View Poll Results: Do you think jail for 60kph over would work?
Yes 41 18.47%
No 125 56.31%
Yes, but with other changes too 33 14.86%
No, but I think it should happen anyway 23 10.36%
Voters: 222. You may not vote on this poll

Old 31-07-2007, 09:44 PM   #61
gs1973

Originally Posted by FORD3V
Would you rather hit a stobie pole at 50kph or 160kph?????
Stop rabbiting on with childish dribble. No I would just like to not hit the pole at all. You have a magnetism to poles do you?
gs1973 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-07-2007, 09:45 PM   #62
gz1

hey comrade, why not go just that one step further and mandate jail time for everybody, just in case.
gz1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-07-2007, 09:46 PM   #63
XR8Master

Would you rather hit a pole at 400km/h in a plane or 160km/h in a car ? can we reduce a planes speed limit to 100km as well ? then we will all be nice and safe
XR8Master is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-07-2007, 09:48 PM   #64
robbo_yobbo
Kick out tha Jams

And would you rather hit a pole at 1kph or 50kph.......

You could keep drawing lines in the sand all day compromising a range of things and never reach a happy medium to suit everyone.....

Or you could throw out the rulebook, and bring back good old fashioned common sence....... I think the reason we have so many trivial laws lateley is a lot of people have forgotten what common sence is.......I dare say because nobody has a situation available to them anymore where they can practice the use of common sence, because were all told what we can and cant do instead.
Old 31-07-2007, 09:51 PM   #65

How about 20kph or 100kph legally? Dont see the relevance in that arguement which is straight out of TAC propoganda.

Old 31-07-2007, 09:51 PM   #66
Elks

[QUOTE=XR8Master]I think a much better idea would be to introduce a law that all cars must be speed limited to 110km/h and anyone caught tampering with the limiter is executed.

Clearly you have never driven a limited vehicle (truck/bus) and discovered how dangerous a limiter is. You need to enjoy the eye widening experience of someone speeding up as you past them with no way to react.
Old 31-07-2007, 09:54 PM   #67
robbo_yobbo
Kick out tha Jams

[QUOTE=myts]
Originally Posted by XR8Master
I think a much better idea would be to introduce a law that all cars must be speed limited to 110km/h and anyone caught tampering with the limiter is executed.

Clearly you have never driven a limited vehicle (truck/bus) and discovered how dangerous a limiter is. You need to enjoy the eye widening experience of someone speeding up as you past them with no way to react.
Relax mate - reread his whole post and you will see it was sarcasm
Old 31-07-2007, 09:55 PM   #68
gs1973

[QUOTE=myts]
I think a much better idea would be to introduce a law that all cars must be speed limited to 110km/h and anyone caught tampering with the limiter is executed.

Mate, he was being sarcastic.
Old 31-07-2007, 09:57 PM   #69
XR8Master

[QUOTE=myts]

I was being sarcastic and think there are a few extremists here who have nothing better to do but concoct more laws for society, everyone says this is the information age, I say its the regulation age, seriously go get a hobie, play golf or something.

I still cant stop laughing over old mates idea about $100 000 fines, how do you pay a hundred thousand dollar fine ? chuck it on your home loan or something ?
Old 31-07-2007, 10:04 PM   #70
gs1973

I was being sarcastic and think there are a few extremists here who have nothing better to do but concoct more laws for society, everyone says this is the information age, I say its the regulation age, seriously go get a hobie, play golf or something.

I still cant stop laughing over old mates idea about $100 000 fines, how do you pay a hundred thousand dollar fine ? chuck it on your home loan or something ?
Well said. And a good way to end the thread. To all the Hitler- Stalin wannabe's, Lord help us if you get into politics.
Old 31-07-2007, 10:04 PM   #71
Hunter
Ex EL Falcon

Calm down fellas, no need to get so worked up

Extremists? I'd say the people in the hoon mobiles behaving like twats on the road are the extremists, as in extreme lack of self control.

The only reason we're so regulated is because people consistently demonstrate they aren't able to regulate themselves. Be it in business (excessive greed, property scams, etc) or in life people in this country seem increasingly incapable of treating each other with respect and behave normally, ie be a good citizen!

Now that doesn't mean helping old ladies to cross the road or doing meals on wheels, you don't _have_ to but it does mean treating others the way you wish to be treated, which sadly seems a concept that most people have forgotten or choose not to be bothered with (The "I'm alright jack so everyone else" attitude).

Wage garnishing, its how they recover fines from people who don't pay already.
Old 31-07-2007, 10:05 PM   #72
hanky
TF Corty

Originally Posted by myts
Back to the point,

Rant on :

The law allows for jail time for dangerous driving and if you get caught bieng dangerous it is your problem.

There is no reason to inflict automatic jail time ever.

Scenarios;

You we being chased by a bikie or you best friend was in the back bitten by a snake or whatever. You get caught, you go to court & argue dying best friend etc.. and a reasonable judge would be lienient.

You drag race some nuff in nissan turbo through a housing estate past someones kids, you go to court, judge says your in a world of pain sharing a cell with Bubba for a few weeks.

Automatic sentancing is stupid.

The Vic. govt is reaping in millions $$ in fines with huge penalties for stepping out of line with little or no impact road toll. We have speed camera's that operate as guilty until proven innocent. And remember the Vic govt just caught a speed limited bus doing 140+ (i think) that will be challenged.

If that was you in an XR, your gone. How do you prove otherwise?

Travelling at 60 over is hard to justify, and the people who speed like this don't expect to get caught otherwise they wouldn't be speeding at all.

So the penalty is irrelevant, it is a very, very, bad idea.

Rant off:
I agree with this post, if you want to throw someone in jail they should be given a fair trial. Jail time should NEVER be automatic!
Old 31-07-2007, 10:07 PM   #73
Hunter
Ex EL Falcon

Originally Posted by hanky
I agree with this post, if you want to throw someone in jail they should be given a fair trial. Jail time should NEVER be automatic!
Generally mandatory jail time doesn't mean you just go straight to jail (lol its not bloody monopoly), rather it means if you are found guilty you receive a mandatory sentence. But then again if you are a *suspected* terrorist it seems going to jail without trial is normal :
Old 31-07-2007, 10:11 PM   #74
robbo_yobbo
Kick out tha Jams

Some people can talk allot better than they can think, it would be great if laws like this only effected the people that voted them in.....

We could all have electric card linked to our personal profiles...... officer pulls you over and you say ....."sorry officer, I voted no to that law"...... he swipes your card, sees that you indeed opposed that law, he wishes you a safe journey and your on your way.

This would see all the vigilanti law makers who want to stricten it all up suffer in thier own creation.... :

Obviously this idea could never come to fruition, but it would be great none the less, Id be happy as larry. :
Old 31-07-2007, 10:13 PM   #75
XR8Master

If $100 000 fines, taking possesion of people's property and serving time over a speeding ticket isnt extreme then I don't know what is. I think someones been reading Mein Kampf a little to much
Old 31-07-2007, 10:13 PM   #76
Elks

Originally Posted by robbo_yobbo
Relax mate - reread his whole post and you will see it was sarcasm

Oops, Sorry, XRMaster, A sore point of mine..
Old 31-07-2007, 10:17 PM   #77

Originally Posted by au3 chaser
We all know the current fine system

< 15 kph
< 30kph
< 45kph
> 45kph

But what if they introduced an extra one...

> 60kph, fine, + weekend trip to jail.

Would this turn people off going 60kph over the limit?

The reason I suggest/ask this, is that there is no need for 60kph over the limit. Some people can try to justify the rest of the speeds, but 60kph+ is not justified...

Your opinions?
no disagree with you. after my recent experiences i strongly disagree with these "automatic" sentences for offences.
Old 31-07-2007, 10:19 PM   #78
robbo_yobbo
Kick out tha Jams

If $100 000 fines, taking possesion of people's property and serving time over a speeding ticket isnt extreme then I don't know what is. I think someones been reading Mein Kampf a little to much
extreem is an understatement, I think even members of underground terrorist cells would call those ideas extreme!
Old 31-07-2007, 10:20 PM   #79
hanky
TF Corty

Originally Posted by Hunter
Generally mandatory jail time doesn't mean you just go straight to jail (lol its not bloody monopoly), rather it means if you are found guilty you receive a mandatory sentence. But then again if you are a *suspected* terrorist it seems going to jail without trial is normal :
Yes, right you are! I should have said that if someone is convicted of a crime the circumstances must be considered before the punishment is handed out.
Old 31-07-2007, 10:32 PM   #80
XR8Master

This world is a practical one and its problems won't be solved with people who indulge in abstract algorithms based around there narrow viewpoint and limited knowledge, road laws are based around punishments rather then soultions. young people use local roads to experiment with cars and have fun, it is there ghetto of law breaking, I know where I live there is a HUGE amout of drag racing/cruzing ect, Why not give these people a place to go legally and learn more about driving instead of skittering away from the sirens of police ? There is a definite need for more tracks where people can have there show downs and do there maccas car park burnouts.
Old 31-07-2007, 10:54 PM   #81
Hunter
Ex EL Falcon

This world is a practical one and its problems won't be solved with people who indulge in abstract algorithms based around there narrow viewpoint and limited knowledge, road laws are based around punishments rather then soultions. young people use local roads to experiment with cars and have fun, it is there ghetto of law breaking, I know where I live there is a HUGE amout of drag racing/cruzing ect, Why not give these people a place to go legally and learn more about driving instead of skittering away from the sirens of police ? There is a definite need for more tracks where people can have there show downs and do there maccas car park burnouts.
You can give them all the free places to do whatever and they will still do it on the road! Half the attraction of doing what hoons do is that its illegal and what you're doing is 'prohibited'. I'm not against creating places for people to practice motorsport in a safe and controlled environment in fact I think they're a great idea and would love nothing more than for lakeside to be reincarnated as a recreational motoring facility but I can bet my left nut that even if we had heaps of places to go there would still be this element of society who think the normal rules and regulations don't apply and that they're in a "free country" and doing whatever you please is fine.

Having a bit of fun it might be and I am no saint but at the end of the day the older and wiser you get the more you realise just how dumb some things are and just how dumb some people are.

You can't legislate against stupidity but you sure as hell can legislate against actions.
Old 31-07-2007, 11:22 PM   #82

I think they should be concentrating on throwing people in jail that really should be in there.

A lot of dodgy people get out of jail sentencing as it is and frankly I don't think it is worthy of jail time for a speeding offence.

Maybe better use of dangerous driving charges etc is more appropiate regardless of speed IMO.

I've witnessed more stupid things done by other motorists which have nothing to do with speeding. Failure to give way as an example which can cause accidents too yet are we going to throw them in jail?
Old 31-07-2007, 11:27 PM   #83
2smooth
xygtho

do what they do over sea's. Geramy is pretty tough and i had heard from a german born friend that after a certian amount of traffic offences (sp?) not sure how many and of what severity they just take your lic for good no more chances. driving is a priviledge so i guess more would hate the fact of never being able to drive again well legally anyway.
2smooth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-07-2007, 11:28 PM   #84

Australia should have 140km/h limits with multi-lane freeways and none of this "what if a kid is walking to school down the freeway?" talk - driving is boring at times, Australians drive like they are asleep because of the ridiculous road laws that already exist. People should be penalized for going too slow and too fast (but not excessively), and everybody should be competent enough to go the same speed ( a decent one)
Old 31-07-2007, 11:36 PM   #85
Hunter
Ex EL Falcon

Originally Posted by chevypower
Australia should have 140km/h limits with multi-lane freeways and none of this "what if a kid is walking to school down the freeway?" talk - driving is boring at times, Australians drive like they are asleep because of the ridiculous road laws that already exist. People should be penalized for going too slow and too fast (but not excessively), and everybody should be competent enough to go the same speed ( a decent one)
I'm sure that excessive legislation such as in Victoria which doesn't take into account all the variables associated with determining speed is going to cause more problems HOWEVER driving 60 km/h over the limit doesn't just happen accidentally by going down a slight gradient - I'm sure you'd soon notice if you were doing even 20 km/h over the limit and adjust your speed to suit.

Most Australians drive like they're asleep because they don't bloody care about anyone but themselves and don't take driving seriously. Its just something you do, just like wiping your bum. Only difference being if you make a mistake wiping your bum you'll just soil your hand or butt cheeks, if you make a mistake while driving you could end up very dead.
Old 31-07-2007, 11:39 PM   #86
Outbackjack
Central to all beach's

Originally Posted by chevypower
This system worked perfectly in the NT up until January 07. That is when chairman Clare decreed that thou shalt not exceed 130kph. Our road toll is UP now, 25 compared to 18. The main reason that the cash strapped state governmets will never adopt a sensible attitde to speed limits is of course..... $$$$$$.
Old 31-07-2007, 11:50 PM   #87
JG66ME

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Great tech articles and assistance to all in the Classics arena. 

You know if they made it life imprisonment for murder no one would kill anyone.......
Why do you always say what I think so eloquently?(sp)
JG66ME is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-07-2007, 11:57 PM   #88
RIPGMH

I think its a pretty sad day when paeodphiles are walking away with suspended sentences and we have people talking about locking up blokes for speeding.
RIPGMH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2007, 12:07 AM   #89
DOC

Originally Posted by Hunter
Most Australians drive like they're asleep because they don't bloody care about anyone but themselves and don't take driving seriously. Its just something you do, just like wiping your bum. Only difference being if you make a mistake wiping your bum you'll just soil your hand or butt cheeks, if you make a mistake while driving you could end up very dead.
Did you even read what chevypower wrote and understand it ?, mate wiping our bums is some thing we just do, driving we take serious, yahoserious , but driving at 100kpm for hours on end in Vic leaves you nothing to do but get bored and pick your bum

+ 1 = 140kpm here
DOC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2007, 12:16 AM   #90
Hunter
Ex EL Falcon

Originally Posted by DOC
Did you even read what chevypower wrote and understand it ?, mate wiping our bums is some thing we just do, driving we take serious, yahoserious , but driving at 100kpm for hours on end in Vic leaves you nothing to do but get bored and pick your bum

+ 1 = 140kpm here
Yeah I re-read and understand what he's trying to say now (it wasn't overly clear) - so he's saying that people fall asleep on freeways/highways due to long monotonous distances? Probably. Should they stop revive and survive? Probably. I don't have any problem with specifically designed roads engineered to carry traffic at 140 km/h HOWEVER the reality is most of the interstate roads in this country aren't suitable for such speeds, hell most of them are still 2 lane goat tracks with no barriers between opposing lines of traffic, no way would I want to be doing 140 km/h on one if some idiot veered onto the wrong side of the road.