You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 07-01-2011, 01:49 AM   #61

Originally Posted by Dr Smith
Paul Gover (Carsguide ed) mentioned on 3AW this afternoon that he will be driving one in 6 weeks.
Let me guess, he'll bring his clip board and big red pen just because he's a sycophant of the Holden PR machine.
Can't wait to read the drivel of a paid idiot castigating the local effort whilst simultaneously praising the Korean Craptiva.
Sorry to offend, but too many negative articles from this village idiot have been tainted in commercialism, kickbacks and corrupt conduct from someone with the audacity to even call himself a journalist.

Old 07-01-2011, 01:58 AM   #62
ED Classic

Originally Posted by ltd
Let me guess, he'll bring his clip board and big red pen just because he's a sycophant of the Holden PR machine.
Can't wait to read the drivel of a paid idiot castigating the local effort whilst simultaneously praising the Korean Craptiva.
Sorry to offend, but too many negative articles from this village idiot have been tainted in commercialism, kickbacks and corrupt conduct from someone with the audacity to even call himself a journalist.

Yep hes all Holden that joker
ED Classic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-01-2011, 11:24 AM   #63
EDManual

The exhaust tips were not real, just cosmetic. It had one exhaust on the right side coming from underneath.

Also this car was next to me for a while, and it seemed to be pretty powerful, but had no diesel sound so I would say it was a 4.0litre 6, (sounded like one).
EDManual is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-01-2011, 11:54 AM   #64
XCwillo
Had Rep of GT-HO. Legit.

This thing looks awesome, really futuristic-like
Old 07-01-2011, 12:27 PM   #65
exlr8

Originally Posted by EDManual
The exhaust tips were not real, just cosmetic. It had one exhaust on the right side coming from underneath.

Also this car was next to me for a while, and it seemed to be pretty powerful, but had no diesel sound so I would say it was a 4.0litre 6, (sounded like one).
They would have been better off just having one (cosmetic) outlet then.

However, isn't this the car with the "DT" engine number?
Old 07-01-2011, 01:17 PM   #66

Originally Posted by XR
Not everyone wants to spend thousands of dollars on tyres when they need new ones.
So like I said, and I said it so that people like you AND Paxton, wouldn't get on your high horse and speak for what YOU assume to be the territory buying demographic.

MAKE IT AN OPTION AT LEAST!!!!! So then people who may want can go for it, yeah the X5 might be from a different market, but it comes with only 18"s standard... Like the 17"s on an XR6T.... I don't hear you people complaining about the optional 19"s on the FPV XR's (granted the diameter is less but come on, they are still costly).

Think about what people are suggesting before you go off on some self righteous rant about people who can't afford this and that.

Ford should develop an option for a 20" optional wheel on the territory and include it in a sports pack like on the XR's. It is not rocket science. If the smaller XR has an option for 19"s, then the bigger Terry should come with an option for 20"s.

If you don't wanna spend the cash on tyres for 20"s then hey - DON'T GET THEM!
Old 07-01-2011, 01:20 PM   #67

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Originally Posted by Danny
So like I said, and I said it so that people like you AND Paxton, wouldn't get on your high horse and speak for what YOU assume to be the territory buying demographic.

MAKE IT AN OPTION AT LEAST!!!!! So then people who may want can go for it, yeah the X5 might be from a different market, but it comes with only 18"s standard... Like the 17"s on an XR6T.... I don't hear you people complaining about the optional 19"s on the FPV XR's (granted the diameter is less but come on, they are still costly).

Think about what people are suggesting before you go off on some self righteous rant about people who can't afford this and that.

Ford should develop an option for a 20" optional wheel on the territory and include it in a sports pack like on the XR's. It is not rocket science. If the smaller XR has an option for 19"s, then the bigger Terry should come with an option for 20"s.

If you don't wanna spend the cash on tyres for 20"s then hey - DON'T GET THEM!
I agree, the worse thing about ford in the last 5 years is the lack of customer spec options.. When these cars and the BA Falcons were out we had lots of options from Factory, now we pretty much have none....

Bigger wheels would definately be a good idea as an option pack atleast. Hell if they were good looking id tick the box!
Old 07-01-2011, 01:26 PM   #68

Funny thing is ... as FORD has decreased the amount of options with standardization .... their profits are increasing. Maybe there is something in that?

Old 07-01-2011, 01:32 PM   #69

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by Auslandau
Funny thing is ... as FORD has decreased the amount of options with standardization .... their profits are increasing. Maybe there is something in that?

Probably because most of the cars sold were in the lot. So why waste R&D dollers to please a very small percentage.
Old 07-01-2011, 02:26 PM   #70
Raptor
^^^^^^^^

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For quietly going about moderating in a fair and even manner. 

I haven't had much to say on the new Territory's appearance, I guess I'm underwhelmed).
Whilst it looks new now it doesn't seem all that well executed to me, especially from the sides and at the rear. I'll use these 2 images to explain why.
(the SYII TTG pic is simon5574 car - image used without permission - thanks )

There has been a lot of effort to add/remove what I consider to be fussy creases in the rear quarter panel/C-pillar area.
The top of the C-pillar has had a crease removed (whilst it's remains in the rear door ) and the rear window corner is reshaped.
There is also a new crease (and presumably a reshaped roofline) above the rear window that now flows up into the tailgate top.

These changes just don't work for me with the old doors maintaining the strong horizontal lines.
However the lower side door cladding has been slimmed down and an 'FG like' scallop added.

IMHO this area now appears to be even less defined than before.

The new(?) wheels look to me like the old SYII Ghia rims (shown) painted dark gray (Dark Argent?) with their faces skim machined.
A typical Ford update on the cheap

The silver lining for those that want a mild update on their SX/SY/SYII is that the upper rear door cladding is probably a direct swap.
It's horizontal crease should line up well with the top of the old tail lights.
The rear bumper cladding could probably be made to fit relatively easily too, once it's trimmed off to suit the taller old tail lights.

Last edited by Raptor; 07-01-2011 at 02:33 PM.
Raptor is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-01-2011, 02:50 PM   #71
TRRTRY

i'm thinking maybe (hopefully) they just used 'old' rear doors on this mule...

i agree, why would you grt rid of the c pillar crease and maintain it in the doors???

The rear roof line looks good with the lip - i missed that before.

(no probs using the photo BTW ;))
TRRTRY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-01-2011, 03:04 PM   #72

Its only obviously a diesel at idle when you can hear the diesel rattle. At speed I think you'd need a trained ear to pick the difference.
Old 07-01-2011, 06:06 PM   #73

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by simon5574
i'm thinking maybe (hopefully) they just used 'old' rear doors on this mule...

i agree, why would you grt rid of the c pillar crease and maintain it in the doors???

The rear roof line looks good with the lip - i missed that before.

(no probs using the photo BTW ;))

No the doors remain the same, its a mid life major update in the same way a ED turned into a EF. The door crease could have been easily done though (its only plastic), its a bit of a shame that the doors don't have a full G6 style chrome frame on the door. The mid section doesn't look to outdated when viewed as a whole, testament to the original design!

I think it looks good for what they have done, why spend heaps on it when iT will get replaced completely in 2015 (speculating)?

Old 07-01-2011, 06:52 PM   #74

I think it looks good for what they have done, why spend heaps on it when iT will get replaced completely in 2015 (speculating)?
......... and for one of the smallest designated markets in the world.

Old 07-01-2011, 07:25 PM   #75
GreenR

Talked to a guy today driving a new terri. I asked him is that the final release version, he said yes. Then I asked him about the inside of the car. He said I can't tell you that.. dam
GreenR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-01-2011, 08:04 PM   #76
dannyhilton

Originally Posted by Danny
I see plenty of XR Falcon's with the 19" alloy wheel upgrade driving about. Wether a Territory buyer would tick the box and make the option financially feasible I'm not sure. But when the mid range and high end Toyota Kluger come standard with 19" alloys you'd imagine people must like the look of bigger wheels?

I'd love to get my hands on the consumer surveys Ford do.
Old 07-01-2011, 10:56 PM   #77
music189

Thumbs down oops

Got all exicted this arvo/night in the twilight about 8.45 thought I saw a new black terri coming towards me as it got closer I thought the badge in the grill looks weird ,bugger it was a new Kluger Grande with the chrome grill

They look very similair in poor light

and Paulie I agree the rear door with the crease line looks absoulte crap and its only plastic!!! makes the whole rear look tacked on in that photo
why didnt they fix it
music189 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-01-2011, 02:33 PM   #78
Joe5619

Originally Posted by plarazza
Talked to a guy today driving a new terri. I asked him is that the final release version, he said yes. Then I asked him about the inside of the car. He said I can't tell you that.. dam
what exactly did you ask about the inside that he said no too??
Joe5619 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-01-2011, 03:16 PM   #79
Raptor
^^^^^^^^

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For quietly going about moderating in a fair and even manner. 

... The door crease could have been easily done though (its only plastic)...
No it's not. The crease is in the metal of the doors.
Old 08-01-2011, 03:47 PM   #80
GreenR

Originally Posted by Joe5619
what exactly did you ask about the inside that he said no too??
Well I haven't been following the Territory threads so I have no idea if anyone knows anything about the interior of the car. But I asked the guy, who is part of the team designing the car(or something like that), what the interior is like? Does it resemble the FG falcons or similar to the current Territory. Wanted to know about a centre touch screen thingo or something. He said I can't tell you that, it is still in the works and changes are still going on.
I mentioned I was thinking of going to the car sneaking a peak maybe taking photos. He laughed I laughed . That was about it
GreenR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-01-2011, 04:32 PM   #81
jaskel

Originally Posted by plarazza
why didnt u look into the window then poke your tongue out saying ner ner..lol

Im also very underwhelmed on the new terri...screams boring to me.
jaskel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-01-2011, 04:49 PM   #82
bigsta
Making superman jealous

Originally Posted by ltd
Totally agree mate that whole site is full of biased scumbags who don't have a clue about cars or journalism anyway dont throw the word integrity at them im pretty sure they don't know what it means.

And you know my current territory is my first Ford my last 4 cars were holdens so you could say i was biased to start with.

The terry was only decided on after looking at all of whats on offer but if anyone with a ounce of sense think that whats on offer from other brands in the same price bracket comes even close to the terry warts and all in design, driavability, safety and economy (repairs etc not fuel) they are just kidding themselves.

2006 SY Territory Ghia AWD in ego with roof mount DVD, tints, 7 seats, iPod input

2005 Crewman Cross 8 with 350 cubic inches, AWD, black on black rims on black leather, tints and polished racks
NEW TOY Bayliner 185, inboard 3L 4 cylinder pushing us along at 50MPH whenever i get a chance

I love Aussie cars and are gonna really miss them soon.......
bigsta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2011, 01:30 AM   #83

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Originally Posted by jaskel
why didnt u look into the window then poke your tongue out saying ner ner..lol

Im also very underwhelmed on the new terri...screams boring to me.
Im not suprised considering you just bought the old model... The SYII is a great car, dont get me wrong!

Ive had an SX, my dads had an SX, SY Turbo and an FPV F6X and we both like the new model, ill probably get one, he probably won't because they dont offer a Petrol Turbo and he loves the power of the F6X.
Old 09-01-2011, 04:00 AM   #84
Bobman

YCQ859 (the one you photographed) is indeed a diesel.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2011, 09:17 AM   #85
jaskel

Originally Posted by DASH GT
Im not suprised considering you just bought the old model... The SYII is a great car, dont get me wrong!

Ive had an SX, my dads had an SX, SY Turbo and an FPV F6X and we both like the new model, ill probably get one, he probably won't because they dont offer a Petrol Turbo and he loves the power of the F6X.
yeah ive had Terri's for many years now...the new one looks better than my old TS but I would say it isnt better looking than my SYII but when I see it in the flesh im sure it will look better.....I hated the FG look when it first come out..now I like it..we will see
jaskel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post