You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 20-02-2012, 10:49 AM   #61

Default Re: What do you call Japanese Import cars :p

God there are days when I think to myself, Ford blokes are more educated than the GM ones, their not all bogans..then threads like this pop up.

60's Japanese is cool, actually very cool. And while I dont like all the modern stuff the FD series RX7 is one of my favorite shapes ever (stock thanks). Id do anything for a Jap-Spec NSX-R aswell.
Old 20-02-2012, 10:50 AM   #62

Originally Posted by trippytaka
A Falcon is a taxi in Australia... a Merc is a taxi, and my old S15 Silvia would have dusted pretty much anything around the track. A Silvia is a coupe, and not used as a taxi in Japan last time I checked.
just to confuse the muppets....
Old 20-02-2012, 10:58 AM   #63
trippytaka

Oh yeah, my mate also has a 9 second S13.

Here's a couple of old vids when it was running low 10s... not exactly a taxi.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5V0jZ...eature=related

Here's his powerskid
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Voh1NPO-Y2Y

Old power run dyno
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95ER5mi3CPY
trippytaka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 11:03 AM   #64

I would call them excellent value for the money they cost you.

Sure, you see some crap examples out there but I also see Commodores and Falcons that look embarrassing too.
Old 20-02-2012, 11:15 AM   #65
Fireblade
Wizard Member

Originally Posted by TTerbo
i dont ignore them, like i said before, if its a nicely built one like the ones linked above i love them. but when those teenager make them into Pieces of cr@p thats when these terms come into play :p
cheers

do you guys understand what im trying to say lol?
No different to what I have seen done to some of our Falcons and Commodores, some have been absolutely spew worthy, some have been probably some of the worst cars I have laid my eyes on unfortunately.

My ****box Hilux is an Import and at 21 yo has some tech that Aussie cars still don't have. I love Jap Imports and can't wait to have a R32-33 GTR gracing my driveway alongside my Aussies.
Old 20-02-2012, 11:24 AM   #66

Exactly...don't just blame Japanese cars...never underestimate the capabilities of some of the numpties out on the road to turn anything of any make or any country of manufacture into an unattractive boganed-up piece of garbage with stickers and wings all over it in inappropriate or just plain odd places...
Old 20-02-2012, 11:52 AM   #67

God there are days when I think to myself, Ford blokes are more educated than the GM ones, their not all bogans..then threads like this pop up.

60's Japanese is cool, actually very cool. And while I dont like all the modern stuff the FD series RX7 is one of my favorite shapes ever (stock thanks). Id do anything for a Jap-Spec NSX-R aswell.
Right you are. Below are two of my fav classic Japanese cars.

2000GT

Skyline GT-R
Old 20-02-2012, 11:56 AM   #68

We can now close the thread. 60's was a time when they truly had their own style (even if the 2000GT is a bit E-Type'ish)...great classics

What do I call Japanese cars, the good ones, pretty awesome.
Old 20-02-2012, 12:32 PM   #69
Grug1

Cool Re: What do you call Japanese Import cars :p

I call my Japanese track car fast reliable FUN

I call my daily driven Fairlane a great compromise between space, comfort and performance.

horses for courses

Re: 'lest we forget' comment. either the poster is 90 years of age or lives somewhere that's 70 years behind the rest of us.

Really,following this line of logic would have the British side of my heritage hating American cars for events that happened in 1776.

And thats without even starting on Peugeot or Renault and the roles they played at the battle of Agincourt

History is just that... history!

learn the lessons and move on
Grug1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 12:47 PM   #70
AC
Saving for a Jet Car

I miss the days when had one of these, however so briefly it was.
Used to frighten hell out of XR8's & SS's in the late 90's

Not my actual one, but same as. 20B with one big turbo!
I'll have to get my negatives converted to file some time....

AC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 01:57 PM   #71

Man i love Mazda Cosmo's
Old 20-02-2012, 02:24 PM   #72
lockieoc

So did I.

Your always going to get the fan boys that wish they could afford an Evo or a GT-R so they modify their standard version accordingly much the same as you see Commodores and Falcons driving around with FPV and HSV body kits with loud exhausts in the hope that at a glance their car may be mistaken for something else.

Where ever you have a high performance culture your always going to have the fan boy sub group that follows.

Grey Imports, Jap Imports, Imports or JDM is the correct term.

Nothing beats the sound of an RB or a 2J spooling then winding out to the red line!

Enjoy the ear porn - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7B_lYa5fO4

Last edited by lockieoc; 20-02-2012 at 02:30 PM.
lockieoc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 04:10 PM   #73
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Originally Posted by lockieoc
Nothing beats the sound of an RB or a 2J spooling then winding out to the red line!

Enjoy the ear porn - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7B_lYa5fO4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqnGwwXO_fc I'd listen to this anyday over a 2J or RB.
malazn mafia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 04:27 PM   #74

Hyundai Genesis with Coyote like 5.0 V8.... is it the Korean XR8.....:stirpot
Old 20-02-2012, 05:00 PM   #75
kocho
The Futuriser

I love my 'Jap Crap'.

Previous 2003 BA Ford Futura.

CKGD - Freelance Graphic Designer
kocho is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 05:47 PM   #76

Spawns of satan....
polluting the minds of our youth.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 07:30 PM   #77

I think I've had one in my (almost) 40 years of car ownership and it was more a case of "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" in turning a Mazda RX3 into a rally tool to take on the 2 litre twin cam Corollas that were just starting to invade the club scene at the time.

There hasn't really been one since that has actually appealed to me although there are a couple that I haven't thought were too bad albeit from a distance.

Each to their own I guess.

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 11:02 PM   #78
creative
I am Batman

I love jap cars!

Would love an rx7 but the maintenance costs put me off...

My two toys from the uk...

My supra... Which I will have another of! And...

My skyline.
That thing was an absolute animal!
creative is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-02-2012, 11:42 PM   #79

Originally Posted by Wretched
Right you are. Below are two of my fav classic Japanese cars.

2000GT

Skyline GT-R
Those things deserve to be sitting in one of those houses where there's a big glass wall along one side of your living room, and through it you can see those two sitting there proudly...

I'll admit a dirty little secret...one of my all-time favorite dream projects would be a Mazda Roadpacer...the HJ/HX Premier rebadged as a Mazda and fitted with a little 13B rotary. I always lusted after one with a heavily worked 20B three rotor out of a Cosmo in it...that would put the cat amongst the pidgeons at car shows...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda_Roadpacer
Old 20-02-2012, 11:48 PM   #80

I've always liked the Toyota Aristo, particularly the V8 AWD version

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 20-02-2012, 11:56 PM   #81
babyf6
Young Ford Enthusiast

My Favourite the skyline 2000gt-b. Not a hiroshima screamer but a proper car sorry but this is the best pic i could find

Last edited by babyf6; 16-10-2012 at 06:47 PM.
babyf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-02-2012, 11:41 AM   #82
Bad Bird
Watts a panhard.

Originally Posted by TTerbo
I prefer the Term "Jap Taxi"
Because when people think they have an awesome JDM sweet ride. They dont realise that car is only a taxi in Japan.

Hiroshima Screamer and ricer are another term i have heard a few times.

Let me know what your favourtie terms for these new import cars are

Sorry if you drive a jap taxi... Ehhh i mean import car
Funny that you decided to make this thread almost immediately after making a fool of yourself on the Mighty Car Mods forum... Just saying.
Old 21-02-2012, 12:39 PM   #83
FalconForce

i've always called them noodle boxes

What's scarier than the thunder? The Typhoon

Doesn't matter anyway whatever they do its wrong according to people on here.
FalconForce is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-02-2012, 12:53 PM   #84
Legit290

they don't interest me at all.
I have had a couple of hilux utes for work but my pleasure vehicles have been v8 falcons since i was 18..."That's some sweet noise you got there man!"

I thought this was the ford forum?
Old 21-02-2012, 01:04 PM   #85

Originally Posted by clarkey117
they don't interest me at all.
I have had a couple of hilux utes for work but my pleasure vehicles have been v8 falcons since i was 18..."That's some sweet noise you got there man!"

It is but this is the The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk.
Old 21-02-2012, 01:27 PM   #86

Glad to see I'm not the only one who can appreciate all sorts of cars made anywhere, instead of just concentrating on one badge and one badge alone to the absolute exclusion of all others...that sort of thinking is why Bathurst has become the two-badge bore-fest it is today...

2JZ all the way...super tough and reliable bulletproof engine, and eventually my Celica may cop an NA 2J backed by a five speed if I decide to get serious with it.
Old 21-02-2012, 08:24 PM   #87

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by clarkey117

Oh, i didn't realise we weren't allowed to talk about other cars...

Old 21-02-2012, 08:41 PM   #88
XW 393
"WHEEZER" POWERED

Well I don't know what I am, I have a lancer to do the daily duties and the XW in the shed. Suits me fine. Stick your stereotypes where you want.
Old 21-02-2012, 09:17 PM   #89
just_pazz
Ford Convert

impressing kids.. thats a cool claim to fame....

take me for a spin..

second thoughts.. dont bother....
so i got temp banned for my last response to you professor but it was no claim to fame just a statement about a situation that has occurred numerous times in my life, that's all.

As for taking you for a spin, well im not really into hanging out with middle age men or dude's that are into their pottery but I'm sure you'd be a blast.
just_pazz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-02-2012, 09:19 PM   #90

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Can't think of anyone more deserving. Russ Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the technical support behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical submission 

Originally Posted by just_pazz
so i got temp banned for my last response to you professor
So you thought you'd try again?