You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 09-01-2009, 11:59 PM   #61
Buzz Box
Wheel Wally

Originally Posted by EDfutura25
I pay $19.45 per fortnight with a $250 excess. I have HBF car and health insurance. So there is 10% off just for having my health insurance with them. I also had a clean driving record no insurance claims etc.

I get $6000 for the car, $1200 for the mags and $500 for the amp and sub.

I am in W.A car insurance is much better here.

I could not believe in Sydney to drive my aunties 2002 pajero even with my clean record it was a 2000 excess : .
This is what I love about my car insurance I crash my car $1500 excess, my partner, mum, friends any joe blow off the street (over 25) nd its $500 so its cheaper for anyone else except me in my car to crash it :
Buzz Box is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-01-2009, 02:41 AM   #62

that 'scuse French but how can a insurance company do that?

Old 10-01-2009, 06:38 AM   #63
Valid8
COOGES

Well its official, the insurance company offered me $9000 for the Fairmont and I pleaded my case as to why it was worth more, so they came back to me with an offer of $10,000 which I accepted. Im going to miss the Au, it never missed a beat.
Now, hmmmmm, what is around melb for sale for $10k ?
Valid8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-01-2009, 09:56 AM   #64

Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Very helpful and gracious with photoshop work to help others.. 

Originally Posted by COOGES
Well its official, the insurance company offered me $9000 for the Fairmont and I pleaded my case as to why it was worth more, so they came back to me with an offer of $10,000 which I accepted. Im going to miss the Au, it never missed a beat.
Good to hear mate, considering your car was insured for the market value you did well to get the figure up a couple of $1000 's, a lot of insurance companies are not that generous especially with the drop in value of cars on the market nowadays. Good luck with the search for a replacement. used:

Russ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-01-2009, 11:23 AM   #65

good to see the insurance company being decent, my mate was car hunting recently he pointed out some ripping cars for 10k, good luck with your car hunting.
Old 10-01-2009, 12:16 PM   #66

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

second hand Ba-BF fairmont!

Old 10-01-2009, 06:35 PM   #67
Valid8
COOGES

Oh, and by the way, thanks all for your advice it was very helpful.
Old 10-01-2009, 06:47 PM   #68

I saw a car show years ago where they went into a wrecking yard in the US and there was some smashed up POS that had been sitting in the open for years.
They short circuited the air bag and it activated and the car was about 15 years old then.
Old 10-01-2009, 07:59 PM   #69
Buzz Box
Wheel Wally

Look on Pickles or Fowles and you'll see you can get BA-BF's for $10k and if you added 5-10k you could get a REALLY nice Fairlane thats only 3 years old. Even at dealers you can get BA/BF's for under $15k
Old 10-01-2009, 08:08 PM   #70
The Mighty Red

Originally Posted by Mr Hardware
100% Correct sir. One gold star.
Also
MAKE PROFIT

ie
$7k payout
$2k buyback
$3k repair job
=$2k profit!
Are you sure about this?......I wrote off my XC Fairmont GXL 351 nine inch ,top loader etc , etc, in 1990..... the payout was $3500....when I approached the insurance company about buying the car back , he said forget it I have already been offered as much aS YOUR PAYOUT.......TO WHICH i WAS EXTREMELY ****ED......he was getting more from a wrecker for my car wrecked I was being payed out after paying 6 years of premiums and a perfect car.
Old 10-01-2009, 09:50 PM   #71

RACV gave me a rectal pillage had an EF futura modded off its head by JMM INFORMED THEM OF MODS and the value of the car was increasing as a result (as was the premiums) which I happily paid car got rolled at highway speed - needless to say it was destroyed, insurance company "lost" all records of my mods and offered me 5k for the car when I had spent that much on mods alone and they knew it, I seen the assessor and pleaded my case with him with receipts in hand and all was a total hardass and stuck to his guns of it not being worth more than 5k. I really could have knocked this guys' block off but that was his "assessment" and that was that. My AU is insured agreed value and I phone them every 6 months to "reset" the market value as I AM NOT GETTING LESS FOR THE CAR THAN I OWE ON IT - this is terribly unfair IMHO. Yes they whine when I say its worth 13k because thats what I owe on it but I just say no worries I will see what other companies will do for me for my 3 cars my house and my contents and they seem to fold and give me what I want.

sry for the caps I am still quite sore I lost 12k all said and done on the EF

mrbaxr6t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-01-2009, 10:22 PM   #72
R0BD0G

amazing what does and doesnt get written off. we got a commodore ute come in the other day to work. pushed in both the pass. side pillars and pass. shockie tower wrecked the door and the style side and it doesnt get written off. then again its insured for something insane like 24k

http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....4&page=1&pp=25
R0BD0G is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-01-2009, 10:27 PM   #73

I had an accident with an elderly woman who ran a stop sign. Her fault both cars a write off. Insurance company (hers) refuse to contact me or allow me to request money from them. They send me a letter everytime to tell me they are gathering more information on the crash. This hapened two years ago and I am still waiting. It's ridiculous.

Old 10-01-2009, 10:52 PM   #74

Originally Posted by SLWXR6
I had an accident with an elderly woman who ran a stop sign. Her fault both cars a write off. Insurance company (hers) refuse to contact me or allow me to request money from them. They send me a letter everytime to tell me they are gathering more information on the crash. This hapened two years ago and I am still waiting. It's ridiculous.
IF YOUR CAR WAS INSURED @ THE TIME PASS THE INFO TO YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY LET THEM TEAR THE INSURANCE CO A NEW ONE

I bet she got her payout......

geezus rage!

Last edited by mrbaxr6t; 10-01-2009 at 10:58 PM.
Old 10-01-2009, 11:14 PM   #75

nah no insurance on mine at all but cos it isn't my fault I don't care. They should pay me the value of the car (1500) I know it isn't much but it was my car and I needed it at the time

Old 11-01-2009, 09:29 AM   #76

nah no insurance on mine at all but cos it isn't my fault I don't care. They should pay me the value of the car (1500) I know it isn't much but it was my car and I needed it at the time
$1500 is better in your pocket than theirs..........
Old 11-01-2009, 01:42 PM   #77

Originally Posted by The Mighty Red
Are you sure about this?......I wrote off my XC Fairmont GXL 351 nine inch ,top loader etc , etc, in 1990..... the payout was $3500....when I approached the insurance company about buying the car back , he said forget it I have already been offered as much aS YOUR PAYOUT.......TO WHICH i WAS EXTREMELY ****ED......he was getting more from a wrecker for my car wrecked I was being payed out after paying 6 years of premiums and a perfect car.
Well I can't comment on what happened with insurance in 1990, but i certainly know that in this millennium that generally, the buyback figures for wrecked cars is fairly low. All the figures I specified were fairly arbitary, but if you expect someone to pay more than two grand for a smashed up AU, you're mad.
Old 11-01-2009, 03:24 PM   #78

Originally Posted by Mr Hardware
Well I can't comment on what happened with insurance in 1990, but i certainly know that in this millennium that generally, the buyback figures for wrecked cars is fairly low. All the figures I specified were fairly arbitary, but if you expect someone to pay more than two grand for a smashed up AU, you're mad.
The whole point to INSURANCE is to protect yourself against financial loss in the event of an accident, insurance companies SHOULDN'T pay based on a "smashed car" they pay based on the value of the car BEFORE it was smashed, thats why we pay premiums is it not? Why have insurance at all if the best they do for us is pay us "what our smashed car is worth - smashed" a wrecker will do that for you and they won't ask you for a premium every month/year whatever. Insurance companies need to re-evaluate they are there for the policy holders not the shareholders for without policy holders there would be no company.

Old 11-01-2009, 03:45 PM   #79
Rob's 76 Effy
Lion Tammer

while i was looking into finance with Ford Credit as a pre approval on a used car, the finance chick told me the repayments included a insurance gap, i asked what that was and she told me it was in case the car was written off and the balance would be payed (ford credit)between the insurance company's pay out and the balance owing on the car (F credit) it's so the buyer is ot out of pocket, Car bought for 25000 with interest- insurance payout of lets say 20000 so thats a 5000 out lay out of your pocket but with gap insurance no out of pocket expence
"When you push a car past 180mph, the world starts to get awfully fuzzy. When you go past 200mph it actually blurs. The Bugatti Veyron is mind-blowingly, stunningly brilliant. It deserves 12 stars. Simply as good and as fast as it gets"
Don't drive faster than your Guardian Angel can fly
Rob's 76 Effy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-01-2009, 01:17 AM   #80
Buzz Box
Wheel Wally

Originally Posted by Explorer_Me
while i was looking into finance with Ford Credit as a pre approval on a used car, the finance chick told me the repayments included a insurance gap, i asked what that was and she told me it was in case the car was written off and the balance would be payed (ford credit)between the insurance company's pay out and the balance owing on the car (F credit) it's so the buyer is ot out of pocket, Car bought for 25000 with interest- insurance payout of lets say 20000 so thats a 5000 out lay out of your pocket but with gap insurance no out of pocket expence
You obviously havn't read the conditions on gap cover they are almost as long as your normal policy and it normally is REALLY expensive
Old 14-01-2009, 11:01 PM   #81
Valid8
COOGES

Well I have found the wife a nice 03 BA Futura wagon to replace the AU. It will be handy to carry the 2 little Jack russells around in the back instead of on the kids laps. It was stickered at $12999 and I got it for $ 12000 drive away. It is a nice dark red colour, not sure what the name of the shade is , but it is almost burgundy sort of. Keep your eyes open for a bargain, Car City.....
Old 14-01-2009, 11:05 PM   #82
Valid8
COOGES

Oh yeah, btw, the au fairmont is now on the pickles website, under damaged vehicle in melb, 6th car down, silver 02, anyone need a tight 80 000 km engine and gear box?
Old 14-01-2009, 11:30 PM   #83

Well I have found the wife a nice 03 BA Futura wagon to replace the AU. It will be handy to carry the 2 little Jack russells around in the back instead of on the kids laps. It was stickered at $12999 and I got it for $ 12000 drive away. It is a nice dark red colour, not sure what the name of the shade is , but it is almost burgundy sort of. Keep your eyes open for a bargain, Car City.....
nice pickup mate. Sounds like the same colour as my '03 BA Fairmont, luscious, which you could have had from me for $9600 drive away! Not to worry though, good to see you got something a bit newer.
Professor Farnsworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2009, 12:37 AM   #84
Piotr
Non-Regular Member

At the end of the day YOU own the car, if you want the wreck cancel your claim and keep the car.
Old 15-01-2009, 06:32 AM   #85
Valid8
COOGES

Thanks crackers, your Fairmont looks pretty good for $9600, its a pity that you were so far away. Plus like you I m very busy and when I seen it was being sold without a RWC I passed on it because of time constraints, but it does look good.
Old 15-01-2009, 07:15 AM   #86
Rob's 76 Effy
Lion Tammer

Originally Posted by Buzz Box
You obviously havn't read the conditions on gap cover they are almost as long as your normal policy and it normally is REALLY expensive
No i haven't read the condition of gap insurance, this is how it was explained to me and was included in the repayments i was quoted
"When you push a car past 180mph, the world starts to get awfully fuzzy. When you go past 200mph it actually blurs. The Bugatti Veyron is mind-blowingly, stunningly brilliant. It deserves 12 stars. Simply as good and as fast as it gets"
Don't drive faster than your Guardian Angel can fly
Rob's 76 Effy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2009, 07:36 AM   #87
Unco

for many years i used to get those thick insurance PDS booklets in the mail and just file them away or chuck them in the bin.

i guess i'm getting older. you'd be surprised how much you'll learn if you take the time to read them entirely.
Unco is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-01-2009, 11:11 PM   #88
R-series

Originally Posted by Unco
normally they will give you a figure, so you won't have to bid for it at auction. that's what happened when dad wrote his car off, when my sister wrote her car off and when my brother wrote his car off. it may depend on the insurance company though.
hope you didnt all get your driving lessons from the same family member ?

R-series is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2009, 12:01 AM   #89
ltd_on20s

tell them to pay you out or you'll go to the ombudsman and today tonight. they love that kind of crap.

there is something available called a section 54, whereby they can pay you out your damage less their clients xs. im not sure if its available in every state tho, all companies use it from what i know.

2 years is a joke. threaten legal action, whatever you can under the sun and give them 14 days to comply.

for them not to have an answer after 2 years is a joke to be honest. who is her insurer?
ltd_on20s is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-01-2009, 12:04 AM   #90
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by mrbaxr6t
The whole point to INSURANCE is to protect yourself against financial loss in the event of an accident, insurance companies SHOULDN'T pay based on a "smashed car" they pay based on the value of the car BEFORE it was smashed, thats why we pay premiums is it not? Why have insurance at all if the best they do for us is pay us "what our smashed car is worth - smashed" a wrecker will do that for you and they won't ask you for a premium every month/year whatever. Insurance companies need to re-evaluate they are there for the policy holders not the shareholders for without policy holders there would be no company.
they do pay you what the car is worth before its smashed. if your another party in a motor accident they will pay you less the salvage because they dont keep the salvage you do.

eg if the cars 1000 bucks and the salvage is 100. you will get 900 and you keep your car. you can rebuild it, wreck it, get rid of it its your choice
ltd_on20s is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post