You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 17-12-2021, 06:59 AM   #61
PooDog

Default Re: AdBlue Shortage

Originally Posted by smoo View Post
It shouldn't run as normal. The volume of Adblue injected to reduce NOx each injection cycle will be reduced as it's diluted with water, meaning the required NOx level wont been achieved, so it will throw a fault and de rate.
It's the same as if the delivery line or injection nozzle was blocked, restricting flow, or there is a significant exhaust leak between the nozzle and SCR catalyst, allowing adblue to leak out or not atomise properly.

On the heavy stuff a NOx de rate will not clear unless the fault is fixed and a manual 'reset' is done via service software - usually running the exhaust temp up to 400 degrees to trigger dosage which is nearly impossible on a engine with no real load, like a bob tail prime mover. Or updating ECM calibration which is limited to OEM.
Unsure if LVs are the same. If they are, old mate could be leading some owners down an expensive path by encouraging them to fill the tanks with water
Interesting you say that a company i worked for a few years back running Volvo's had adblue in iso 1000l pods stacked on top of each other the bottom one filled with water

For a while their trucks were coming up with emission faults they couldnt figure it out till the local dealership had the adblue tested and they found it was water.....someone had put the water container on top instead, interestingly there was no derating ?

Au11 fairmont Ghia ported gt40p heads ,comp springs and locks
Xe 264 cam,custom intake,pacemaker tri y headers
524nm torque

19 Triton GSXR manual
PooDog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2021, 11:29 AM   #62
Vesper Martini

BMW Australia secures stock of Adblue - at a premium no doubt
https://24htech.asia/bmw-australia-f...e-s205695.html

I assume this will cover the fleets of diesel Police cars
Seadoo Challenger 210SE 310HP
Vesper Martini is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2021, 12:44 PM   #63
DK30RB

Originally Posted by Vesper Martini View Post
BMW Australia secures stock of Adblue - at a premium no doubt
https://24htech.asia/bmw-australia-f...e-s205695.html

I assume this will cover the fleets of diesel Police cars
I've got a 530d - same as the highway patrol. It doesn't use AdBlue...
DK30RB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2021, 01:15 PM   #64

Originally Posted by DK30RB View Post
If it's the B57 engine, it does.
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2021, 01:19 PM   #65
Vesper Martini

Originally Posted by DK30RB View Post
so does my X5 and it doesn't have add blue, but I believe its added to the current gen
Old 17-12-2021, 01:21 PM   #66
Vesper Martini

Originally Posted by b0son View Post
If it's the B57 engine, it does.
only from 2018 onwards I believe.
Old 17-12-2021, 01:25 PM   #67

only from 2018 onwards I believe.
DK30RB, your car is too old, you need to upgrade
Old 17-12-2021, 01:45 PM   #68
Vesper Martini

ahh I se now, the B57 replaced the N57 engine, so you are correct anything B57 should have add blue, so our cop cars should have it too
Old 17-12-2021, 02:25 PM   #69
DK30RB

ahh I se now, the B57 replaced the N57 engine, so you are correct anything B57 should have add blue, so our cop cars should have it too
N57 is the old engine. B57 from 2015 on is current.

No Ad blue required.

520D (2 litre engine requires Ad Blue).

None of the police spec cars require Ad Blue.
Old 17-12-2021, 02:26 PM   #70
DK30RB

If only BMW would hurry up and release an updated model... I'll be on the order queue...

Although if they release it with an ugly oversized front grille, i'll pass and hold onto mine.
Old 17-12-2021, 02:45 PM   #71

B57 requires AdBlue... https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/at...1&d=1517879202

Better check your dealer didnt swap engines a la The Big Steal ;)
Old 17-12-2021, 02:59 PM   #72
FroudeyBrand

just **** in ya adblue tank you'll be right
FroudeyBrand is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2021, 03:23 PM   #73
Vesper Martini

from the link I posted above.

"The larger 3.0-litre turbo-diesel inline-six in the BMW X3 xDrive30d and BMW 530d (now only available in sedan guise in Australia) only complies with older and less stringent Euro 5 emissions regulations, and therefore does not require AdBlue".
Old 17-12-2021, 03:38 PM   #74
Vesper Martini

So I don't get that, the current Everest only complies with Euro 5 as well, so why does it require adblue

Theres a search bar in the below link, and the Everest is the only one I could find that's not Euro6

https://www.drive.com.au/news/dont-p...-in-australia/

no Toyotas?
Old 17-12-2021, 05:01 PM   #75
DK30RB

B57 requires AdBlue... https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/at...1&d=1517879202

Better check your dealer didnt swap engines a la The Big Steal ;)
SCR system in that doc refers to US only. Given there is NO adblue filler next to my fuel filler, i think its safe to assume its not required
Old 17-12-2021, 05:47 PM   #76

Haha, so BMW dumps its old smokers in Aus, good to know :P
Old 17-12-2021, 05:54 PM   #77
smoo

Originally Posted by PooDog View Post
Interesting you say that a company i worked for a few years back running Volvo's had adblue in iso 1000l pods stacked on top of each other the bottom one filled with water

For a while their trucks were coming up with emission faults they couldnt figure it out till the local dealership had the adblue tested and they found it was water.....someone had put the water container on top instead, interestingly there was no derating ?
From memory there is a count down starting when the fault code is thrown up to when it de rates, around 30 hours.. Also from memory when the Mack/Volvo de rates and are shut down and started back up, there maybe a time period of normal running until they de rate again, although I could be thinking of something else - it has been some years since I had anything to do with them, and tbh their system was more reliable than Cummins so our shop had next to no exposure to any after treatment faults and diagnosis.
Also the derates weren’t too dramatic unless big weights were pulled or decent hills driven over - boost would drop down to around 120-150kpa from 200-220. Someone running a rigid around town may not notice it. Some retarded drivers may not notice it at all regardless of what and where they’re peddling.
smoo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2021, 06:03 PM   #78

From memory there is a count down starting when the fault code is thrown up to when it de rates, around 30 hours.. Also from memory when the Mack/Volvo de rates and are shut down and started back up, there maybe a time period of normal running until they de rate again, although I could be thinking of something else - it has been some years since I had anything to do with them, and tbh their system was more reliable than Cummins so our shop had next to no exposure to any after treatment faults and diagnosis.
Also the derates weren’t too dramatic unless big weights were pulled or decent hills driven over - boost would drop down to around 120-150kpa from 200-220. Someone running a rigid around town may not notice it. Some retarded drivers may not notice it at all regardless of what and where they’re peddling.
I can guarantee that when a 520hp Volvo with a B-Double derates to about 400, you notice it
Old 17-12-2021, 10:38 PM   #79
PooDog

There weren't any derates just emission faults most were running 46-50 tonne and the new Zealand terrain is just a series of mountain range after another....you notice it....may have been just diluted in some cases as they may have filled at other sites also

524nm torque

19 Triton GSXR manual
Old 18-12-2021, 02:43 AM   #80
smoo

Originally Posted by PooDog View Post
There weren't any derates just emission faults most were running 46-50 tonne and the new Zealand terrain is just a series of mountain range after another....you notice it....may have been just diluted in some cases as they may have filled at other sites also
It may have been just enough dilution to throw a fault ‘least severe’ for high NOx level which may not have an effect on performance, or the tank may have been topped up down the line before the duration of active fault caused it to go into limp, making the fault go inactive with fresh adblue - speculation on my part but if it was as easy as running them on water blokes wouldn’t be paying $2k + to delete them and at a guess manufacturers are complied by legislation to ensure their systems aren’t as easily bypassed.

Yeah I know what you mean, actually replied to you @ the boat in Wellington complete with depressing gloomy pommy like weather.

Old 18-12-2021, 07:20 AM   #81
PooDog

Ballance agri has just swapped their Kapuni site to making adblue instead of urea made a million litres in 3 weeks which is a years supply for the local market (nz) ...so i guess they could just keep on making it ?

524nm torque

19 Triton GSXR manual
Old 18-12-2021, 11:51 AM   #82
kevino

There you go . Good old Kapuni.

I said SCOMO should talk to Ms ardern about sourcing adblue ex NZ.
I havent seen NZ mentioned as a source solution in the media yet for the adblue shortage in Aus.

Nice to see pic of KW waiting to join Straight Shipping with welly railway station on right, lovely Welly weather.
kevino is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-12-2021, 12:24 PM   #83

Originally Posted by kevino View Post
There you go . Good old Kapuni.

I said SCOMO should talk to Ms ardern about sourcing adblue ex NZ.
I havent seen NZ mentioned as a source solution in the media yet for the adblue shortage in Aus.

Nice to see pic of KW waiting to join Straight Shipping with welly railway station on right, lovely Welly weather.
Points lost for no bonnet
Old 18-12-2021, 01:49 PM   #84

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
Points lost for no bonnet
What's the benefits of cab over vs bonneted truck? Is it just tighter turning circle?

There's a lot of cab over KWs around - they're ugly bastards
Old 18-12-2021, 01:50 PM   #85
T3rminator

$2.33 per litre out Yea.

Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
T3rminator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-12-2021, 01:58 PM   #86

Originally Posted by Franco Cozzo View Post
What's the benefits of cab over vs bonneted truck? Is it just tighter turning circle?

There's a lot of cab over KWs around - they're ugly bastards
Smoother ride as you're not sitting over the front wheels....but, depending on the trailer, you loose a couple of pallets of load space.
Old 18-12-2021, 05:42 PM   #87
kevino

On topic currently in a diesel doesn’t need ad blue.
Off topic
It’s a rail replacement bus running Brisbane/gold coast

It’s a rare beast
A 28 year old Mci
Jacobs brake
Cummins
And a seven speed spicer crash box the driver has to double declutch
Goes well heaps of grunt and torque

First manual bus I ve been on in 20 years last one would have been a mighty Bedford
Old 18-12-2021, 05:57 PM   #88
smoo

Originally Posted by kevino View Post
On topic currently in a diesel doesn’t need ad blue.
Off topic
It’s a rail replacement bus running Brisbane/gold coast

It’s a rare beast
A 28 year old Mci
Jacobs brake
Cummins
And a seven speed spicer crash box the driver has to double declutch
Goes well heaps of grunt and torque

First manual bus I ve been on in 20 years last one would have been a mighty Bedford
I hope that did a couple of laps through town to get some millennial and gen Z enviro tears flowing.

But your post kinda reminded me, has anyone heard from/talked to roKWiz?
He’s been absent lately.
Old 18-12-2021, 06:08 PM   #89
kevino

The driver was so smooth no one bar me would have noticed.
Passed lots of cars might have a been a little over 110 at times.
I was impressed but I m old school
Old 18-12-2021, 08:04 PM   #90
slowsnake

So I don't get that, the current Everest only complies with Euro 5 as well, so why does it require adblue

Theres a search bar in the below link, and the Everest is the only one I could find that's not Euro6

https://www.drive.com.au/news/dont-p...-in-australia/

no Toyotas?
The Euro 6 emissions legislation states that from July 2018, all new diesel cars sold in Australia must use the adBlue system to meet required levels of emissions. If you own a diesel car that requires adBlue, your cars engine is programmed not to start if the diesel exhaust fluid tank is empty!

Ford diesel vehicles including the Ford Everest, Endura and 2.0L Transit and Transit Customs now require the use of adBlue.
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post