You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Focus

Old 07-05-2013, 07:44 PM   #811
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Default Re: New Focus ST Info thread.

Perfect mate ill check it out now, been cruising with Neal in the past!

New Build Thread! http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11396029

Old BF Falcon Build Thread - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11317452
phil545 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-05-2013, 08:36 PM   #812
p.laver

[QUOTEDo they loosen up a bit and become more forgiving with some 'wear-in' time ?

By the way, the white STs look great to me!

Many thanks.[/QUOTE]

If it helps I'm around 125kgs 6ft 2 tall, the seats are awesome.

We went out for around 3 hour drive from Indented Head down to Lorne on Saturday afternoon and the seats were super comfy.
Old 07-05-2013, 09:46 PM   #813

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always puts a good amount of thought into his posts and voices his ideas and opinions in a well thought out and constructive manner. I have certainly seen many threads where his input has been constructive to the topic and overall the forum has benfited f 

The other half is about 80kg's, he finds the seats a little too snug, I got a few little red marks when I first drove it, but two weeks in and the seats brilliant, then again, I'm only 5 foot tall...so I have some play room in them anyway.

The comment about sitting 'in' the seat as opposed to 'on' the seat is spot on though. We drove to Maryborough last weekend, and it was a comfortable trip...

SEZ213 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-05-2013, 08:26 AM   #814
EB#

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Constant helpful advice and step by step guides in easy to understand format with pictures. 

Originally Posted by phil545 View Post
WOOT WOOT Just put the deposit down on a brand new Frozen White ST :-) very happy with the price $39868 drive away with premo plates, mats and a full tank of fuel, hopefully pick it up next week :-)
Phil, just out of interest is your new ST Focus a '12 or a '13 build date?
EB# is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-05-2013, 09:52 AM   #815
phil545
Hot Hatch!

2013 compliance :-)

Old BF Falcon Build Thread - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11317452
Old 08-05-2013, 02:01 PM   #816
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 

2013 compliance :-)
Compliance date =/= build date
Headlights don't work in your B Series? Here's how to fix it!
martinijosh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-05-2013, 02:58 PM   #817
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Just got the contract through, 1/2/13 build date and comp date of 4/13

Old 08-05-2013, 09:07 PM   #818
MKE13

Going from an AU Series 3 XR8 with a nicely worn in drivers seat to a new Recaro in an ST is different, totally different feel. I am just on 180cm tall and around 100kg at the best of times I think I should bed these seats in nicely....

For anyone in Brisbane I recommend going to see the team at Metro Ford at Newstead, these guys are spot on and the best I have ever dealt with...

T-Minus 2 weeks tomorrow till delivery - Cannot Wait!!!!
MKE13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 10:26 AM   #819
GC1

Pajoda, where did you order the Mount from?
GC1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 01:16 PM   #820
pajoda

I ordered it from Torrie, the same place I bought the SCT device. I recently saw a e-Bay link that was a bit cheaper, you could also check there.

http://www.fastpartsnetwork.com/content/view/40/

Part Number Part Description Quantity Core Price Price Total CM5Z6068A HOUSING 1 $0.00 $55.90 $55.90 Sub Total $55.90 Shipping method - USPS International Shipping $45.00 Handling Fee $4.95 Tax $0.00 Total $105.85
Old 09-05-2013, 03:33 PM   #821
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Sweet! Picking up my brothers on Saturday and mine should be ready week commencing the 20th, it's just getting flown in from Ford still so will be extra fresh :-)

Old 09-05-2013, 03:36 PM   #822

Originally Posted by XRFALCON03 View Post
Going from an AU Series 3 XR8 with a nicely worn in drivers seat to a new Recaro in an ST is different, totally different feel. I am just on 180cm tall and around 100kg at the best of times I think I should bed these seats in nicely....

For anyone in Brisbane I recommend going to see the team at Metro Ford at Newstead, these guys are spot on and the best I have ever dealt with...

T-Minus 2 weeks tomorrow till delivery - Cannot Wait!!!!
Congrats....

So where did the XR8 go?
Old 09-05-2013, 03:39 PM   #823
dps1984

Hey Pajoda, Love the white....I bought my ST back in September and have been thinking about the Efocus RMM since then, did you get a chance to install it yet? any thoughts like pors or cons.....i am also going down the tune path , but for the COBB AP....maybe we can compare ....did you just plug in and drive away??
dps1984 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 03:45 PM   #824
damoose

To DJM and any other current owners of the ST....
I would be grateful for any comments on how the front seats go over the coming months.
ie. Do they loosen up a bit and become more forgiving with some 'wear-in' time ?

By the way, the white STs look great to me!

Many thanks.[/QUOTE]

I initially thought this might be a problem as I am 6ft 1 in and 95 kilo. I am now 6months in 8500 ks on the clock and they are just perfect.
Old 09-05-2013, 04:05 PM   #825
pajoda

Originally Posted by dps1984 View Post
Hey Pajoda, Love the white....I bought my ST back in September and have been thinking about the Efocus RMM since then, did you get a chance to install it yet? any thoughts like pors or cons.....i am also going down the tune path , but for the COBB AP....maybe we can compare ....did you just plug in and drive away??
Haven't had a chance to install it yet, hopefully I will get over to the fathers for the use of his ramps next week. Happy to let you know what difference it makes. I have had nothing but good from the tune, I am happy with unleashed but I am sure Cobb are good too. To load the tune you just need to connect your device and upload the new file, takes about 5 minutes initially, and subsequent one later seem to be quicker.

Last edited by russellw; 09-05-2013 at 07:26 PM.
pajoda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 04:09 PM   #826
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Hey mate, aren't you concerned you have voided your warranty now?

Old 09-05-2013, 04:24 PM   #827
dps1984

Originally Posted by pajoda View Post
Haven't had a chance to install it yet, hopefully I will get over to the fathers for the use of his ramps next week. Happy to let you know what difference it makes. I have had nothing come good from the tune, I am happy with unleashed but I am sure Cobb are good too. To load the tune you just need to connect your device and upload the new file, takes about 5 minutes initially, and subsequent one later seem to be quicker.

Nothing good from the tune? You dont like it?? Heaps of other people rave about it....hmmm...hopefully the cobb tune does some good...
dps1984 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 06:52 PM   #828
pajoda

Originally Posted by dps1984 View Post
Nothing good from the tune? You dont like it?? Heaps of other people rave about it....hmmm...hopefully the cobb tune does some good...
Sorry, should read before hitting post, nothing BUT good from it.
Old 09-05-2013, 07:06 PM   #829
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 

Sorry, should read before hitting post, nothing BUT good from it.
Ask a mod to adjust it for you. Don't want to mislead people.

Sent from my HTC Velocity 4G using Tapatalk 2
Headlights don't work in your B Series? Here's how to fix it!
martinijosh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 07:08 PM   #830
pajoda

Hey mate, aren't you concerned you have voided your warranty now?
Hi Phil, warranty on the tune or RMM?

I will give you my thoughts on both. The tune can be easily undone and the car sent back to stock. This is something I will always do before going back for service or warranty but I doubt the local service centre would even look. If something explodes then I am sure the factory will want the ECU for analysis, and I would be nervous with a claim. I am not naive enough to think that there would not be some sort of evidence that something else existed from a deep dive into the diagnostics (ie, going over the rev limiter or something more complex perhaps). I would say if you feel even slightly uncomfortable stick with stock, they are still great, but the tune does improves things from the recaro dyno for sure.

In regard to the RMM I would doubt that will cause issues. An aftermarket mod would really need to be blamed for a claim, can't imagine a new RMM possibly causing anything than a rattle or two over time, if anything, haven't fitted it yet. In my opinion someone should have their **** kicked for releasing the car with the sponge stock unit. Gear shift bang is apparent with aggressive launches, especially with TC off. Even a mildly aggressive launch can develop some unnerving wheel hop over slightly bumpy surfaces. That is why I have invested in the e-Focus mount, for around $100 delivered I am prepared to give it a go over an after market upgrade. Genuine Ford part, genuine Ford, that is how they should be!

Last edited by pajoda; 09-05-2013 at 07:15 PM.
pajoda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 07:10 PM   #831
pajoda

Originally Posted by martinijosh View Post
Ask a mod to adjust it for you. Don't want to mislead people.

Sent from my HTC Velocity 4G using Tapatalk 2
Please help, how do I request that?
Old 09-05-2013, 07:19 PM   #832

Originally Posted by pajoda
Hit the little caution button under your avatar and request what you want done with the post, if i were still a mod in here id do it for ya.

Tune car be undone for sure, but as you said if you have a serious failure you might be in trouble, the old adage 'You play, you pay' part of modding cars.
I dont think ill tune mine (As long as i stay out of a tuned one ) i will more than likely do most hardware mods ie intake, FMIC, Echaust (If i can find a decent one) and some cosmetics then ill see where iam.
Thing is, this car is still very new and new to the aftermarket so im not to keen to tune it yet whereas my old car was well proven that it could support more boost and was seriously detuned from the factory.
As for the Motor Mount, i wouldnt reckon there will be any issues with that i and they make the world of difference.

Ive found 2 things that shyte me with my car.
-the factory brake pads cover the wheels on dust.
-cornering lights are annoying as i live in a new estate and the amount of round abouts would rival Canberra, but they are good fun
Old 09-05-2013, 07:29 PM   #833

Already done for you.

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 07:31 PM   #834
pajoda

Thanks DJM83, did hit that link, and it stated:

Note: This is ONLY to be used to report spam, advertising messages, and problematic (harassment, fighting, or rude) posts.

Not sure this situation fits those, do not want to be flagged as a trouble maker and banned or something
Old 09-05-2013, 07:33 PM   #835
pajoda

Thanks for the rescue Russ
Old 09-05-2013, 07:35 PM   #836
MKE13

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
Congrats....

So where did the XR8 go?
Ahhhh I traded the old girl in, so where it goes from here is unknown....

PREVIOUS RIDE - 2002 FORD FALCON AU SERIES III XR8 TICKFORD BLUEPRINT BLUE SEDAN....
MKE13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 07:38 PM   #837
GC1

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Ive found 2 things that shyte me with my car.
-the factory brake pads cover the wheels on dust.
Plasti Dip?
GC1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 07:43 PM   #838

Originally Posted by GC1 View Post
Plasti Dip?
Nah ill paint em.
Old 09-05-2013, 07:50 PM   #839

Thanks DJM83, did hit that link, and it stated:

Note: This is ONLY to be used to report spam, advertising messages, and problematic (harassment, fighting, or rude) posts.

Not sure this situation fits those, do not want to be flagged as a trouble maker and banned or something
Another standard vb phrase I hadn't yet fixed. It is now reworded to read:

This can be used to report spam, advertising messages, problematic (harassment, fighting, or rude) posts or when you have made an error in a post that needs to be fixed outside the editing window.

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2013, 08:10 PM   #840
pajoda

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Nah ill paint em.
Does either option help with brake dust sticking? It is a bug of mine too!

Washing it every week is therapeutic I must admit