Old 08-08-2014, 11:36 PM   #7231
responsef6

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
The XR8 is a bloody ripper. Goes hard.
Have you test driven? How does it compare to fg gt?
Old 08-08-2014, 11:52 PM   #7232

Default Re: Last EVER Falcon Picture & Discussion Thread

I've never driven one so I can't compare, but i'd say it would compare pretty bloody well with an FG R spec.
Old 08-08-2014, 11:59 PM   #7233
Bobman

But is it quicker than an XR6 Turbo?

Wonder if police will go back to the XR8 with this last model.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 12:03 AM   #7234
Sioso
irregular member

Originally Posted by boss engine View Post
that looks really nice...Is there any chance you can get a clearer picture?? i.e. without the glare. CHeers
Its not clearer but doesn't have the glare:

Sioso is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 12:04 AM   #7235
Sioso
irregular member

Originally Posted by bigwil View Post
Any chance of a photo of the front cover
Front cover just has the picture Ford already released of the XR8 from front on.
Sioso is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 12:15 AM   #7236
graphicgoose

Originally Posted by Adrenaline View Post
There seems to be a bit of luck going on with FGs. My XR6T had a fair few warranty claims over 3 years of ownership- diff bushes (every service), failed turbocharger, broken diff cradle, split joiner at throttle body (boost leak), failed tail shaft, failed rear left driveshaft, failed diff, perished front UCA bushes, faulty steering rack, alarm box fell off (lol), condensation seal, broken HIM lever cam, faulty instrument cluster, broken seat base, faulty BEM, sump oil leak, warping brake rotors (constant), faulty window switch, warped glovebox, seat belt retractor failure, noisy fuel pump, rattling door trims (bad plastic welds), faulty belt tensioner, failed power steering pump, faulty external temperature sensor, faulty AIM, iPod connector disintegrated, faulty rear sonar, rattling front wheel arch linings, faulty horn. A lot of the time I just repaired it myself, the apprentices sometimes created more problems than they fixed. Or I'd leave the car at Ford all day only to return and have them say "could not replicate fault".

The XR6 NA which still remains has been the complete opposite on the reliability front, virtually nothing to report in 50,000km. However the XR6 before that was a bit of a dud (I put it down to being an earlier build in the FG run). Last year I said I was more than likely done with Falcons, but I'll probably give the final model a shot.
Reminds me of this poor guy and his Porsche:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-eXUnZrykDY#t=12
graphicgoose is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 12:35 AM   #7237
brismike

Took this pic in Toronto a couple of days ago . . It Is a Chrysler 200 .. from the rear very similar to the new Falcon I think.

Cheers Mike

Wife's - 2018 Peugeot 3008 Gtline, Pearl White - 6 Speed Auto - Fully Optioned.

My Toy - 2014 Smart Fortwo Passion Crystal White, Black Tridion Cell - 5 Speed Auto with Flappy Paddles - Tint - Twin Exhaust

The only good Commodore is the one now very very quickly disappearing in my rear view mirror.
brismike is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 12:40 AM   #7238
superfly
Go the Hogster!

Originally Posted by Professor Farnsworth View Post

I had one that was virtually faultless too. Just because yours is good so far doesn't mean you won't encounter issues. Most new cars will have issues small or large.
It's funny that my first new car I bought in 1989 a Hyundai Excel had very little issues with it. My new 1993 Hyundai Lantra was also ok but my 1994 new Hyundai Sonata had a few little issues like trim replacements.

Then my second hand Subaru Liberty RS had major tappet noise issues. My second hand 99 Subaru WRX (bought at 2 years old and 11K on the clock) had a number of trim issues. Needed new seats, door trims and whole other list of warranty claims such as loose hoses.

My XR50 has also had a few issues. Around 1K, there was a loud rattle behind dash (was rubber surround for A/C pipe had fallen off). For a long time I had front end creaking noise issues (was loose engine mounts). Then another loud front end noise (I think it was a sway bar issue). And currently it's in with Ford to get the ICC checked as it likes to make noises whilst I'm stationary.

But I think the car has been great. If I had the cash, I'd put my money down for a new one in a flash and get rid of the missus WRX. Value for money, the Ford is excellent. It's still my favourite car by far.
Old 09-08-2014, 01:22 AM   #7239

i still think they're great too - took mine for a long drive today and it did really well

good to see you've broken the myth of the XR50 being put together better that some people were suggesting though lol
Professor Farnsworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 02:10 AM   #7240
Hawkeye84

Originally Posted by brismike View Post
Took this pic in Toronto a couple of days ago . . It Is a Chrysler 200 .. from the rear very similar to the new Falcon I think.

Cheers Mike
Im sorry mate, but should have gone to Specsavers.........they look nothing alike
Hawkeye84 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 04:07 AM   #7241
fgpsi

I'm over the cgi. Doesn't do it justice I think
fgpsi is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 08:59 AM   #7242
OLD BALDY

As the EXPERTS said before, They are similar, 2 tail lights, exhaust pipes, glass back window, radio aerial and the list goes on, since all you complainers (smarter than Ford designers) have carried on I have taken more notice of rear ends (not female) around at the moment and in my opion there is none better than the new FALCON!!!
OLD BALDY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 09:41 AM   #7243
XWGT
Powered by Marshall

I'm not convinced on the rear spoiler , it screams VX to me for some reason but I'll wait to see it in the flesh
Old 09-08-2014, 11:18 AM   #7244

Originally Posted by Bobman View Post
But is it quicker than an XR6 Turbo?

Wonder if police will go back to the XR8 with this last model.
Absolutely.

I doubt the police will buy them though as they should be a lot more than an SS or XRT.
Old 09-08-2014, 11:48 AM   #7245
LooLoo18

Originally Posted by superfly View Post
It's funny that my first new car I bought in 1989 a Hyundai Excel had very little issues with it. My new 1993 Hyundai Lantra was also ok but my 1994 new Hyundai Sonata had a few little issues like trim replacements.

Then my second hand Subaru Liberty RS had major tappet noise issues. My second hand 99 Subaru WRX (bought at 2 years old and 11K on the clock) had a number of trim issues. Needed new seats, door trims and whole other list of warranty claims such as loose hoses.

My XR50 has also had a few issues. Around 1K, there was a loud rattle behind dash (was rubber surround for A/C pipe had fallen off). For a long time I had front end creaking noise issues (was loose engine mounts). Then another loud front end noise (I think it was a sway bar issue). And currently it's in with Ford to get the ICC checked as it likes to make noises whilst I'm stationary.

But I think the car has been great. If I had the cash, I'd put my money down for a new one in a flash and get rid of the missus WRX. Value for money, the Ford is excellent. It's still my favourite car by far.
I havent had 1 issue with my XR50 Im on 102,000ks Ive had it since new I am starting to get a little nervous about what Im hearing with the auto's so Im looking at getting an after market heat exchanger in the next week or 2
XE Fairmont Ghia 4.9lt
EF Fairmont
AU Falcon II
BA MKII Fairmont
FG XR6 50TH
Nissan Pulsar (The Wife's)
Ranger Wildtrak Chilli Orange
LooLoo18 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 12:51 PM   #7246

Originally Posted by XWGT View Post
I'm not convinced on the rear spoiler , it screams VX to me for some reason but I'll wait to see it in the flesh
Add to the fact that the rear of the new falcon doesn't need a wing/spoiler. It looks like it was designed with the intentions of not needing a spoiler.
I find these additions ruin the aesthetics of the car.
Old 09-08-2014, 01:02 PM   #7247
usernametaken

spoilers on Aussie cars are so 90's
usernametaken is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 01:05 PM   #7248
Dr Smith

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
Absolutely.

I doubt the police will buy them though as they should be a lot more than an SS or XRT.
Plus Holden will do anything and everything to maintain police sales.
Dr Smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 01:05 PM   #7249
CyberWasp

What is the colour of the XR8 in the magazine? Is it Tangerine Scream
CyberWasp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 01:10 PM   #7250
Dr Smith

Cheers Mike
Not really, but hey look in the background, someone's put Chevvy badges on a Holden Caprice........please note massive scarcasm...
Dr Smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 01:13 PM   #7251
Walt Kowalski
I use brain. Not hip.

So Ford is not releasing a V8 ute because "V8 utes haven't sold well for them over the last few years"

Ford hasn't had a V8 ute to buy for years-ever since they dropped the 5.4 truck engine. FPV is another manufacturer and the FPV GS Coyote has a 1600Kg tow rating so it's useless to many potential buyers like me.

At a time when Holden will make a killing releasing a Supercharged LSA ute to be the fastest of all time Ford decides that they will not offer a V8 ute version. Pure genius. NOT. But very frustrating and typical of the way Ford has been out of touch with the market for years.
Walt Kowalski is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 01:20 PM   #7252
Focused

Cheers Mike
Yep, a chrome strip, red tail lights and two exhaust pipes... Almost identical... ;)
Focused is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 01:24 PM   #7253
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Originally Posted by Walt Kowalski View Post
So Ford is not releasing a V8 ute because "V8 utes haven't sold well for them over the last few years"

Ford hasn't had a V8 ute to buy for years-ever since they dropped the 5.4 truck engine. FPV is another manufacturer and the FPV GS Coyote has a 1600Kg tow rating so it's useless to many potential buyers like me.

At a time when Holden will make a killing releasing a Supercharged LSA ute to be the fastest of all time Ford decides that they will not offer a V8 ute version. Pure genius. NOT. But very frustrating and typical of the way Ford has been out of touch with the market for years.
You contradicted yourself a little. You said FPV was another manufacturer. Well, so is HSV. Holden is NOT releasing this new ute.
1986 XF Fairmont Ghia 4.1L EFI Regency Red, trip computer, venetians - 163Ks
1979 P6 LTD 351, Goldust - 185Ks
1989 Mazda MX5, Red 1.6L, 5sp manual - 102Ks
P6LTD351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 01:28 PM   #7254
Focused

Originally Posted by Walt Kowalski View Post

Ah.... how much are you expecting that the Holden/HSV Ute will be able to tow?

Generally speaking, Ute buyers who want a work horse buy entry level Falcon Utes. Those wanting more of a two-door performance car usually choose the Commodore (IRS and IMO it looks better).
Focused is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 01:46 PM   #7255
#Russ#Es#
Hello Koni's!

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: This member has made a few valuable contributions to the Forum in the Focus section, seems to know exactly what he is talking about with his posts, which are helpful and concise. 

Cheers Mike
Maybe the spec savers guy should go to spec savers, there are many details that are similar.
Lower airbox removed, K&N Panel filter
Momo gear knob + boot + pedals, Ghia boot garnish, Zetec Chrome interior door handles
JVC KW-XR816 Headunit + more to come...

#Russ#Es# is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 02:41 PM   #7256
Fordman1

Originally Posted by #Russ#Es# View Post
Maybe the spec savers guy should go to spec savers, there are many details that are similar.
Too right.

A boot, two tail lights, a chrome strip.

Yeah it's identical.
Fordman1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 03:02 PM   #7257

Originally Posted by CyberWasp View Post
What is the colour of the XR8 in the magazine? Is it Tangerine Scream
No. It's a new gold colour.
Old 09-08-2014, 03:46 PM   #7258
Gadgetman

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6 View Post
They wont shut up shop until there is a replacement for the Territory ready to go. Broadmeadows is now, and has been for a while now, all about the Territory. Its what sells and Falcon is just the bit player now. Territory is worth too much volume for them to not have something like in the range, so until the new Edge or Everest is available, they will still be making cars.
What about when Everest lobs. That's due 4rd qtr 2015? and isnt Mondeo due here 1st qtr 2015? Game over Local production. How the ***** is Falcon gonna sell next to a New Mondeo on the showroom floor in 2015 after all the diehards have bought falcons between november and feb? Game over. If you want one and wait till 2016 to get one, you wont cause they wont be around.
Gadgetman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2014, 04:32 PM   #7259
Walt Kowalski
I use brain. Not hip.

Originally Posted by P6LTD351 View Post
You contradicted yourself a little. You said FPV was another manufacturer. Well, so is HSV. Holden is NOT releasing this new ute.
Yes! You are correct.

OK how about FPV release one last special Ute?
And make it 2300Kgs towing please.
Old 09-08-2014, 04:41 PM   #7260
Walt Kowalski
I use brain. Not hip.

Originally Posted by Focused View Post
Ah.... how much are you expecting that the Holden/HSV Ute will be able to tow?

Generally speaking, Ute buyers who want a work horse buy entry level Falcon Utes. Those wanting more of a two-door performance car usually choose the Commodore (IRS and IMO it looks better).
My frustration with ford must be showing. LOL. Probably only 1600Kgs if that.

There are plenty of buyers who buy performance utes that prefer the Ford because of it's better work tray, tie down system that doesn't buckle under a ratchet strap like the Holdens, cart suspension and towing capacity. Take a look in the paddock at any Circuit race meeting. It has plenty of Ford XR utes, way more than SS and HSV utes. Even when the guys that race an LS engined car. Kinda like boat race meetings. F150 galore but race Chev engined boats.

I've been frustrated with Ford not listening to buyers for years and it probably shows. I'd love a Coyote Ute.