You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 12-02-2012, 03:25 PM   #61
z80

Default Re: Who will buy an electric car when they are available?

A little known fact?

Victorian's can charge their electric cars from renewable power as well.

Simply agree to buying renewable power from your electricity retailer.

As for Tasmania being the only state where hydro power is available, not quite correct..

Victorian and Tasmanian grids are now linked with underwater cable.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basslink

You can also nominate hydro power from the Snowy Mountains hydro scheme in NSW or ACT.

Now what other lame, name calling, weak uninformed excuses can people dream up for electric car technology being inferior apart from the fact that it isnt virtually at give away prices like fossil fuelled technology?
z80 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 03:30 PM   #62
TITO

I'll buy one when it can tow my 2 ton boat for a few 100 K's
TITO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 03:51 PM   #63
Pis-ton broke

if the dollars and cents stack up, YES.
I just need an AB car for work. I don,t expect and electric car to pull a horsefloat.
Pis-ton broke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 03:59 PM   #64
Majestic

I have never really taken to those funky electric lawn mowers and whippy snippers, the petrol models are much better. Probably same with a car
Old 12-02-2012, 04:08 PM   #65
Pis-ton broke

It would be good to see a cost comparison of petrol vs electric.

As petrol has a lot of servicing needs and an electric has what servicing needs??

Personaly I wish they were here on the streets allready , as the more of them ,I expect the costs will come down. The electric car will be here before Ford decides to put a diesil in a falcon. Go figure.

I spent $80.00 a week for fuel, thats over 4k a year just to get to work, a bit steep I reckon.
Pis-ton broke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 04:15 PM   #66
MercuryT

Originally Posted by z80

As for Tasmania being the only state where hydro power is available, not quite correct..

Victorian and Tasmanian grids are now linked with underwater cable.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basslink

Now what other lame, name calling, weak uninformed excuses can people dream up for electric car technology being inferior apart from the fact that it isnt virtually at give away prices like fossil fuelled technology?
Pretty strong opinion mate. Some people love their petrol powered machines (sound, power...whatever) which electric cant provide.

Its not lame, uninformed or weak etc for people to have their own view
MercuryT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 04:18 PM   #67
mrmotive11

i would wait to see the issues people have with them, with all the research and development in todays vehicles and they still have plenty of issues.
I would let others be the Guinea pigs hopefully prices will lower with more competition between manufacturers, but yes i would love to have one .
mrmotive11 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 04:19 PM   #68

i have had electric cars and they are outstanding - i always liked the scalextrix, tyco and afx brands. i wouldn't touch the other brands though
Old 12-02-2012, 05:38 PM   #69
fou_bleu
Get EcoBoosted

Originally Posted by MercuryT
Its not lame, uninformed or weak etc for people to have their own view
No, it's not, but ignoring the facts and going by bias is...
fou_bleu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 05:46 PM   #70

Originally Posted by gtxb67
i have had electric cars and they are outstanding - i always liked the scalextrix, tyco and afx brands. i wouldn't touch the other brands though
the AFX was good untill the track connectors broke..

never tried the others..
Old 12-02-2012, 05:58 PM   #71
new2ford

Originally Posted by Pis-ton broke
if the dollars and cents stack up, YES.
I just need an AB car for work. I don,t expect and electric car to pull a horsefloat.
Originally Posted by TITO
I'll buy one when it can tow my 2 ton boat for a few 100 K's
Got just the thing for you guys:

http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2009/...1901-1950.html

Boats no problem either:

http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2009/...nal-boats.html

And you can throw away that GPS!
new2ford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 06:10 PM   #72
MercuryT

Originally Posted by 4RD4TW
No, it's not, but ignoring the facts and going by bias is...
Oh really. How do the electric cars sound mate? Bit Supercar-ish? Enlighten me.

Is that "bias" for people to say what THEY actually want from a car, whether electric or whatever without it being "lame"?
Old 12-02-2012, 07:59 PM   #73
z80

Pretty strong opinion mate. Some people love their petrol powered machines (sound, power...whatever) which electric cant provide.
Sound of the motor ?

Who cares about engine noise when this is standard equipment?

Model S comes equipped with 17" touchscreen, a 200-watt, seven-speaker stereo system with AM/FM and HD radio tuners .

Power?

0-100km/h in 5.6 seconds....

"Whatever"?

-480 km range on one charge

-Top speed 200km/h

30 minute fast charge available...a coffee and snack and you're away again.

So what else have you got to complain about in an electric car?

read this page...

http://www.teslamotors.com/models/features#/performance

IT's rear wheel drive too....
Old 12-02-2012, 08:02 PM   #74
fou_bleu
Get EcoBoosted

Oh really. How do the electric cars sound mate? Bit Supercar-ish? Enlighten me.

Is that "bias" for people to say what THEY actually want from a car, whether electric or whatever without it being "lame"?
There isn't a set 'sound' for electric cars, different motors make different noises, some companies are actually doing research into making artificial noises purely for a safety aspect (ie: blind people) and having different noises for different situations.

It's bias if you reference something in a negative connotation ie: "doesn't sound like a V8" yadda yadda yadda... If the real concern was safety, then I don't have a problem with it...
Old 12-02-2012, 08:04 PM   #75

Originally Posted by z80
Sound of the motor ?

Who cares about engine noise when this is standard equipment?

Model S comes equipped with 17" touchscreen, a 200-watt, seven-speaker stereo system with AM/FM and HD radio tuners .

Power?

0-100km/h in 5.6 seconds....

"Whatever"?

-480 km range on one charge

-Top speed 200km/h

30 minute fast charge available...a coffee and snack and you're away again.

So what else have you got to complain about in an electric car?

read this page...

http://www.teslamotors.com/models/features#/performance

when you put it like that..SFA..
Old 12-02-2012, 08:11 PM   #76
MercuryT

Originally Posted by 4RD4TW
There isn't a set 'sound' for electric cars, different motors make different noises, some companies are actually doing research into making artificial noises purely for a safety aspect (ie: blind people) and having different noises for different situations.

It's bias if you reference something in a negative connotation ie: "doesn't sound like a V8" yadda yadda yadda... If the real concern was safety, then I don't have a problem with it...
So me saying I like a V8 sound is bias?? Its MY opinion, on WHAT I would buy - of course its personal, but aren't we all ford buyers looking for cars (whether Falcon, Focus, Mondeo etc) that suits?

I didnt say what was better, in fact I said eariler that electric cars are clearly the future which is fantastic.
Old 12-02-2012, 08:19 PM   #77
z80

So me saying I like a V8 sound is bias?? Its MY opinion, on WHAT I would buy - of course its personal, but aren't we all ford buyers looking for cars (whether Falcon, Focus, Mondeo etc) that suits?

I didnt say what was better, in fact I said eariler that electric cars are clearly the future which is fantastic.

here ya go mate...problem SOLVED!

One of these in the cigarette lighter and you'll still keep that sweet V8 sound in the electric car.

Should be awesome at 200 watts and 7 speakers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWBOpkAaUZI
Old 12-02-2012, 08:40 PM   #78

Originally Posted by z80
here ya go mate...problem SOLVED!

One of these in the cigarette lighter and you'll still keep that sweet V8 sound in the electric car.

Should be awesome at 200 watts and 7 speakers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWBOpkAaUZI
could go ozzy, here's shonky
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIZwlMCbHzk
Old 12-02-2012, 08:55 PM   #79
Barnaby

Originally Posted by dimka100
Any petrol car sold out there is far more efficient at generating power than a coal power station! so while the marketing material is talking about electric vehicles being green, when power by coal power they are actually worse than 7ltr V8s from the 60s ...
Quote your source...

Lithium ion technology is taking over the bad, heavy metal based battery technologies (NiCad, NiMH etc), its easy to recycle and chemically inert.

People forget the used oil from conventional engines at the moment, the energy to recycle, dispose of or dump and the environmental impact.

My next car will most likely be a hybrid or full electric. I'm happy to be a guinea pig just like the people who bought the model T while the others bitched about never giving up their horse & cart!

Having said all this, my next weekend cruiser/toy will have a V8 in it.
Barnaby is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 09:00 PM   #80
madmatty
dipstick

Didn't they test a tesla on top gear.it stopped dead after a few laps at pace.
madmatty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 09:07 PM   #81

Originally Posted by Barnaby
Quote your source...

Lithium ion technology is taking over the bad, heavy metal based battery technologies (NiCad, NiMH etc), its easy to recycle and chemically inert.

People forget the used oil from conventional engines at the moment, the energy to recycle, dispose of or dump and the environmental impact.

My next car will most likely be a hybrid or full electric. I'm happy to be a guinea pig just like the people who bought the model T while the others bitched about never giving up their horse & cart!

Having said all this, my next weekend cruiser/toy will have a V8 in it.
i would just like to add "nickel metal hydride" (NiMH) a superior battery owned by the chevron oil company who patended it not to be used in comesial vehicle's...
Old 12-02-2012, 10:58 PM   #82
fou_bleu
Get EcoBoosted

Originally Posted by madmatty
Didn't they test a Tesla on Top Gear? It stopped dead after a few laps at pace.
Yeah, but that was the Roadster, Tesla's very first model, based off the (now deceased) Elise. It was running first generation batteries and motors, and not to mention in a car originally designed for an ICE system. It was a test bed for some of the technologies to come - such as the in-house, purpose built chassis underneath the Model S sedan and Model X crossover...
Old 12-02-2012, 11:46 PM   #83
kircher

This thread is getting out of hand. I am a big advocate of the electric car. I've made three posts about their superior efficiency etc etc already, but I fully understand and respect the love of internal combustion.

In fact I share those very same views. The sound of a nice V8 is enough to make me buckle at the knees, There is something romantic about a well tuned engine. And the thing is, these desires and loves we have we don't have to explain. There is no rational reason why a person loves the sound and feel and internal workings of a V8 - or any fine piece of machinery for that matter, from boats to planes to trains to computers. My Grandfather is a steam and old tractor nut. He doesn't like them because they're better than the diesel locos and John Deeres that drive themselves, he is just a buff, for want of a better word. Buffs have no reason to explain why they like the things they do, as long as fellow buffs understand.

My whole point is that I'd love to be able to get in a cheap to run quiet, green vehicle for doing the chores, going to work, sitting in traffic using no power. And why not? Save money and the environment at the same time But on the weekend or whenever I wouldn't mind being able to have some fun in my V8, or if I want to go for a long distance tour, and this way I'm not putting Ks on my pride and joy needlessly for mundane tasks. Our internal combustion engines will probably end up being fuelled by biofuels eventually anyway. The oil won't be cheap forever.
kircher is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-02-2012, 05:33 PM   #84
Stagg

Thought anyone suffering from 'range anxiety' could have a look at this:

http://www.treehugger.com/cars/elect...ld-record.html

Old 15-02-2012, 05:58 PM   #85
Chilliman

The electric car will come of age (for the second time) once electricity is produced cleanly, abundantly and cheaply...next generation nuclear seems to be the answer.

At the moment I see some Mitsubishi Electric cars in the CBd and inner-city where I live...but they would have to be alot cheaper to run than my current city run-around, a Honda Jazz, to make me want to purchase one.

"Torque is the new horsepower"
Chilliman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-02-2012, 08:59 PM   #86
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

Here are my requirements:

Can seat 5-7 adults with their luggage
Can tow 3500Kg
Can go +1000km without refuelling
Can be serviced in most county towns + spare parts easily available and fairly priced
Can wade through water 850mm deep, without electrocuting the driver or surrounding fauna
Can drive on most terrains (road, dirt tracks, sand, mud, ice...)
Can drive up and down steep gradients

And is reasonably priced

Geez that sounds like my current Land Cruiser, so when the electric equivalent be available?
cheap is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-02-2012, 10:48 PM   #87
Stagg

Originally Posted by cheap
Here are my requirements:

Can seat 5-7 adults with their luggage
Can tow 3500Kg
Can go +1000km without refuelling
Can be serviced in most county towns + spare parts easily available and fairly priced
Can wade through water 850mm deep, without electrocuting the driver or surrounding fauna
Can drive on most terrains (road, dirt tracks, sand, mud, ice...)
Can drive up and down steep gradients

And is reasonably priced

Geez that sounds like my current Land Cruiser, so when the electric equivalent be available?
Hmmm.... Is that your daily drive?
Old 16-02-2012, 01:22 AM   #88
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

Originally Posted by Stagg1991
Hmmm.... Is that your daily drive?
Yep the Land Cruiser is my daily drive, the Mrs has a CX9 to haul the kids and their friends around, the CX9 uses even more fuel than the Land Cruiser and has a bigger footprint (width x length) too. I have a few other toys for weekend duty

So when someone invents an electric vehicle which meets my family needs as opposed to meeting the needs of a some latte drooling, metro-sexual from an inner city suburb, let me know.

I have a brother-in-law who bragged about his Prius, driving from Sydney to Brisbane on a tank of gas, he's only done it once, my guess he need to see a chiropractor to readjust his back from 12 hours of cramped driving. He's also started getting into the "out of warranty" zone with the Prius - ouch $$$ ouch... He doesn't mention the Prius much anymore.

So what is the point of owning an electric car if you can't afford to keep it drivable? Fuel is only a small part of the cost of ownership.
cheap is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2012, 04:37 AM   #89
z80

Yep the Land Cruiser is my daily drive, the Mrs has a CX9 to haul the kids and their friends around, the CX9 uses even more fuel than the Land Cruiser and has a bigger footprint (width x length) too. I have a few other toys for weekend duty

So when someone invents an electric vehicle which meets my family needs as opposed to meeting the needs of a some latte drooling, metro-sexual from an inner city suburb, let me know.

Don't think you'll find an electric car with 7 banjo holders, a bale of straw holder to clean the teeth with and hitching posts for the pit bull and blue heeler cross.
Old 16-02-2012, 07:05 AM   #90

I have a brother-in-law who bragged about his Prius, driving from Sydney to Brisbane on a tank of gas, he's only done it once, my guess he need to see a chiropractor to readjust his back from 12 hours of cramped driving. He's also started getting into the "out of warranty" zone with the Prius - ouch $$$ ouch... He doesn't mention the Prius much anymore.

So what is the point of owning an electric car if you can't afford to keep it drivable? Fuel is only a small part of the cost of ownership.
you have just described the 4WD/SUV crowd, now describe the eco crowd..

as for fuel a small part of ownership cost ...
you can spend $200.00 pw driving to work, or reduce it to $40.00 pw with an eco box..