Old 01-09-2014, 11:10 PM   #8611
adz193
EL XR6

Default Re: Last EVER Falcon Picture & Discussion Thread

Originally Posted by JPFS1 View Post
Gee I wonder what it's doing in my neibourhood ... And yes they sound and look great!
Saw the black xr8 at 7 this morning thats been getting around plates are 1cn-2lb pulling onto doncaster rd... looked like it has been copping a flogging from all the mud up the wheel arches and side, but god did it look good with lights on... was too slow to grab a pic!

Navy 97' EL XR8
Factory manual | Tickford kit | Pacemakers + Full exhaust
adz193 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2014, 11:34 PM   #8612

Originally Posted by adz193 View Post
Saw the black xr8 at 7 this morning thats been getting around plates are 1cn-2lb pulling onto doncaster rd... looked like it has been copping a flogging from all the mud up the wheel arches and side, but god did it look good with lights on... was too slow to grab a pic!
Saw the same one this morning on Bulleen Road just near the Manningham on the Eastern Freeway overpass. This was different to the one of which I took a photo last week. It was partially camo'ed.

Second one I've seen in my area.
Old 02-09-2014, 01:05 AM   #8613
DanielXR8

Originally Posted by FGX335 View Post
It is officially the FG X. So the XR is the FG X XR8, awkward hey?

I like FG X, but paired with the XR8/XR6/T, it is a little clumsy.
No worse than VF SS-V Redline.
DanielXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 02:26 AM   #8614
sammy2013

Well, the dealer told me there is a great chance of ordering in the first two weeks of September... Let's hope he's right so I can order my birthday present! And that XR8 sounds mean too, love it.
sammy2013 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 05:19 AM   #8615
XBGTFGGTP

Originally Posted by FGX S/C V8 View Post
I dunno bout u guys but first thing I did in my F6 was turn DSC off.
Yip in everything

XA GT Manual
XBGT Manual
XC GXL
1982 XE S-Pac V8
2011 F6 Velvet
2011 GT Manual Black/Gold
2020 GT500KR
FG-X Sprint
F150 Shelby
XBGTFGGTP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 07:53 AM   #8616

May have missed it but has anyone read about the XR6T and whether it will available with brembo's as an option?
Old 02-09-2014, 09:09 AM   #8617
FGX-302

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
May have missed it but has anyone read about the XR6T and whether it will available with brembo's as an option?
Would be nice with brembo/19"s option.. FG F6 wheels perhaps
FGX-302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 09:53 AM   #8618

Yeah or just pluck the setup that the XR8 uses if they have too...just make it part of a performance pack or similar.
Old 02-09-2014, 10:04 AM   #8619
FGX-302

Yeah or just pluck the setup that the XR8 uses if they have too...just make it part of a performance pack or similar.
Yeah same setup different wheels.. Be pretty **** if the bonnet was the only difference between the two.. I think the F6 wheels would look mint on the FGX
FGX-302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 10:35 AM   #8620
stevefreestyle

Ford already fit Brembos to the NSW HWP XR6T cars (as the 322/303 mm standard brakes are crap & failed the HWP Brake tests), so all the DSC Calibration is or will be done for the new model, assuming they intend to sell them to the HWP again. (although the Police will probably go for the XR8s again)

However Ford does not make it (Police HWP Pack) available to the Retail (public) Market.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/specia...n/photostream/
stevefreestyle is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 10:55 AM   #8621

Police wont go XR8s as I doubt there will be fleet discounts on them.

Old 02-09-2014, 11:08 AM   #8622
stevefreestyle

Originally Posted by XR6 Martin View Post
You are assuming No Fleet discounts on the XR8 (no evidence)...and presumably assuming because of limited production due to hand built engines perhaps?

The AUII & III 220 and BA / BF XR8s all had Tickford/FPV hand built engines, and the HWP bought plenty of those - fleet discounts. My EX-HWP XR8 was $58K with options PLUS on-roads, less TAX of course - and they bought heaps - until the FG XR8 with crap 322/303 mm brakes - which failed the HWP Brake tests (which is why the HWP stopped buying them - and the XR6Ts).
Old 02-09-2014, 11:22 AM   #8623
FGX335
Loving my '335' kW!

I had a dealer tell me that the XR8 will have the FPV GT engine. Not sure if he joined the dots or has the inside track, but it was nice to hear.

Ties in nicely with our insider hints and tips.
Old 02-09-2014, 11:22 AM   #8624
Alan D Segal
Call me 'Al'

Location: On a flattened-out cardboard box out the back behind the wheelie bins.
Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Good contributor. 

Originally Posted by stevefreestyle View Post
The AUII & III 220 and BA / BF XR8s all had Tickford/FPV hand built engines, and the HWP bought plenty of those - fleet discounts.
What was the HWP pack on the BA XR8? What did it include? Was the V8 actually hand built? What spec was it? 260 or 290? I'm interested because I have an ex-NSW HWP BA MkII XR8.
Alan D Segal is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 11:25 AM   #8625
elfinke

Originally Posted by sammy2013 View Post
Well, the dealer told me there is a great chance of ordering in the first two weeks of September... Let's hope he's right so I can order my birthday present! And that XR8 sounds mean too, love it.
Wonder if you can con the $500-off out of the dealer?

http://www.ford.com.au/challenge?int...Challenge_Home
elfinke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 11:28 AM   #8626

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Originally Posted by FGX335 View Post
I had a dealer tell me that the XR8 will have the FPV GT engine. Not sure if he joined the dots or has the inside track, but it was nice to hear.

Ties in nicely with our insider hints and tips.
Wow!! what have I been telling you??
Old 02-09-2014, 12:07 PM   #8627
stevefreestyle

Originally Posted by Alan D Segal View Post
What was the HWP pack on the BA XR8? What did it include? Was the V8 actually hand built? What spec was it? 260 or 290? I'm interested because I have an ex-NSW HWP BA MkII XR8.
All the NSW HWP BA XR8s had the $3k Premium brake Pkg (325/303 grooved rotors off the GT), Rear Park Sensors, Heavy Duty Battery & Alternator, L & R & Side Air Bags & Fire Extinguisher. BF XR8s had all of the above exc the Brakes were 322/330 mm F/R. The engines were plated BOSS 260, the same as all BA/F & FG XR8s, however I don't know if there were enhanced spec, with redline/electronic cutout 6200 RPM - which can come as a rude shock when going hard.

All BA/BF & FG XR8s had hand built 5.4 DOHC 4V Alloy Head engines, with Ram-Tube inlet manifolds by FPV. The engine # starts FPV...

FPV Press Release on the introduction of the BOSS 260 & 290 5.4 engines (XR8 & GT):

www.fpv.com.au/content/new-boss-born-australia

FPV 5.0 Miami 335/315 engine build:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=FPeYEG76ii8

Last edited by stevefreestyle; 02-09-2014 at 12:13 PM.
Old 02-09-2014, 12:47 PM   #8628
stevefreestyle

Correction to above, of course all FG XR8s were BOSS 290 engines not 260.
Old 02-09-2014, 01:18 PM   #8629
Cashie

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Multiple helpful contributions throughout the tech area. 

I see the current Motor Magazine states in the back car release section that the FGX is released in September, I'm guessing they have stuffed up??
Do we really have to wait until December?

Past Rides:
2017 Kia Stinger GT
2008 FG XR6 Sedan
2008 FG G6E Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2008 BF XR6 Turbo Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2003 BA XR8 Ute
2003 BA XR6 Sedan
Cashie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 03:29 PM   #8630
amiers

I was told September release, on sale late September early October.
Old 02-09-2014, 04:28 PM   #8631
Bobman

Ford themselves have said December so I think that's a much safer bet.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 06:04 PM   #8632
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

Facebook Fullboost has a vid of the XR8 on the road - about as good as the motorbike helmet one - well no its a lil but better lol

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

200BUX - AFF Drag Nats 2019 EF Wagon
Originally Posted by rednose View Post
Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Sorted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 06:21 PM   #8633
elfinke

Originally Posted by Sorted View Post
Facebook Fullboost has a vid of the XR8 on the road - about as good as the motorbike helmet one - well no its a lil but better lol
Def better than the Ducati one, though the wind still cuts in at inopportune times with this. Also, looks like it would belong in a Mad Max film all black (and dirty )like that.

Though the associated Facebook comments gave me eye-gonorrhoea
elfinke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 06:27 PM   #8634
steve.zissou

so how many engines are there (2500 zf's aint many)
steve.zissou is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 06:49 PM   #8635
stevefreestyle

Originally Posted by steve.zissou View Post
Thats if the 2500 ZF Auto 'boxes for both XR8 & XR6T rumor is correct - it has not been confirmed by Ford and hopefully its inaccurate. Or maybe they will bring out a 7 speed for the final run of cars ?

Last edited by stevefreestyle; 02-09-2014 at 06:54 PM.
Old 02-09-2014, 06:56 PM   #8636
Cashie

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Multiple helpful contributions throughout the tech area. 

Can't see there being an engine limit...

Past Rides:
2017 Kia Stinger GT
2008 FG XR6 Sedan
2008 FG G6E Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2008 BF XR6 Turbo Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2003 BA XR8 Ute
2003 BA XR6 Sedan
Cashie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 07:10 PM   #8637
stevefreestyle

ZF are still listing their latest 6HP 6-Speed Auto (with up to 850 Nm) on their website as a current product - so hopefully a critical shortage of supply may be averted:

http://www.zf.com/corporate/en/produ...smission.shtml
Old 02-09-2014, 08:09 PM   #8638
Tbm1121

Originally Posted by elfinke View Post
Wonder if you can con the $500-off out of the dealer?

http://www.ford.com.au/challenge?int...Challenge_Home
You have to take delivery for it to count, and it's in the way of a further discount and will be taken into count when negotiating a deal.
Tbm1121 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 09:19 PM   #8639
Bonn

Originally Posted by XR6 Martin View Post
Would be surprised to see XR8 HWP, as am fairly certain they would have swapped to XR6T due to fuel consumption.

Was getting booked in '04 0r '05, by a Winter White XR8 and once the business was out of the way (got a GOOD discount on the fine, km/h and $ wise), we compared cars, motors, etc - i had the BA Barra 220 - and old mate tells me they were having to fill the BA XR8s TWICE per shift, and the VZ Bommodores ONCE per shift.
He was looking at a Pearl Blue Barra 220 for personal use, and was impressed with the economy i was getting, which was not that different to a 4.0 at the time.
Such a shame there's no base V8 FG sedan OR wagon....
When was the last V8 Ford wagon? XE?????

Jaguar XJ-S: Eaton S/C, I/Cooler, Haltech, DB7 rims, 1:15 Wakefield.

Jaguar XJ6 Wife's daily :2006 Quartz Metallic, FORD Duratec 3.0 V6, ZF 6sp

Previous relationships: FG GT, FG XR8 (+BA XT 5.4, BA AU, EF, EB, EA, EA & XF work cars)
Jags XJ12 & XJ6, BMW E39 Wagon, BMW F11 M-Sport wagon, 20 of GMH FC-HQ
Bonn is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2014, 09:25 PM   #8640
Dr Smith

Originally Posted by Bonn View Post
Would be surprised to see XR8 HWP, as am fairly certain they would have swapped to XR6T due to fuel consumption.

Was getting booked in '04 0r '05, by a Winter White XR8 and once the business was out of the way (got a GOOD discount on the fine, km/h and $ wise), we compared cars, motors, etc - i had the BA Barra 220 - and old mate tells me they were having to fill the BA XR8s TWICE per shift, and the VZ Bommodores ONCE per shift.
He was looking at a Pearl Blue Barra 220 for personal use, and was impressed with the economy i was getting, which was not that different to a 4.0 at the time.
Such a shame there's no base V8 FG sedan OR wagon....
When was the last V8 Ford wagon? XE?????
AU V8 wagons, very rare, maybe only Fairmonts (?)
Dr Smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post