the EF-EL one? Do they fit together sort of thing or did you use the whole EEC5 loom, engine and all? I'd love to do this but my wife would get crook on me.
Old 13-12-2005, 10:53 AM   #59
NZ
~~~

its all NL looms.
Old 13-12-2005, 12:11 PM   #60

if you werent so far away karl i'm sure more of us would offer to help :P