You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 30-06-2009, 01:34 PM   #61
Gabbs
Curry in a hurry

I've said it before but drink drivers that get caught still get to keep there car are they not more dangerous than hoons. Depending what they blow they should take there car off them if its just over 1 month if its by a big margin 6 months. If they keep on increasing the length that they keep hoon's cars they are going to try and outrun the cops putting more lifes at risk.
Gabbs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2009, 01:44 PM   #62

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by Grunter
Force advanced driver training (and not just a one day course) prior to receiving a license and again prior to retesting for the open license, and some may realise the possible consequences, or at the very least give them the skills to get themselves out of the stupid situations they may put themselves into. Hell, give it a go and see if it does show an improvement in the long term. It may give the inexperienced driver a little more food for thought before putting themselves and/or others in a dangerous position, which in itself makes it worth doing.
I know BMW has a course were they actually show the amount of time it requires to slow down at higher speeds, etc. They're idea is to try and save one life. Now if the government has an approved course that teaches the inexperienced driver to control his vehicle and the dangers of higher speeds in a road car then it would go a long way. Unfortunately its not a quick fix but a long term solution.
The way the government looks at things long term solutions dont win elections.
Old 30-06-2009, 02:02 PM   #63
platinumXR
IWCMOGTVM Club Supporter.

I know BMW has a course were they actually show the amount of time it requires to slow down at higher speeds, etc. They're idea is to try and save one life. Now if the government has an approved course that teaches the inexperienced driver to control his vehicle and the dangers of higher speeds in a road car then it would go a long way. Unfortunately its not a quick fix but a long term solution.
The way the government looks at things long term solutions dont win elections.
A very wise man once said "People often get their ambitions confused with their abilities" - Allan Moffatt AO

Defensive or Advanced or whatever, Driver Training is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone as a matter of course, and you are 100% right but it is still only part of the problem, there still needs to be a societal change in attitude regarding all forms of driver misconduct.

Kid's don't understand what consequences could eventuate as a result of their poor decision making. It happens to everyone else "but not me, I'm a good driver if I do say so myself". One of their mates gets killed and then they suddenly "see the light"...not much has changed, even from when I was a lad in the mid 1980's and freshly licenced with an XC Fairmont GXL with a 351, FMX, 9" diff - I still did silly things that I regret now.

Perhaps more visit's to St. Vincents/ Albert / Wesmead / RPA Hospital on the weekends to help mop up the blood and assist in controlling angry and confused parents of collision victims may assist in their next decision to do run a red light during a 'street race' or burnout in a populated and high traffic volume area...but I doubt it.

Toys:
2017.5 LZ Focus RS, Magnetic Grey my new pocket rocket
2008 BF2 RTV Ute
1993 EB2 S-XR8 Sedan, Platinum, manual (now sold)
1975 XB Fairmont GS Sedan, Tropic Gold...or Starlight Blue...not sure yet...(SOLD)
platinumXR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2009, 02:07 PM   #64

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by platinumXR
A very wise man once said "People often get their ambitions confused with their abilities" - Allan Moffatt AO

Defensive or Advanced or whatever, Driver Training is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone as a matter of course, and you are 100% right but it is still only part of the problem, there still needs to be a societal change in attitude regarding all forms of driver misconduct.
I agree with you there. There are many factors that need looking into and thats why I posed the question will these new laws actually do anything.

People are gonna wipe themselves off or put themselves in a wheelchair its trying to reduce this number that is the challenge.
Old 30-06-2009, 02:21 PM   #65
platinumXR

There are many factors that need looking into and thats why I posed the question will these new laws actually do anything
Ok, I see your point and the answer is no. Well, not exactly...there will be a few more complaints about the new laws than before...but that's it...so no.

Nothing will change. The Gummint in it's infinite wisdom cannot afford to send kid's off to driver training. It is that simple. The Gummint (NSW at least) has no money to pay Essential Services workers...let alone kid's who are a Risk Management Advisors nightmare.

They will instead give themselves an 18% annual payrise and allocate money to local councils to build Alfresco dining area's in main streets and community memorials that mean nothing...but spend money potentially saving lives? No tangible dividend there my friend.

Toys:
2008 BF2 RTV Ute
1975 XB Fairmont GS Sedan, Tropic Gold...or Starlight Blue...not sure yet...(SOLD)
Old 30-06-2009, 06:56 PM   #66

Originally Posted by platinumXR
I am sorry to contradict you but I cannot allow an Urban Myth to perpetuate:

There is no legislation anywhere in any state that I know of that allows anyone to speed in a medical emergency; particularly unlicensed, unregistered, uninsured etc. There are exemptions for police, fire, ambulance VRA and SES under their respective regulatory Act's to exceed posted speed limits in life threatening situations whilst under warning device activation and in approved emergency vehicles.

If this did happen then the police officer either made a very poor and potentially dangerous decision, or...OR...the medical emergency was so life threatening that an ambulance would be there too late...then the police would [should] have used their own vehicle to transport the 'patient'. His discretionary decision could have cost more lives (if the 'driver' had a collision during the escort) and not to mention the potential for the police officer to lose his/her job and face criminal / negligence charges.

The driver would face charges of unlicensed, unregistered, uninsured, drive in a manner or speed dangerous to the public and probably a few others. The the driver could always take it to court and if the police were sympathetic and handed up a Brief of Evidence showing extenuating circumstances (in a favourable light) then the Magistrate may hand down a conviction but no penalty or potentially dismiss.

Police have a Duty of Care to all members of the public and that includes innocent people that would be harmed as a consequence of poor decisions such as this.

Once again; if you decided not to read the above paragraph: THERE IS NO LEGISLATION ANYWHERE THAT ALLOWS A PERSON TO SPEED IN A MEDICAL EMERGENCY PARTICULARLY IF THEY ARE UNLICENSED, UNREGISTERED AND UNINSURED.

If there is, then provide me with a link to the appropriate legislation and I will stand corrected.

Believe what you want mate. I was there and it was me that was pulled over driving unregistered and speeding and was escorted to the hospital by the cops with my mates wrist hanging on by a thread.

BTW, while being escorted, the cop was pulling away from me and I was sitting 130K, so he buttoned off.

I'm actually wish it was you in my passengers seat. Then I would have listened to you and waited for the ambo. You seem to be the sort of person that would obey the letter of the law and if some sort of medical emergency cropped up and got pinged for 10K over the limit going to the hospital, would have the gawl to pin the fine on me.

I'd better stop it there before I get booted from this forum, because you have no idea on how the world works outside of the city and the internet.
Old 30-06-2009, 07:17 PM   #67
Thankfull

At this set of lights there are 3 lanes each way, so six lanes of traffic need to stop. The ambulance can clearly see that traffic has stopped and they proceed through the lights. What they did not see is the last lane on their left (the far left lane of the 3 lanes) was open. As they go through, racer boy in his doof doof skyline thinks nothing of why all the traffic is stopped at a green light. This particular intersection is in a 80 zone, he punches through the intersection at about 90. In the process he t bones the ambulance and puts it on its side, thankfully no one is seriously hurt but 4 ambulances are needed, along with one more for the original emergency call.

Simple... hang racer boy from the Doof Doof skyline...from a Stobie pole nearest to the accident scene.

Problem solved.

Last edited by Thankfull; 30-06-2009 at 07:28 PM.
Thankfull is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2009, 07:21 PM   #68

platinumXR, try looking in the criminal code rather than the traffic act.......
Old 30-06-2009, 07:31 PM   #69

Originally Posted by hame
Our local area commander got caught doing 76km over the limit in an unmarked cop car.

So would they just make him swap cars?
Take the SS/SV6 or XR8/XR6T off him and leave him with the Hyundai Elantra (I read about in another thread) for 12 months
pauljh74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2009, 07:40 PM   #70

Irrespective of the law, if it was a family member at deaths door and the only way to get them to medical help was to break the law, then that is exactly what i will be doing...

BUT!! having said that, i would sure as hell be trying not to make the situation worse by having another accident and compounding the situation...

Once said person is safe, then i will deal with the law...

Old 30-06-2009, 07:43 PM   #71
platinumXR

platinumXR, try looking in the criminal code rather than the traffic act.......
Show me. I can't find it.

Toys:
2008 BF2 RTV Ute
Old 30-06-2009, 07:45 PM   #72
platinumXR

Originally Posted by svo supporter
you have no idea on how the world works outside of the city and the internet.
*sigh* go back and read my replies again.

Toys:
2008 BF2 RTV Ute
Old 30-06-2009, 07:47 PM   #73
platinumXR

No, on second thought disregard. People are too busy skimming and missing the point of what I said and you obviously want to deliberately mislead people.

I know more about things outside the City and the internerd than you think.

I am done.

Toys:
2008 BF2 RTV Ute
Old 30-06-2009, 09:27 PM   #74

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Believe what you want mate. I was there and it was me that was pulled over driving unregistered and speeding and was escorted to the hospital by the cops with my mates wrist hanging on by a thread.

Ok, so we have more info here. I have some questions for you.

1) Did you try basic first aid, apply direct pressure and keep it held there until it stopped bleeding?
2) Did you call an ambulance, if so where was it, how far away (in a rural area they normally will give you some idea), did you consider meeting it?
3) Who held the pressure on the wound while you were driving?
4) What was the blood flow like?
5) Was your mate able to talk and stand/sit?
6) How far from hospital were you when you departed?
7) Most importantly, do you consider it reasonable to run red lights, stop signs and how much can you go over the limit in these circumstances?

You have heard some good advice from some people that either know this stuff well or sought quality advice from those that do. Remember some of us do know a few cops and/or lawers personally. You have chosen to challenge that information and presented potentially illegal and dangerous advice to others here, people that may chose to follow your advice and end up dead, how does that notion feel?

Now that you have challenged us, it is time for us to challenge you, back up the situation and decisions that occured to you, that way we can really have a look at it and see if you had reasonable grounds. You must be able to do this as you would have had to think about how you will justify your actions before you acted. You did, didn't you?

This may sound harsh but there are many of us here that are genuinely concerned that readers here are getting the wrong idea. Lets make no mistake here, someone could be killed as a result of actions resulting from the wrong idea.
Old 30-06-2009, 09:41 PM   #75

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

I agree something needs to be done, but there are many avenues to look at in terms of road safety rather then increasing punishments that don't seem to be doing anything.
A post from another thread that is relevant here.
Ok, this is urban myth at it's finest and is not backed up by the evidence. Sure when you look at the road toll in isolation, it is higher than it was a decade ago. The fault in this theory is that although the road toll has increased, so to has the number of vehicles on the road and the size of the population.

Here is my evidence, straight from the ABS

Until 1970, each year other than during the Depression and World War II had seen a steady growth in motor vehicle ownership and a corresponding increase in road deaths. By 1970 the number of vehicles had increased twelve-fold over the number in 1926 and the road toll had increased about four times to reach its highest mark of 3,798 deaths. The number of fatalities per 100,000 people also peaked in 1970 at 30.4. The road toll in 2003 of 1,633 people was less than half the 1970 figure, while the number of fatalities per 100,000 people (8.2) for 2003 was less than a third that of 1970. Also, while there were 8.0 road fatalities per 10,000 registered vehicles in 1970, this rate has decreased to 1.2 in 2003 (ATSB).

Here is the link

The road toll may be increasing but in proportion to number of vehicles and population, it is decreasing. Why is the million dollar question? Is it because of speed cameras (I doubt it, I completely agree more cops is a better solution), is it because cars are safer, is it because roads are better or drivers are better? I do not know, I think it is a combination of all of the above. All I know is I now go to less major road trauma than I did 5 years ago and I like that (less crappy nightmares).
My point here is the road toll in relation to both population and number of vehicles has decreased markedly in the 13 years covered by these stats. You can not however define if that is a result of increased severity of laws, car safety, road condition etc. Making this determination is near on impossible to work out as there have been so many changes that have potential to impact on road safety.

Any person who says otherwise is voicing pure opinion without hard facts to back it up. If you disagree with that statement, back it up with fact, not opinion and I will gladly stand corrected.
Old 30-06-2009, 10:19 PM   #76

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

Even though roads and vehicles have become much safer and the road toll has decreased markedly, especially when considering the vastly increased amount of traffic on the roads these days, the situation now is that the politicians, police chiefs, media etc are actually looking for a death free situation on the roads, and wont stop reducing speed limits, increasing penalties etc. until that happens.

But we all know that objective is unachievable especially when the general population and the human factor is directly involved. So we will just have to put up with the increased penalties and whatever else they decide for years to come, regardless of the real reasons for the fatalities that trigger these knee jerk reactions.
Silver Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2009, 10:25 PM   #77

Originally Posted by geckoGT
Ok, so we have more info here. I have some questions for you.

1) Did you try basic first aid, apply direct pressure and keep it held there until it stopped bleeding?
A= What do you think? Na, just let him bleed like a cut snake. Basic first aid. Is that when I remove the offending part with a sterile saw or grinder?

2) Did you call an ambulance, if so where was it, how far away (in a rural area they normally will give you some idea), did you consider meeting it?

A= Not sure of distance. I think it was posted. Meet it or ring. A= Would you waste precious minutes? Then again, I reckon the ambo was about 2 mins from my home.

3) Who held the pressure on the wound while you were driving?

A= Use commonsense there. Actually it was the copper that was in the passengers seat, straight after I was pulled up.

4) What was the blood flow like?
A= What do you think? Non existant. Generally happens after people have bleed profusely for about an hour.

5) Was your mate able to talk and stand/sit?

A= He could stand in the car. What do you think? Talk A= Na, just slept. Come to think of it, he was very cold when I finally got to the hospital.

6) How far from hospital were you when you departed?

A = I have no idea. Think it was answered, but I might be wrong. Maybe 5 kay away

7) Most importantly, do you consider it reasonable to run red lights, stop signs and how much can you go over the limit in these circumstances?

A= Are red lights and stop signs existant on open roads? If they are, I obviously missed them. But then again, when I got into town, I did go through a stop sign. I'd better wear the fine over that, along with my escort.

Speed limit. A= 100K over. What do you think. Query already answered in my postings. Oh, going through the signs and or red lights. UUmmm maybe 100K. Or it might have been 10K. Can't remember as I wasn't paying attention to the speedo. Oh no, inattention. Another fine coming up.
People knowing lawyers and coppers, good on them. What makes you think I wouldn't? Then again I do. Mainly from defending criminal charges brought about from being an idiot trying to get an injured mate to medical help, instead of taking well presented advise from others.

Final comments. My postings are something that happened to me personally and I didn't have to front up and explain myself to the powers to be, nor reach into my pocket to support some Gov't coffer or not have the key to my own front door. If people think I'm crapping on, that's their problem. I didn't grab a camera to photograph all the gore, nor take a picture of the copper concerned. So take from those comments what you want.

If I was in a similar situation again, I'd do the same thing and wouldn't careless if I was locked up and the key thrown away. Nor would I care what any other person said about me for doing it. It'd be obvious those people are heartless people that don't care about anyone but themselves. More worried about fronting upto the powers to be and explaining their actions, than getting the treatment as quick as possible.

One final thing to think about. If you were in a similar situation to what I was in, what would you do? Ring ,prey and wait, or act on it yourself?

End of comments
Old 30-06-2009, 10:33 PM   #78

People knowing lawyers and coppers, good on them. What makes you think I wouldn't? Then again I do. Mainly from defending criminal charges brought about from being an idiot trying to get an injured mate to medical help, instead of taking well presented advise from others.

Final comments. My postings are something that happened to me personally and I didn't have to front up and explain myself to the powers to be, nor reach into my pocket to support some Gov't coffer or not have the key to my own front door. If people think I'm crapping on, that's their problem. I didn't grab a camera to photograph all the gore, nor take a picture of the copper concerned. So take from those comments what you want.

If I was in a similar situation again, I'd do the same thing and wouldn't careless if I was locked up and the key thrown away. Nor would I care what any other person said about me for doing it. It'd be obvious those people are heartless people that don't care about anyone but themselves. More worried about fronting upto the powers to be and explaining their actions, than getting the treatment as quick as possible.

One final thing to think about. If you were in a similar situation to what I was in, what would you do? Ring ,prey and wait, or act on it yourself?

End of comments
Ok then, you obviously do have problem backing up to others how you came to the decision to break laws, risk lives of your mate, yourself and innocent road users. Fair enough.

In my experience, and there is plenty, even an arterial bleed from the wrist is well controlled by simple direct pressure, which would negate the need for driving unregistered and unlicensed. Any medical advisor would probably advise a court the same. I have not been to a severed wrist or ankle yet that was "life threatening" if caught early. You were damn lucky you got a considerate cop, next time you may not. Enough said.
Old 30-06-2009, 10:49 PM   #79
Green X

Originally Posted by Silver Ghia
Even though roads and vehicles have become much safer and the road toll has decreased markedly, especially when considering the vastly increased amount of traffic on the roads these days, the situation now is that the politicians, police chiefs, media etc are actually looking for a death free situation on the roads, and wont stop reducing speed limits, increasing penalties etc. until that happens.

Yep they are kidding them-self, Looking at the mining sector, any of the big operators BHP/Rio ya just about need a permit to go to the Toilet and they still have deaths/ accidents even with JSA's Take 5's, Lock isolation, hefty penalty's .

Even the smallest safety breach or horsing around can result in the loss of your Job. A guy we worked with was fired on the spot for climbing into a light truck wile drunk and blowing the horn that's basically a $130,000 fine right there, another for moving a EWP without a harness, the basket was 300mm of the ground
Old 30-06-2009, 11:04 PM   #80

Ok then, you obviously do have problem backing up to others how you came to the decision to break laws, risk lives of your mate, yourself and innocent road users. Fair enough.

In my experience, and there is plenty, even an arterial bleed from the wrist is well controlled by simple direct pressure, which would negate the need for driving unregistered and unlicensed. Any medical advisor would probably advise a court the same. I have not been to a severed wrist or ankle yet that was "life threatening" if caught early. You were damn lucky you got a considerate cop, next time you may not. Enough said.
Got to love the attitude....

GeckoGT, you've explained very well the intricacies of this situation, as others have clearly pointed out there is no such lophole or legislation allowing illegal activity on the roads "for special circumstances"...
If you're lucky enough to get by with a lenient cop that's prepared to overlook the offenses in the "spirit of the law" as opposed to the "letter of the law" that's one thing, but you'd be taking a BIG risk for all involved.

Old 30-06-2009, 11:11 PM   #81

I must say I was disappointed watching the news tonight when the idea of crushing repeat offenders cars came up. When the Victorian Emergency Services minister actually spoke up on the issue, what ever his name is, he said he wasn't interested in crushing them, but selling them, to make more revenue. I think this kind of comment lends weight to those stating that the State Government are more interested in revenue than road safety. I would say that the judicial system backs this up too. Go and sit in a court room for a while, listen to some matters, always a fine and always some sort of payment plan.
Old 30-06-2009, 11:12 PM   #82

Age old problem, not all will listen, no matter how good the advice. I am thinking this may be a good reason why the road toll continues as do the increases in penalties.

The bit that always amuses me is the ones that complain the loudest about increases in penalties are often the ones that thumb their noses at the law in other threads.

Going off the feedback I have received, at least there have been some that have learnt someting, my job is done.
Old 30-06-2009, 11:14 PM   #83

Originally Posted by Redrum
I must say I was disappointed watching the news tonight when the idea of crushing repeat offenders cars came up. When the Victorian Emergency Services minister actually spoke up on the issue, what ever his name is, he said he wasn't interested in crushing them, but selling them, to make more revenue. I think this kind of comment lends weight to those stating that the State Government are more interested in revenue than road safety. I would say that the judicial system backs this up too. Go and sit in a court room for a while, listen to some matters, always a fine and always some sort of payment plan.

I think selling them is fine I just wish they used the proceeds to fund better driver education. That to me would be a win win, get the no hopers off the street and give the kids giving it a go a better chance.
Old 30-06-2009, 11:16 PM   #84

I think selling them is fine I just wish they used the proceeds to fund better driver education. That to me would be a win win, get the no hopers off the street and give the kids giving it a go a better chance.
That is the sort of spin they would attach to such an action, but reality, just like the parks charge on your water bill, the taxes derived from gambling, other revenue raised from traffic offences, it would be spent on anything but.
Old 30-06-2009, 11:23 PM   #85

We can always hope!
Old 01-07-2009, 02:07 AM   #86

It's your type of attitude towards people like me, that my last comments were aimed at. Just to refresh your memory, here's the quote

It'd be obvious those people are heartless people that don't care about anyone but themselves. More worried about fronting upto the powers to be and explaining their actions, than getting the treatment as quick as possible.

So the best response I can put forward to you is If you were in a similar situation to what I was in, what would you do? Ring ,prey and wait, or act on it yourself? I think the beginning of the quote best sums you up.

Enough said
Old 01-07-2009, 06:47 AM   #87

It's your type of attitude towards people like me, that my last comments were aimed at. Just to refresh your memory, here's the quote

It'd be obvious those people are heartless people that don't care about anyone but themselves. More worried about fronting upto the powers to be and explaining their actions, than getting the treatment as quick as possible.
Seems you would like to keep it going, I was happy to leave it.

That is an assumption on your part which is incorrect. If that was the case, why would I do the job I do? It is not a case of not caring about others, it is more that I respect road safety as I see the results of a lack of respect for road safety, frequently.

My comments have been said, not because I like these discussions, I find them boring and frustrating, but because I see the danger that some advice from some people present due to giving people the wrong idea. Believe me, I do have much better things to do with my time. Personally I would like to see vast improvements in road safety and a reduction in public injury rates. When people are injured, I am all for getting the assistance they require as quickly and safely as possible, that is why I have dedicated my life to the provision of pre hospital care to sick and injured people, I do not do it on a adhoc basis. I think it is a huge stretch for you to say to any emergency services worker that they are "heartless people who don't care about anyone but themselves", the thankyou letters I have recieved seem to suggest differently.

Yes, it may be construed as an "attitude against people like you", this is not my intent for it to be an attitude. It is however a concern that I have when I hear about certain actions, as it is for many other emergency services personnel, resulting from our experience of when such actions do not end well.

So the best response I can put forward to you is If you were in a similar situation to what I was in, what would you do? Ring ,prey and wait, or act on it yourself? I think the beginning of the quote best sums you up.

Enough said
I can not answer that because I do not know your situation, due to the fact that when I asked your answers were full of sarcasm and contained no useful detail. I can say, from my experience of similar wounds that I have dealt with, there were probably other options available that a reasonable lay person could have considered. That my be the case, it may not, but for me to make a decision on that more information is needed.

Now if you are, I am happy to leave it alone. Feel free to pm me if you have further points/questions.
Old 01-07-2009, 07:40 AM   #88
WOTDAH
Yes YOU

I know I would much rather have my loved ones in the hands of a trained paramedic/driver than risk mine and other peoples lives by racing to hospital emotionally charged, I think you are much better waiting for the ambos and concentrate on attending to the injured person. Anyway back on topic, bring on the tougher hoon laws l am totally fed up with P plate hoons wanting to race me at every set of lights and having no respect for speed limits. Police should increase penalties for exceeding limits by 30km and relax them for everything under that.
WOTDAH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2009, 08:39 AM   #89
platinumXR

Sorry, but I'll disagree with you there. You are allowed to speed if there is a medical emergency. You can also drive unlicenced and unregistered for the same purpose
Ok, since this is way off the topic of the OP and it seems you have not understood the point of what I was on about, I will have my final say on this topic and leave it at that as I don't want warnings and bans for no good reason. So bear with me and read this carefully and wait a bit before you reply.

My point, was; that you stated in an earlier post that "you" [meaning] anyone: are "allowed" to drive unlicensed, unregistered and uninsured in a medical emergency. This is not true, no one is "allowed" to do this under any form of legislative approval. There is NO Act, Section or Subsection in any Australian Act, Rule or Regulation that I know of that "allows" or condones this action.

Further to this point and the reason why I posted was: that other people reading posts such as these will read them and believe they can apply this logic to a broader range of situations and inevitably cause more problems and trauma than is necessary. What I will say in a derogatory tone is that these particular comments you made in this context were irresponsible.

I will stand by the comment I made that the police involved in your situation [should] have driven the patient to hospital themselves when they made contact with you, either in their truck if 1-up, or the police driven your vehicle if the patient could not be moved from vehicle to vehicle...if they were 2-up. They made an on the spot choice and by the sound of it your mate did not die and they decided not to apply any charges to you for breaking numerous laws in the process - THEY HAVE THE DISCRETION TO DO THIS - I MADE REFERENCE TO THIS IN ANOTHER POST. Good on you and well done for saving your mate but like I posted: DO NOT MISTAKE THIS APPLICATION OF DISCRETION AS LEGISLATIVE LOOPHOLE OR COMMON DEFENSE.

HOWEVER; what I did not say: and it seems you did not pick up on this is that I did not "say" that these event's did not happen nor did I say that you should not have attempted to save the life of another human being which is what it seems you are accusing me of. In response to your post: yes I would more than likely do the same thing given the same circumstances - I am not arguing that.

I have no typical attitude toward anyone like you as for starters I do not know you and I was not there so I cannot say for certain what other factors contributed to the situation. I, like others can only respond to what you put on this forum.

If you would like, PM me and I would be more than happy to discuss why I know so much about legislation and traffic / criminal laws and I am not a solicitor. But only if you really want to debate this topic and not get personal about this. If not; I am more than happy to leave it at that and move on.

This is a public forum remember and I know you are entitled to your say just as much as I am entitled to mine.

Toys:
2008 BF2 RTV Ute
Old 01-07-2009, 10:03 AM   #90

I don't mind laws that target serial hoons, I think they are definatley needed.

HOWEVER two things I do not like
1) The government being able to seize a citizens legally owned and obtained property.
2) The huge subjective aspect of a "hoon" offence as interpreted by an individual officer.

Number 1 is easy to fix (simply take it out of the legislation), number 2 you can fix by requiring video evidence of the offence if it is going to lead to severe punishment (easy as all HWY patrol cars have CCTV cameras).

Rather than seizing property of these serial offenders (I'm talking 3 major strikes - not chirping the tyres) they should be recieveing custodial sentences (same as drink drivers should be). Taking a car is not going to do squat as is not in the spirit of a democratic government.
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post