View Poll Results: both cars the same, what would you pick?
EL FAIRMONT GHIA 211 63.55%
NL FAIRLANE GHIA 121 36.45%
Voters: 332. You may not vote on this poll

Old 14-02-2005, 07:45 PM   #31
Dez

Originally Posted by Kenaz
EL Ghia has full leather trim standard
did the ghias get the tickford engine ?
Old 14-02-2005, 10:32 PM   #32
lv619

Originally Posted by Dez
did the ghias get the tickford engine ?
Yep, 170kw compared to the NL's 165kw... plus the EL weighs less than the NL (~50kg's).
Old 14-02-2005, 10:37 PM   #33
Dez

w00000000000t that seals the deal for me! EL fairmont Ghia all the way :P
Old 14-02-2005, 11:47 PM   #34
M&Ms

i'd go the Fairmont Ghia... Will be quicker due to the fact it weighs less, and I personally reckon they look better.... Plus i don't like driving O-V-E-R-S-I-Z-E vehicles, but then again, that's just me
Old 15-02-2005, 01:16 AM   #35

Depends if you want a more cruisy vehicle or something slightly more nimble. The extra space would be nice, as well as all the extra gadgets in the Fairlane, but the Fairmont Ghia would be a little more nimble, probably similar in fuel consumption as the Fairmont Ghia has the shorter XR diff and XR motor. Give the Fairlane new suspension, wheels and exhaust and it won't be a grandpa-mobile anymore!
Old 15-02-2005, 12:06 PM   #36
Hawk
I am The Brain!

Without a doubt I would go for the NL Fairlane. One of the few series of cars I actually have experience with (Fairlanes that is) because Dad has them as his work car. The N series were sensational, particularly with the really cool sound system installed. I used to love riding in it (ok, so I wasn't old enough to drive them at that stage...but I could still appreciate them)...the space, the elegance the whole feel of the car was great. They are also IMHO the best looking Fairlanes (/me dons flame-proof suit).

Woohoo 1.6L 1999 Toyota Corolla....feel the power!

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant.
Old 15-02-2005, 12:17 PM   #37

EL here also
06 Turbo Terri AWD 6 sp in Neo with stuff i didnt even need, side steps,15.2 inch roof mounted DVD,Pioneer $tezza,Selby 30/18mm swaybars,debunged,100 cpsi Ballistic cat,Plazmaman under battery Cai injectors 14/lb boost,ZF tuned,Xtreme's magic. :
Old 15-02-2005, 12:45 PM   #38
MotherNatureVer2

The NL for sure ....... nothing wrong with grandpa cars :P

Ive seen a few up here & I can assure you no granpas are driving them :P

They look horn ;)
Old 15-02-2005, 12:56 PM   #39
rag top

NL - black, dumped on it's guts, go the gangsta look!!

EL is just a falcon...
Old 15-02-2005, 01:09 PM   #40
Dez

Originally Posted by '67
EL is just a falcon...

no. its a fairmont ghia, with a tickford engine, full electrics. different body styling cues, leather interior etc etc etc

its not a falcon
Old 15-02-2005, 01:13 PM   #41
rag top

Originally Posted by Dez
no. its a fairmont ghia, with a tickford engine, full electrics. different body styling cues, leather interior etc etc etc

its not a falcon
: Knew someone would bite!!!! :
Old 15-02-2005, 05:07 PM   #42
MR_SIDO
you'd be popular too.....

Fairmont Ghia, Would not want the hassle of changing the rear suspension when the fairlane dropped its airbags.
Old 15-02-2005, 05:08 PM   #43
MrLandau

I would say the NL. The short wheel based cars are nice but the long wheel based cas ooze class - especially with dark tint, dumped down low and decent wheels. Here are a few nice ones
http://groups.msn.com/LandauLTDhaven/shoebox.msnw
But the final choice is yours - drive them and see what you think.
As for the 170kw vs the 165kw - mechanically there is no difference except for the 3.45 lsd the Fairmont Ghia's had and the Fairlanes had as an option. The exhaust sytem supposively made the difference - but that is your first step in making more power from the Windsor anyway.
Legroom in the NL is far better - as is bootspace.
Shane

Growing old is inevitable
:eclipsee_ Growing up is optional :eclipsee_
Old 28-07-2005, 08:59 PM   #44
klawsterfobik
Bad Music and Litre Bikes

Originally Posted by lv619
less grandpa spec, lol.
HEY! thats my grandpa spec car your talking about! im only 20 : But im used to handling oversized things :dr_Evil:
Anyway. Enough reality, back to the topic.
Old 28-07-2005, 10:05 PM   #45
fairmont1998

Go the NL. Can't beat the room inside.

2012 KK Jeep Cherokee Limited CRD - Still going strong
2019 MG ZS Essence
1988 RD Mitsubishi Colt GL - 59kW of Fury
2022 Kia Stinger GT
Old 28-07-2005, 10:52 PM   #46
lv619

Originally Posted by klawsterfobik
HEY! thats my grandpa spec car your talking about! im only 20 : But im used to handling oversized things :dr_Evil:
LMAO, each to their own i guess....

P.S. nice thread mining. :rolleyes:
Old 28-07-2005, 11:01 PM   #47

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Um did the NL have the Tickford motor??

I dont think so...

The EL Fairmont Ghia had the Tickford HP Motor with 164 kw where as the NLFairlane had the standard 157 kw with 357 nm of torque...

The AU had 168 Kw Tickford VCT in both the Fairmont Ghia and the Fairlane Ghia
Old 28-07-2005, 11:28 PM   #48
Pik0

to short
File Type: jpg bad-newbie-bad.jpg (53.5 KB, 48 views)
Coming Soon:
Lowering
Old 29-07-2005, 12:03 AM   #49
347Stroker

I have both LWB and SWB Tickford V8's here, and I gotta say the NL is just the greatest cruising car, and the extra wheelbese sure is fun....especially sideways
Old 29-07-2005, 07:14 AM   #50
NIGHTHAWK
starter motor

Cool

Definitely the EL. more ELegant.
Old 29-07-2005, 08:44 AM   #51
Shonky
my other ride is the bus.

Haha! Dug this one from the depths didn't we?

Go the NL. LWB is smoooooooooth!

+ Lots of Land Rovers

Originally Posted by Sourbastard
Edelbrock.... not Peter Brock. Theres a world of difference. For a start my heads have much less gum tree in them.
Old 29-07-2005, 12:57 PM   #52
FPVWEPN
Team Urinal Cake Racing

even better get a dl!!!! they rock
Old 29-07-2005, 02:20 PM   #53

I reckon they both look great, and are both comfortable cruisers, but I'd go with the Fairmont Ghia because they are easier to accessorise (eg. Tickford Bodykits don't fit Fairlanes). They would also be a bit easier to live with (eg. parking a Fairlane would be a challenge). This is one old topic!

Old 29-07-2005, 06:48 PM   #54
megsy
Undergraduate EB Operator

NL=decades ago is i had to pick the EL
-----------------------
Old 29-07-2005, 06:50 PM   #55
Marlin_Girl
I wish I was a Pursuit...

i would pick the EL... look better IMO and yes... easier to park and accessorise!!

pics of my ute HERE
Old 29-07-2005, 07:46 PM   #56

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

Hard decision that one.

I like both ... probably the EL mont GHIA ... a lot lighter.
But I still like the NL modded nicely
Old 31-07-2005, 12:46 AM   #57
CAMS290
trying to get a leg over

MMMM...NL in Burgundy. Super lows, EL GT wheels, dark tint.....i want one !
Old 23-10-2005, 12:37 PM   #58
JD86
DELANY

id choose the el
Old 23-10-2005, 02:58 PM   #59

EL ghia all the way, Man I love the EL ghia's.
Old 23-10-2005, 07:21 PM   #60
TURBOTAXI
Turbo Falcon Fiend

I went the Fairmont Ghia only because they are rarer.