Old 17-07-2012, 11:50 AM   #871
crymoarpls

Default Re: Toyota 86 price $29,990!

the ve ute has been around for years and ss utes were dearer than 40k drive-away to start with. people who really wanted one probably have one by now. seems people are lining up to buy the 86 and brz so clearly toyobaru have done something right. theres been enough keyboard warriors and reviews saying how slow the 86 is and people are still buying them so clearly that isnt the deciding factor for them. good job toyobaru
Old 17-07-2012, 12:51 PM   #872

Completely different people will purchase a V8 to people who will look at an 86. We've only just bought a V8...our old WB ute...but as a primary vehicle we'd never consider a V8, not in Queensland where it's over a grand to register one.

Hehe...never been lumped in with the "ricers" before...guess owning and loving a Celica as well as our G6E will get you that tag...
The internet will only take you so far with your car knowledge...not all of it accurate.

I suppose it's my fault...I've had thirty years of owning and driving a wide variety of cars, not all of them storming straight line powerhouses (in fact, only one would meet that criteria), and a lot of them "underpowered" but nicely handling "ricers", or had friends who have owned plenty of different ricers like Silvias and Skylines that I haven't personally owned, so I have had a fair bit of experience with them too.
That is what makes me appreciate what the 86 is about rather than what the internet might tell me.

Last edited by 2011G6E; 17-07-2012 at 12:57 PM.
Old 17-07-2012, 06:53 PM   #873

Originally Posted by tranquilized
They only had 200 to sell, and that is their only allotment for the year, so no suprise really. I wonder how many potential 86 owners who baulked at the ridiculous wait times for the 86 GTS had a crack at trying to get a BRZ?

Wait times for some GTS 86's is supposedly out to 18 months already.

Originally Posted by turbodewd
I dont understand this. As a daily driver this car will be shtt, its slower 0-100 than the 4 cylinder falcon! And you have to rev its tits off to crack its peak torque figure. Hopeless.

So clearly its only good for the track...
And its not real good at that either if you want to run good times.
Old 17-07-2012, 06:56 PM   #874

Originally Posted by crymoarpls
the ve ute has been around for years and ss utes were dearer than 40k drive-away to start with. people who really wanted one probably have one by now. seems people are lining up to buy the 86 and brz so clearly toyobaru have done something right. theres been enough keyboard warriors and reviews saying how slow the 86 is and people are still buying them so clearly that isnt the deciding factor for them. good job toyobaru
Got to wonder though how many buyers are actually serious enthiusasts who can appreciate it for what it does, and how many are posers who are buying it as a fashion accessory.

I'd say 99%.
Old 17-07-2012, 06:56 PM   #875
GT 160

Originally Posted by Fiesta_Man69
The SS ute has been advertised on tv as $39,990, drive away for the past 2 weeks in NSW. $4K more for double the power and more than double the torque - both are rwd, both are manual, both are 2 door. Choice is pretty easy. The ute's always been described as Australia's coupe anyways...

Choice would've been alot harder had the 86 come out with the WRX motor for around $40K though....

Old 17-07-2012, 07:01 PM   #876
GT 160

Originally Posted by shonkymofo
Yes, more power is a great way to hide a poor chassis

Yes, the GTR would be a real stuggle with all that weight. They are notoriously incapable around a track. Probably desinged for towing or something.

Shonky, shonky, shonky. Wipe the corner of your mouth, your dribbling.
Old 17-07-2012, 08:27 PM   #877
falconnut

why not just drop a turbo engine or kit on it?
Old 17-07-2012, 08:37 PM   #878

Originally Posted by GT 160
Shonky, shonky, shonky. Wipe the corner of your mouth, your dribbling.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sarcasm
Old 17-07-2012, 08:41 PM   #879

my comments were in reference to youtube test pilots

I drove a GTR for about 3 years so found the suggestion that the AE86 had it on the ropes because it was too heavy just too much to say nothing any longer

34 driver could have eaten a hamburger whilst waiting patiently behind the Toyota in the real world

Video was just for fun
Old 17-07-2012, 08:42 PM   #880
Fiesta_Man69

Originally Posted by falconnut
That would void the warranty, which is a big point in buying new. To turbo the car properly (ie no backyard jobs) would cost at least $10K. It shouldve just come with a rexie engine standard in the first place.

But I guess there's no need, as it has no direct competitor: there are people who consider a performance car must be rwd: thus counting out the Megane, Gti, WRX-all which are vastly superior (haven't driven the Megane yet but given the other two a good flogging and the Megane is rated above them...) so Toyota can afford to short change buyers in the engine department. Sorry, but 0-100 in 7.5 secs (as tested) ain't a sports car (in fact slower than a base model Falcon or Aurion in fact). Doesn't matter though, these things will sell out as a poser mobile: Toyota and Subaru won't care.
Old 17-07-2012, 08:44 PM   #881
falconnut

God its so slow though, my car is probably quicker.
Old 17-07-2012, 09:08 PM   #882
tranquilized

and you can buy a rwd, 2 door coupe with 270kW and 550Nm for $39K driveaway at the moment.... the SS ute.... I know which would be best, and there's only a few bucks in it...

Sorry, but 0-100 in 7.5 secs (as tested) ain't a sports car (in fact slower than a base model Falcon or Aurion in fact).
First you compare these with a ute ( ) then use acceleration times as the sole criteria for deciding what is and what isn't a sports car.

You really have absolutely no clue do you.
Old 17-07-2012, 09:13 PM   #883

SUBARU has no turbocharged BRZ on its current product planning charts – and it should keep it that way, according to Subaru Australia managing director Nick Senior.

Subaru product planning chiefs told GoAuto in Japan last year that turbocharging the BRZ would be “very difficult” due to the lack of space around the exhaust system of the low-slung boxer engine.

The exhaust pipe exits the engine between the wheelhousing and the steering column with centimetres to spare, and then enters the close-coupled catalytic converter.

Mr Senior said he had seen no plans for a turbo-charged BRZ on Subaru product planning charts.

Nor had he seen any plans for a convertible BRZ, as rumoured.
Old 17-07-2012, 09:29 PM   #884
madmatty
dipstick

They could a least give it a name.

Check out my new car.
wow,looks cool what is it
toyota 86
Whats that mean
Who cares its so cool
looks a bit like a subaru i saw yesterday
What was that called
Dunno bzz or something

6 months later trade in on the next cool coupe
Old 17-07-2012, 09:31 PM   #885
Fiesta_Man69

Originally Posted by tranquilized
First you compare these with a ute ( ) then use acceleration times as the sole criteria for deciding what is and what isn't a sports car.

You really have absolutely no clue do you.
I compared the 86 to the SS based on two things: price and rwd layout. Similar price, both manual, both rwd.....

Secondly, acceleration figures aren't the sole deciding factor in a sports car: so true: a GT3 is over a second slower than an R35 to 100 but, as anyone fortunate enough to have driven both, the feel of the GT3 is unlike anything else. But there are limits. 7.5 secs is a joke, and is taking the pee out of buyers.

I'd say anyone who is happy to accept a sports car that's slower than a taxi is the one with no idea.
Old 17-07-2012, 09:33 PM   #886

you're a lucky man to have driven an R35 and a GT3
Old 17-07-2012, 09:33 PM   #887

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Nor had he seen any plans for a convertible BRZ, as rumoured.

Thank god.

Old 17-07-2012, 09:40 PM   #888
Fiesta_Man69

Originally Posted by shonkymofo
you're a lucky man to have driven an R35 and a GT3
Some mates cars at a track day when I used to run a 32 gtr. Nothing compares to the GT3 though. Awesome car.
Old 17-07-2012, 09:41 PM   #889

Thank god.
Could of been the ultimate hairdressers car.
Old 17-07-2012, 10:56 PM   #890

supercharging is more likely imo. more compact, easier to plumb in a tight spot.

so many narrow minds still... seriously considering a ft86 to a ss ute?

so theyve been compared to taxis, diesels, v8 utes etc... damn they must have done a good job if its covering all those bases.
Old 18-07-2012, 12:15 AM   #891
falconnut

I think the ft86 wont last, it seems like a bit of a flash in the pan.

Its not really made to modify like the older jap cars where (bigger engine bays, easily removable factory restrictions)

They should have made a 2 door 2 seater convertible and a turbo sportier model
Old 18-07-2012, 01:37 AM   #892
tranquilized

I compared the 86 to the SS based on two things: price and rwd layout. Similar price, both manual, both rwd.....

Secondly, acceleration figures aren't the sole deciding factor in a sports car: so true: a GT3 is over a second slower than an R35 to 100 but, as anyone fortunate enough to have driven both, the feel of the GT3 is unlike anything else. But there are limits. 7.5 secs is a joke, and is taking the pee out of buyers.

I'd say anyone who is happy to accept a sports car that's slower than a taxi is the one with no idea.

Apart from the 3 things you mention, a Commodore ute and the 86 are worlds apart, appeal to completely different markets - they have nothing to do with each other. If you'd think about buying a ute, then obviously the 86 wouldn't even register on your buying radar.

GT3's, R35's and the like - they're high performance cars that cost triple or quadruple what the 86 does. The 86 is a sports car in the traditional sense, in the spirit of the old stuff from England. But its only $30k. What do you expect for that money? You get what you pay for, and in this case you get a car that, from all accounts, is incredibly fun to drive.

Nothing wrong with saying you want more power, and its true,the 86 doesn't offer that, but it has other strengths that make it a bargain in its own right.
Old 18-07-2012, 03:38 AM   #893

It'll be great to see what tuning shops can do to these things. I hope one here in Adelaide buys one for R+D purposes, and shows everyone what can be done to them. I know a mate of mine is looking at buying one, might even have placed his order so I'll take it for a good flog as soon as he gets it(if that is the case). He wouldn't buy an auto so I know it'll be fun.
I think a few people are still missing the point. Why is this car being compared to the SS ute? The Ute is a tradesman car, with 4 extra cylinders and is NOT a coupe.....who called it a coupe up there? someone did. You can't compare the two cars, as they are built for different purposes. I wouldn't buy a ute unless I was to become a builder, sparky or plumber or something and cart my tools around effortlessly with V8 torque. I'd buy an 86 to lope around the hills in having fun, because Adelaide has heaps of great twisty roads that cry out for a car like the 86.
According to Fiesta_man69 I'd be better off with the SS ute? In the Adelaide hills? That's pretty rich. I'm not blessed with cojones big enough to punt a ute around the hills and if I was I'd be doing it slowly. The 86 will shine with the 6 speed gearbox, revvy little 4 cyl and lightweight body. Might convince Chris to chuck some coilovers and bigger brakes on it and maybe a few engine mods too.
My point of all this is, don't compare two totally different cars just because they have a manual transmission and are RWD. Otherwise we could pull cars of the world at random and compare all day long and get nowhere.

Old 18-07-2012, 03:45 AM   #894
ea90_S

Been in a the new 86 lots of gizmos start button is cool wonder if the new 86 will rust away like the old AE86 hehee
1992 Toyota Supra JZA70 - GT30
Old 18-07-2012, 08:34 AM   #895

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Its not really made to modify like the older jap cars where (bigger engine bays, easily removable factory restrictions)
Well, now thats just the silliest thing i've read.

You must be living under a rock.

Old 18-07-2012, 08:42 AM   #896
Nic85

Well, now thats just the silliest thing i've read.

You must be living under a rock.
How so? He's got a point.

The new 86 has a glass gearbox, highly strung engine (very limited for extra power), high compression ratio ruling out a turbo kit, or supercharger, and other lightweight (read: weak) parts that aren't able to handle more horsepower.

The kind of modifying Toyota/Subaru have in mind is body kits and fully sick big rims. But they make it faster, right?
Old 18-07-2012, 08:47 AM   #897

Originally Posted by ea90_S
Been in a the new 86 lots of gizmos start button is cool wonder if the new 86 will rust away like the old AE86 hehee
Hope not...I looked at three 86's before settling on the Celica, and even the well maintained ones that were for sale for half-reasonable prices had serous rust issues...but then they're a pretty old car now. The ones that were still pristine were for sale for enormous prices way out of my budget I had set.
My Celica was lucky to be owned by an old lady who kept it garaged and carefully serviced and rustproofed, so it's hardly typical of the era.
Old 18-07-2012, 03:22 PM   #898
Murph-51

Ford need their marketing strategies badly!!! Look entire 2012 allocated stock sold in 3 hrs!!!
http://www.carsales.com.au/news/2012...-success-31350
Old 18-07-2012, 04:09 PM   #899

Im just dumbfounded as to the level of popularity for these cars. Incredible.

Old 18-07-2012, 04:10 PM   #900
Poetic Justice
NOT A TOYOTA :/

http://www.carpoint.com.au/reviews/2...ous-five-31262

Definitely an article to read if you are one of the ones who don't get it.