You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 26-07-2014, 10:57 PM   #6181
demondan

Default Re: Last EVER Falcon Picture & Discussion Thread

it seems the Yanks are in love with our XR8

https://www.facebook.com/FordRacing/timeline
demondan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2014, 11:00 PM   #6182

Originally Posted by demondan View Post

Until they get it, then they find any little thing to complain about.
Not enough blue steel.. Not enough features, Looks out of date....Too expensive.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2014, 11:02 PM   #6183

Originally Posted by BHDOGS View Post
The official statement from ford seems to suggest the xr models will have paddle shifters will they or not i dont want peoples opinons im looking for fact.
That comment never came from Ford, but some gullible journo who has no clue.
Old 26-07-2014, 11:18 PM   #6184
Bobman

'tis a real shame Ford Australia didn't try harder to get the car out there.

This would have been a great replacement not only for the Crown Vic (retired sooner), but a whole range of other boring FWD cars that are bread-and-butter over there.

We'll never know now, but even with quality woes in the B/F series, the build quality is still higher than most American-made cars of recent times.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2014, 11:44 PM   #6185
CyberWasp

Give it one chance in America.
What a joke Ford Nascar is. They have a FWD non V8 car as their representative in the Fusion.
Have the balls to put it on display at their next big automotive show.
CyberWasp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2014, 11:53 PM   #6186
Raysie

Been having a little fun with the XR8 image. Don't know about you guys, but I don't think decals suit the new Falcon at all:

Raysie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2014, 11:55 PM   #6187
Cashie

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Multiple helpful contributions throughout the tech area. 

Originally Posted by Raysie View Post
Been having a little fun with the XR8 image. Don't know about you guys, but I don't think decals suit the new Falcon at all:

That looks the goods.

Past Rides:
2017 Kia Stinger GT
2008 FG XR6 Sedan
2008 FG G6E Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2008 BF XR6 Turbo Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2003 BA XR8 Ute
2003 BA XR6 Sedan
Cashie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 12:20 AM   #6188
hootar

Originally Posted by Cashie View Post
That looks the goods.
I seconded that!

The GTF stripe suits the bonnet bulge I recon!

Last edited by hootar; 27-07-2014 at 12:30 AM.
hootar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 12:29 AM   #6189
Raysie

This is my winner. Nice, clean and tough:

Raysie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 12:34 AM   #6190

Originally Posted by Raysie View Post
This is my winner. Nice, clean and tough:

When you see them together they look nothing alike.
Old 27-07-2014, 12:38 AM   #6191
falcongt4me
TSCoA member Qld

Originally Posted by Falcman0o7 View Post
If the back off it looks like a mondeo i'm gunna spew!

Looks pretty neat so far Alot more aggression than that soggy eyed VF epica lol
Get yourself a bucket handy mate cos if you look at the earlier teaser pics of the rear it will almost certainly look like the rear of the mondeo/Fusion. Its all part of the integration to the Mondeo taking over the void that falcon will leave

2002 AUIII TS50 Liquid Silver #206 (ex NZ)

T-Series Club of Australia member; QLD

falcongt4me is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 01:07 AM   #6192
AUS GRUNT

Yeah, so much so...that they put the XR8 as the main cover picture for their page lol it's a shame 'Ford' USA don't wanna listen, instead they wan't to force their products on us Aussies lol
AUS GRUNT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 01:33 AM   #6193
Cobra
Bear with a sore head

I like that the XR8 is back, and I like it that it will SMASH every HSV ever made besides the supercharged GTS and, perhaps the W427. I can't wait to see it in a darker colour. I'm going to bet that this thing will look AMAZING in the flesh.
Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 01:40 AM   #6194
tut0r

Originally Posted by AUS GRUNT View Post
Yeah, so much so...that they put the XR8 as the main cover picture for their page lol it's a shame 'Ford' USA don't wanna listen, instead they want to force their products on us Aussies lol
Don't think I would call giving us the mustang 'forcing' I'd be happy to own one. But damn wouldn't you just love to buy an xr8 with all the gear then get to take it to America to show them what an aussie RWD is like.

Mods to Date
Ceramic Coated Pacemaker 4495s
2.5" Dual Venom exhaust,
Bluepower CAI
Eaton True Trac with 3.9s
20% Underdrive
EcoLpi Motor

RWKW: 200.0
Nm: 394

Mods to Follow
Supercharger
T56 Conversion TR6060
tut0r is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 01:49 AM   #6195
AUS GRUNT

Originally Posted by tut0r View Post
Don't think I would call giving us the mustang 'forcing' I'd be happy to own one. But damn wouldn't you just love to buy an xr8 with all the gear then get to take it to America to show them what an aussie RWD is like.
Well, as for the mustang...i might like the front and side on look...but thats where it stops, don't like the rear or interior.
Old 27-07-2014, 01:52 AM   #6196
tut0r

Originally Posted by AUS GRUNT View Post
Well, as for the mustang...i might like the front and side on look...but thats where it stops, don't like the rear or interior.
Well that's fair enough, each to their own I suppose. Will be sad in 20 - 30 years when you will just be seeing less and less falcons.

Mods to Date
Ceramic Coated Pacemaker 4495s
2.5" Dual Venom exhaust,
Bluepower CAI
Eaton True Trac with 3.9s
20% Underdrive
EcoLpi Motor

RWKW: 200.0
Nm: 394

Mods to Follow
Supercharger
T56 Conversion TR6060
tut0r is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 01:59 AM   #6197
AUS GRUNT

Originally Posted by tut0r View Post
Well that's fair enough, each to their own I suppose. Will be sad in 20 - 30 years when you will just be seeing less and less falcons.
I guess when the falcons do start getting more and more scarce, they might increase more in value...but have to say, i'm not completely sold on the new falcon yet, but i'll need to see them in the flesh first which i think they will look better...i hope so
Old 27-07-2014, 02:23 AM   #6198
Adamz Ghia

Originally Posted by falcongt4me View Post
Get yourself a bucket handy mate cos if you look at the earlier teaser pics of the rear it will almost certainly look like the rear of the mondeo/Fusion. Its all part of the integration to the Mondeo taking over the void that falcon will leave
I'd say more Jag XF...
Adamz Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 03:28 AM   #6199
falcongt4me
TSCoA member Qld

Originally Posted by Adamz Ghia View Post
I'd say more Jag XF...
True. They didnt appear to taper up as high as yhe mondeos on the teaser pics. So XF style probably more likely. Still similar tho

2002 AUIII TS50 Liquid Silver #206 (ex NZ)

T-Series Club of Australia member; QLD

falcongt4me is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 07:51 AM   #6200

Its just a recent trend or design idea...even the new sti has the same lines at the front in a round a bout way. Every era or period as a a general theme.
Old 27-07-2014, 09:40 AM   #6201
Bonn

So what WOULD happen, if 20,000 yanks put down a deposit for an XR8??????

Jaguar XJ-S: Eaton S/C, I/Cooler, Haltech, DB7 rims, 1:15 Wakefield.

Jaguar XJ6 Wife's daily :2006 Quartz Metallic, FORD Duratec 3.0 V6, ZF 6sp

Previous relationships: FG GT, FG XR8 (+BA XT 5.4, BA AU, EF, EB, EA, EA & XF work cars)
Jags XJ12 & XJ6, BMW E39 Wagon, BMW F11 M-Sport wagon, 20 of GMH FC-HQ
Bonn is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 09:55 AM   #6202
XtRmn8

......those 20000 yanks are probably equivalent to the 200000 aussies who will rave about it on facebook but would never actually walk into a dealership and buy a new $50k car.

The yanks already have a better speced and cheaper VF than what we get here and that is not selling well at all.
Old 27-07-2014, 09:57 AM   #6203

Originally Posted by Bonn View Post
So what WOULD happen, if 20,000 yanks put down a deposit for an XR8??????
They would probably build their own in Mexico, for North America only lol
Old 27-07-2014, 10:00 AM   #6204

Originally Posted by XtRmn8 View Post
......those 20000 yanks are probably equivalent to the 200000 aussies who will rave about it on facebook but would never actually walk into a dealership and buy a new $50k car.

The yanks already have a better speced and cheaper VF than what we get here and that is not selling well at all.
Because the chev ss is 10-15k too expensive in their market, compared to other muscle cars.
Watch what happens after 2017 when they start making their own. Can pretty much guarantee they will drop the price significantly.

Same reason an Australian built falcon can't work there, can't build them cheap enough here to sell them at a competitive price over there.

But an American built, or even Thai built one....
Old 27-07-2014, 10:52 AM   #6205

They're also deliberately limiting supply of the SS.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 27-07-2014, 12:05 PM   #6206
No.6

any ideas on price for the xr8?
No.6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 12:31 PM   #6207

Originally Posted by No.6 View Post
any ideas on price for the xr8?
I reckon 55-60k.
Old 27-07-2014, 01:10 PM   #6208
Falcman0o7

Can anyone chop into a 2 door?
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 01:43 PM   #6209
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
That comment never came from Ford, but some gullible journo who has no clue.
It was Paul Gover, the same guy who broke the embargo last Thursday night
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2014, 01:51 PM   #6210

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6 View Post
It was Paul Gover, the same guy who broke the embargo last Thursday night
So, he sets up the rumour that the next falcon will have fancy-pants technology...then when it doesn't get it, he craps on about it every chance he can get...