You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Focus

Old 29-05-2013, 11:00 PM   #1021
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Default Re: New Focus ST Info thread.

Yeah its funny hey it loves to shift real low and just cruise along, ive managed 5 leaves on all 3 of them and i have been generally sticking to shift when it wants with the odd smashing every now and then

New Build Thread! http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11396029

Old BF Falcon Build Thread - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11317452
phil545 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-05-2013, 02:27 AM   #1022
Copie

Originally Posted by martinijosh View Post
Weren't you riding a pushy to work for a while when you had the bf turbo?
Nope, riding motorbike, i never owned a push bike and never will.

Will probably go back to riding the motorbike soon though.
Copie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-05-2013, 06:55 PM   #1023
pajoda

OK, just looked into the leaf thing, must have missed that when running through the manual initially. I have noticed they call them "petals". Oh , how sweet......NOT. Anyway I have 5 leaves for anticipation, although unsure how this is truly ascertained, 5 for speed, courtesy of a fair bit of M4 driving against the peak I guess. and none for gear changes. Do see the light come on regularly, but damned if a light will tell me when to change gears unless it is a redline of course
Old 30-05-2013, 07:01 PM   #1024
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Hhahah nice mate, yeah I stumbled across it after looking in the manual a couple of times, i can only assume the anticipation works like the following example, rolling along in 4th with slight acceleration, car tells you to shift to 5th but u stay 4th and then slow down as you can see ahead you need to make a turn or some ****, i reckon its smart enough to know you did that on purpose, hence the anticipation?

Old BF Falcon Build Thread - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11317452
Old 30-05-2013, 07:16 PM   #1025
MKE13

Ahh yes found that also, although I think somehow id use more fuel going up a steep hill in 5th than 4th?......

I was sitting around the 9.9L per 100km but now with the better half driving for the last few days she's had it down to 9.6L per 100km on BP98, see how low it can go.

PREVIOUS RIDE - 2002 FORD FALCON AU SERIES III XR8 TICKFORD BLUEPRINT BLUE SEDAN....
MKE13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-05-2013, 07:18 PM   #1026

Had no idea about this, must have a look.

3000km POM inspection on Monday.

Still on 8.6/100, must try harder
Old 30-05-2013, 08:24 PM   #1027
MKE13

8.6/100? Sweet and 3000km hey? Where does it go for its service? How long you had it?

PREVIOUS RIDE - 2002 FORD FALCON AU SERIES III XR8 TICKFORD BLUEPRINT BLUE SEDAN....
Old 30-05-2013, 09:46 PM   #1028

It's going to Torque, not sure after that though.
Had it a little over a month.
Old 30-05-2013, 10:05 PM   #1029
aratic

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
It's going to Torque, not sure after that though.
Had it a little over a month.
Are you going to have the oil and filter changed? Thinking I might request this at my 3k service
Old 30-05-2013, 10:59 PM   #1030
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 

Originally Posted by aratic View Post
Are you going to have the oil and filter changed? Thinking I might request this at my 3k service
What for?

Is it likely that anyone in this thread will keep their cars beyond 200,000km? Probably not.

Follow the handbook, no voodoo required.
Headlights don't work in your B Series? Here's how to fix it!
martinijosh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-05-2013, 11:20 PM   #1031
phil545
Hot Hatch!

lol i just cracked 1600km and 9.2L now, got a few rattles inside which they can fix up and this weird high pitch noise from the engine, not sure if thats how it is or not. Its kind of like the turbo spool but not quite, as you can hear when that comes on. I'll probably get my oil and filter changed around the 5k mark for piece of mind and to run some nicer stuff in it

Old 31-05-2013, 01:38 AM   #1032
p.laver

Originally Posted by WILDB View Post
Mine varies, it has been as low as 7.5 and as high as 9.9.

I generally get around 8.5 in my everyday driving.

I have only (and will only) ever used 98, either Caltex or BP.

As an aside, Ford Australia's very own website says that 95-98 RON is required for the ST, which is the same as Ford Europe's stipulation.

I just hope that p.laver's vehicle hasn't been pinging away on the 91...
No audible detonation and no worries. If you check the marketing launch material form Ford it quotes Optimum 95, 91 Minimum for Australia, The Australian owners manual is taken from European version where 91 isn't available so it not quoted.
Old 31-05-2013, 01:54 AM   #1033
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 

Same as xr6t. 91 and e10 are fine, but you have to use 95 and up to achieve the quoted power output.
Old 31-05-2013, 06:59 AM   #1034

Originally Posted by aratic View Post
Nah as it will get 7500km oil changes.
Old 31-05-2013, 08:55 AM   #1035
WILDB

Originally Posted by p.laver View Post
No audible detonation and no worries. If you check the marketing launch material form Ford it quotes Optimum 95, 91 Minimum for Australia,
This is the same marketing material that states that we get the Recaro rear bench seat - which we clearly dont.

18x8.5 wheels - when they aren't.

As far as I'm concerned those specifications in the media launch aren't particularly accurate, even the Europeans didn't get things like that wrong.

The fact remains that Ford Australia's own web page shows 95 minimum as does Ford of Europe.

Anyway, you are free to do what you like with your car.
WILDB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-05-2013, 08:57 AM   #1036
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Glad you quoted the wheels, what width are they actually? Looking to put some 245's on it when I need new tyres, you think they fit ok?

Old 31-05-2013, 02:13 PM   #1037
Mulga

Lots of proud new owners.....I'm interested to know if anyone has used the finance option (with a ballon payment) through the Ford dealership and if so, what rate you were quoted.

Also, as the ST is exempt from the special finance deal being offered by Ford, has anyone been able to pick-up an ST at the low finance rate?
Mulga is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-05-2013, 02:50 PM   #1038
phil545
Hot Hatch!

All the ford finance rates were pretty standard and varied depending on length, i think a 7 year loan they were offering around 9%, then 5 year was 10 and I think 3 year went to like 11-12 - ended up going through a credit union, 8.64% fixed for length of loan and no fees to pay it out early - winning!

Old 31-05-2013, 03:37 PM   #1039
chrisorm

Originally Posted by Mulga View Post
Lots of proud new owners.....I'm interested to know if anyone has used the finance option (with a ballon payment) through the Ford dealership and if so, what rate you were quoted.

Also, as the ST is exempt from the special finance deal being offered by Ford, has anyone been able to pick-up an ST at the low finance rate?
We got it on the 2.9%, no balloon. But this was in november/december last year. Only downside was less bargaining power, but much of a muchness really compared to an average 8-9% rate - if you're not paying cash they'll get you somewhere.

Looks like they've changed the conditions though (http://www.ford.com.au/latest-offers/focus). That sucks.
chrisorm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2013, 11:32 PM   #1040
Chriz

Originally Posted by chrisorm View Post
We got it on the 2.9%, no balloon. But this was in november/december last year. Only downside was less bargaining power, but much of a muchness really compared to an average 8-9% rate - if you're not paying cash they'll get you somewhere.

Looks like they've changed the conditions though (http://www.ford.com.au/latest-offers/focus). That sucks.
I wish I could bargain. I was prepared to pay cash, but the dealer wasn't budging

Not sure how low can you go these days given its end of fin year sale though. Has anyone tried recently? Really liked the ST... if the dealers are more lenient these days I might try my luck again.

Also, how difficult is it to find replacement tyres?
Chriz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2013, 12:44 AM   #1041
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Originally Posted by Chriz View Post
I wish I could bargain. I was prepared to pay cash, but the dealer wasn't budging

Not sure how low can you go these days given its end of fin year sale though. Has anyone tried recently? Really liked the ST... if the dealers are more lenient these days I might try my luck again.

Also, how difficult is it to find replacement tyres?
Of they don't come down, walk away.

Most of the time they'll call you with a mid range offer.
Old 02-06-2013, 12:28 PM   #1042
Chriz

Originally Posted by martinijosh View Post
Of they don't come down, walk away.

Most of the time they'll call you with a mid range offer.
Yeah thats what I did as well. Problem is I think this car is quite popular, and the dealer has probably made a lot of profit out of it, and will not compromise on selling one car for less than the ideal profit. Feels like it is a case of "I know how much it is worth so give way to others if you're not buying".

But in reality, I don't know how well this car sells. I also don't know the bottom line cost of the ST, but maybe end of financial year they will just sell it for cheaper and meet their bonus. I don't know. They kept on trying to sell me ones that already has a lot of km on it, which I don't want.
Chriz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2013, 07:40 PM   #1043
MKE13

Who here uses an iphone5? If so, have they had any issues with SYNC with the iphone5 at all?

Old 03-06-2013, 09:08 PM   #1044
NitroFG
FPV GT 5.0 S/C

Hey all, wifey just picked up her new frozen white ST this arvo. Thanks to Sathis, George and Andrew at Strapp Ford Doncaster. Excellent service as always and couldn't be happier with our new car.
Old 03-06-2013, 09:14 PM   #1045
chrisorm

Originally Posted by XRFALCON03 View Post
Who here uses an iphone5? If so, have they had any issues with SYNC with the iphone5 at all?
Yep, sms messaging doesn't work. And it wouldn't stay connected at all, but the dealer did some update to fix that.

Then iPod cable music playing stopped working. Also fixed by a dealer update. Ford australia refused to help as soon as I said iPhone 5. Only up to 4S is supported. The fact it didn't work on a 4 either didn't sway them to help.

But after the initial issues, we now have 2 iPhone 5 connected by Bluetooth just fine. Audio, calls, still no SMS.
Old 03-06-2013, 09:34 PM   #1046
MKE13

Can I ask which dealer helped you? May be needing my dealer to get into contact with them!

Old 03-06-2013, 09:37 PM   #1047
chrisorm

Thomson ford parramatta.

We had other issues with it, like a totally blank screen. No problems since this mystical update which I have no idea what was actually done.
Old 03-06-2013, 09:43 PM   #1048
MKE13

Long story short, iphone 5's that myself and partner have where working and now having dramas with some of the connection features, which we've narrowed it down to the iphone 5.

Will pass this info that you supplied on to my dealer, if need be hopefully they can be of some assistance....

Old 04-06-2013, 12:00 AM   #1049
phil545
Hot Hatch!

been using iphone 5 here with no issues, yeajh shame it wont read your text messages, i blame sync being designed by Microsoft and thats it, hopefully an update will work. at least with iphone 5 i can do the voice to text and the car pics it up, then all i need to do is push send on the phone, i guess its better than nothing

Old 04-06-2013, 12:09 AM   #1050
ConradP

Originally Posted by NitroFG View Post
Hey all, wifey just picked up her new frozen white ST this arvo. Thanks to Sathis, George and Andrew at Strapp Ford Doncaster. Excellent service as always and couldn't be happier with our new car.
They are great there, good friends with them all Even did work exp there haha