You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 15-03-2006, 12:19 AM   #31
EB Pete

Location: Under the bonnet, trying to keep as clean as above!

me mate has a tickford enhanced ef or el fairmont and it beats a vs with pace makers, 2 1/2 and k&n pan filter.
Old 15-03-2006, 01:38 AM   #32
K_Man
Whoa, this is heavy!

Bah, who cares? They're both family barges FFS, take pride in the fact that you have the more solid car with a motor that doesn't mind revving past 3000rpm.
Old 15-03-2006, 02:42 AM   #33
BOOSTDEF
FPV GT Owner!!!

Yeh you will have a VR.... They were the slowest of the V series by far(some torque limiter)... Any others i dunno...

It really does depend on a lot of things though, i mean i beat a VN 5 litre when i was stock, but i always forget to mention the other guy sounded like his car was about to blow up...

Seriously though, if you want a good race againt something you know is faster, pull up beside them at 65-70km/h , and drop it back to 1st gear :P:P

But then race through the yellow and feel half satisfied :P:P
- XB Coupe Project
Old 15-03-2006, 08:16 AM   #34
mr_efxr
Not your average EF Wagon

Honestly, stock for stock (not even) you would make the Commo driver pull over and start crying. I remember, on my stock engine and auto box + full tank of juice + weight of the wagon, I still managed to be 2 car lengths in front of my mates VS V6 Statesman (extractors, 2.5" pipes, SS air induction).

The EF/EL 4.0L I6's s!@t all over the VR/VS Holden V6. Case closed.

The recently SOLD 95 EF Wagon 5spd NA SLEEPER

The Daily cruisers now *95 R33 Skyline GTS-T RB25DET *93 Lexus GS300 2JZ-GTE

Car enthusiasts visit Unique Cars and Parts
Old 15-03-2006, 08:32 AM   #35
DanXR6T
Eat more peanuts....

I could imagine this same thread on a Commo forum with the exact opposite posts....

Formerly owned:
'99 AU Falcon Ute
'88 EA Falcon GL
Old 15-03-2006, 08:36 AM   #36

Originally Posted by Axeman82
I could imagine this same thread on a Commo forum with the exact opposite posts....

Yep. :
Old 15-03-2006, 08:54 AM   #37

Originally Posted by Trouty
Something like that. There was a VS Calais vs EL Ghia comparison in Wheels magazine and I noticed they had very similar 1st gear ratios, despite diffs being 3.08 and 3.45 respectively.
I know this is off topic, but what was the outcome of that comparo?
Or, don't I want to know? :

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 15-03-2006, 09:40 AM   #38
ON_DUBS
[ON DUBS]

theres really not much in it to be worth talking about....

who wants to race stock vehicles??
Old 15-03-2006, 10:09 AM   #39
Bipolar
I'm back. Same car.

Originally Posted by dansedgli
Woohoo! You beat him to 60kms/hr and call it a win???

My sister does that in her barina too :P

My bad. I shouldn't have mentioned a lamearse 5 seconds of entertainment on this thread. I do know he was trying, 'cause he did it another 2 times, the exhaust whaling above all other audible sound.

Won't happen again.
Old 15-03-2006, 10:17 AM   #40
ilsautomotive
Former E-Series Member

Originally Posted by Kenaz
I know this is off topic, but what was the outcome of that comparo?
Or, don't I want to know? :
To be honest I can't remember and the magazine is at my parents' place. I'll look it up.

And a reminder to everyone else that we are only referring to any racing on private roads.
Old 15-03-2006, 12:16 PM   #41
Olympus
Rocket Fuel Anyone?

My stock EL Fairmont is only just quicker than a VT Commy. So I'm sure you'll beat a VR.
Depends who gets the headstart.
Old 15-03-2006, 01:08 PM   #42

I beat a sherpa the other day Because of my glorious victory, I painted another rising sun on the front driver's guard.

My victory list consists of:

KB Laser (auto, but must've had a stally, it was sik)
VH starfire-powered Commodore (my sweetest victory to date, but I don't think my rolling start was cheating)
TWO (yes, two) Sherpas, both manual
And an 80s corvette. Just because it was parked in a caryard doesn't mean it wasn't racing! It was near the lights... And it had stickers too, albeit "For Sale" stickers
Old 15-03-2006, 01:19 PM   #43
AdzT3-146

lol @ dave. :
T3 TE50 #146

Id rather date a goat with syphilous then drive a maloo.
Old 15-03-2006, 01:20 PM   #44
Supa R00
Rolling on Simmons...

Originally Posted by Ghia5L
I beat a sherpa the other day Because of my glorious victory, I painted another rising sun on the front driver's guard.

My victory list consists of:

KB Laser (auto, but must've had a stally, it was sik)
VH starfire-powered Commodore (my sweetest victory to date, but I don't think my rolling start was cheating)
TWO (yes, two) Sherpas, both manual
And an 80s corvette. Just because it was parked in a caryard doesn't mean it wasn't racing! It was near the lights... And it had stickers too, albeit "For Sale" stickers
Bahahahah!!!! : thats some funny ИИИИ!!!
5Spd, Simmons FR17"s, SupaLow's, Sprint Bodykit,
Cam, exhaust and all that jazz... Complete AU XR6 conversion and soon to be turbo!
:voldar02:

Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
When has any XR6 after the ED, prior to the XR6T been anywhere near being a performance car, or much more of a car than a stock taxi spec Gli?
Old 15-03-2006, 01:37 PM   #45

I could take you down in a Sherpa anyday!
Old 15-03-2006, 02:34 PM   #46
CaRtZ
Aspiring mr efxr

Thumbs up

my ef wagon has only been beaten by a vz commodore and a single turbo toyota supra. however it will take out any vt at the lights on a friday night. i wouldn't be worried!
Old 15-03-2006, 04:05 PM   #47

Originally Posted by Psycho Chicken
Well it all comes down to driver skill. If you got the correct reaction time at the lights, and less than 10m^3 of burnout smoke at the lights (on a public road, coz we all know that <10m^3 of smoke is legal and in fact the cops encourage it), and time your launch with the electric supercharger whine, then you should beat me down the 1/4 universe. Due to fuel consumption (or lack of).

I might have a slight edge until i run out of fuel, but that in no way means you're doing a "loser flyby".

So I'll pass the laurels of victory to you, my good Sir!
Old 15-03-2006, 04:10 PM   #48

Then again a firearm will do this effectively.

How about that pink bike eh...

Old 15-03-2006, 04:23 PM   #49

There's a photo that will never disappear!
Old 15-03-2006, 04:56 PM   #50

Even that bike would of chomped a Sherpa. In all it's two flat tyred glory.
Old 15-03-2006, 05:44 PM   #51

Oh Dave, for the record.

I'd rather be photographed riding a pink bike than James' dad.

Does this make you the FILFhunter? DILFhunter?

PS; get socks without holes in them you bum!
Old 15-03-2006, 05:49 PM   #52
montyv8
Turbo Dinosaur FTMFW

hehehe.......
Old 15-03-2006, 06:23 PM   #53
eb91xr6
V8 Ute V8 Boat

we don't race on public roads, do we??

no, didn't think so....
125 Thumpster 2010
Swag
All set for the weekend

Last edited by montyv8; 15-03-2006 at 08:24 PM.
Old 15-03-2006, 07:49 PM   #54

urrrrghhh my liver

Old 15-03-2006, 08:21 PM   #55
efgiar
rofl copter

from my experience, stock EF ghia, against a stock vt exec = i win. commodores have more tourqe but less power, thats what keep them up with the falcon.

thats all
Old 15-03-2006, 09:55 PM   #56

OK you win Robbo : :hihi:

But at least I kissed his Hott m0m! :
Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
urrrrghhh my liver
And I think that's what James' dad said when he lifted me!

Hey James, at least me & your old boy didn't play "chess"
Old 15-03-2006, 10:59 PM   #57
moody

Originally Posted by efgiar
from my experience, stock EF ghia, against a stock vt exec = i win. commodores have more tourqe but less power, thats what keep them up with the falcon.

???? since wen?
they rev like ИИИИ to 6000 to get there peak torque wen ford gets the same at 4-5000
Old 15-03-2006, 11:07 PM   #58
DanXR6T
Eat more peanuts....

I've driven a few VR/VS's and they don't like revving to 6000rpm at all....

It's all in the gear ratios, Commodores have a quicker 1st gear, simple. Thats how 4cyl cars can jump off the line quick cos they have the appropriate final and 1st gear ratios.

Falcons have much slower gearing in 1st gear. Auto that is.

Dan.

Formerly owned:
'99 AU Falcon Ute
'88 EA Falcon GL
Old 15-03-2006, 11:48 PM   #59
HOON69

EF should win if my stock ea wagon OWNS a stocko VS i dont see why not
Old 16-03-2006, 08:15 AM   #60

Originally Posted by efgiar
commodores have more tourqe but less power
Hahaha :

Have you ever driven a V6 Commodore? A VS has something like 305Nm and a EF has about 357Nm. Trust me, I've driven a few (and owned one) and torque is something they are lacking.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.