Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
06-09-2007, 09:15 PM | #31 | ||
LOW AND SLOW
Whats the big deal. The comedians only wanted to see the Leading Clown of the APEC Circus. Yes its sad that so much tax payers money has been spent on security but it also shows that no matter how much is spent it is not fool proof. Lets see what happens on Saturday. :
06-09-2007, 09:17 PM | #32 | ||
Complete ****** n bogan
Legends, take a joke people, they knew the risks involved.
06-09-2007, 09:23 PM | #33 | |||
Good to see Ayres Rock has been renamed and you are proud to be an aussie!!! | [/url] |
'73 Landau - 10.82 @ 131mph '11 FG GT335 - 12.43 @ 116mph '95 XG ute - 3 minutes, 21.14 @ 64mph 101,436 MEMBERS ......... 101,436 OPINIONS ..... What could possibly go wrong! Clevo Mafia [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] |
06-09-2007, 09:31 PM | #34 | |||
listen,noone was hurt,noone except the idiots not doing their job are arking up and rightfully so,160million dollars and this is what they call "the no go zone" they shouldnt of made it past the first check point let along the 2nd etc if ya'll gunna whinge about a bunch of low grade comedians taking the p1ss outta national security then you need to get hobbies and stop watching so much BS news updates etc besides this one event theres been no real security breaches and we needed 5klms of fences hundreds of police officers doing 24/7 security and hundreds of secret service men patrolling pointing guns at everything that moves should be more upset that 160 million dollars of tax payers money could of been spent in so many ways yet they spent it on security that couldnt hold a bunch of comedians out. be angry at the goverment not the comedians : |
06-09-2007, 09:34 PM | #35 | ||
We've had APEC in Auckland before, and the same fuss was made over the sercurity and money, although it was in the pre 9-11 days with Clinton.
Can someone please explain why this event can't be held in some secret, central locaton? It is not open to the public, it is not a public affair. Hell, from what I've seen in the news, the public can't get within a mile of anything to do with APEC. When it was in NZ, they closed the sodding motorway whilst Clinton and his 10 car motorcade made it's way around Auckland. I'm sure they do some good things at this meeting, and thats essentially all it is; a meeting. But why spend $160 Million of Australian taxpayers money on the sercurity alone? (I think thats what I heard on the tele). Surely that money could be better spent somewhere else. It just makes no sense to me. And those 'Chaser' blokes are legends, apparently they only got caught when Osama decided to get out of the car and make himself seen, seems like they could've got much closer. |
06-09-2007, 09:38 PM | #36 | |||
Weezland
I had to re arrange my work around this circus,g dubya's schedule is no more important than mine,not to me anyway. And on another note,theres no one out there trying to kill me,I wonder why? |
06-09-2007, 09:42 PM | #37 | ||||
06-09-2007, 10:02 PM | #38 | |||
'73 Landau - 10.82 @ 131mph '11 FG GT335 - 12.43 @ 116mph '95 XG ute - 3 minutes, 21.14 @ 64mph 101,436 MEMBERS ......... 101,436 OPINIONS ..... What could possibly go wrong! Clevo Mafia [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] |
06-09-2007, 10:09 PM | #39 | ||
1967 XR Falcon
Good on them.
06-09-2007, 11:21 PM | #40 | |||
Congrats to the chaser guys - highlighting gaping security holes - image if they weren't friendly ABC crew and were terrorists instead... From what I can imagine as well - The Chaser didn't force entry into the restricted area, they were simply allowed access. They weren't there to commit any malicious acts either. |
06-09-2007, 11:43 PM | #41 | |||
I can't believe people actually go against the chasers here.
I'm sure ALL of the people involved were clued in on the risks, not just the famous faces. The fact that they spent a supposed $160 mil and a comedy team was able to get to the same building that the president of US is staying in demonstrates how ridiculous it is. Imagine if it was a proper organised terrorist group, i'm sure they could get further. It wasn't JUST for a laugh, they opened some eyes as well.
06-09-2007, 11:58 PM | #42 | |||
So long as nothing goes wrong - all he did was break a law and proove how poor the cops are at enforcing the speed limit in all school zones accross the country. So long as nothing goes wrong... What they did was stupid. Ok, they prooved a point - but if they got shot, I wouldn't even blink. A guy even dressed up as Bin Laden - I mean come on! They were idiots and would have deserved it in that situation and I would have only felt sorry for the family (of both sides - law enforcement and themselves) for what these tools could have put them through. What next - try to take a "fake bomb" on to an airline? There are limits, esspecially with something this serious. They were lucky that all they got out of it was a lame laugh and I'm sure a lot of stupid looks. I'm sorry, but I just don't see what is "funny" about that stunt. Last edited by Deadman; 07-09-2007 at 12:03 AM. |
07-09-2007, 12:04 AM | #43 | ||
Passionate Ford XD XE nut
guys just watched it on lateline nine news, im really shocked they nearly pulled it off.
my two bobs worth. |
07-09-2007, 12:34 AM | #44 | ||
Costs 24 million a day in security for this APEC thing, right off the scale. Good old tax payer, hard at it again.
There was a fair risk of one of the Chaser dudes getting picked off by a sniper,lol at the thought. |
07-09-2007, 01:42 AM | #45 | ||
All these elected big nobs are "freely" elected in their countries, and yet when they are out inthe open they need blocked cities and fences, exclusion zones, divers, boats snippers, bombscuads and all the fruit of security to keep them "SAFE"
One has to have a rethink who represents who in my little book!
07-09-2007, 07:30 AM | #46 | ||||
CL&JW BATHURST CHAMPS!
07-09-2007, 07:51 AM | #47 | |||||
Boss 290 BA GT Goodness
I think it's a funny show, but this was a stupid stunt that could have gotten someone hurt, or killed. Tensions are running high and security teams are expected to respond swiftly to anything in whatever manner appropriate.
07-09-2007, 08:00 AM | #48 | |||
DJR Fan
Nice work The Chaser
07-09-2007, 08:26 AM | #49 | ||
http://youtube.com/watch?v=xGK5KgaT1...elated&search=
this one actually shows what they were doing if they did it in America i reckon they would have been shot! |
07-09-2007, 08:35 AM | #50 | ||
I reckon Chasers War on everything is a top show and they do some great sketches, but this one wasn't that humorous to me. I may have to wait until they have edited it etc
07-09-2007, 08:37 AM | #51 | ||
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○ ○○○○○
They are a bunch of tossers, plain and simple.
07-09-2007, 09:22 AM | #52 | ||
Funnily enough a White house Spokesperson deemed their actions as utterly hilarious
07-09-2007, 09:41 AM | #53 | ||
Budget Racer
Go the Chaser!!!!
Making our leaders look foolish using taxpayers money People often find The Chasers stunts uncomfortable and not funny, that's the idea. They are pushing the limits every show. The "facts" of this will not come out until there is a court case. BUT.... The passes they used said, "this is a fake pass, we are from the Chases War on Everything". They (the chaser team) never attempted to get into the secure zone. When they got close they turned around to come back, that's when they got grabbed. The issue is it showed the security to be lacking. The charges will be dropped once APEC is over IMHO
07-09-2007, 09:56 AM | #54 | |||
"the greatest trick the devil pulled, is convincing the world he doesn't exist" 2022 Mazda CX5 GTSP Turbo 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 1967 XR FALCON 500 Cars previously owned: 2021 Subaru Outback Sport 2018 Subaru XV-S 2012 Subaru Forester X 2007 Subaru Liberty GT 2001 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura 2001 Subaru GX wagon 1991 EB XR8 1977 XC Fairmont 1990 EA S Pak 1984 XE S Pak 1982 ZJ Fairlane 1983 XE Fairmont 1989 EA Falcon 1984 Datsun Bluebird Wagon 1975 Honda Civic |
07-09-2007, 09:58 AM | #55 | |||
"the greatest trick the devil pulled, is convincing the world he doesn't exist" 2022 Mazda CX5 GTSP Turbo 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 1967 XR FALCON 500 Cars previously owned: 2021 Subaru Outback Sport 2018 Subaru XV-S 2012 Subaru Forester X 2007 Subaru Liberty GT 2001 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura 2001 Subaru GX wagon 1991 EB XR8 1977 XC Fairmont 1990 EA S Pak 1984 XE S Pak 1982 ZJ Fairlane 1983 XE Fairmont 1989 EA Falcon 1984 Datsun Bluebird Wagon 1975 Honda Civic |
07-09-2007, 10:05 AM | #56 | |||
The Chaser team will be heavily cautioned from this, but I don't think anything serious will come out of it. As some people said, they probably are tossers but I would rather have genuine tossers than the fake tossers we see on absolute diarrhea television such as Big Brother, Australian Idol, Neighbours and Home and Away. In fact, those four shows are bad, the brown substance is all over the wall...I cannot emphasise how much I hate that crap... Chasers suits a purpose in that it states some truth, and distorts other things. They're the first in a little while to actually show what TT and ACA are about....crap and sensationalism.
07-09-2007, 10:12 AM | #57 | |||
IMHO The APEC 1st gate security prevention was exposed, plain and simple. Who ever was manning that post should be the one who should be questioned. The chaser boys knew the risks otherwise they wouldnt have attempted such a display. To me, these ABC boys tried their luck and frankly got in further than they had imagined. As a consequence of their actions they got to accept the charges laid, and they are lucky to still be alive.
07-09-2007, 10:16 AM | #58 | |||
I look at things diplomatically. Plus its friday.
07-09-2007, 10:17 AM | #59 | ||
I guess some of those police will be on school parking patrol next week ???
When they where cought out it was funny the spin the heavy weights put on it....
Real cars are not driven by front wheels,real cars lift them!!... BABYS ARE BOTTLE FED, REAL MEN GET BLOWN. Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! Dart 330ci block turbo black pearl EBXR8 482 rwkw.. Daily driver GTE FG.. Projects http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=107711 http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...8+turbo&page=4 |
07-09-2007, 10:21 AM | #60 | ||
tools!
Same they weren't shot.
1992 DC LTDHO 360rwkw built by me Tuned by CVE Performance Going of the rails on a crazy train Other cars include Dynamic ED Sprint, Dynamic DL LTD, Sparkling Burgundy DL LTD, Yellow, Red & Blue XB sedan & Black XB Coupe