Old 05-09-2010, 09:32 PM   #61
Fordman

they are selling cars and making money! 2500 units is about their average. you can't expect to keep selling in volumes similar to years gone by when there is so much more choice on the market. you also can't compare it to commodore. they could re release the vn and still sell plenty.
Fair call, still like to see them up more. Especially seemings the models arent any worse than what it outselling them.
Fordman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-09-2010, 09:36 PM   #62

Originally Posted by Fordman
Fair call, still like to see them up more. Especially seemings the models arent any worse than what it outselling them.
the only large car outselling them is commodore. all the other cars are different segments. someone who bought a cruze or mazda3 or corolla or hilux etc, wasn't even looking at falcon.
prydey is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-09-2010, 09:40 PM   #63
Fordman

the only large car outselling them is commodore. all the other cars are different segments. someone who bought a cruze or mazda3 or corolla or hilux etc, wasn't even looking at falcon.
Yeah, was also alluding to the Focus, Fiesta and Mondeo. Especially Focus was poor. Rest were not to bad.
Fordman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-09-2010, 09:47 PM   #64
g220ba
FGX XR8

Originally Posted by Fordman
Yeah, was also alluding to the Focus, Fiesta and Mondeo. Especially Focus was poor. Rest were not to bad.
Fiesta wasn't that bad and probably should improve when thailand starts supplying.

Mondeo was the third best selling car in it's segment and has been pretty consistent since its re-introduction to our market.

The focus hasn't really changed in that long and i feel has a bit of an image problem, the new model should help this but won't be here until late 2011 or early 2012 from what i understand.

All these numbers obviously could really have been better but not if it's at the expense of profit.
g220ba is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-09-2010, 11:40 PM   #65
Joe5619

Originally Posted by Dr Smith
The Fg was announced in Feb 2008, so it has only been on sale around 18 months.

In many cases it's also not how much the new car costs but rather the change-over price when trading in your current car. As a matter of interest has anybody been quoted change-over on say an SV6 or XR6 with their current car. I'd almost bet that the Holden dealer is offering more for your trade-in and hence you're getting a smaller change-over price at the moment.
That is taking the myth to a whole new level..Now it is trade ins!!! Unless someone can prove to me Holden are selling the cars cheap, cheap (page 2 of this weekends Hearld does not support this) then it is just that, a myth... Also, Ford have been selling XR6 for as low as 32K!! Yes, 32K, so my only point really is Ford is no better in this regard than Holden.

Bring on V8 SC, LiLPG, EcoBoost & new Territ on the local front!!! Plus bring on Diesel Wagon Mondeo, all new Ranger, all new Focus & the next 12 months are looking good!!
Joe5619 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-09-2010, 11:43 PM   #66

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

The Fg was announced in Feb 2008, so it has only been on sale around 18 months.

In many cases it's also not how much the new car costs but rather the change-over price when trading in your current car. As a matter of interest has anybody been quoted change-over on say an SV6 or XR6 with their current car. I'd almost bet that the Holden dealer is offering more for your trade-in and hence you're getting a smaller change-over price at the moment.
18 months??

Try 29 months...

It was 24 months old in APRIL (first FG builds were April 2008) its now September 2010!!
Old 05-09-2010, 11:45 PM   #67

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Originally Posted by Joe5619
That is taking the myth to a whole new level..Now it is trade ins!!! Unless someone can prove to me Holden are selling the cars cheap, cheap (page 2 of this weekends Hearld does not support this) then it is just that, a myth... Also, Ford have been selling XR6 for as low as 32K!! Yes, 32K, so my only point really is Ford is no better in this regard than Holden.

Bring on V8 SC, LiLPG, EcoBoost & new Territ on the local front!!! Plus bring on Diesel Wagon Mondeo, all new Ranger, all new Focus & the next 12 months are looking good!!
Correct Ford have been gutsing FG's, you can buy G6ETurbos for as low as 42 kay drive away with 000020kms on the odo!!!

Holden are still selling SV6's for 36 kay, 5 speed XR6's can be bought for 29,990 drive away!!

Im affraid its all because we live in a Holden country where everyone thinks Holdens the best thing since sliced bread because they are Australian, and the Falcons some american piece of ****!! Most people dont realise the Falcons built in australia, and do we ever see Ford put any emphasis on Australia in their marketing?? very little!
Old 05-09-2010, 11:59 PM   #68

Originally Posted by bfiipursuit
Correct Ford have been gutsing FG's, you can buy G6ETurbos for as low as 42 kay drive away with 000020kms on the odo!!!

Holden are still selling SV6's for 36 kay, 5 speed XR6's can be bought for 29,990 drive away!!

Im affraid its all because we live in a Holden country where everyone thinks Holdens the best thing since sliced bread because they are Australian, and the Falcons some american piece of ****!! Most people dont realise the Falcons built in australia, and do we ever see Ford put any emphasis on Australia in their marketing?? very little!
Again...Ford marketing dept letting the side down!!!!
Old 06-09-2010, 04:34 AM   #69
MrZ

These are the figures posted in June Vfacts thread:

Ford Falcon - 13,349 - YTD - May

Private - 2,274
Business (small fleet) - 4,133
Business (large fleet) - 1,737
Rental - 2,744
Government - 1,528
Not For Profit Organisation - 414
Other - 519

Holden Commodore - 18,428 - YTD - May

Private - 4,972
Business (small fleet) - 6,114
Business (large fleet) - 1,397
Rental - 1,451
Government - 3,005
Not For Profit Organisation - 185
Other - 1,304

17% private sales for Falcon is pitiful. But it hasn't changed much - the figure was identical 5 years ago in 2005.
MrZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2010, 12:26 PM   #70

they are selling cars and making money! 2500 units is about their average. you can't expect to keep selling in volumes similar to years gone by when there is so much more choice on the market. you also can't compare it to commodore. they could re release the vn and still sell plenty.

They are making money only on the engineering projects such as T6 Ranger and Indian Fiesta
Old 06-09-2010, 12:40 PM   #71

The whole ford marketing thing is correct, but it takes a long long time to undo what has already been done. You can have some ripper one off campaigns but you need to maintain it.

While I do agree its more important to be profitable, its also just as important to be seen as successful. Being number 1 means that people who have NFI about cars general follow whats popular as they are too afraid to stray from the masses.

Being number 1 means you can advertise the fact which means it generally has a flow on effect with the rest of the range.

Until we get a new terry, FG2 comes in (with hopefully the I4T and a 5.0) then I could never see things changing.

FG2 is do or die as far as one of the last whole built Oz falcons goes IMO, the Ve2 already looks dated and doesn't bring much new to the table; FG2 will poo on it. Then it will be solely up to the dealerships and marketing.

Last edited by Polyal; 06-09-2010 at 12:58 PM. Reason: grammar
Old 06-09-2010, 12:56 PM   #72

Originally Posted by Brazen
They are making money only on the engineering projects such as T6 Ranger and Indian Fiesta
Each section of Ford Australia has a budget all the way down to individual work areas, rest assured that the manufacturing arm is profitable.
A G8E would be good if Ford marketed squarely at Calais V8 owners. They need to bring back the walking fingers like in the initial FG ads, but this time have the fingers crushing Calais' as they walk along, with some relaxing background Led Zeppelin music and Marcos Ambrose in stubbies and singlet driving it.
Old 06-09-2010, 01:25 PM   #73
Joe5619

Originally Posted by Brazen
Unless you work in the Finance department at Ford Australia or you're part of the senior management team at Ford Australia you're in no position to make that statement! It is just more myths & I wish people would stop writing things that are not based on any type of fact!

If you're in one of the above mentioned roles, then I apologies... But you really should know better than to saying what you have in a public forum!!
Old 06-09-2010, 07:14 PM   #74

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mell...25779600023AE4

Market share holders

Sales are booming post-downturn, but not all marques are making the most of it

6 September 2010

By TERRY MARTIN

MARKET share is a critical performance indicator for all brands, especially full-line car-makers competing across all the high-volume market segments.

While automotive executives often talk about the importance of profitability over share – arguing that there is no sense in increasing share and losing money at the same time – none of them will deny the importance of growing market share.

Whether times are good and sales are strong, or in an economic downturn when sales are falling, market share remains a significant indicator of how well a major brand is performing.

Having come through an economic downturn, the dramatic improvements in Australian new-vehicle sales compared to last year – which have returned the market to million-unit status for the calendar year – tend to leave overall share overlooked.

But, taken over a year or two as part of a longer trend over the past decade, the figures should send alarm bells ringing in the boardrooms of several major brands, which must attempt to drag back, or at least hang on to, customers who are leaving them for the big share improvers or smaller niche marques.

Toyota remains top dog, but its share has fallen from 23.6 per cent in 2008 to 20.3 per cent so far this year, and a fall below 20 per cent would be the first time that has occurred since 2002, when Toyota last trailed Holden in the annual Australian sales race.

After cracking 200,000 sales in 2004, former Toyota Australia executive chairman John Conomos said the company’s aim was a 25 per cent market share by 2010 – a figure that looked within reach until 2008.

Naturally, Toyota is not standing still, introducing new niche models such as the Rukus in an effort to expand its customer base, but only time will tell just how loyal Toyota customers remain and just how many new buyers the brand can secure in the years ahead.

However, its task looks increasingly difficult while Hyundai, Mazda and Volkswagen, to name three prime movers, continue their upward march.

Holden’s steady fall each year in market share is a telling sign of how much influence it has lost over the past decade. It has dropped from 21.6 per cent in 2002 to 12.8 per cent last year, and is currently at 13.0 for 2010.

Consumers downsizing to smaller cars from those for which the Australian manufacturer is renowned is a big factor in Holden’s steady decline, and an ominous sign for the local industry.

At least Holden can look forward to next year’s expanded and Australian-built Cruze small-car range to compensate for a large-car market that has halved in volume – and shrunk from 38 to just 10 per cent of the total pie – in the last decade.

Ford also has new models coming, but its share has declined this year to just 9.3 per cent – coming off a stagnant three years at 10.3 per cent and, before that, annual declines from 14.2 per cent in 2004. This is a worrying sign for the Blue Oval brand, which had declared it would grow its market share in 2010.

Mazda is holding firm on 8.2 per cent YTD, having increased its share almost every year for more than a decade, and is now working towards a Ford-rivalling 10 per cent share – with around 100,000 sales a year – by 2014. In 2000, Mazda claimed only a 3.5 per cent share of the market.

This was also around the mark Hyundai was left with in 2003 (3.4 per cent), having fallen from 8.3 per cent in 1997, but the Korean brand has steadily climbed back – in a more profitable way – to now be one that commands respect, not least because YTD it owns an 8.0 per cent share.

Hyundai has also targeted a market share of 10 per cent – as soon as 2012 – and has set a mid-term goal to become a top-three automotive brand here.

As full-scale importers, Mitsubishi and Nissan are currently heading in the right direction at 6.0 and 6.1 per cent respectively YTD, although Mitsubishi is a long way from the late 1990s when it had almost twice that market share – such as 11.4 per cent in 1997.

Smaller-line, but still significant, importers in Honda and Subaru have made only modest share increases from a decade ago, but since 2007 Honda has been falling (from 5.8 to 4.0 per cent YTD) while Subaru has climbed (from 3.7 to 4.0 per cent) over the same period.

As well as trying to combat the influence of Mazda, Hyundai and others, Honda and Subaru – as premium Japanese contenders – should be concerned with the likes of Volkswagen.

The German brand is holding down 10th spot in the Australian market but has climbed from less than one per cent in the late 1990s to 3.6 per cent in 2010 YTD. And that should further improve as it enters big new market segments such as 4x4 utilities with the Amarok one-tonner.

While VW in Australia will not follow its parent’s planned domination of the world market by 2018, the German brand looks certain to continue to grow its market share as buyers increasingly look for quality and competence – as well as value – in their vehicles, not just the cheapest price.

Old 06-09-2010, 08:21 PM   #75
DanielXR8

Ford would happily sell thousands more Falcons a month and tool up production to do it, if it could find customers. Ford isn't becoming a niche player, because over coffee the exectutives of the company thought it would be cool to be a bit part player in the local market. Thats how fans of the brand live with a brand in decline (see the sales mediun), its not why its' there.

Many Holden people won't buy Fords and many ex Ford people won't buy Fords. It's the latter group that are the problem and Ford haven't really addressed that. Granted FG is a good start, the dealers are a poor finish though. The dealer network must be replaced to move the brand forward.

No executive at Ford who is mildly competent would be happy with the current performance of Ford. Yes they may be all high fiving that the profit on an XR is $x more then the XT, but there would be silence when it came to the volume of cars they are selling. You see if they reduce the costs per unit and then sell more units, they make bigger profits. Which is what the mass production car business is about. Declining market share means higher unit costs (or your suppliers are copping it), less profit in sales, spares and service for dealers and less mind share with the public. Yes they are surviving, but they have a product range that could and should sell much better and the punters won't touch it.

Problem is it only takes a few years to sour your reputation with the punters and many more years to repair it. I think that is the challenge Ford now faces and what we are all watching Ford Australia come to grips with now.

Dan
DanielXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2010, 10:12 PM   #76
dannyhilton

Fiesta - 911
Focus - 727
Mondeo - 440
Falcon - 2,344
Escape - 150
Territory - 1,093
Falcon Ute - 876
Ranger - 1,464
Transit - 197
Thanks very much mate. Fiesta is dong great, considering the WP/WQ averaged around 400-500 a month. When Thai production kicks in this should help, though keep in mind we won't have the new Zetec until early next year, this model takes up roughly 40% of all Fiesta sales. Be interesting to see how the sedan fares. The Focus is looking sad. There were strikes in South Africa where the car is made last month however, so production would have been impacted. The revised Focus is due soon, but I doubt this will make a huge difference. We need the all new Focus 3 now. Fantastic figures for Mondeo, bloody fantastic. Go you beauty!

The Ranger is looking very good, I'm amazed they can sell 150 Escape models, it has some tough competition. Territory is finally breaking the thousands again, and Falcon ute and sedan remains steady. Surprised the 50th Edition models haven't brought the figure up. Hopefully a new Territory and new V8 Falcon can get private sales a little higher, and next year ECOBoost can kick behind with the fleets.

With Ford taking #1 spot at the Sydney Motor Show, they seem to be on the mend. Revise the advertising, and hopefully we can jump a little closer to Holden and push Mazda and Hyundai back a bit...
Old 07-09-2010, 05:36 PM   #77
Dr Smith

Originally Posted by bfiipursuit
18 months??

Try 29 months...

It was 24 months old in APRIL (first FG builds were April 2008) its now September 2010!!
oops sorry.
Dr Smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-09-2010, 05:41 PM   #78
Dr Smith

Err I might have got my numbers wrong on the sales length of the Fg however my statement on trade-in value is based on fact. My immediate work neighbour has just bought 3 sedans and 1 sportswagen for his reps, up the road is a small commercial telecoms company buying 4 VE sedans and 1 Colorado all because of changeover alone.
Old 07-09-2010, 05:46 PM   #79
Joe5619

Err I might have got my numbers wrong on the sales length of the Fg however my statement on trade-in value is based on fact. My immediate work neighbour has just bought 3 sedans and 1 sportswagen for his reps, up the road is a small commercial telecoms company buying 4 VE sedans and 1 Colorado all because of changeover alone.
FYI: Trade ins have NOTHING to do which Ford Australia's profit. Ford Australia sell new cars & not 2nd hands cars. Trade ins profit (or losses) are made by indepent dealers..
Old 07-09-2010, 05:54 PM   #80
Dr Smith

FYI: Trade ins have NOTHING to do which Ford Australia's profit. Ford Australia sell new cars & not 2nd hands cars. Trade ins profit (or losses) are made by indepent dealers..
Err, where did I talk about Ford's profit, I am talking about sales volume. If a buyer gets a better deal from a Holden dealer they won't be buying a Ford which directly equates to a loss of order to the factory or loss of sale off floor stock which would have then needed to be replaced. Holden dealers are getting better support from the factory as they have openly stated they want to finish on top.

PS: why don't you take your car down to both dealers a give us an idea of the better change-over on say XR6/SV6 and this weekend I'll do the same with my G6ET for a Calais V-v8.

Last edited by Dr Smith; 07-09-2010 at 06:05 PM.
Old 07-09-2010, 06:09 PM   #81
Joe5619

Err, where did I talk about Ford's profit, I am talking about sales volume.
Go look at your own post #54 which is a quote from my post #28 (which quotes someone else) !!! I was talking all about profit, so if you where not talking profit, why did you bother to quote my in your #54 post? That is how we have not understood each other!!
Old 07-09-2010, 06:21 PM   #82
Dr Smith

Go look at your own post #54 which is a quote from my post #28 (which quotes someone else) !!! I was talking all about profit, so if you where not talking profit, why did you bother to quote my in your #54 post? That is how we have not understood each other!!
I see no misunderstanding at all....you claimed that Ford is discounting just as much as Holden or maybe even more.. I added that it's not only what the adverstised sale price is but what the final changeover comes to which has a bigger bearing. I then offered 2 examples from my work neighbours. A better deal from a holden dealer equals one less sale from a Ford dealer and one less car built by Ford. Hope that clears up my comments.

However like I said lets do the research and give everyone here some real world feedback.
Old 07-09-2010, 06:33 PM   #83
Joe5619

I see no misunderstanding at all....you claimed that Ford is discounting just as much as Holden or maybe even more.. I added that it's not only what the adverstised sale price is but what the final changeover comes to which has a bigger bearing. I then offered 2 examples from my work neighbours. A better deal from a holden dealer equals one less sale from a Ford dealer and one less car built by Ford. Hope that clears up my comments.

However like I said lets do the research and give everyone here some real world feedback.
A.Go look at posts #26 & #28 & the points being made in boths!! Your comments at not vaild in relation to these 2 posts, which is the bases for your post #54!!. Lets agree to disagree
B. What kind of loser do you think I am, that I'm going to waste me weekend & dealers time getting quotes for trade in when I'm not looking to buy a new car??
Old 07-09-2010, 07:04 PM   #84
Dr Smith

A.Go look at posts #26 & #28 & the points being made in boths!! Your comments at not vaild in relation to these 2 posts, which is the bases for your post #54!!. Lets agree to disagree
B. What kind of loser do you think I am, that I'm going to waste me weekend & dealers time getting quotes for trade in when I'm not looking to buy a new car??
My comments can only be applied to the posts I quoted. How would you be a loser if you validate your opinion with fact? At the end of the day we are just giving our opinion or making comment on others. As I reiterated, I know personally of 8 Holdens to be delivered soon that were bought only because of the better deal the buyers obtained between the brands. They openly stated they were after the cheapest deals between FG's and VE's. I'll leave it at that, cheers.
Old 07-09-2010, 09:00 PM   #85
Joe5619

My comments can only be applied to the posts I quoted. How would you be a loser if you validate your opinion with fact? At the end of the day we are just giving our opinion or making comment on others. As I reiterated, I know personally of 8 Holdens to be delivered soon that were bought only because of the better deal the buyers obtained between the brands. They openly stated they were after the cheapest deals between FG's and VE's. I'll leave it at that, cheers.
Would you read my posts for the love of god!!! I have NO opinion about trade in's & I'm not talking about trade in's at all... you are for the love of god!! Your comments as an individual comments in fine & very valid (now that I understand them), it just have no relation to the original 2 comments that started all this!!

And you can’t just say “My comments can only apply to the one I quote”, when the one you quoted is quoting another. By doing this you have missed interpreting my quote because you have not understood the first quote!! It is like joining a conversion mid point & then ignoring what was said at the start!
Old 07-09-2010, 11:03 PM   #86
1TUFFUTE

dribble on...
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2010, 12:36 PM   #87

Fiesta - 911
Focus - 727
Mondeo - 440
Falcon - 2,344
Escape - 150
Territory - 1,093
Falcon Ute - 876
Ranger - 1,464
Transit - 197

Mondeo's position in the Mid-Size car market this month:

Top 10 Selling Mid-Size Cars:

1. Toyota Camry - 1,955
2. Mazda 6 - 485
3. Ford Mondeo - 440
4. Subaru Liberty - 429
5. Honda Accord Euro - 307
6. Volkswagen Passat - 295
7. Volkswagen Jetta - 240
8. Skoda Octavia - 151
= 9. Hyundai i45 - 148
= 9. Suzuki Kizashi - 148

Holden Epica - 89
Thanks JP. I think the reason for loss of market share this year (when they were expecting to grow it) has come from the overall growth in the market. Ford were clearly expecting to grow sales and they have. But not at the pace of the 2010 general market YTD.

Ford are talking about doubling Fiesta market share from 8% to 15%, and in a segment that is growing at double digit rates, expect to see Fiesta topping 2,000 units a month for the first time mid-late 2011.

http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mell...257790000CAA25
In stark contrast, Fiesta sales have outstripped its booming light-car segment, to the tune of 28.6 per cent against the class average of 18.7 per cent from January to July.

Furthermore, driven by much better model availability, improved value and perhaps even lower pricing, Ford is predicting that the Fiesta’s market share will soar from its current level of a little more than eight per cent to match its light-car rivals, the Hyundai Getz and Toyota Yaris, about 15 per cent.
Mondeo will further improve in 2011 with the EcoBoost and better access to diesels. It has risen (slowly from well down the order ~250/mth to over 400/mth) up the ranks. The driveline changes will really help drive sales.

Territory will be completely refreshed and offer a class leading diesel. Volumes could reach the 2,000/mth levels last seen in 2005/6.

FPV models will be back up and running and contributing 100/mth as of October 2010 to the Falcon's figures. Ecoboost and LiLPG can do great things for Falcon in 2011.

Ranger T6 is coming. The current model is selling very well and the new model should continue the upward trend.

Focus will disappoint in 2011, before shining again in 2012 when the Focus3 arrives. The Focus RS will provide a temporary shot of 315 sales for this year. Most likely in the month of October.

Last edited by phillyc; 08-09-2010 at 12:41 PM.
Old 08-09-2010, 09:31 PM   #88

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

NZ fleets help to drive growth

http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mell...257797002821B0

Vehicle sales climb out of the mire as NZ government nominates three suppliers

7 September 2010

By JACQUI MADELIN in NEW ZEALAND

NEW ZEALAND’S vehicle market continues its slow climb out of recession, with August’s 6437 sales representing a 17.2 per cent rise in passenger car and LCV volumes over August 2009.

It could have been higher, says Motor Industry Association CEO Perry Kerr, but for stock constraints in some areas.

Mr Kerr said the August increase needed to be viewed against the fact that August 2009’s 1076 sales tally was one of the lowest on record.

Last month’s 4720 passenger car sales marked a seven per cent rise on August last year, with light commercial sales up 60 per cent to 1717 vehicles.

Used import sales have bounced back further with 7730 registrations, an increase of 26.5 per cent over August 2009.

Big news for the month is the announcement of the new system of government contracts, replacing the departmental vehicle tender process.

Buying has been centralised, with the government issuing a list of three main suppliers – primarily Toyota and Hyundai, plus Mitsubishi – with an approved list of models from which the various departments must choose.

The contracts are reportedly watertight and government departments will therefore have to use the designated list for all but specialist requirements. That means Holden, Ford and Nissan are likely to lose out, except where existing specialist contracts such as the police requirement remain intact.

Specialist contracts have not yet been made public.

Government orders reportedly make up at least 10 per cent of NZ sales, sufficient to change the fortunes of several companies. Hyundai stands to gain the most if its cars are chosen over Toyota’s.

Meanwhile, Toyota remained glued to top spot on the sales table with 1104 sales in August, up 8.4 per cent, for 17.15 per cent share.

Toyota general manager sales and operations Steve Prangnell said Toyota had been the major government supplier for 20 years, with 25 to 30 per cent of annual government fleet orders, “so it was important to be part of that tender and maintain our position”.

He said having a nationwide dealer network was vital to winning the tender – “infrastructure counts”.

Ford placed second, up 14.2 per cent, its 790 sales boosted by 200 rental deliveries.

Ford managing director Trevor Auger said he supported of a transparent government tender process, but with secondary contracts not yet confirmed, he could not be sure they would offset Ford’s contract losses.

Mazda hit another record in August, with 604 sales – its largest August tally – helping it to hold on to third place, with 9.38 per cent share.

Mazda NZ managing director Andrew Clearwater said quality fleet replacement was coming in, with most sales from metropolitan dealers.

“Our rural guys who traditionally do private business are still finding it pretty tough,” he said.

“It helps that we are in stock and we are turning it over. We have gained some business over competitors finding it hard to source stock.”

Mr Clearwater said fleets that deferred purchases last year were now buying, driving sales.

“Rather than solid signs of economic recovery, the economy has hit a plateau,” he said.

Holden sits fourth with 580 sales, down 0.3 per cent with Commodore on run-out, and Nissan takes fifth on 467, up 31.5 per cent.

Its managing director John Manley also says that increase comes via fleets, with private buyers still cautious.

He said losing government contracts was a blow, but Qashqai’s conquest sales could offset that loss. Hyundai takes sixth, up 18.2 per cent to 429 sales, and Mitsubishi retains seventh up 16.7 to 377, followed by Suzuki up 32.7 per cent on 365. Honda sales gained 3.1 per cent, to 232, for ninth place, with VW rounding out the top 10 at 210 sales, up 43.8 per cent.

Toyota’s HiLux topped August sales with 247 registrations followed by the Corolla on 224 and Suzuki’s evergreen Swift at 208.

NZ top 10 makes August 2010:
Rank Make Sales % Share
1 Toyota 1104 17.1%
2 Ford 790 12.3%
3 Mazda 604 9.4%
4 Holden 580 9.0%
5 Nissan 467 7.2%
6 Hyundai 429 6.7%
7 Mitsubishi 377 5.8%
8 Suzuki 365 5.7%
9 Honda 232 3.6%
10 Volkswagen 210 3.2%
Source: MIA NZ
Old 21-09-2010, 06:28 PM   #89

Fleet sales still loom large over local industry

http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mell...2577A5000AE348

Holden leads ‘big three’ in private sales, but fleet vehicles still dominate

21 September 2010

By RON HAMMERTON

FOR every new motor vehicle sold to a private customer in Australia so far this year, another has gone to a fleet customer – business, government or rental company – and usually at a healthy discount.

Of sales to so-called non-private customers, roughly half of the vehicles have come from the ‘big three’ local car-makers, with vehicles split to varying degrees between their own locally made products and imports from overseas partners.

The local car-makers will tell you that fleet sales, despite thin-to-invisible profit margins, give them considerable benefits via economies of scale in manufacturing, profit on spare parts and, for their dealers, servicing.

Privately, though, they and their dealers wish more of their sales were to private customers, from whom they stand a better chance of wringing an up-front return on every vehicle, even if only through accessories and the like. Profit is usually fatter on the up-spec models preferred by private buyers, too.

When GM Holden launched its VE Commodore in 2006, part of the goal was to lift the top-selling large sedan’s appeal to both private buyers and so-called ‘user-chooser’ business lease customers who, although counted as business fleet numbers, are effectively private purchasers.

Ford, too, was looking to raise the mix of up-market Falcons when its current FG model arrived, to help the bottom-line.

So, how do the local car-makers fare in the private/non-private buyer split?

Starting with the three biggest-selling locally made cars – Holden Commodore, Ford Falcon and Toyota Camry – it is clear that none even get close to a 50/50 split of the general market.

Almost three-quarters of Commodore and Camry sales – 73 per cent for both, to be exact – are made to fleet buyers, with just 27 per cent finding homes with ordinary domestic motorists this year.

But at the Blue Oval, private sales are even weaker, with just 19 per cent of Falcons parked in private garages, and 81 per cent going to non-private owners.

Ford has sold almost 22,000 Falcons to fleets, compared with Holden’s 27,000 Commodore sedans, Sportwagons and Utes, and yet Commodore outsells Falcon by 50 per cent overall. Clearly, Holden is winning more of the hearts and minds of private buyers, as the company intended when it launched the VE.

However, the picture is skewed the other way when we look at a couple of derivatives of these two vehicles.

The private share of Ford’s Falcon-based Territory volume is 28 per cent, reflecting its appeal to families, while the private share of Holden’s long-wheelbase Caprice is just 13 per cent, reflecting its role as a limo for both commercial chauffeurs and governments.

Top dog for private buyers in Australia is Holden’s Ute, at 42 per cent. And a good many more of those vehicles are no doubt sold as business vehicles to tradies, farmers and the like – effectively private sales.

The Toyota Aurion – the reskinned, up-market stretched version of the Camry – is next best, with a 32 per cent private clientele.

Camry Hybrid manages only 22 per cent, with government buyers – particularly the Victorian government – providing a large slice of the sales support for that vehicle, unsurprisingly after investing heavily to woo its production to Australia.

That low percentage of private appeal would be a disappointment to Toyota, which had banked on a larger slice of private, green-tinged motorists getting their cheque books out to save money at the bowser.

That buyer split, however, is line-ball with the private uptake of Toyota’s other hybrid car, the Prius – about 24 per cent.

And that brings us to overall fleet sales by the big three, including their imports.

Toyota is overwhelmingly the biggest supplier of non-private vehicles in Australia – 87,540 in the eight months to the end of August, compared with Holden’s 51,829 and Ford’s 44,197.

However, it is Ford that sells the greatest percentage of its volume to non-private buyers – 68 per cent, compared with Toyota’s 62 per cent and Holden’s 57 per cent.

In Toyota’s case, the fleet appeal of its imported vehicles – Corolla, Yaris, RAV4, Tarago, HiLux and LandCruiser, in particular – no doubt raises the non-private element of its sales.

Holden turns out to be the closest to achieving a 50/50 split of the overall market, possibly because it has not been pushing fleet sales as hard as the others after suffering a severely dented bottom line in the GFC.

It will be interesting to see if that changes once Holden begins local production of its Cruze small car in 2011, with pressure to maximise factory throughput.

Old 21-09-2010, 11:09 PM   #90

So Falcon is just 19% private sales. And Ford has a higher percentage of fleet sales than Toyota and Holden.

What does Ford need to get more private buyers in? All along I have said private buyers want more wagons or hatches but thats gone from Falcon now. Is it time to make the XR6 permanently $36990 driveaway?

Maybe getting rid of the dreadfully uninspiring current Falcon marketing.