You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 21-05-2006, 07:45 PM   #31
santoitaliano
BF F6, APV SR3900

Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
Log the KM's. Not much more you can do

you can also quit being a b1tch.. just relax niko! write down kays and just deal with it.. chances are once they start repairs it will barely be moved... sooner than you know it, it will be back in your arms..

White APV SR3900 [WIZZRD] (Click Here) [/COLOR]

Daily:
2006 Red BF F6 Typhoon
Bluepower enhanced.
santoitaliano is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2006, 07:50 AM   #32

Wtiting down the odometer reading is wasting your time. The car can still be free revved and short road thrashed.

I'd immoblise it completely, they do not need to start it. It can be pushed.

This is what I do.

I don't want to see the LTDHO fly past me...
I have heard it happening...

Last edited by LTDHO; 22-05-2006 at 08:00 AM.
Old 22-05-2006, 07:58 AM   #33
Simmo
White Lightning

why is everyone calling paranoid? i bet if someone random wanted to drive your cars you'd be up in arms. every single person here should know what it feels like to love your car to the point of obsession. otherwise why do you care enough to post on this forum everyday.
Simmo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2006, 08:44 AM   #34
XR8Chic
I swear its all stock!!

I dont think you are being paranoid.

I took my car to get a wheel alignment once, and WHILE I WAS THERE they took it for a "road test" and proceded to do a VERY LONG burnout.

Another time - I dropped my car off at Midas to get something done (I knew the guy), and when I went to pick it up at the end of the day - nothing had been done except using up all my fuel. (I never took notice of the KM before I left it there)

Leave minimal fuel in the car, take note of the km, and tell them your insurance wont cover unnamed drivers.

1993 ED XR8
2006 BF GT
2011 FG XR6 Ute Limited Edition
XR8Chic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2006, 09:13 AM   #35
crannersEL

Niko, take all you $$ items out of the car or lock them in your glovebox, and make sure you only give them the actual car key not the glovebox one also. As mentioned above log the K's at the time of drop off and leave the car at the workshop with minimal fuel. If the cars getting pannel beated i don't think they are going to take it out for a test run would they?

Good luck mate, hopefully all goes well
crannersEL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2006, 09:50 AM   #36

Originally Posted by Simmo
i bet if someone random wanted to drive your cars you'd be up in arms.
Actually I've been known to let pretty much anyone drive my car.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 22-05-2006, 12:14 PM   #37
eed-250

why is everyone calling paranoid? i bet if someone random wanted to drive your cars you'd be up in arms. every single person here should know what it feels like to love your car to the point of obsession. otherwise why do you care enough to post on this forum everyday.
agreed mate.

I can understand why you are paranoid. I wouldn't want some apprentice thrashing the out of my car up the road. It happens everywhere.... mechanics, panel beaters, you name it. I have mates in all these industries and they brag how they thrash the customers car.. One mate works at Holden, "yeah i took this VU ute for a 'test drive' after a major service, it had an exhaust and edit and it went like !! did burnouts so easy"... I used to work in Parts at a nissan dealership and i used to watch all the mechanics thrash the cars... even Hyundai GETZ's.. you would see one driving a getz out the shop for a test run and limiter first dump second and screech the tyres.. yeah and i remember one time we got a 200sx in with drift setup and it was raining i swear he did the longest test run ive seen.

I was lucky when my car went into the panelshop it had a ed coil so no one touched it hehe. Just wrtie down the km's and leave em with the fuel light on. Make sure you take all valuables out aswell..
520rwhp
eed-250 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2006, 05:12 PM   #38
Sundeep

thats why i usually avoid it, but i cant this time
This thread is going where? All the suggestions have been given no need to drag it out.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2006, 05:50 PM   #39
niko
likes falcon's

sorry mr backyard repairer:P (nothing wrong wiht that) atleast you know what the cars gonna cop, and atleast its from you not from someone else! lol
Old 22-05-2006, 06:42 PM   #40
pauly85
commodore bogan

where is it getting repaired? and whats getting done to it?

i work in a panel shop and i gotta tell ya it is an absolute pain in the *** when u have to push the friggen thing around the whole time its there, and in some cases the car does have to be driven, depending on how hard the hit was, it may need a wheel alignment, or new exhaust, and an insurance company is not going to pay for a tow truck when then car can be driven

we dont take any car outside of the premises unless it has to, sometimes u need to drop the customer back home in their own car, and when the repair is done u need to go and deliver the car to them

if the car is thrashed around or what ever then u will no and u can make a complaint...but in my experience u can usually tell the places that do the dodgy stuff just by looking at the shop and talking to the owner
pauly85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2006, 11:12 PM   #41
sphell

just take a pic of the odometer before it goes in. Then at least you have some proof if it comes back to you with an extra 100ks on the clock. I seriously wouldn't worry about it man, if you start leaving Post-It notes around with the km's on them they are gonna think your a ****er and will probably make it their business to do stupid sh1t to your car.
sphell is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2006, 11:36 PM   #42
F6 Turbo

Originally Posted by sphell
just take a pic of the odometer before it goes in. Then at least you have some proof if it comes back to you with an extra 100ks on the clock. I seriously wouldn't worry about it man, if you start leaving Post-It notes around with the km's on them they are gonna think your a ****er and will probably make it their business to do stupid sh1t to your car.
Exactly. Don't pre-determine their intentions to mis-treat your car, and they won't.
Old 23-05-2006, 12:04 AM   #43

Damo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 01:03 AM   #44
PetesEBII
Formerly PetesEB

hmmm i left my car for a spray 2 weeks ago with a 1/4 tank and when i got it back it was in the red and the light was on. Their lot was pretty small. They would have had to have left it idling for about 2 hours or gone to the shops for milk and smokes a few times to use up the fuel. Or were they drying the paint by takin it for a spin....??!?!?
I am skeptical of some of these places.
I work in a strip of shops, bridgestone just up the street. I always see their bloke "testing tyres" down the service road. And i tell ya i wouldn;t want him testing my tyres or brakes. I didn;t know you had to accelate and spin tryres to test brakes...did you ?
Not happy !!
Old 23-05-2006, 04:04 PM   #45
niko
likes falcon's

damo, sunny mentions above that this thread has dragged on, even though its in general discussion. However people have continued and told some stories with plenty of recomendations aswell, what kind of contribution is a bunch of full stops.
Old 23-05-2006, 04:06 PM   #46
F6 Turbo

niko, damo just likes to drink alot. Some would call him an alcoholic.
Old 23-05-2006, 04:15 PM   #47

I feel your paranoia

Im well aware that my car will probly be taken down the road WOT as soon as its been reparied/wateva is getting done......its not a nice feeling..

with regards to pushing it HAHAHAHA yeah right mate....and end up with a dented bonnet like when mine came back from a "reputable" workshop
Old 23-05-2006, 04:34 PM   #48
nicko_bud

Couldnt agree with you more Simmo

when my corona was in getting repaired i got it back and it had an extra 300k's on the clock... i was not happy

The new toyotas have a kewl key thingo.. i was driving my aunties avalon in melbourne and the car went for like 10mins then stopped.. i rang my auntie in a panic and she said i used the service key.. apparantely it stop the engine after 10 min or a certain amont of kays..

not that that helps ur situation niko:P
nicko_bud is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 04:52 PM   #49
klawsterfobik
Bad Music and Litre Bikes

reset the trip computer, and the average L/100k and keep it on that setting so they know that your going to look at it.

when i had mine panel beaten i didnt take notes or anything because i wanted it done asap, but i did tell the workshop owner that it was NOT to be driven by anyone except himself or my friend who worked there. and it wasnt.
Anyway. Enough reality, back to the topic.
klawsterfobik is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 04:57 PM   #50

Originally Posted by klawsterfobik
reset the trip computer, and the average L/100k and keep it on that setting so they know that your going to look at it.
Problem with this is, firing up the car and moving it ~10m in a workshop when the trip computer is reset, and it's L/100km reading will skyrocket.

Oh, driving home from uni today, I came over a hill in the outskirts of town and there was an electric blue XY GT replica on the side of the road (and kinda on an angle :P) with three apprentice mechanics checking out the diff. The roads here were wet today... I wonder what they got up to :P
Old 23-05-2006, 05:25 PM   #51
Blue Ice
Living the Dream

Originally Posted by Ghia5L
Problem with this is, firing up the car and moving it ~10m in a workshop when the trip computer is reset, and it's L/100km reading will skyrocket.

Oh, driving home from uni today, I came over a hill in the outskirts of town and there was an electric blue XY GT replica on the side of the road (and kinda on an angle :P) with three apprentice mechanics checking out the diff. The roads here were wet today... I wonder what they got up to :P
Hey i know that car. Im a ex Gippy Group apprentice and that was in the mechanics shed for ages. Got towed out to Yinnar or something last week, according to a 2nd year that was there.
Blue Ice is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 05:51 PM   #52
STOKEB
NOS Induction pssssshhhhh

Easy fix Niko remove the ECU hen they cant start it....
STOKEB - 3:7 diff gears, 3inch zorst, JMM Race Series Extractors, Custom Bottom end to suit N20, AU DEV 6 Head and Cam, Cold Air Intake, ED XR6 Manual Computer with Flash Tunner, ED XR6 Fuel reg, C10 Auto, 2800stall .
---------------------------------------------------
I LiVe My LiFe A bOtTlE aT a TiMe, FoR tHoSe 200 sQuIrTs I fEeL fReE.........pssssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhh
STOKEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 06:48 PM   #53

Originally Posted by Blue Ice
Hey i know that car. Im a ex Gippy Group apprentice and that was in the mechanics shed for ages. Got towed out to Yinnar or something last week, according to a 2nd year that was there.
Yeah?

Whats its driveline/engine setup? I noticed it was on gas, but that was about it...
Old 23-05-2006, 06:52 PM   #54
Blue Ice
Living the Dream

Originally Posted by Ghia5L
Yeah?

Whats its driveline/engine setup? I noticed it was on gas, but that was about it...

Not sure sorry, I was in the boilermakers shop. One of my intake mates owns it, it was sitting there for over 8 months after being resprayed. Apparently the guy took it to fit up the gearbox and got the instructor to do it, who ended stuffing it up. Thats why it got towed out of there. Couldnt drive it.
Blue Ice is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 07:07 PM   #55
NA XR6
!!

You are kidding what do you think is going to happen
Maybe they can push it around just for you :baby bott
NA XR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 07:19 PM   #56
santoitaliano
BF F6, APV SR3900

set up a tent and spend the next week there... just eat and sleep there :P

White APV SR3900 [WIZZRD] (Click Here) [/COLOR]

Daily:
2006 Red BF F6 Typhoon
Bluepower enhanced.
santoitaliano is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 07:26 PM   #57
NA XR6
!!

Originally Posted by santoitaliano
set up a tent and spend the next week there... just eat and sleep there :P
Or better still sleep in it while they repair it
NA XR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 07:44 PM   #58
niko
likes falcon's

Originally Posted by NA XR6
Or better still sleep in it while they repair it

hehe these are great guys...after a busy days work, this is quite amusing
Old 23-05-2006, 08:37 PM   #59
Sundeep

Fix it yourself Niko man, your car is too good for panel shops.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2006, 09:03 PM   #60

Originally Posted by Blue Ice
Not sure sorry, I was in the boilermakers shop. One of my intake mates owns it, it was sitting there for over 8 months after being resprayed. Apparently the guy took it to fit up the gearbox and got the instructor to do it, who ended stuffing it up. Thats why it got towed out of there. Couldnt drive it.
Looks like they must've gotten it temporarily working again!