Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
#61 | |||
http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mell...25795E0020FD31
Hiccup puts NZ sales in reverse Quote:
#62 | |||
Once they get the full range on sale it should do very well. Caprice sales 102. Just a matter of time before its killed. |
#63 | |||
Absolutely spot on. I have yet to see a "rational" market anywhere, that's why you try to build what people actually want as evidenced in their cold, hard buying habits. Markets never lie, quite simply because we-the-people ARE the market. Diesel it is. |
#64 | |||
#65 | |||
Thought the Ranger supplies are stuffed due to the Thai flooding???
BA2 XR8 Rapid M6 Ute - Lid - Tint -18s 226.8rwkW@178kmh/537Nm@140kmh 1/9/2013 14.2@163kmh 23/10/2013 Boss349 built. Not yet run. Waiting on a shell. Retrotech thread http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...1363569&page=6 |
#66 | ||
That has had a bit of an impact but the range is not even half full yet, so many variants are yet to arrive yet.
#67 | |||
#68 | ||
I have followed a few new diesel Territorys and when they are under power, there's a little bit of work smoke.
Kinda surprising for a "clean engine"....... |
#69 | ||||
FG POWER
a bit like every diesel? instead of blowing continuos black smoke they unload "diesel dump" when you push the pedal harder. new diesel terry is great!! 9.4L city driving atm, much better than my xr6 at 13.3 ![]()
#70 | |||
![]() As JP has often alluded to with the average transaction price so much better than Falcon for a vehicle that wouldn't be too much more expensive to make it is doing Ford's bottom line the world of good. Now to get that diesel in FG Falcon...
BA2 XR8 Rapid M6 Ute - Lid - Tint -18s 226.8rwkW@178kmh/537Nm@140kmh 1/9/2013 14.2@163kmh 23/10/2013 Boss349 built. Not yet run. Waiting on a shell. Retrotech thread http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...1363569&page=6 |
#71 | |||
better fuel economy and more utility: 1774 Vs 1483 sales.... |
#72 | ||
Are there any figures for FPV in detail?
I am keen to see the break up between the GT vs GS vs F6...
#73 | |||
We had considered a SY Territory when we bought the FG. It came down to getting a newer design with better consumption. So the FG won. Think that in a few more years a new Territory will replace our sedan. Somewhere in the mean time I will hopefully get another Ute, either a 2 year old FG GS S/C or XR6T.
#74 | ||
i fail to see the fascination with diesel in large cars. its not massively more economical, its dearer at the pump and overall running costs are dearer. most diesels also attract a price premium, so 'overall' not many people would be better off.
spending less money at the pump doesn't make it cheaper to own. there was a graph put up a while back, and private diesel sales are still well behind. |
#75 | |||
Noobie
#76 | |||
i'm just saying its not the massive saviour that some think it would be. i think small capacity turbo engines are much better and this is where the future is if you look around the auto world. fuel is priced on supply v demand. the price of diesel will rarely be cheaper than petrol. |
#77 | ||
Latest tech diesels from BMW and such makers can deliver a combined fuel consumption of 5 - 6 ltr in large/heavy cars ... to do the same with a smaller capacity turbocharged engine is almost impossible at this stage while still offering great power (e.g. 500nm of torque from effectively idle) and offering anywhere near the same economy ...
So the overall market perception of diesel is highly regarded and hence buyers flog to them ... lastly diesel is cheaper in most parts of the world vs petrol. |
#78 | ||||
#79 | ||||
#80 | ||
impressive stuff!
#81 | |||
Once again there is a massive assumption that the car-buying process is in an incredibly rational process (Ford is guilty for thinking this too). People think that diesels are cheaper or better or they want them. Ford can produce all the charts and diagrams about cost of ownsership in the world but if people want diesels then thats what they want. Instead of telling people what they want, they should be giving people what they want, vast majority of Mondeos and Territories are diesel - People want diesel, end of story. People see 900km range out of a tank and thats what they fixate on, less times going to the servo, less fuel being used. They are big pluses. If everyone was truly concerned about dollars and cents we would all be driving 3 year old ex-government Camrys and LPG Falcons. |
#82 | |||
don't agree. diesel sales account for a large % of suv/4wd market, but that is all. of all the focus/mondeo etc i see around, very few have the tdci badge.
dug this out of the september sales thread. Quote:
also, whilst this shows that petrol is still king for the large part, it would be interesting to see the breakdown for models where there is a choice of fuel. we are led to believe the territory sells mainly in diesel. i wonder if this is the same for all models that have a petrol and diesel version. Last edited by prydey; 08-12-2011 at 12:59 PM. |
#83 | ||
Bit off topic but lets not forget that most European cars don not run happily on out 91RON ULP fuel.
Our 2.3L Mondeo for example, while it will run on 91RON fuel, it pings like crazy under load and fuel economy is about 0.5-1.0L/100km worse. So I only put 95RON in it at a minimum. 95RON fuel is always more expensive per litre than diesel here in WA. So from fuelling alone, for the same $ we would be getting an additional 300kms per tank approx if the car had a diesel under the bonnet. |
#84 | ||
535d is probably a bit lighter than the terri, but here`s another spec sheet, not really a fair comparison, cost 3 times as much?
2010 BMW 535d {F10** Technical Specifications 2010 BMW 535d Quick Facts What body style?: sedan/saloon How long?: 4899 mm How wide?: 1860 mm How heavy?: 1825 kg What size engine?: 2993 cc How many cylinders?: Inline 6 How powerful?: 299.6 PS / 295.5 bhp / 220.4 kW @ 4400 rpm How much torque?: 600.0 Nm / 443 ft.lb / 61.2 kgm @ 1750 rpm How quick? (Metric): 0-100 km/h in 5.70 seconds How fast?: 250 km/h / 155 mph What fuel economy?: 7.9/5.1/6.1 l/100km urban/extra- |
#85 | |||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
In saying that, I love tree's I really do, but if I can lower my weekly fuel bill then what can ya do...
#86 | ||
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
Being a new diesel passenger car buyer, I can tell you the main reason we chose the diesel over the petrol was because of the mid range punch. Where if petrol felt lifeless the diesel was effortless.
Now from an economics respective. Diesel where I live is CHEAPER than petrol. So to say diesel is always more expensive is a big assumption. We do around 20000km and should be using around 2.5l/100km less than the petrol so the savings should pay the extra $1500 for the initial purchase price. We keep our cars generally for about 5 years so the rest of the fuel savings will more than pay for the marginally highd servicing costs. Then in theory I should get better resale as well. So yeah diesels are stupid. ![]() The next Mazda 6 diesel with the skyactiv diesel should see consumption in the 4's while seeing an increase in torque and I think power as well. |
#87 | ||
Really if private buyers were concerned about costs, they would buy an ex fleet car and keep it until its at least ten years old. Thats about the cheapest motoring you can do.
Of course car manufacturers have spent decades making sure that cars aren't a rational choice, but an emotional one. Hence the constant styling changes and equipment upgrades. |
#88 | ||||
people and their buying criteria are as diverse as the over 60 brands in our market. |
#89 | |||
[CODE] Month YTD Total Market 2011 2010 2011 2010 Passenger Private Diesel 1,717 1,637 18,232 20,838 Electric 1 0 8 0 Hybrid 191 115 2,065 1,603 LPG 5 9 73 285 Petrol 22,521 24,253 262,547 275,049 Passenger Non-Private Diesel 2,266 1,880 22,677 21,395 Electric 2 1 38 112 Hybrid 514 556 5,374 5,973 LPG 121 195 1,389 4,511 Petrol 19,374 20,759 201,147 211,317 SUV Private Diesel 3,863 2,948 34,666 33,051 Hybrid 47 83 316 474 Petrol 8,223 7,346 77,533 76,900 SUV Non-Private Diesel 5,136 3,734 44,176 40,802 Hybrid 44 42 242 403 Petrol 6,869 6,653 64,836 65,100 Light Commercial Private Diesel 2,802 2,573 30,568 25,373 LPG 7 11 223 299 Petrol 1,110 1,187 13,847 13,231 Light Commercial Non-Private Diesel 9,104 8,319 95,671 93,092 LPG 89 213 1,167 2,578 Petrol 2,051 2,365 23,829 30,698 Heavy Commercial 2,597 2,463 25,354 25,903 Total 88,654 87,342 925,978 948,987 [/CODE]
#90 | ||
thanks wretched.
diesel in passenger cars well down on petrol. |