Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
#31 | ||
The Bill Bourke factory order XW was for sale in Unique cars approx 10 years ago. From memory I think it was for sale somewhere around the $40,000 mark (I could be wrong it was a long time ago) and had factory sunroof, power windows and a 428 cobra jet motor. I will try and find the mag, as I tend to hoard things like that.
Cheers Matt |
#32 | ||
![]() Join Date: Dec 2004
Cheap...$2.2 million for the only Green Phase 4 ?
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...7&page=1&pp=25 |
#33 | |||
#34 | |||
$500,000 XY PH 111 in 2 years time Pick the investment? Sure the Ferrari would be more fun to drive (for the first 15 minutes) but in the end you need a hell of a lot more money to own one. | [/url] |
'73 Landau - 10.82 @ 131mph '11 FG GT335 - 12.43 @ 116mph '95 XG ute - 3 minutes, 21.14 @ 64mph 101,436 MEMBERS ......... 101,436 OPINIONS ..... What could possibly go wrong! Clevo Mafia [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] |
#35 | ||
Mercury Silver T3
Anyone know if Bowdens has a ph3 in his collection?
#36 | ||
That Bill Bourke car has the best of everything. For starters its an XW (the best loooking GT IMO) and it has a SHAKER as well on the big block, sunroof, air, steer, Mustang seats. I would rather that car than a manual GTHO with no creature comforts, actually I would prefer to drive my GXL. I like the story about how the previous owner traded it in at a Mercedes dealership and no one was too sure what it was.
![]() Ps: Yeah, Bowden has a couple of Phase 3 race cars, Red one and a Wild violet one, at least that I know of. |
#37 | |||
![]() Join Date: Dec 2004
#38 | |||
Mercury Silver T3
#39 | ||
Location: Sitting on the Dunny , Contemplating "What to do Next".
I've just spent a half hour searching and can't find it , can anyone remember listing the Ex -John French Bathurst car (Purple , possibly Wild Violet) being sold abut 6 months ago for $750,000 ? .
Norm
XB Futura 302 , Wife ED Fairmont ,1994 Polynesian Green. Daughter No 1 KJ Laser , Daughter No 2 KH Laser Keeping FORDS in the family (Embarressment :yeees: , Son now has a "Camira" ![]() "Look Right , Look Left , Look Right , BEFORE crossing Roads"
#40 | ||
Dammit danny, what have i been telling you? stop reading the paper and go pull those pinstripes off the XE! :p
i had an argument with a mate about this today, he didnt believe me, and said torries are going for $80,000+ and that they are the greatest aussie muscle car... i wanted to slap him, I guess a P3 will always be out of my league, :(
EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU - 1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps- |
#41 | ||
Hmm... XY GTHO PhaseIII or a brand new Lamborghini Murcielago E-Gear with change left over for an FPV F6 Typhoon auto to daily drive? I'll take the Lambo/FPV combo. At least you can use the damn things, all the time, instead of worrying about your 30-year old ultra-price-inflated muscle car having a fly land on it....
LPG Lovers Association President & Member #1. ![]() ![]() |
#42 | ||
Location: Sitting on the Dunny , Contemplating "What to do Next".
Yeah ,Steffo
I "sort of agree" but if the last few genuine examples aren't kept , in ,let's say 40-50 years the only place you will see these kind of things will be in books . This probably isn't a good example , but Tasmanian tigers were everywhere once , where are they now ? (no offence meant) I know the XW/XY's are "dinosaurs" compared to cars these days , but the guy's (French , Moffat , Gibson , McPhee & Co ) had real gut's to push these car's around the mountain . If the few "Low Mileage" ones aren't kept , they'll just be a memory . Some guy had the $$$$+ and I don't think you'll see it around the streets , so it's going to be a "low mileage car" for a very long time . ALL the other ones will be High mileage / rebuilds or non-original motors . I only hope it will be shown to the public on special occasions . Just my opinion Norm
XB Futura 302 , Wife ED Fairmont ,1994 Polynesian Green. Daughter No 1 KJ Laser , Daughter No 2 KH Laser Keeping FORDS in the family (Embarressment :yeees: , Son now has a "Camira" ![]() "Look Right , Look Left , Look Right , BEFORE crossing Roads"
#43 | |||
dazed&confused
yep everyone needs a work hack ![]()
#44 | ||
A guy up the road from me got offered $500,000 for his at the 2006 AFD, number plates NOFAKE.
#45 | |||
exactly... unfortunately your average person cannot spend 500,000 on a car... however someone who has a collection, well thats a different story!
#46 | ||
The guy who bought this car is the guy who bought the last monaro
#47 | |||
#48 | |||
then top prices cant be to far away for a quality XW XY GT replica. The thing is if you really do love the GT do dont build a replica up for the sake of a restore and sell investment nor do you put them in cotton wool. You drive them regularly....work on them your self.....they become part of you. Its a all bit sad when collectors start paying big bucks for classic cars putting them totaly out of the price range for most people. |
#49 | ||
re
Location: Victoria - where being slow & incompetent is considered being "safe"
In 92 I was looking at buying a rough Torana XU1’s for around $30k. Loved the shape, heritage, etc. Figured that I could sprint it, have it as a daily driver and keep it in the driveway (no garage at the time). Almost bought a GTR based 308 XU2 replica but didn’t like it because it had a sunroof. Instead I bought a little Honda to daily drive/weekend sprints, it’d be worth about $8k now.
It pains me now to see good XU1’s topping $100k these days. An XU1 used to be affordable with a Hemi Cuda as a “one of these days” car, now even the XU1’s are getting in to dream car territory. Limited numbers remaining and baby boomers with plenty of disposable income to splash on the hero cars of their youth are always going to drive up prices. Even though D. Bowden has cautioned that it is a bit of a bubble market at the moment which may need a readjustment, I still think that in 20-30 years time we will look back at today’s prices and say “back in the noughties you could still pick up a P3 Ho for only $300-400k”. Don’t you reckon that the South Africans will take off now in the wake of $40-50k replicas?
Scuderia Rev: Otto the tow pig - 2007 3.0 litre Coupé, vernünftig schnelle aber kein peilstab, Bathurst 2007 und 2010 zwölf Stunde Gewinner Jaffa the angry ant - mid 70's Honda 市民の, 73 と立方インチ LSD Elle "the body" shell - early 70's Datsun フェアレディ coupe. いい体は彼女の内側、内側と土台を待つ |
#50 | ||