Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
31-01-2006, 06:47 PM | #31 | ||
i don't want to see a GTHO. Its just bolt on Horsepower and stick on plastic Muscle. Its just not the same IMO. Have you ever seen the KFC ad where they put Cardboard racing gear on a Volvo. Well thats what the GTHO would resemble
31-01-2006, 06:58 PM | #32 | ||
True Australian V8 Grunt
sorry about the specs but thats what I have herd
I might smack my source around abit |
31-01-2006, 07:06 PM | #33 | |||
True Australian V8 Grunt
31-01-2006, 07:18 PM | #34 | |||
formerly xbwgn
31-01-2006, 07:20 PM | #35 | ||
True Australian V8 Grunt
just a question what kw would twin supercharges give on a 290 boss motor
because my source just told me twin. |
31-01-2006, 07:24 PM | #36 | |||
31-01-2006, 07:37 PM | #37 | ||
lol this keeps getting better and better. Yes, FPV are going to engineer a twin supercharged 290 for a limited run when they could pretty much drop a blown US engine straight into the engine bay and make more than enough power.
BTW, my sauce just told me it goes great with sausages in bread. |
31-01-2006, 07:37 PM | #38 | |||
Life begins at 40
There will be a GTHO. FPV will also have customer service and quality paintwork on their bumpers.
Cheers, Muhammed Saeed al-Sahaf Former Iraqi Information Minister
31-01-2006, 07:46 PM | #39 | |||
FPV Territory Turbo FPV Focus (obviously done up version of XR5 Turbo arriving soon) FPV GT-HO FPV GT-HO Ute? (stretching to make the 5 now ;) ) FPV Fiesta? (if the 'XR4' version does get approval for Aus - maybe a version of this) Back on topic - thanks for the info GT-P BOSS, any news is appreciated here by most |
31-01-2006, 07:51 PM | #40 | |||
Good spot GT-P Boss, sounds like you have seen something good.
Actually, I have heard from a reliable source that the GTHO will be released, and it will be done around the time of the new VE commodore. This is going to be done to put the spotlight back on ford when Holden have a new model. Also, there is speculation of a series 2 BF coming out around that same time, with power upgrades to the XR8 and FPV cars. Again, this is being done to combat Holden when they have their new model VE, as well as the fact that Ford are adament they won't be caught napping when the VE spec 6 litre V8 goes on sale. Before you criticise this post, think about what would make good commercial sense to ford oz, bearing in mind that Holden offered a cut price deals on their VZ series when the BF was released. That the Territory is going to be turbo charged is a no brainer, and that Ford would need an event to release it is a no brainer again. The reason why they won't confirm now I hear you ask? Well, who would buy a new Ford when a more powerful version is just around the corner?
31-01-2006, 08:12 PM | #41 | ||
Sierra & GTR killer 1990
I'd say the possiblity would probably be pretty good.
A mate of mine had a call from HSV on Friday saying he was allocated 1 of 50 limited run HSV Coupes that will be priced in the vacinity of $125,000, the unconfirmed rumour is that its a 7 litre 375kw job. So hopefully there will be a HO. |
31-01-2006, 08:16 PM | #42 | |||
Yeah there is a lot to say for boutique cars, they are special, highly regarded and limited production ensures higher resale values. Additionally, they are sold at a whopping great price and generally have higher margins than the other cars in the company's stable. Just nobody mention that to Eunos though OK.
31-01-2006, 08:22 PM | #43 | |||
Oh, and another rumour doing the rounds is that Ford is doing the numbers to import the luxury brand Lincoln, to combat loss of sales from Holden bringing out the cadillac. The reason for reluctance is it would probably eat into the sales of fairlane and ltd (especially LTD). They cost from US$39000 for the base model to US$46000 for the top of the range model. They would most likely be assembled here though, and are powered by the SOHC 4.6 V8 that was available in the Explorer, however are likely to be mated with the new 6 speed auto rather than the current american 4 speed.
31-01-2006, 08:26 PM | #44 | ||
Theres no real point in importing lincoln, the falcons/fairlanes are of probably much higher class then there cars except they have a ford badge. I do see a BF MkII in the wings for a VE arrival.
31-01-2006, 08:28 PM | #45 | ||
Hoon On The Rise
As i have stated before,
Hang back on the tooing and throwing until March. Here is a clue 330
31-01-2006, 08:29 PM | #46 | ||
Is there a possibility of the GT500 being tuned to FPV standards in the wings as well? Just trying to guess what one of the other 3 cars out of FPV would be. And possibly the FPV Galaxie. GT-P BOSS's sighting is rare, we hardly ever heard of someone actually sighting a car that could be a GTHO.
31-01-2006, 08:33 PM | #47 | |||
330kw? I gotta say that 330kw's would be low for a GTHO even if it was a political correctness figure, 350kw's would be appropriate. And im guessing the FPV's this year will have a power upgrade and theres not much room to move if the GTHO had 330kws. Of course you could be talking bout the cubic inch capacity, which i think is also 330. |
31-01-2006, 08:35 PM | #48 | ||||
31-01-2006, 08:37 PM | #49 | |||
Hoon On The Rise
GT-HO phase 4 wasn't allowed to be registered for a reason.......... :
31-01-2006, 08:39 PM | #50 | |||
31-01-2006, 08:51 PM | #51 | ||
They can label any ford with GTHO they want, if it isnt homologated, its not a HO.
31-01-2006, 09:09 PM | #52 | ||
Cobblers!
From what I remember of the Town Car, it was column Shift Auto. If there is one thing about us Aussies, its our love of the standard T-Bar/SSS auto, on the floor, not on the steering column. That has to be the first thing they change about the Town Car.
Secondly, if its Australian assembled, why don't they put the 3v V8 in it. We have the capacity, and it is going infront of the ZF 6 Speed. I agree about the Galaxie, however if FPV get their hands on a Town Car, and put in a 290 Engine, we have a sleeper that is like a Fairlane (not in Technology, but you get the picture). Will FPV do it? NO.
31-01-2006, 09:31 PM | #53 | |||
NO NEED FOR THE WEIRDO TAG |
31-01-2006, 09:33 PM | #54 | |||
beep beep
31-01-2006, 09:59 PM | #55 | |||||
Talk of Holden importing Caddys has been going on for about the last 3 years, it's probably just the pet dream of Mooneys. Yet again, these would cannibalise the already partially acceptable stateman sales, and trying to go against the I250, 3 series or the c class in the mid sizers would be commiting Hara Kiri. Quote:
[quote] Quote:
|||||
31-01-2006, 10:59 PM | #56 | |||
31-01-2006, 11:26 PM | #57 | ||
anyone considered the car may be the next model .the bf is going to be one of the shortist lived models in fords history . the next model comes out next year.
01-02-2006, 12:48 AM | #58 | ||
the next model is not next year. They are still in clay, no working mules... yet... If there is a BF2, then yes, possibly that, but not the all new falc.
01-02-2006, 06:58 AM | #59 | |||
Life's a Gas
01-02-2006, 07:55 AM | #60 | ||||
Problem for Ford is, the LTD hasn't been able to keep on terms with the Caprice since the WH came out, and Ford has been continually outsold in this model ever since. (The AU2/3 LTD of which I have 3 sold only 36 cars) As for the lincolns popularity, well, it has won a couple of the car of the year crowns, and is a well distinguished luxury brand. In the USA, the Cadillac equivalent costs alot more, and to be brutally honest does not have the same appeal as the Holden. Also, Holden has tipped them to be in the 90-100K area as well, pricing them out of the market. According to a feasibility study done by Ford, the Lincolns could be on sale for 70K plus, around the cost of the LTD. Will it eat into Fairlane sales? I don't think so, a luxury car 15K less will always have a solid place in the market, and Fairlane has been fighting back against the statesman. Why bother? Well, Ford have been receiving pressure from various sections of the community for the town car (They have over 45 requests and firm orders for over 100 if available for the vehicle from Hire car companies), and quite frankly Ford have lost sales to car companies like Mercedes Benz and BMW in the Hire Car industry. Analysis has shown that the town cars as limo's are extravagant enough to bring back sales from the germans in this area. Also, if LTD doesn't find a way to significantly differentiate itself from the donor fairlane (Our BA's are basically fairlanes with a V8 and GPS); like the DL did and the AU series did, it risks further plummeting sales, reducing any potential development cost for the newer model. What historically has served Ford well for sales was when the LTD had its own unique shape like in 1976. The lincoln would slot into that space nicely.