You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 07-04-2006, 12:28 PM   #61
Shonky
my other ride is the bus.

Anyone else reckon that Statesman looks like a Nissan Maxima?

yuckkkkkk... so ugly. all of them...

+ Lots of Land Rovers

Originally Posted by Sourbastard
Edelbrock.... not Peter Brock. Theres a world of difference. For a start my heads have much less gum tree in them.
Shonky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 12:32 PM   #62

threads merged
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 12:36 PM   #63
GEE 87
302 ED fairmont ghia

Originally Posted by InitialD
EEEEEKK! the vectra on steroids!
so true!!! and the ute looks pathetic...

also about the wagon:
"...the commodore wagon would arrive later than the sedans, IF AT ALL"

heres fords opportunity to keep sellin those wagons!!!
GEE 87 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 12:37 PM   #64
NEG
Diabolus

Originally Posted by InitialD
EEEEEKK! the vectra on steroids!
I agree they look out of proportion, bonnet looks to short, they look like small cars. probly just the computer image though.
NEG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 12:54 PM   #65

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

Originally Posted by Young 'un
Anyone else reckon that Statesman looks like a Nissan Maxima?

yuckkkkkk... so ugly. all of them...
Maxima rear end ... with Honda Legend front.
Old 07-04-2006, 01:23 PM   #66

Originally Posted by Danny
Oh god.

Is it just me or does the EXEC look better than the SS? I dont think it looks great at all, but will still sell like all buggery...
Nope .. cars with plastic junk draped over them and non-functional holes and whatnot always look worse than the base models they fashioned from ... simplicity is elegance.
Old 07-04-2006, 01:31 PM   #67
Smoked
Burnin Rubber

Holden always doing the dodgy

***Coming Soon: Clear Side Repeaters***
Originally Posted by The-ShowStoPPa
...dont get me wrong this 3.8v6 is pretty special, it does come with the popular shake rattle and roll option and the auto compliments this with the ever popular snap crackle and pop feature
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 01:32 PM   #68

ZF Six speed for the HSV;

I hate holden

Old 07-04-2006, 01:36 PM   #69

They look ok, Ive seen worse.

As long as they keep the competition with Ford going, they need each other.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 02:24 PM   #70

Wish my SV8 had twin exahusts like that ..
Old 07-04-2006, 02:48 PM   #71
Venomous

They look. interesting, not to sure if i like or dont like. Sure something different. Anyone else reckon some of them have the roofline look of the Mistubishi 380's? Especially the SS's. Loving the front bar on the SS
Venomous is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 02:59 PM   #72
Richo72

Rather interesting comment in the last sentence of this artcile from carsguide.com.au The "Clue to next Monaro" article.

"We are low on stock. Our dealers would say now that we are short of stock," Mooney says. "We don't have any issues on runout. Our production lines are fine." But GM Holden is going to face another challenge, as Ford is definitely working on a BFIII Falcon for the final months of 2006.

What sort of upgrades could be expected at BFIII to combat VE??

Power, features, side airbags, etc..... 6 speed standard across the range??
Richo72 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 03:48 PM   #73
freaky

Originally Posted by Richo72
Rather interesting comment in the last sentence of this artcile from carsguide.com.au The "Clue to next Monaro" article.

"We are low on stock. Our dealers would say now that we are short of stock," Mooney says. "We don't have any issues on runout. Our production lines are fine." But GM Holden is going to face another challenge, as Ford is definitely working on a BFIII Falcon for the final months of 2006.

The BF hasnt been out that long, maybe they meant BFII, cant see how there will be series 3 that quick ???
freaky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 03:51 PM   #74
AnthonyQLD
Boss power

Originally Posted by Richo72

We can only hope.

as for the pictures well, it better look better in real life :
Old 07-04-2006, 04:03 PM   #75
2kool4u

Location: I live in my own little world, but it's alright, the people know me here

I hate to say it but if ford doesn't come up with a whole new falcon by time the VE is release the VE will ИИИИ all over them performance and handling wise.
Old 07-04-2006, 04:14 PM   #76

settle down..manufacturers always over lap each other for a bit..im sure ford has something in the pipeline...

People jump to conclusions far to quickly....

edit: there some greta pics of the mule too, I think the sticker is the most interesting bit about it.
Old 07-04-2006, 04:26 PM   #77

Originally Posted by 2kool4u
I hate to say it but if ford doesn't come up with a whole new falcon by time the VE is release the VE will ИИИИ all over them performance and handling wise.
How exactly given that the Fords beat them now in head to head tests, they are adding 140kg and keeping similar power levels....(scratches head)
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 04:28 PM   #78

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

It better look better than the Hyundai ... cos if it does they are in trouble.
The new Grandeur and Sonata is actually looking half decent now.
Old 07-04-2006, 04:34 PM   #79
SSBUB
SSuper SSpy

apparently looking better in the flesh and not so digitally 'boxy' looking with smoother lines...remember it will fit a north-south V8 in there so dont think the bonnet will be so pug-like (aka astra/vectra) either.
SSBUB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 04:36 PM   #80

They are getting good at copying Mitsubishi now, first the VY Magnadoore, now the VE 380 - i dont think the pics are all that accurate anyway, the wagon looks like a hatchback. The article certainly was not worth all the hype
Old 07-04-2006, 04:39 PM   #81

So, those pics that Smoked posted are of the VE, or not?

Looks exactly like a VY to me, bar twin exhausts and left hand drive...
Old 07-04-2006, 05:05 PM   #82
RATT

I think it looks good. And it can't be a bad thing for the industry.

Remember when the mid-sized sedan almost died? Mazda 6, then Honda Accord Euro re-ignited the segment. Maybe the VE and the next Falcon may hopefully do the same with less weight and more efficient engines.
Old 07-04-2006, 05:07 PM   #83

Unless they improve their woeful build quality I can't see it doing to well, not many more comedydores than they sell now.........
Old 07-04-2006, 05:25 PM   #84
SSBUB
SSuper SSpy

Originally Posted by AUII_SE_Ute
So, those pics that Smoked posted are of the VE, or not?

Looks exactly like a VY to me, bar twin exhausts and left hand drive...

it is a VY...just hiding VE running gear - dual zorsts are for the SS i believe
SSBUB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 05:34 PM   #85
ClevlndStemer

i like it, different and i am sure will give the falcon another challenge. i am sure the VE will be a bloody ripper of a car. Could this be the car that convinces me to buy Holden?
ClevlndStemer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 06:03 PM   #86
Ultimate
Pimp Daddy Pimp Pimp

Location: Queensland Events Assistant Co-Ordinator. Fiery's Little Helper

Originally Posted by ClevlndStemer
i like it, different and i am sure will give the falcon another challenge. i am sure the VE will be a bloody ripper of a car. Could this be the car that convinces me to buy Holden?

Dude your no ford fan if you say that. Why would you be on a ford forum if you think like that. Why are there so many threads about P.O.S holdens on this section anyway.
---------------------------------------------------
AFF Merchandise

Excellent Purchases With: AFF Team, Rooster, Russ
Ultimate is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 06:19 PM   #87
ClevlndStemer

Originally Posted by Ultimate
Dude your no ford fan if you say that. Why would you be on a ford forum if you think like that. Why are there so many threads about P.O.S holdens on this section anyway.
WTF?
I am a ford fan (always have been) but I am not one eyed. I used to be until I bought my falcon. It was an ignorance buy based on brand. It made me realise if I am going to spend my hard earned cash on a car I will want to be happy with it, I don't care of the brand. If Ford can't make a decent car am I supposed to just buy one anyway cause I am a Ford fan? I buy what I like, so far the VE I like.
ClevlndStemer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 06:26 PM   #88
Dauphin
Irregular member

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Endless work keeping the AU.com.au web site happening 

From a design point of view, I think it looks great. It's about time the Commodore got flared wheel arches like that. I'm trying to put all those VN/VP driving lunatics out of my mind but it'll probably eventually become the next hoon mobile in 10 - 15 years' time and we'll have more resentment towards it.

My hovercraft is full of eels!

Movie Car Chase of the Week: Gene Hackman driving a 1971 Pontiac LeMans to chase an elevated train in The French Connection (1971).
Dauphin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2006, 06:33 PM   #89

Originally Posted by ClevlndStemer
WTF?
I am a ford fan (always have been) but I am not one eyed. I used to be until I bought my falcon. It was an ignorance buy based on brand. It made me realise if I am going to spend my hard earned cash on a car I will want to be happy with it, I don't care of the brand. If Ford can't make a decent car am I supposed to just buy one anyway cause I am a Ford fan? I buy what I like, so far the VE I like.
And is another thing to continualy ИИИИИИ about a manufacturer because you might have got a lemon............

lets wait and see the real thing before we get into arguements
Old 07-04-2006, 06:53 PM   #90
freaky

Originally Posted by Ultimate
I have always been a holden supporter, but am considering going a typhoon when my lease expires on my berlina in 6months.

i am not one eyed. I have never driven a ford but seriously considering it as i beleive its the better car at the moment
freaky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post