Old 02-09-2006, 06:04 PM   #61
poolkeeper
Its Resonating!

Originally Posted by pauljh74
Do you have a dodgy moustache?
When you turn up, do you say, "I'm here to ...... clean the pool" with a suggestive tone to the bored lonely housewife?
Perhaps with a 70's guitar music playing in the background?
No, nope. Have keys so I just walk straight in, and do my job....lol
poolkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2006, 06:06 PM   #62
Falcon Freak

I earn more then I need.

FF
Falcon Freak is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2006, 06:29 PM   #63
YOOT

Originally Posted by XYGTHO
Just curious as to what dollars people are on per hour, what their proffesion or job is and how long they have been doing it. Enjoy what i do but would like to see if i am along way behind evryone else.
Started as a trainee design draftsperson which i completed my first year with a cert 3 in engineering tech, then went on to study engineering at uni externally part time which i have been doing three years now. So i have been in the job four years, started drafting, now pretty much only do electrical design, including marking up drawings for draftees and writing specifications and doing inspections. I'm on about $17.4 an hour and $537 in the hand a week of which i probably do about 3 hours unpaid overtime. Is this poor or normal?
I have a Bachelor Degree in Surveying and am working at my second job as a surveyor since I left uni (which was 2003). I Started on $21 an hour in 2003 and moved to $25/hour after three months. I have progressively had increases in pay since then and am currently on $28/hour and average about 52 hours of work a week. That brings me home around $1450 a week which is $1075 after tax. I get a Company car on top of that all expenses paid (BA XT Sedan) and super is another 9% on top of that.

All up its worth say $75K a year +$10K car + $6750 Super = $91K p.a. and I am 24.

I am currently in negotiations with my boss (who is more my partner since I help him build the company up from his garage in 2003 to the new 3/4 million dollar office we are about to move in to) to purchase 20% of the business. Then I will be on a salary of around $100K a year plus a new 4WD and $20% of the profits (usually between $150K and $200K pa. which will add $30K pa. to my income). Then there are the tax benifits on top of that.

I'd say on average I am way ahead of most people my age, but there are people younger then me doing even better.

Its funny you mention that your a drafty because we just hired one and she is starting on $20/hour and will go up to $25/hour over the next few months provided she improves the presentation quality of our plans. Give me a call if you want to move cities LOL!

Oh yeah, and I am selling the ute to help fund the purchase of the investment :
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2006, 09:20 PM   #64
dj181

i am an electronics tech, currently working on alarm and cctv systems (used to work as a radio tech but got bored with it! hehe) on $22 at the moment work a 38 hour week, company car, mobile phone and laptop. keeps me happy so it is all i need!!
dj181 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2006, 09:48 PM   #65
schmidty

Carpenter. Most of the houses i work on are on a sqm rate, some are quote jobs, and others are hourly rate.

Worst i've done this year is $40 per hour, Best worked out to about $135 per hour.

2 days last week, 15 hrs. $1480. That the beauty of a sqm rate. If you're fast and very well organised, and pretty systematic with your work and good equip, the money is good. But there are a lot of expenses. Fuel and vehicle related expenses, a lot of $$ tied up in equip, no sick pay, holiday pay, super, then gotta pay heaps of insurances, dont get paid for doing paperwork after hours and going back to jobs for whatever reason.
schmidty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2006, 11:00 PM   #66

Originally Posted by RACINGdork
this week worked out to be 69hrs @ $43.47ph + gst

usually its less hours but i got ripped off polishing a massive truck bullbar at 14hrs @ $400 + gst
Just watched the vid of your boat posted in your signature. What a beast! Bet that set you back a bit.
Old 02-09-2006, 11:28 PM   #67
Reign
Argg..

Originally Posted by Falcon_Phill
Cartoon Animator
about $550 a week, i only started 3 months ago. Beats first yr apprentice pay.
It's not bad for all first year apprentice's 16$/h, If they needed you, they pay!
Reign is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2006, 11:31 PM   #68
Jeeepers
Merry Xmas To All

$18/hr Truck-Driver. Grossed 80k last financial.
Jeeepers is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2006, 11:54 PM   #69
Ghiadude
FORMERLY TX3DUDE

Enough to keep the lights on and the water running. Thats all that really matters
Ghiadude is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2006, 11:58 PM   #70

Originally Posted by ORSM T
$18/hr Truck-Driver. Grossed 80k last financial.
Geez how many hours do you pull a week? My maths puts it at around 85hrs/week.
Old 03-09-2006, 12:00 AM   #71
Jeeepers
Merry Xmas To All

Originally Posted by MITCHAY
Geez how many hours do you pull a week? My maths puts it at around 85hrs/week.
60 to 65, but you have to add 30% for nightshift.
Old 03-09-2006, 12:03 AM   #72

Originally Posted by ORSM T
60 to 65, but you have to add 30% for nightshift.
Oh ok. Damn that's a lot of driving. How many k's do you think you do a year?
Old 03-09-2006, 03:49 AM   #73
King Nothing
He has, the Knack..

Currently a poor student working at a club on weekends. I earn between $22-26 an hour depending on what day and whether I work on the bar or on the door. Generally work one or two 5 to 8.5 hour shifts, earning between $200-400 per week.

Next year I start my new job as a graduate process engineer on just under $60k for a 38 hr week. I'm expecting the hours to be a little longer though. I'm looking forward to the increased money and having weekends again! I havent had a full weekend since year 11! :
King Nothing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2006, 09:00 AM   #74
dan.76
always reading posts

im an electrician subcontracting to a maintenance company , get 50 an hour flate rate , but have to supply my own van and tools, pay my own insurance super etc .the big advantage is the job is very flexible , i work my own hours and organise my own jobs.
dan.76 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2006, 09:48 AM   #75

Originally Posted by XYGTHO
Just curious as to what dollars people are on per hour, what their proffesion or job is and how long they have been doing it. Enjoy what i do but would like to see if i am along way behind evryone else.
Started as a trainee design draftsperson which i completed my first year with a cert 3 in engineering tech, then went on to study engineering at uni externally part time which i have been doing three years now. So i have been in the job four years, started drafting, now pretty much only do electrical design, including marking up drawings for draftees and writing specifications and doing inspections. I'm on about $17.4 an hour and $537 in the hand a week of which i probably do about 3 hours unpaid overtime. Is this poor or normal?

Hey, I'm doing exactly the same, I have 3 months left of my engineering tech cert 3.

Hopefully I'll be earning some decent coin next year, I've pretty much been guaranteed a job with Cairns City Council/Cairns Water as a Waste/Waste water engineer for all their infrastructure.

Later on I'll probably look into getting into a large consultancy group, GHD, Cardnos...Something like that, Design some sewer retic n water retic for them!

Anyway, I'm only on $10.57 an hour...But it's enough for me at the moment, I'm managing, just hard to get the mods happening!

Old 03-09-2006, 10:06 AM   #76
robjh80

Computer Desktop Support.....$29/Hr.....$57K/Year....76 Hours/Fortnight.
robjh80 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2006, 12:09 PM   #77
Jeeepers
Merry Xmas To All

Originally Posted by MITCHAY
Oh ok. Damn that's a lot of driving. How many k's do you think you do a year?
Actually very little. I cart on the wharfs, and our depot is only 2 k's away. So in a 12 hour shift I'll maybe do 50-60k's. Pretty cruisy... :
Old 03-09-2006, 12:20 PM   #78
MoreHPformyXR6

Im not on a hourly rate but it works out to $27p/h plus 14% employer provided super.

BA XR6 Mk II Shockwave Sedan - Now Sold - gone but not forgotten

mods: 20% under drive, Pacemaker Comps 4495' (ceramic coated) , 3' Metal Cat, XR6T exhaust - twin 3' tips, F6 CAI, K&N panel filter, PWR trans cooler, customed tuned by Heinrich Performance Tuning HPT 183.7rwkw.

Originally Posted by ATMO SIX
You have become the new SLOANY mate, no real quality to your current post(s).
MoreHPformyXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2006, 07:05 PM   #79
S3SR

$11.45 mon-sat and $18.62 on sunday + 1% commission + bonuses over a certain amount... best job ive ever had

2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR
2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6
2008 Mazda BT50 SDX
2004 BA XR8 ute
2006 AUDI A4 B7
2013 FG II XR6 Ute
2006 Ford Territory TX
2003 Ford Falcon XR8
2009 Territory Turbo Ghia

Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro
S3SR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2006, 07:23 PM   #80
TURBOTAXI
Turbo Falcon Fiend

35 Hours per week as a servant of the public.

3? hours per week doing "farmy" stuff (sowed oats today)

another 5 hours per week managing/maintaining houses.

about to open a grocery shop/take away/african art store.

MY best job takes about 30 hours per week, and that is being a father to my georgeous kids.

all that adds up to OK money and lots of hours.

Too many turbo toys......
2009 FG F6 Nitro LPI LPG 290rwkw on LPG.
2005 BAMKII XR6 Turbo with LPG (ex HWP 255,000k's and counting)
Honda 2001 CR500E Road registered CR500
Honda 1985 CR500 (the one with the arm ripping power)
DT200r regoed Hack
Yamaha IT/YZ 465 Vinduro rocket
Imported IT465 and 490 back up bikes
VF1000R mid 80's racer built by HMR
Honda CR480 Air cooled project road cafe racer.
T88 Turbo XT Falcon project with 351 Cleveland (mothballed)
Plus the rest.

TURBOTAXI is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2006, 07:33 PM   #81
Racecraft
they call me Tibbo

i can make the house repayments, have Foxtel and cable and can still play with my cars, so it is enough

Racecraft is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2006, 12:11 PM   #82
VSSII

About 70K a year working as a public servant. Good enough for a single guy to pay of the house and have a few motorbikes to play with.

It's interesting to see the number of people who are trainees or first year mechanics. Suggesting to me the majority of this forums members are fairly young....
VSSII is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2006, 01:31 PM   #83
MYVYSS
Back where I belong

I dont think its about how much you earn, I dont want to get into a pi55ing contest about who has the biggest pay check, I think its either about what or how you use that money to ensure you and the family around you are comfortable and or happy, I have had the displeasure of knowing a few "millionaires" who are the most unhappy and miserable people on the face of the earth, their lives end up revolving around nothing but $$, and for people who supposdly have everything, I would rather have nothing and a smile on my dial than lead an existance of unhappiness...

Money cant buy happiness...

Craig
MYVYSS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2006, 01:42 PM   #84

Originally Posted by MYVYSS
I dont think its about how much you earn, I dont want to get into a pi55ing contest about who has the biggest pay check, I think its either about what or how you use that money to ensure you and the family around you are comfortable and or happy, I have had the displeasure of knowing a few "millionaires" who are the most unhappy and miserable people on the face of the earth, their lives end up revolving around nothing but $$, and for people who supposdly have everything, I would rather have nothing and a smile on my dial than lead an existance of unhappiness...

Money cant buy happiness...
Duly noted and I agree!

Old 06-09-2006, 02:44 PM   #85
MadFairlane

more than enough... over 55k a year.

VTEC: All the lag without the turbo, it's like waiting for bad sex.
MadFairlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2006, 05:47 PM   #86
Bucket
XR5 Pilot

Im 22 and an IT System Support Engineer with an Oli and Gas Exploration company...Great Door into the IT industry so im stoked!!
Old 06-09-2006, 06:28 PM   #87
xwgthoe

I work for John Howard and he pays me enough to do all that I want to do as well as offering me discounts on different things cause I'm too lazy to get a job......

But my sister is the bread winner of our family, she works in a friendly, airconditioned environment and can fake her way to earning in excess of $150 p/h...... :
xwgthoe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2006, 07:40 PM   #88
Interceptor
HSV - I just ate one!

Originally Posted by xwgthoe
But my sister is the bread winner of our family, she works in a friendly, airconditioned environment and can fake her way to earning in excess of $150 p/h......
maybe you should rephrase that a lil......
Interceptor is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2006, 08:22 PM   #89
Bucket
XR5 Pilot

I work for John Howard and he pays me enough to do all that I want to do as well as offering me discounts on different things cause I'm too lazy to get a job......
:ticking:

You aint serious are you? That Aint Johnny Boy paying you...thats US paying you!
Old 06-09-2006, 08:25 PM   #90
Bucket
XR5 Pilot

But my sister is the bread winner of our family, she works in a friendly, airconditioned environment and can fake her way to earning in excess of $150 p/h...... :
ok...click! ;)

Last edited by Bucket; 06-09-2006 at 09:25 PM.
Bucket is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post