You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 26-11-2012, 01:28 PM   #61
Psi-Pop
on the way to the RSL

Default Re: You know you're a car guy when....

When you have a dream about racing and a coolant hose explodes and coolant goes everywhere and you have just actually wet the bed. (Drunken of course) lol

Your girlfriend only has to worry about the only romantic movie you want to watch is Running on Empty.
Old 26-11-2012, 01:36 PM   #62
ford71V8

When nobody needs to ask "What should I buy you for Xmas this year?"
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 01:41 PM   #63
Psi-Pop
on the way to the RSL

When this happens

Old 26-11-2012, 01:46 PM   #64
Grunter
Not of the Sooty variety!

Some comedy gold in this thread!

...when you think sitting in the garage looking at your car for long periods of time is normal.

The Toy: 2002 AUIII TS50
The Daily and Tow Vehicle: 2016 VW Amarok
Grunter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 01:52 PM   #65
stevanford

When you avoid going out so you can save money for the next set of mods.
stevanford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 01:57 PM   #66
Stagg

Originally Posted by Psi-Pop View Post
When you have a dream about racing and a coolant hose explodes and coolant goes everywhere and you have just actually wet the bed. (Drunken of course) lol

Your girlfriend only has to worry about the only romantic movie you want to watch is Running on Empty.
Or Alvin Purple
Old 26-11-2012, 03:02 PM   #67
jmak44

- When you weigh up parking options and potential hazards makings sure that if all events were to happen the car will be alright
- Smiling when talking about your car and its history
- Getting caught talking to your car as if it were your best mate
-Laughing at clowns driving chevy bommadores with stockies on the back
Old 26-11-2012, 03:10 PM   #68

When you buy a box of octane booster at the servo. Because the town doesn't have 98ron.

For a standard ED XR6.

Old 26-11-2012, 03:53 PM   #69
disco

When the good wife gets you to pop out to the supermarket for some groceries, and somehow you also stop at the toy section to check out what the latest hotwheels and matchbox cars are lol!
disco is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 04:31 PM   #70
Stagg

Here is a new one

When you call a girl you met the other night and ask to take her out on a date (which was a success!), the date, quite literally, being an excuse to go driving around for a few hours
Old 26-11-2012, 04:48 PM   #71

Originally Posted by Stagg View Post
Here is a new one

When you call a girl you met the other night and ask to take her out on a date (which was a success!), the date, quite literally, being an excuse to go driving around for a few hours

Bonus points if you start telling them about it. One girl seemed particulary interested that I was fitting a short shifter that reduces throw between 2nd n 3rd by 40%.

Last edited by flappist; 27-11-2012 at 10:20 AM. Reason: you know better than that
Old 26-11-2012, 05:22 PM   #72
Coyote mk3
Clutch Cable Killer

You spend countless amounts of $ on high end car care products, but when it comes to your own shampoo and soap, the cheapest one on special will normally do the job.
HID projectors, lowered on King SL and Koni Shocks.

Daily - 2002 AUIII SR
Stock as she comes.

Coyote's EL XR6

^^Click Me^^

15.132@ 91.51 MPH

Photos by Me https://www.facebook.com/PhotosByMatthewWylie
Coyote mk3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 06:13 PM   #73

You know you're a car guy when your kids have car related names.

;)
Old 26-11-2012, 07:11 PM   #74
Stagg

Originally Posted by loftie View Post
You know you're a car guy when your kids have car related names.

;)
"Falcon, go help your mother..."
Old 26-11-2012, 07:33 PM   #75

You know you’re a car guy when you have saved money to move from Melbourne to Sydney because you girlfriend lives there, but one day you drive past a dealership and see a GT. You go into the dealership and buy the GT and it puts a delay on moving to Sydney for a few months and you end up breaking up with your girlfriend because of it.

But the good news is, you have a GT and the next girlfriend’s loves cars, but is a Holden fan, but loves the GT still.

When you’re 28 years old and your Friday night consists of cruising down the Princess Highway and meet up with all your other mates who love cars.

When you’re 28 and you dad tells you to grow up and you should have purchased a house instead of a GT.
Old 26-11-2012, 07:40 PM   #76
STINKY NINJA

Originally Posted by KIWI-1 View Post
When the oven IS FOR BAKING CAR PARTS not cooking dinner.
Nothing like roast pork with a vht undertone love it!
Also i like to talk to my cars when i go to the drags and give them little pats on the dash for encouragement,they love the attention and almost never let me down.
STINKY NINJA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 07:50 PM   #77
CAT600
I miss my wheelbarrow

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out fellow AFF members... Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Daniels knowledge of modular engines and superchargers is extremely valuable to the AFF community. I have learnt quite a bit just reading his build threads. His contributions are often utilised by other members. 

Originally Posted by xisled View Post
...When you’re 28 and you dad tells you to grow up and you should have purchased a house instead of a GT.
Hahaha so similar to the advice I recieved...

When your 33 and your Dad tells you to grow up and you should have purchased a house instead of a commercial property to live in with all your cars

Then he came down there and said... "oh yeah THIS is living..."

Daniel
CAT600 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
10 users like this post:
Old 26-11-2012, 08:09 PM   #78

Glad to see I'm easily classed as a "car guy" as I always knew...

* When we wanted to buy a second car for me to go away and do my train driver course, I set a budget of $7000. I could have just bought a pleasant little Kia or Hyundai or something, but instead I said "it has to be old, two door, four cylinder, five speed manual, air conditioned, and fun". Ended up with the 1982 Celica which has been endless fun.

* We wanted to buy a ute after selling out old Morris Minor...we could have bought a boring old Rodeo or Hilux or something...but searched for an old Falcon, Valiant, or Kingswood ute, a V8 in particular. We only had a budget of $4000 all up, and ended up with a WB ute that, while needing some touch ups here and there, was fitted with a worked 253, shift kitted auto, and 10 bolt diff plus suspension work.

I too have felt the wrath of my wife after she has come home and discovered the oven door open and turned on, with some car part or other baking away inside to harden the paint...

...and don't even get me started on how hard you cop it if you are standing at the kitchen sink and degreasing some fine small parts...

Originally Posted by disco View Post
When the good wife gets you to pop out to the supermarket for some groceries, and somehow you also stop at the toy section to check out what the latest hotwheels and matchbox cars are lol!
I do that every damn time...and I'm 48. The new shed I have at the house we just bought will have a rather nice display on the wall of my Hot Wheels cars...maybe a couple of hundred of them, still all on their cards...
Old 26-11-2012, 08:48 PM   #79
Thunder
I.B.S is a pain in d'***

.........when you decide the filtered rainwater tank water is not pure enough for your car, and fit twin 20 inch charcol filter cartridges, one 20 micron, one 5 micron, then a U.V light filter to kill any "remaining" bacteria..... And two high pressure water pumps. Of course all the purified water is collected and stored in a new air-tight reserve tank!
Old 26-11-2012, 09:24 PM   #80
Mr Brooksy
Youth worker

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Numerous helpful how-to's and sound advice! 

You start dating a girl who has no interest in cars whatsoever, who drove a 1.6L 86 pulsar with more rust than metal. Who after getting married has learnt how to do her own services, buys a V8 Fairmont Ghia and helps fit a Supercharger to my old BA. Who then wouldnt allow me to choose a cheaper F6 to save money when I really wanted a Neo one!

After driving for a wedding and part way through the reception, I take the 17month old bub out to get him to go to sleep. He does not because he points to Daddys car in an effort to get me to take him over to it, then once there points at Mummies (50 meters away), we walk over, and this little game lasts 35 mins!!! All the while I just loved walking back to my car...

When deciding to move overseas your first consideration is "Can I transport my car there?", once realising that wont work, wondering "can I get a Mustang from the States shipped over as its already Right Hand Drive".

When parking your car in the shed is a two edged sword, 1) its safe and will stay clean but 2) you can no longer see it.

When you have an unhealthy hatred for cheap A to B cars...

2011 SZ Territory

Old Futura thread:
Brooksy's Ex Build
Mr Brooksy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 09:26 PM   #81
marlin351

At a car show yesterday, My 7 yo daughter didnt want to go on the bouncy castle, no face painting not even do nuts to eat . But she sat in the cockpit of a nitro funny car. I took pictures. So proud.
94 bmw 540
marlin351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 09:39 PM   #82
Stagg

Originally Posted by Mr Brooksy View Post
When you have an unhealthy hatred for cheap A to B cars...
... when your friend who drives a tiida doesn't understand why you spend so much on your car, and he doesn't understand how he can drive a tiida and not get any girls asking for rides
Old 26-11-2012, 09:48 PM   #83
Evgeni
Auto Nerd

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: In recognition of the many hours spent scanning information for the benefit of AFF members. 

I keep alot of broken parts in my garage. I love looking at broken stuff! Family thinks I'm weird, but every part has a story behind it.

One day I will finish making my garage clock with an old rotor!
Evgeni is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 09:50 PM   #84
lockieoc

Trying to explain to your mates why you have a work car and a weekend car.
lockieoc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 10:02 PM   #85
G6ET8U
GTX Turbo & KB Blown

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: ALWAYS goes out of his way to help others in need, never posts rubbish only facts he has learnt the hard way or with success in his personal experiance. Takes the time to aid more junior members and overall is a solid contributor to AFF. 

You know you are a car guy when...

you think it's ok to drive your 630hp G6E Turbo to work every day... with a bootfull of tools, covered in dust with restricted access to site and well over 100kms to and from site each day.

I don't need a ute... I need a shorter drive to work

Once you have gotten beyond the 400 metre long 100mm crushed rock alternative driveway in the middle of nowhere to even get to my site then you get sunrises like this...

Then drive home on Friday arvo and run 11.1 at Calder going for a 10 if the weather holds this Saturday... working that day too

Now that is being a car guy and using it daily.

Jack

SNOW WHITE 2004 BA FPV PURSUIT
2.6L Kenne Bell
Brembos all round
Twin Screw Awesomeness

Supported, serviced and tuned by
BLUEPOWER RACING DEVELOPMENTS

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11354744
G6ET8U is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 10:09 PM   #86
AdamXR6

Have one son named jack and the other Stirling?
2012 cool white px xlt ranger.
AdamXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 10:12 PM   #87
SNB05T
Dan Brown Photography

when you take your new wife to the wagga afd on your honeymoon.

she's a car nut (and my crew chief) so she enjoyed it as much as i did. austin knows how throw a party down there.
SNB05T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 10:16 PM   #88
Fordman

- when you decide to work 7 days a week whilst 19, 20,21 and do university to afford a new GT plus more Ford's and a place to garage them.

- When after a drive you just sort of pat the bonnet as if to say "good job old girl" on the way out.

- You have so many photos of your car from every percievable angle, and every time you wash it, you think ***** that looks good and take another.

- You sometimes spend an minute extra at a destination because you like sitting in the drivers seat.

- You look forward to your car needing a service.

- When you pop the bonnet people go "wow, its clean"

- If you take your car to a workshop you cant help but make the guys there worry what will happen if they stuff something up.

- The look back
-The double look back
- The triple look back for good measure

- Purposely picking a place to spend the day where your cars on show and in sight

- You've vowed to go to bathurst every year a Ford badged car is in it.

- polishing/cleaning a car properly takes atleast one whole day

- Your ultimate aim in life is car related.

jmak44 totally agree with the first one.

Theres so many i can think of and so many true ones in this thread!
Fordman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 10:24 PM   #89
Marquis
HUGE MEMBER

When you fork out your hard earned for a cd player and get the a/c fixed,and you realise you would rather have the window down and listen to the best song ever. The Clevo

My cruiser. 1979 Zh Marquis. "T" code 351.
My garage queen :(. 1980 TF Cortina Ghia Wagon. 4.1.
My dog. 2011 Sierra
My Daily. 2012 ZH (lol) OUTLANDER xls. 4WD CVT. Sapphire blue

Wanted
Borg Warner Lsd or centre. 25 spline
Marquis is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-11-2012, 10:36 PM   #90
Mr H

Um...."when you live your life a quarter mile at a time".......
Mr H is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post