Old 12-01-2010, 08:21 PM   #61
GK
Walking with God

Great little car!

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-01-2010, 12:42 AM   #62
Swordsman88
Getting it done.....

Originally Posted by JPFS1
It's got some serious surface lines going on. Good to see Ford getting creative.

It's not surprising that initial reaction is shock, but I think it will come into its own when seen on the road.

The rear of the sedan is a major improvement, and the rear of the hatch is reminiscent of the quirky small Volvo hatch. Will look better in the flesh for sure. Pics do take allot of the design detail out of the car.
US journos that have seen the car in the flesh have said as much....in person it is very very good. I think the front airdam is a bigger concern for me...after all how often do you look at the taillights of your car.....

I think its a bit too 'big' the front airdam...the trapezoidal bits are ok but i woud like it a bit smaller. It will stand out that is for sure.

I also take note of the overall 'coupe like' profile. To me, minus the surfacing and the front end, it is a bit like an LR model focus in profile. Much more sleek then the boxy styling of the current car....

Now with:
Pacemaker 4499s
Lukey Catback Exhaust
Chrome BA XR-style tip
Airdam Mounted CAI with modified (bellmouth) airbox
Trip Computer install
KYB shocks
Bridgestone Adrenalin tyres

Coming Soon:
Exhaust Overhaul.....
Swordsman88 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-01-2010, 01:11 AM   #63
zetec
Zoom Zoom

Awesome looking vehicle although a read of the article is rather hillarious - They state twice that the vehicles is built in France (Saarlouis, France) despite Saarlouis being in Germany and the Focus being built in Germany since 1998, for over 10 years.

Saarlouis is not only home to manufacturing, but has been the global home of the Focus since 1998.

Typical Car journos.
Old 13-01-2010, 01:15 AM   #64
Swordsman88
Getting it done.....

Awesome looking vehicle although a read of the article is rather hillarious - They state twice that the vehicles is built in France (Saarlouis, France) despite Saarlouis being in Germany and the Focus being built in Germany since 1998, for over 10 years.

Saarlouis is not only home to manufacturing, but has been the global home of the Focus since 1998.

Typical Car journos.
Yes i noticed that. It is right on the border but still.... I told my sister her car (an LR) was built in germany....it had it right on the build plate plus a bunch of german writing everwhere..... then i read that and thought...hmm, that is not right....LOL!

Now with:
Pacemaker 4499s
Lukey Catback Exhaust
Chrome BA XR-style tip
Airdam Mounted CAI with modified (bellmouth) airbox
Trip Computer install
KYB shocks
Bridgestone Adrenalin tyres

Coming Soon:
Exhaust Overhaul.....
Swordsman88 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-01-2010, 11:20 PM   #65
ondori
Addicted User

Jim Hughes -Focus Chief Enginerer outside walk-around...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjmyT...layer_embedded
Old 14-01-2010, 11:40 PM   #66
block58

Anyone?
block58 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2010, 08:49 AM   #67
CADSKY
'01 AU11 XR8 UTE

WOW! the focus just keeps getting better and better! would love to see an xr5.

CURRENT
'01 AU2 XR8 UTE - 5 SPEED MANUAL.
MUCH WORK TO DO.

PREVIOUS
'07 BF MK11 XR6 - 6 SPEED AUTO
'95 EF XR6 - 5 SPEED MANUAL

See my car HERE
CADSKY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2010, 09:46 AM   #68

Looks interesting, I don't like the triangles on the front bumper but they will probably grow on me.

The only similarity to that SUV is they both have 4 doors and wheels.
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2010, 11:22 AM   #69
Luke Plaizier

The one thing I don't like in that article is the use of the word 'Focuses' when referring to US and European models.

Can't we use the word Foci instead? Much cooler.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/foci (ie, the plural of Focus...)

I've always wanted the plural of Bus or be Busi as well.....

Old 15-01-2010, 11:52 AM   #70
Cobra
Bear with a sore head

This can't come soon enough, the current Focus has tanked.

XR4 Turbo with a version of the Ecoboost 4 will replace the XR5 Turbo, but wether it has the 2 litre EB or 1.6 litre EB version I don't know.
If I could have it my way, FWD 1.6L Ecoboost Focus ST (XR4) and AWD 2.0L Ecoboost Cosworth RS. Or perhaps even a lower spec ecoboost 2.0L FWD for the focus and a 1.6L ecoboost for Fiesta ST.
Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2010, 11:53 AM   #71
LeadFoot81
_Oo===oO_

Originally Posted by Boss315

The Cruze has a very tight design, but the new Focus (love it or hate it-I'm of two minds atm) is clearly light years ahead.
LeadFoot81 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2010, 12:34 PM   #72
fou_bleu
Get EcoBoosted

Holden's screwed - even if they continued with the new Astra (http://www.netcarshow.com/opel/2010-astra/)!
fou_bleu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2010, 01:58 PM   #73

Gawd that Cruze looks positively prehistoric next to the Focus.

Any idea of an on-sale date?

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 15-01-2010, 02:55 PM   #74
BrisVegas
Noobie

I don't like the front grill, but otherwise very nice. I thought they'd have gone with a similar look to the Fiesta, ie.

LS Focus Zetec 5dr - gone
WS Fiesta Zetec 5dr - gone
BrisVegas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2010, 03:48 PM   #75
4.0i_SiX
SiX_iN_a_RoW

sexy looking thing, especially the sedan...Looks much better than then new barina ( looks like a smart car )

now only if there was an all-wheel-drive turbo version
Old 15-01-2010, 04:42 PM   #76
alecrain
'03 BA XT

Nice! My wife wants the focus XR5T and I'll have the falocn XR6T

Beautiful Photography Blog

2003 BA XT
IMPCO SVI - TYPHOON CAI +XR6T snorkel - K&N Panel Filter - DBA Slotties - Tint

1998 Toyota Landcruiser Prado

www.bseries.com.au/alecrain

People that drive slower than ME are BAD DRIVERS,
People that drive faster are IDIOTS
alecrain is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2010, 05:21 AM   #77

http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=.../2/JMRWvpLnr9E
Old 24-01-2010, 09:31 AM   #78
ivorya
Mad Scientist!

Originally Posted by Falc'man

Lets hope they use that as their marketing tools for TV. Fantastic!!!! Makes me want to get one, that's for sure.
ivorya is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2010, 11:00 AM   #79
zebby

Thumbs down

Originally Posted by ivorya
Lets hope they use that as their marketing tools for TV. Fantastic!!!! Makes me want to get one, that's for sure.
Would never be allowed here, as it would probably be considered hoon driving.

We must be protected, the Nanny Country knows best!!!!
zebby is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2010, 11:50 AM   #80

Cann't see how thats hoon driving ? no wheel spins etc ?
Old 24-01-2010, 11:54 AM   #81

Cann't see how thats hoon driving ? no wheel spins etc ?
Shows "spirited driving" and we all know how the "SOMEBODY THINK OF THE CHILDREN?!?!" group will pipe up and complain.
Old 24-01-2010, 01:22 PM   #82

I'd have to see it in the metal to fully judge but it looks too busy/fussy to me. There is too much going on, might look okay for a while but will date very quickly IMO.
Old 24-01-2010, 03:22 PM   #83
JTFG
In a Ford..at last!

I like it, and that interior looks very crisp and modern. Makes the current Focus seem very dated.

But not my sorta car though.
JTFG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2010, 07:27 PM   #84
zebby

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/au..._rs_twins.html

Wouldn't mind seeing the new RS downunder, maybe as a FPV.
zebby is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2010, 08:31 PM   #85
Robbie's_BA
Robbie's_BA

DO NOT WANT, they are too europian for my liking, needs more biff

2004 ba falcon ute xls dark metalic red she's my baby

Buy my wheels

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11287723
Robbie's_BA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2010, 08:45 PM   #86
cheek

Can't say I like the sedan, the boot just looks odd. The hatch looks awesome though!!!
cheek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-02-2010, 02:35 PM   #87
BrisVegas
Noobie

very nice. Funny to see the Focus and Falcon will be sharing engines shortly. 240hp makes for a fast hatchback and an economical family sedan!
LS Focus Zetec 5dr - gone
WS Fiesta Zetec 5dr - gone
BrisVegas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-03-2010, 05:03 PM   #88
R-Design
Guess Who's Back?

Default 2011 Ford Focus Wagon Revealed Ahead Of Geneva Motor Show

Originally Posted by themotorreport
FOLLOWING THE ANNOUNCEMENT yesterday of its impending debut, Ford has today revealed the 2011 Ford Focus wagon ahead of its Geneva unveiling this week.

The Focus wagon is the fifth model to be built on Ford's new global C-segment platform, following the Focus sedan and hatch and the European-market C-Max and Grand C-Max models.

"Our next generation of C-cars shows how Ford is using its global resources to develop at least ten new models or derivatives from the same platform globally," Derrick Kuzak, Ford's Group Vice President of Product Development said.

"The Focus wagon is the next model to be revealed, and is particularly significant for the European market as more than a third of our C-car customers here prefer a wagon bodystyle."

For now, Ford is withholding specific details on the Focus wagon's engine range, but it is likely that the wagon will be mechanically identical to the five-door hatch.

While the Focus wagon is a crucial model for the European market, whether it will make its way to Australia remains to be seen. The current generation focus is offered locally in five-door hatch and four-door sedan variants only.

"As with all of the models in our new global C-platform portfolio, there is scope to offer this dynamic wagon additionally in other markets around the world, provided the business case and customer demand exist," John Fleming, Ford of Europe Chairman and CEO said.

"We see this as an integral part of our global next-generation Focus line-up, and we're eager to hear the reaction to what we believe is a very stylish and distinctive car."

At a separate press event in Geneva this week, Kuzak confirmed that Ford is already working on a high-performance version of the new Focus, following in the footsteps of the RS models of previous generations.

The hot hatch will be powered by a more highly-tuned member of Ford's four-cylinder turbo-charged and direct-injected EcoBoost engine family.

"We want to reassure enthusiasts of Focus performance models that we have a plan for them as well," Kuzak said.

"Our commitment is to deliver an exciting performance model of the new Focus on a global basis and using a version of our advanced new Ford EcoBoost petrol direct-injection turbo engine. We're not ready to reveal more details yet, but we recognize how important this model will be in the Focus line-up, particularly for customers in Europe."
http://www.themotorreport.com.au/499...eva-motor-show
Old 02-03-2010, 07:55 PM   #89
fou_bleu
Get EcoBoosted

Hmm... a 2012 Focus Wagon for me it is!!! Hope they make a ST version! /drools
fou_bleu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-03-2010, 09:20 PM   #90

Gwad, the bum end reminds me of the "Taurus" the yanks dumped here in the 90's.

Burnout is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post