You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 26-05-2012, 06:58 PM   #571
au adam

Default Re: Barn Finds Are Still Out There....

$(KGrHqZHJFUE91-s7eVEBPfgRcW01w~~60_12.jpgI rescued this from a farm,its a 68/69 datsun ute believed to one of 20 delivered to Australia.
au adam is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 07:16 PM   #572
I ♥ EDM

Not the most whizz-bang of barnfinds, but my ZL was one. Same with an XF sedan in a barn on my friends property that im interested in. No pics of the XF yet.
SSD-85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 07:49 PM   #573
TC200six

Originally Posted by au adam
Attachment 73242I rescued this from a farm,its a 68/69 datsun ute believed to one of 20 delivered to Australia.
That's a Datsun 1300, I would've thought there would have been more than 20 in Australia though. I remember seeing one in a yard in the township of Forest Hill, not sure if it's still there though.
TC200six is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-05-2012, 11:01 PM   #574
Gspec ZL

get that datto on ozdat!

also believe there was more than 20 though.

78 Datto 200B granny spec
85 Merc 560SEL
Gspec ZL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2012, 06:14 PM   #575
stevz

http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-new...626-20zm3.html
stevz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2012, 06:54 PM   #576

id quite happily pay the 15-20k for that. be interesting to see what the sisters thought it was worth though, maybe theyve flicked through unique cars a few too many times, seen too many monaros and gts gone for silly money in recent times.
Old 26-06-2012, 07:01 PM   #577
ebv8

i'm guessing some will pay $25k
i'd pay $15k straight away if the missus let me

hope they prime the oil pump before they start it, those holden pumps are useless when left for along time
BA GT Mk1 #0009 - Narooma Blue
SY Ghia AWD
Black VZ LX8 Adventra
Holden HX 50th Anniversary
AU Saloon Car racecar
1980 GS1000ST - Wes Cooley Rep
ebv8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2012, 07:03 PM   #578

Very neat old Kingswood that's for sure.
Old 26-06-2012, 07:04 PM   #579
justrod

how about this===============http://smh.drive.com.au/motor-news/not-the-kingswood-20120626-20zm3.html
justrod is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2012, 08:08 PM   #580
Bushbasher
When in doubt, GAS IT!!

Originally Posted by justrod
how about this===============http://smh.drive.com.au/motor-news/not-the-kingswood-20120626-20zm3.html

Glad to see you're paying attention there Rod

HERS- BFIII Wagon Gold, alloys, dual fuel, bullbar, big tow pack, trans cooler, fully rebuilt HD suspension, Clarion, alarmed, full 2 1/2" sports system, mint body

MINE- AUII Forte
Meteorite, dual fuel but otherwise bog stock.

MINE- AUII Fairlane Sportsman Liquid Silver over meteorite,HIDs', Airhog, Eagle Leads, dual fuel, custom rear springs, BA slotted discs + a second one for spares

Bushbasher is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2012, 01:04 PM   #581
supershifty
Missing a sock...

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Dave has been a long time active member on the forums and in particular has been a busy volunteer whenever there are cruises and toys runs etc held in South East Qld. He actively gives up his time and ensures that the events are provided for, be it commun 
Talking Re: Barn Finds Are Still Out There....

Just a bit of humour!

Real friends + great times = sheer bliss!

Considering becoming an organ donor? Click here

QLD Events, Cruises and Get Togethers: Click here

Gain success instantly - lower your standards.

It's not government funded - it's taxpayer funded.

Last edited by supershifty; 23-05-2016 at 02:56 AM.
supershifty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2012, 01:58 PM   #582
te250

Originally Posted by TC200six
That's a Datsun 1300, I would've thought there would have been more than 20 in Australia though. I remember seeing one in a yard in the township of Forest Hill, not sure if it's still there though.
where in forest hill?
te250 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2012, 02:05 PM   #583
Falconxf88

Saw this on a mates Facebook page.

Falconxf88 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2012, 02:12 PM   #584
outside
off in outer space

^^^^^ thats just sad
Old 11-08-2012, 02:18 PM   #585
LG17

Personally I don't see the point of folk having these cars sit in a barn and just deteriorate.
All they're doing is denying others for the sake of a couple of bucks.
Sell them for a reasonable price while they're worth something and not just a pile of rust.
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2012, 02:46 PM   #586
TC200six

Originally Posted by te250
where in forest hill?
Corner of William Street and Walkers Lane. After a quick Google street view search, it looks long gone.
Old 11-08-2012, 03:03 PM   #587

Originally Posted by LG17
Personally I don't see the point of folk having these cars sit in a barn and just deteriorate.
Sell them for a reasonable price while they're worth something and not just a pile of rust.
thats the joy of owning something. the owner can choose to let it sit there and rot, its his/her car after all.
Old 11-08-2012, 03:30 PM   #588
anto
Za Dom spremni

Originally Posted by LG17

some people have sentimental attachment to cars,...may have been his first car, owned since new, inherited ....etc

and i can completely understand that.
AU III XR8 red ute
anto is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2012, 04:06 PM   #589
LG17

Originally Posted by anto
some people have sentimental attachment to cars,...may have been his first car, owned since new, inherited ....etc

and i can completely understand that.
I can understand your point but why keep it to let it rust away?
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2012, 04:35 PM   #590

The year is 1989, 36 Corvette's, one off each model from 1953 to 1989 where offered as first prize in a competition to promote the cable music channel VH1.....That's all 36 as the first prize!!....the story of the vette's goes downhill from there though.....sad

http://nymag.com/nymetro/news/people...igencer/11902/

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/14/au...pagewanted=all

....apparently they are still in a shed (barn) somewhere....

Old 11-08-2012, 04:35 PM   #591
anto
Za Dom spremni

i guess it doesnt matter to them right?there is no logic to it .
I know first hand because my brother did the exact same thing with his 2 owner coupe..near on 20 years sitting and wouldnt sell it because it was his frst car and he couldnt let go of the memories.. its completely rusted out.
AU III XR8 red ute
anto is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2012, 05:43 PM   #592

yep, I reckon in a lot of cases they kid themselves that some day they or someone else will restore it, or they will get to drive it again

esp, for the older gents. It must suck growing old and the car is a link to the past and great memories for many of these barn cars owners
Shonky. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-11-2012, 10:15 AM   #593
staunchxr
STAUNCHXR

When i was a kid i remember being picked up in my dads john goss special coupe was awesome loved it he sold it to a mate all those years ago for $5000 and a couple of years ago he sold his xc gs ute now my dad has a 1982 ford transit van and a 1966 chev impala just sitting on his farm going to waste :( my uncle has a 4 door 1957 chev bel air which is being restored.

More of a paddock find but my mate has a ford capri gt just sitting out in the paddock detoraiting it really has seen better days aswell as an rx2 rotor which is pretty gone but then theres one which is a really nice blue with suede bucket seats and door trims with a 12a it truly is a nice rx2 cappella wish he would sell it.

my other uncle has some kind of monaro maybe ht / hk just sitting in his shed with a 327 in it i think and my aunties ford 500

wish i had the money to buy half of these i no were theres heaps like chargers etc back home in nsw
Old 10-01-2013, 01:09 AM   #594

found an XD sedan, white GL - S pak, 250 + 4 speed . last rego in 1998. looks to be a pretty tidy car (very dusty) its been parked in a ladys garage for many years and is looking for a new home. might have a better look at it and some photos when the owner gets back from holidays.
Old 11-01-2013, 12:53 AM   #595
TC200six

Originally Posted by normxb View Post
Only way anyone will get one is they'll have to like "Buck-shot" in the bum , because he won't sell even one of them .

What a shame. I would definitely take that Customline.
Old 11-01-2013, 01:08 AM   #596
Falconxf88

Dreading the photos that are going to emerge after all these fires.
Falconxf88 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2013, 01:35 PM   #597
zoesgift

unfortunately didnt have a camera yesterday but had a look from about 5m at what looks like a genuine "barn find" but in the western suburbs of little old adelaide! yellow blaze xb coupe,factory 302 rear window louvre(the one that all of us chase for our coupes). car has the "goss" type decal on each quarter panel, looked arrow straight, no wheel arch moulds, and original issue sa number plates with blowden ford along the base of the number plate so obviously a bowden ford car also. no visible rust at all just lots and lots of dust on the roof!
zoesgift is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-01-2013, 10:59 AM   #598
big_landau

Originally Posted by LG17 View Post
I can understand your point but why keep it to let it rust away?
the car actually seems to be in quite good shape body wise.cars in sheds like that dont rust.
big_landau is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-01-2013, 12:55 PM   #599

Originally Posted by nstg8a View Post
thats the joy of owning something. the owner can choose to let it sit there and rot, its his/her car after all.
true - i still have so many of the original pieces of my coupe like the honey comb panel, console etc. they will probably never be re-used, but to me they are like your kids teeth or first photo, first footy jumper etc
i don't want to part with them because they were my babies
for me to consider selling them i would have to be offered so much i would be ripping off the potential buyer - a catch 22. one of us will be ripped, so i will no doubt keep them for all eternity
not really fair if someone needs that one part, but they do have an emotional attachment
hard to believe for some, but after 14 years of dreaming and 25+ years of ownership, they mean something to me

cars in barns and the like are sad, but you have to wonder how many well meaning people make offers so pathetic to the owners, that no one would let the cars go for that price
it takes two to tango, and both the owner and the prospective buyer could give a little, but most buyers seem to want everything for bottom dollar, which offends the person who has owned it for years - and endured either storage fees, an eye sore in his yard, strangers knocking on his door etc. etc.

and of course, many of the door knockers looking to help the owner, by taking the rust bucket off their hands are just looking to off load it for a profit
no doubt many are also hoping to see a classic back on the road, but so many now are caught up with the dollar value that the whole idea of someone offering to buy your car has been tainted by these opportunistic people
Old 28-01-2013, 01:08 PM   #600

Originally Posted by DJR-351 View Post
The year is 1989, 36 Corvette's, one off each model from 1953 to 1989 where offered as first prize in a competition to promote the cable music channel VH1.....That's all 36 as the first prize!!....the story of the vette's goes downhill from there though.....sad

http://nymag.com/nymetro/news/people...igencer/11902/

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/14/au...pagewanted=all

....apparently they are still in a shed (barn) somewhere....
great post
it is sad that they can end up like that, but what could anyone have expected
i know how hard it is to look after 1 car over 25 years with 4 different residences, so giving 1 person 36 cars is seemingly ridiculous to me
i guess the new owner could have sold them, but if vh1 had any common decency, they might have let each car go to a different owner
that way maybe some would have received loving owners from the start and those who didn't really want the car might have on sold it to an owner who deserved it