You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 14-07-2010, 07:27 PM   #61

Thumbs down

Originally Posted by GT
Hallelujah! Some of the decent human beings on the AFF, have had the courage to stand up and be counted!!!!! Why are we turning into a bunch of bullies? Said it all in my last post but hoping that bman will come back and not feel set upon.

I was truly ashamed of what I had to read this afternoon. We have probably scared this courageous guy into thinking we are all feral blue bloods with blinkers and hoods.

Gaela
You and me both Gaela :( Learning to hold my tongue finally though ........
Old 14-07-2010, 07:47 PM   #62
TS50

As a sidelight, we all know there is a new series of Commodores about to be realeased, including HSV, however there is no information on them either, including what changes to motors etc
So does that mean their marketing dept is rubbish too?
As someone said earlier, you cant release too much info too early, otherwise it wrecks the sales of current models, to the extent they can be heavilly discounted, and a loss is made on the sale
Even at $55K there really wasnt any money to be made on the vehicle, and it was a 09 plate, so it has been sitting around for a while
Just my humble opinion, and not trying to say my opinion is right, and others are wrong

Personally I dont care that he bought a Malloo, each to their own, but I really dont see that the lack of info from Ford is wrong, just the way business has to be done
Old 14-07-2010, 08:06 PM   #63

Nice purchase.

Some good deals around at the moment. Dealer in Canberra is getting the Maloo's out the door for $49k. Actually, I think it might be $49,999. Still good value.
Old 14-07-2010, 08:08 PM   #64

I cannot beleive some of the dribble i have read in this thread. Guy buys an HSV after doing some homework and gave a couple of reasons why he didnt choose the Ford and you all shot him down, really where do some people get off.
bman congrats on your new ute although the Maloo isnt my favourite car on the planet but enjoy it mate it will give you plenty of fun im sure.
Old 14-07-2010, 08:12 PM   #65

[QUOTE=bman]

I cant stress this enough. No Cheap Maloo = I would still be waiting like every body else for information (if only teaser info) from Ford FPV.

QUOTE]

I think some people need to stop and have a read of this ^^ and the 1st post made by this thread starter, No where does it say in the opening post that he can't stress enough that the main reason behind his purchase was his BUDGET, and as far as I read into it , he bought a HSV becasue of the price he was offered, and I believe that if he had of waited or said to the HSV dealer, "I will wait till upcomming info about another product", his price on the Maloo probably wouldn't be the same, dealer's don't work like that, and he has clearly said afterward's that it was a main sale pitch for him to buy.
His opening post was clearly directed at Ford/FPV and their lack of knowledge of a future product that he wishes to view, (like all of us), but do people really believe that he could get a NEW FPV (coyote) for the price he got the HSV for ??
He has also stated that he tested other vehicle's and also that the Maloo is not worth the extra $$$$ for a new or '10 plated model,
So as far as I read into it and like I said 1stly, he bought on impulse and budget on the day, not the fact that he had little info about an upcomming model, to which he clearly say's otherwise in his opening post, but yet back flip's and now claim's, No CHEAP Maloo mean's he would still be waiting eagerly for info from Ford/FPV, doesn't make sense to me...
Old 14-07-2010, 08:14 PM   #66

Good buy bman - I agree a deal to good to refuse and you can't wait forever !
If I was a v8 ute man the maloo over the current SP anyday imo.
Old 14-07-2010, 08:15 PM   #67
Fireblade
Wizard Member

Probably not the first and won't be the last, Joe average has absolutely no idea what Ford/FPV is up to except some models have disappeared and are not currently in production, on that Joe average would also then look at other manufacturers that would fit the bill. The lack of information regarding even the model line ups, where each model will stand and pricing of these new models even if they don't want to produce the numbers that we all want to hear, to be honest it seems to be taking a bloody long time to come up with a FG MkII when all it is, is a few detail touches and a new V8 driveline.

Some peoples personal attack of his decision is pretty **** poor considering, if after 10 months I've been looking and waiting for this new model, getting excited at the prospect of a new car and we still have no idea of where it stands I would've done the same thing considering the buying price, an FPV XR8 around that sort of money will be good value with a SC coyote. Congrats on the purchase of the Maloo bman, I don't doubt this car will fulfil your V8 urge as they are a damn nice car, and once modded an absolute ball tearer.
Old 14-07-2010, 08:18 PM   #68

Originally Posted by bman
I hate to say it, I really do. I am a ford man at heart. No scrap that.....I am an aussie man at heart!

I was waiting and waiting for info on the Coyote and FPV upgrades but nothing has come forward. I spent the last 6mths shopping around and test driving and i ended up uying a 2009 model Maloo ex demo with 1000k on the clock for $55k which is outstanding value for an oz muscle car. I have had the exhaust, OTR and mafless done and I am pushing out 378kw. It is a beauty to drive.

If official info was available I would have waited to test drive before deciding.

So FPV.....listen up.....

POOR MARKETING = LOST SALEs

Sorry chaps
We bought a simlar car in wagon for the business due to there being no new real wagons with Ford anymore ( I hate the terrys) , added gas and a real low carry capacity fast reps car , I still hate it but it's cheap to run and can carry more than a sedan
Old 14-07-2010, 08:22 PM   #69
bman

Thank you for all the kind words folks. Glad we are back on track!

I think that the marketing world has drastically changed. I also think that buyers preference is a very fickle thing these days. There have been a number of studies undertaken that show that Gen X and late Gen Y care very little for brand loyalty which is something very important to car manufacturers, probably none more so than Holden/HSV and Ford/FPV.

What I would like to see from the FPV guys here, and what they should be doing is launching a campaign to excite people about the product, and no, leaked information to Wheels Mag does not count.

I have an image of a siluetted image of a coyote engine top, with a catch phrase above.......see attached as an idea.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf BMAN - MARKETING.pdf (113.8 KB, 179 views)

- 17 x Ford Falcon XT BF - Within my Fleet -
- 4 x Ford Falcon XR6 BF - Within my Fleet -
- 110 x Mitsubishi Express - Within my Fleet -
- 2 x Hyundai iLoad - Within my Fleet -
Old 14-07-2010, 08:35 PM   #70

I do have brand loyalty, but i dont know if id buy an HSV (Maybe a GTS).
Old 14-07-2010, 08:43 PM   #71
bman

I have deleted what I stated here in the interests of this thread.

I do not want to go back to the arguing.

Last edited by bman; 14-07-2010 at 08:50 PM.
Old 14-07-2010, 08:47 PM   #72
bman

GTS is nice, but not great value for money me thinks! The GT-P represents better value if at the expense of performance.

Do you think that companies like FPV and HSV which are very much related to brand loyalty market themselves correctly?

I did feel that alot of the Ford dealers that I met during the last 10mths did not know the FPV products inside and out. Seems to be a slight detachment. The HSV guys were a little better, but these were people with roles like 'HSV Specialist'

Perhaps they could trickle more info to the dealers, due dates etc.

I would even like to hear about issues they are having.....ie

"were blowing up the drive trains, se we are making the stronger"....or somthing or other....

Last edited by bman; 14-07-2010 at 08:55 PM.
Old 14-07-2010, 09:00 PM   #73
bman

bucknaked, $49k!!! WOW! Are you sure you are not thinking of the Maloo GXP?

Old 14-07-2010, 09:38 PM   #74
BLUEYBA

Originally Posted by Peuty
So let me get this right....the fact that Ford didn't have a car for sale that you wanted to buy at the time you wanted to buy it means that their marketing department is no good? Think of how the sales of the Boss engined cars would be if they released info on the news engine ahead of time. That would be more negligent I think.

If you weren't prepared to wait for the coyote to be released, then that's your own fault. I don't see how you think Ford is to blame in this instance?

I'd have to agree here. If Ford have what I want or is going to I would wait. Why buy something that's my second choice. Also Ford/FPV want to push out all the remaining Boss motors with affecting price and resale. We know its coming and very soon so it better to wait.
1995 EF Fairmont - Tickford Enhanced
1980 ZL Fairlane in Brambles red
Old 14-07-2010, 09:39 PM   #75
HSE2

Congrats on your purchase. I have moved your thread because it’s not really an issue about coyote and especially so considering the direction you wish to take the conversation.

In simply terms consumers have buying cycles which encompass a wide variety of considerations.

To be honest we know enough about coyote to make a decision to wait or not. We have extensive coverage on the US version and Ford has confirmed that we are in fact getting a coyote family member. For many that simply means all alloy and that fact alone is worth waiting for. For others in not enough to fit into their own requirements and you fall into this category.

It’s unfortunate that Ford, on this occasion, couldn't meet your specific timetable but as the owner of the property in question reserve the right to disclose, announce in the manner and timeframe accordingly. Imminent announcement, doesn’t remove the manufacturers right to control the release. In that process not everyone will be happy. My time table isn’t the same as yours. Helps me, hurts you.
Its life.

Fords a victim here. They never put an on sale date out there but yet the thirst for must have knowledge fuelled by the ease of internet life has tainted many a user on this site. The July deadline has caused people to make assumptions. It’s not really Fords place to correct them without knowing the full details of what is going on behind the scenes. You simply can’t give official details if there is ongoing development. You can’t bring something to market that isn’t ready. Ford decided when that time is and we have to live with it.

We certainly don’t want a situation when one spec is released then changes are made or there is an error in pricing due to ongoing development. It’s an extensive upgrade and it has to be right before they proceed and after all that’s the most important consideration. Marketing people are on the job but you simply can’t jump the gun so to speak.

I trust you will be happy with your purchase and in that light there should be no apology made.
As you say, you purchased Australian and that has to be commended.
BREAKING NEWS: The Pity Train has just derailed at the intersection of "Suck It Up & Move On" after it crashed into "We All Have Problems" before coming to a complete stop at "Get the Hell Over It." Reporting LIVE from Quitchur Bitchin'
Old 14-07-2010, 09:44 PM   #76
parisianfox

Bman, I truly empathise with your decision to ditch the coyote. My predicament was not too dissimilar to yours, where the search for my next car commenced about 8 months ago. Time was of the essence, since my lease was due to expire at the end of June '10. I was prepared to use my work van until the coyote was ready for a road test, which I thought would have been around now. Ultimately, I gave up and extended my lease by 2 years. In 2 years, I truly wish to look at a coyote again, or perhaps something else may grab my attention.
Don't get too moved by various negative comments posted. I think there is an underlying frustration amongst some members due to the delays.

I was on carsales today and found a nice vid. Ford should look how these blokes leak information:
http://www.carsales.com.au/news/2010...pe-video-20064
Old 14-07-2010, 10:05 PM   #77

bucknaked, $49k!!! WOW! Are you sure you are not thinking of the Maloo GXP?
Not sure bman. I caught the back end of it the other night. The price got my attention. Then all I saw was shiny white ute and they said Maloo. Not sure about the type of Maloo it was.

My mate has a Maloo he bought 2 years back. Definatley a step up from FPV, and as a previous FPV owner, when time came to get a new ute, he test drove the FG (Pursuit I think as he was heading back to a V8 from the F6) and for ride handling and comfort, the Maloo won. Just based on the IRS in a ute, it was too hard to go past. Plus FPV dealer wasn't prepared to move much on the price, but the HSV dealer was.

Thing he found interesting was that the yard he bought the ute has a policy in that if your a returning customer, no matter how long since your last purchase, if the salesman you bought the car from prior was still at the dealership, they assign that salesman to you. So your dealing with someone you know. Generally, if your unhappy with a deal, you would see another dealer next time. Returning to buy another car they assume I guess that you were happy and want you to have the same salesman to assist in your next purchase. It worked. He bought the maloo and the salesman is also he point of contact for servicing and warranty. He just calls him up, and the guy books him in to service and arranges a courtesy car and calls him back with details.
Old 14-07-2010, 10:07 PM   #78
04redxr8

Hi Bman. Congrats on the new ute, sounds like your very happy with it.

I fully understand the position you were in as I was there too. I didn't spend much time researching, just lobbed into a Ford dealer looking for an XR8. Didn't care if it was a Boss, just wanted an XR8.

The dealer I went to was such a ******, and the price he was asking so ridiculous, I left. A workmate suggested I try a Holden dealer around the corner, so I went. 5 days later I had a brand new SSV ute.

Again Ford lost another sale, although mine was more to do with ridiculous pricing.
Old 14-07-2010, 10:09 PM   #79
2.8L Hilux

Being a die hard Ford man I still think that is a great looking car. Hope she serves you well mate
Old 14-07-2010, 10:30 PM   #80

I cannot beleive some of the dribble i have read in this thread. Guy buys an HSV after doing some homework and gave a couple of reasons why he didnt choose the Ford and you all shot him down, really where do some people get off.
The reason the thread went in the direction was because of the statement below so I can understand why some have questioned the reasoning to buy because of the main reason given .... because of Ford marketing. The title of this thread makes also clear that this is the reason on the purchase?

I read the opening statement and thought the same as some of the 'dribble' that has been said. To me reading that (quoted below), the number one reason is its Fords marketing on a car that isn't ready to be marketed yet. Funny but I seem to know enough on whats coming to keep me waiting in anticipation?
I was waiting and waiting for info on the Coyote and FPV upgrades but nothing has come forward. I spent the last 6mths shopping around and test driving and i ended up uying a 2009 model Maloo ex demo with 1000k on the clock for $55k which is outstanding value for an oz muscle car.
I have been waiting 12 months, paid out the residue on the XR6 and am now waiting ....... no way do I want to buy something just because of price. It is always a consideration in purchasing of course but hate to think I am stuck with something for the next 4 years knowing that I only had to wait a short time for something I would enjoy more and that would fit in my budget. Cant see why Fords marketing can be blamed which was the reason given in the opening statement? If it isn't ready yet ..... well it just isn't ready yet.

I see nothing wrong in questioning the reasoning behind a purchase if 'bman' puts the blame towards someone else forcing his decision when all along it really it is just price in the end.

Hope you enjoy your new car

Last edited by Auslandau; 14-07-2010 at 10:38 PM.
Old 14-07-2010, 10:41 PM   #81

I've previously added my 2c in this thread but I'll add some GST now.

To all those who are sitting here blaming Ford for this for not releasing enough information - of which I am one - I agree with the mindset BUT at the same time I understand Ford's point of view.

At the time Coyote got found out there were still (and probably still is) bucketloads of BOSS cars sitting in yards all over Oz - all of which have to be sold before Coyote gets anywhere near those yards. To have a manufacturer come out and say 'hey, we have heaps of these cars ready to go now BUT if you wait a bit longer and give us some more coin we'll give you a car that flogs the pants off those ones' is basically shooting yourself in the foot. They'd never do it.

The hardest part is that we probably know more than the average punter - and by 'we' I mean people like us on AFF, LS1 etc - we know about things way before they hit the dealerships - we have a whole section devoted to this engine which is you believe Ford does not exist in this country. We know that that's BS but we also know why they say it.

It's a bugger of a time to be buying a car and at the end of the day if it is you that is handing over the hard earned to the dealer, of course you're going to pick the car that you think, at the time, is the right one for you. Whether you base that on power, features, handling, price - whatever, doesn't matter. I dont think anybody would buy a car based on reasons other than personal preference and the smile it puts on your dial. Fleets maybe, but private buyers no.

I guess my 'gripe' with Ford is that the policy of sticking your fingers in your ears so you don't hear questions is one that frustrates people like me because, like I said above, we know it's on the way and it would be nice to just know a little bit more about it. Things like the confusion over the XR8 really don't help - I love my XR8's but even now I still have no idea if there will be one in the future and Ford's official line is the usual 'no comment'. That bugs me because like I said, it's a car I really have an interest in and enjoy finding out more about. But the flipside is that we can see why they do it.

Spose all this means is we're all a bunch of impatient sods .

But the final thing I will say on this is that every single person who replied in this thread and bagged the bloke out for buying a non-Ford vehicle and actually being quite happy with it, should take a look at themselves. Bloody poor form and I would have thought that we were all a bit beyond that.
Old 14-07-2010, 10:50 PM   #82
FPV+fteT3
Performance Inc.

Congrats on the new ute mate you dont have much choice at the moment ford aren't building any new V8's currently you only have a choice of whats left not only that but rumor is that the FPV ute is to be axed. Ford and FPV are running on rumors ATM. If I require, no when I require my next performance ute it will have to be a maloo as the FPV S/P has gooone...... so that will be atleast 2 of us in a chev powered ute.
Enjoy your new car, good price for a HSV sports ute.

FPV Super Pursuit Build no 0080/91
Lotus Exige S/C S240

Kart Hasse Chassis 100J Power

Rental cars, the equipment of choice to get to destinations where 4WDs fear to drive......
Old 14-07-2010, 10:54 PM   #83

Congrads on the new ute, your reasoning makes sence to me based on information out on the next series FPV & the killer run outs that HSV have going at the moment.

FPV.. Take note, hurry up V8 buyers are out there and spending now just this week a friend of mines parents traded their E-Series R8 for a E2 GTS without considering an F6 as they want a V8 and know the LS3 has the edge on a Boss 315, had their been a S/C Coyote that may have been different considering he is building a GT replica at the moment..
Old 14-07-2010, 10:56 PM   #84

Originally Posted by FPV+fteT3
rumor is that the FPV ute is to be axed.
This is not a rumour - it is a fact.
Old 14-07-2010, 11:01 PM   #85

Hi Bman, congrats on your purchase, and I think, I clearly understand why. $55k is a lot of coin for most of us, and if it was my hard earned I probably would have done the same thing, but for other reasons. I simply don't like Ford's ute offering ( they simply don't sit well with their too narrow rear wheel axles and jittery rear leaf suspension) so a Holden ute is the better car, at least suspension and in the looks dept.
It appears you are happy with your car so I wouldn't give a stuff what anyone else here thinks!
Enjoy it mate!
Old 14-07-2010, 11:04 PM   #86
1TUFFUTE

That makes no sense, how do you know they wont do that when the time is right?????
EVERYONE knows a new engine is coming..
If someone needs a car now and cant wait a few months no amount of "marketing" is going to change that is it...... If people jump the gun then i guess they're the losers if the lack of patience means they miss out on a better product..

i agree...this thread is bogus. if u reeeeally wanted a ford u would wait or by one...even an older fpv if your that keen. but saying its because of lack of media is rediculous. No amount of waiting will make the engines and cars get here any quicker....PAH info will be here shortl no doubt...JUST HAVE A TAD MORE PATIENCE...
Old 14-07-2010, 11:15 PM   #87

Originally Posted by Auslandau
The reason the thread went in the direction was because of the statement below so I can understand why some have questioned the reasoning to buy because of the main reason given .... because of Ford marketing. The title of this thread makes also clear that this is the reason on the purchase?

I read the opening statement and thought the same as some of the 'dribble' that has been said. To me reading that (quoted below), the number one reason is its Fords marketing on a car that isn't ready to be marketed yet. Funny but I seem to know enough on whats coming to keep me waiting in anticipation?

I have been waiting 12 months, paid out the residue on the XR6 and am now waiting ....... no way do I want to buy something just because of price. It is always a consideration in purchasing of course but hate to think I am stuck with something for the next 4 years knowing that I only had to wait a short time for something I would enjoy more and that would fit in my budget. Cant see why Fords marketing can be blamed which was the reason given in the opening statement? If it isn't ready yet ..... well it just isn't ready yet.

I see nothing wrong in questioning the reasoning behind a purchase if 'bman' puts the blame towards someone else forcing his decision when all along it really it is just price in the end.

Hope you enjoy your new car
Spot on, couldnt agree more, apparantly im not allowed to hold these views though.

Old 14-07-2010, 11:26 PM   #88
XAGSV8
Member 178

Firstly congrats on your purchase but I have to agree with Auslandau and what others have been trying to say. Everybody has to remember also Ford can not advertise too many specifics due to it's competition who may use these numbers to their advantage. To me it's just a dig at Ford as this has been posted in the Pub and not Show and Shine where you could have just simply showed it off. It is however a great looking car.

1963 Morris Mini

1999 NU Fairlane Ghia
Old 14-07-2010, 11:32 PM   #89
darkside

last week i was at ford waiting while they were fixing my fpv s/p,got too talking to the fpv dealer who was telling me that ford have set back the release of the coyote because of a few gliches ,the stroked version wAS giving problems and the s/c version just wasn't up to the job .doesn't sound toooo promising but i would be waiting for the coyote 2 on that bit of info ,mind you there were 2 maloo's that had been traded in with very little on the clock ,must have been sick of been blown off the road ,took the new f6 for a test ,boy has the lag of the line been fixed ,it hammered .still i wouldn't give up a v8 for one ,just not the same don't care how fast they run ...doc
Old 14-07-2010, 11:38 PM   #90
1TUFFUTE

Originally Posted by darkside
last week i was at ford waiting while they were fixing my fpv s/p,got too talking to the fpv dealer who was telling me that ford have set back the release of the coyote because of a few gliches ,the stroked version wAS giving problems and the s/c version just wasn't up to the job .doesn't sound toooo promising but i would be waiting for the coyote 2 on that bit of info ,mind you there were 2 maloo's that had been traded in with very little on the clock ,must have been sick of been blown off the road ,took the new f6 for a test ,boy has the lag of the line been fixed ,it hammered .still i wouldn't give up a v8 for one ,just not the same don't care how fast they run ...doc

YES...IN A NON OFFENSIVE WAY I FEEL SORRY FOR ANYONE WHO BUYS A SS OR HSV AND COMES UP AGAINST A F6. a WORLD OF HURT FOR THEM.