Old 15-09-2014, 12:49 AM   #9151

Default Re: Last EVER Falcon Picture & Discussion Thread

Originally Posted by Barraxr8 View Post
FGX head and shoulders above the FG XR6 in looks there !
Yes and no... I like the way the front slopes down on the FG. The FGX seems a little too flat/horizontal for too long, reminds me of a catfish or some other bottom-dwelling fish/shark/etc.
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 01:35 AM   #9152

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Valued contributor especially in the FG threads. Offers help and information to all. Posts are always in a positive manner. 

Originally Posted by Fab View Post
From FB.

These facebook guys keep putting the FGX through about 100 instagram-esque filters every time they compare it to something else.
Dave R is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 01:37 AM   #9153
Bobman

Originally Posted by Adrenaline View Post
These facebook guys keep putting the FGX through about 100 instagram-esque filters every time they compare it to something else.
It's mostly Callum, but who can argue with his enthusiasm about the new model.

I'm still yet to see one on the road but a mate saw one in Epping.

The black XR8 is the only one that looks great though, but want to see more of the G6ET.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 03:00 AM   #9154
Bonn

Originally Posted by NanoDuke View Post
Impression of the new V8 Supercar

From http://www.speedcafe.com/2014/09/14/...-confirmation/

.....and perhaps add 'AMBROSE' onto theside glass

Jaguar XJ-S: Eaton S/C, I/Cooler, Haltech, DB7 rims, 1:15 Wakefield.

Jaguar XJ6 Wife's daily :2006 Quartz Metallic, FORD Duratec 3.0 V6, ZF 6sp

Previous relationships: FG GT, FG XR8 (+BA XT 5.4, BA AU, EF, EB, EA, EA & XF work cars)
Jags XJ12 & XJ6, BMW E39 Wagon, BMW F11 M-Sport wagon, 20 of GMH FC-HQ
Bonn is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 08:01 AM   #9155
4.0i_SiX
SiX_iN_a_RoW

While I don't mind the front end, I have to agree about the grille protruding. It should have been recessed ala mustang IMO

Originally Posted by stazza View Post
The FG had to grow on me and now I love it.

But the more I look at this FGX the worse it looks.

The front is just inexcusably ugly. It is horrendous.

From every angle the front just doesn't look right. Whats with the top grille protruding?

Makes my decision to keep my GS very easy.
Old 15-09-2014, 08:57 AM   #9156

I'm warming to the rear but I don't like the front of it especially on the XR. The sharpness of the headlights along with the protruding nose and acres of bonnet surface area doesn't suit the side and rear profile of the car in my opinion. Still yet to see one in the flesh on my travels though.
Professor Farnsworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 09:38 AM   #9157
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

Originally Posted by SensationFG8 View Post
The gt is more than the badge. It's the additional visual changes as well. This doesn't have those, that's ok it doesn't make it a bad car but it doesn't make it a gt.

The gt has that extra visual presence, when you see it you know straight away. If the gt was just a badge on the car this would've been badged as a gt and not an XR8 in my opinion.
So the bonnet bulge, wider GT wheels, brembos and quad pipes aren't enough visually? What did the early GTs have over the standard Falcons visually?

I stand by my comment. It has the entire GT (R spec) running gear. It is a GT without the badge.
naddis01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 09:44 AM   #9158
FGX335
Loving my '335' kW!

Makes me wonder what upgrades they'll offer - sticker packs, bigger rear spoiler? There's bound to be something available to dress the cars up a little, if you so wish.

I'd love someone with the Photoshop skills to show me what an XR8 in Smoke will look like without a rear spoiler, and dark tinting. If it doesn't work, I'd rather know before the car is delivered! Can you delete the spoiler when ordering?

Also, how much blue is in Smoke? Some pictures make it look like the old Mercury Silver colour, where others make it look like Silk with the blue tint.
Old 15-09-2014, 09:55 AM   #9159
furiousgibbon

Originally Posted by drbowza View Post
According to the FPV website, the current GT has "355 x 32mm cross-drilled and ventilated front rotors with Brembo 4-piston calipers and 328 x 26mm cross-drilled and ventilated rear rotors with single red piston caliper as standard" so the same brakes as a GT but in a much cheaper XR8!
he was talking about the 6 pot/4 pot Brembo option on the FPVs, which is in a different league to the 4 pot Brembo/1 pot PBR that came on the base FPV/FGX XR8.

So far it doesn't look like they're offering the big brakes as an option, but they may still do. Regardless, it will be possible to install the bigger Brembos or other big brakes aftermarket as others have done here, and total cost will probably be less!

In regards to the most recent pics, it's not the most cohesive design I've ever seen but facelifts usually aren't. The front overhang is amplified by the sloping forward nose, and the rear looks a bit generic to me. It's not a bad effort and I think they'll look good in the right colour (that red is bleugh)
furiousgibbon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 10:06 AM   #9160
SensationFG8

Originally Posted by naddis01 View Post
So the bonnet bulge, wider GT wheels, brembos and quad pipes aren't enough visually? What did the early GTs have over the standard Falcons visually?

I stand by my comment. It has the entire GT (R spec) running gear. It is a GT without the badge.
Bespoke front and rear bumper with metal grills, bespoke spoiler, different interior with nicer seats. I'm not bagging the xr it's just not a gt it's an xr. I also stand by my comment, the gt has more road presence. Mechanically the car has previous model gt running gear, visually it's an xr, nothing wrong with that.

Take a look at the photo of the xr parked next to the respective on the previous page that sums it up.
Sensation FG XR8 290kW NA V8, 6spd Automatic

Current Rides
Octane GTF SC V8, 6spd Manual, Manta 3" X pipes and hotdogs
Starlight Lotus Evora S 258kW SC V6, 6spd Manual
SensationFG8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 10:59 AM   #9161
PepeLePew
Workshop & Performance

The new front does have a odd relationship to the overall bearing of the car in first reaction, but I can't help but temper that reaction with the familiarity of the FG's shape, perhaps its just what I'm used to seeing. FG2 with that large plastic grill is very color sensitive, some colours work some don't. Me thinks FG-X will be similar. But less so in the more chromed up models.
Old 15-09-2014, 11:03 AM   #9162
drbowza

Originally Posted by Professor Farnsworth View Post
I'm warming to the rear but I don't like the front of it especially on the XR. The sharpness of the headlights along with the protruding nose and acres of bonnet surface area doesn't suit the side and rear profile of the car in my opinion. Still yet to see one in the flesh on my travels though.
Just swap the bonnet of an XR6 with an XR8! Problem solved!https://fbcdn-photos-g-a.akamaihd.ne...5ad2d91fcf8ce0
drbowza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 11:14 AM   #9163
Eric A

I was really excited about this car until I read through a few pages of this thread. Some of those photos do it no favours whatsoever. That black XR8 rear end looks hot though. My and my girlfriend are considering a victory gold one but i'll definitely need to see it in person first, the front design is questionable. Might have to go for a Sunburst FG GT instead (no complaints from me lol)
Eric A is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 11:46 AM   #9164
bafel

Originally Posted by FGX335 View Post
I'd love someone with the Photoshop skills to show me what an XR8 in Smoke will look like without a rear spoiler, and dark tinting. If it doesn't work, I'd rather know before the car is delivered! Can you delete the spoiler when ordering?

Also, how much blue is in Smoke? Some pictures make it look like the old Mercury Silver colour, where others make it look like Silk with the blue tint.
Here you go. I think it will be similar or the same as the FG's smoke.

XR8NoSpoiler.jpg
bafel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 11:47 AM   #9165
Alan D Segal
Call me 'Al'

Location: On a flattened-out cardboard box out the back behind the wheelie bins.
Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Good contributor. 

needs moar spoiler
Alan D Segal is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 12:07 PM   #9166
My poor XF
Geelong FC 07, 09 & 2011

Originally Posted by Alan D Segal View Post
needs moar spoiler
Agreed, G6ET lip spoiler would be perfect
Old 15-09-2014, 12:17 PM   #9167
FGX335
Loving my '335' kW!

Originally Posted by bafel View Post
Here you go. I think it will be similar or the same as the FG's smoke.

Attachment 84768
Awesome, thanks for that! Do you think Smoke will be that dark, I would love it if it is.

Sorry to be a bother, but can I see one with spoiler too? This is what I'll base my order on, as I've never been big on them. Being smaller, I might actually go for it, but it would be awesome to compare side by side.

Thanks for the help!
Old 15-09-2014, 01:09 PM   #9168
lucas2

Love the headlights, but not quite sold on the nose. I think the G6E grill will look good on the XR8 if someone decides to swap them over.
lucas2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 01:10 PM   #9169
Black F6

That front grill, the top grille needs to be pushed back, looks way to "shark looking" like that
10.25@138mph FG XR6T (new toy) (Nizpro)
Black F6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 01:43 PM   #9170
NX74205

On its own, I think that the front and rear end look great. Combined with FG doors and glasshouse, however, and the effect appears to be somewhat uncoordinated. I still don't know what to make of the FGX.

It would've been nice to see what Ford could've done if they had the money for an all new car.
2005 Ford BF Fairmont (2006-2019)
1989 Ford EA Falcon GL (2000-2007)
1982 Ford KA Laser Ghia (1999-2000)
NX74205 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 01:54 PM   #9171
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

LOL this thread is worse than SOOKBOOK ................

Ford Aus should have just closed their doors a few years ago to make all of you happy - oh wait your sooking about that too

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

200BUX - AFF Drag Nats 2019 EF Wagon
Originally Posted by rednose View Post
Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Sorted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 02:06 PM   #9172
FGX335
Loving my '335' kW!

Can we split this thread in two, have one for complaining, and the other to actually discuss the car? :P

I think in the right colour, this car will pop, but I think the problem is that was have had FG styling now for 6 years and this just seems weirdburger to some. Give it a few months after launch, and I think a lot of people will like it. Time will tell.
Old 15-09-2014, 02:06 PM   #9173
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

Originally Posted by Sorted View Post

Ford Aus should have just closed their doors a few years ago to make all of you happy - oh wait your sooking about that too
Devil's advocate here...... but maybe if they had of been listening to all the sooking years ago - they mave been in a better predicament today. The falcon is a consumer good after all - its the potential consumers that have the last say - and the right to sook if they want to.
Whitey-AMG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
8 users like this post:
Old 15-09-2014, 02:20 PM   #9174
Grunter
Not of the Sooty variety!

Originally Posted by Sorted View Post

There's sooking and there's gushing. Somewhere in the middle, there's each persons differing opinion based on there own tastes.

I reckon overall the XR8 looks great, but can see elements that don't really work IMO.

The front end, front on, looks brilliant (love the lights). But the 3/4 looking towards the front (if you know what I mean) makes the overhang look to much for mine. But as some have mentioned, the more I see it, the more those little niggles disappear.

The Toy: 2002 AUIII TS50
The Daily and Tow Vehicle: 2016 VW Amarok

Last edited by Grunter; 15-09-2014 at 02:24 PM. Reason: speeeling
Grunter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 02:24 PM   #9175
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

Originally Posted by Grunter View Post
There's sooking and there's gushing. Somewhere in the middle, there's each persons differing opinion based on there on tastes.

I reckon overall the XR8 looks great, but can see elements that don't really work IMO.

The front end, front on, looks brilliant (love the lights). But the 3/4 looking towards the front (if you know what I mean) makes the overhang look to much for mine. But as some have mentioned, the more I see it, the more those little niggles disappear.
Yep - let's call it constructive sooking.

All new models cop a bit of Flak....hell, the AU is still copping it....
Whitey-AMG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 02:31 PM   #9176

Whats worse than sooks, people sooking about sooking.
Old 15-09-2014, 02:31 PM   #9177
Black F6

Ill wait to see it in the flesh, due for a new car soon, if its no good in the flesh ill wait for Mustang or if i can convince the wife GTR R35 lol
10.25@138mph FG XR6T (new toy) (Nizpro)
Black F6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 02:32 PM   #9178
borough

I am interested in seeing the specs for the XL ute as the inclusion of DAB+ could get me seriously thinking of purchasing one. There are a couple of other things I would want including colour coordinated bumpers and column shift.
Old 15-09-2014, 04:01 PM   #9179

Falcon at 180mph http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnT2joxnkqY

A bit of off topic

Last edited by AU1XLS; 16-09-2014 at 06:21 AM.
csv8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2014, 06:05 PM   #9180

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by Bluey-GT View Post
Devil's advocate here...... but maybe if they had of been listening to all the sooking years ago - they mave been in a better predicament today. The falcon is a consumer good after all - its the potential consumers that have the last say - and the right to sook if they want to.

Problem is, what people want, what is achievable and what the next person wants is difficult to pin-point.

You'd end up with a Homer.