Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Focus

Old 21-06-2013, 03:46 PM   #1081

Default Re: New Focus ST Info thread.

Originally Posted by aratic
Anyone else getting a lot of exhaust carbon/soot buildup over the rear of the car showing up after only a few days of driving? Not sure if its just the white that shows it up more but it seems to be quite noticeable
Yep same thing happens to mine.

Originally Posted by phil545
Great write up mate, not having driven the xr5 except for when they first came out i often wondered how they compared. Im booked in for my 3k service next friday, I think im about 3700 atm too lol
No worries mate, i cant actually compare stock v stock as my XR5 was stock for about 5 minutes.
One thing i do miss and i always will is the I5T
Old 21-06-2013, 10:01 PM   #1082
pajoda

Thought it was more road grime/dust on the rear panels myself, and yep, the exhaust tip blackens up pretty quick, can handle them but not the brake dust, drives me mad. New pads are imminent.
Old 21-06-2013, 10:52 PM   #1083
Neale

Brake dust is always going to be an issue, have you thought about painting the wheels a dark colour to help hide the dust if it is an issue
Neale is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2013, 07:15 PM   #1084
MKE13

Not getting much carbon build up over the rear but exhaust tip is getting a lot blacker!
Brake dust is a pain in the **** so is this recent Brisbane weather!!!!

Had a few quick squirts in it against numerous different cars in the last two weeks and I like the look on the other drivers face when you are sittting beside them and easily keep up with them and still have 3 more gears!!!

Other than that 3000km service done last Wednesday, no dramas whatsoever.....

PREVIOUS RIDE - 2002 FORD FALCON AU SERIES III XR8 TICKFORD BLUEPRINT BLUE SEDAN....
MKE13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2013, 11:55 PM   #1085
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Originally Posted by Neale View Post
Brake dust is always going to be an issue, have you thought about painting the wheels a dark colour to help hide the dust if it is an issue
One step ahead of you Neale :-) Dropping the car off to Craved Coatings next Saturday for some gloss black powder coating!

New Build Thread! http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11396029

Old BF Falcon Build Thread - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11317452
phil545 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2013, 07:50 PM   #1086
PepeLePew
Workshop & Performance

I love the look of these things, saw a silver one in Gawler yesterday looked sensational. Might scope a trade value on the PX me thinks. What sort of highway economy do these things see in the real world?
Old 24-06-2013, 09:10 AM   #1087
MKE13

Originally Posted by PepeLePew View Post
I love the look of these things, saw a silver one in Gawler yesterday looked sensational. Might scope a trade value on the PX me thinks. What sort of highway economy do these things see in the real world?
Im yet to get a real good indicator as to what it will do on a good highway run...
But around town the other half I think is getting close to 700km a tank...

PREVIOUS RIDE - 2002 FORD FALCON AU SERIES III XR8 TICKFORD BLUEPRINT BLUE SEDAN....
Old 24-06-2013, 11:46 AM   #1088
pajoda

Getting 8.5 l/100 at an average speed of 45kmh myself. And yep, close to 700kmh a tank on a good day.
Old 24-06-2013, 04:40 PM   #1089
phil545
Hot Hatch!

im on 8.8 after the bathurst cruise which is 700km a tank :-)

Old BF Falcon Build Thread - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11317452
Old 24-06-2013, 07:21 PM   #1090
MKE13

Think ill invest in this efocus engine mount.....Had that terrible "clunk" noise from a spirited 1st to 2nd gear change off the lights the other night......

Old 24-06-2013, 07:47 PM   #1091

Ive had it once, so im in no interest in changing it just yet. No doubt i will later at some stage.
Old 24-06-2013, 07:51 PM   #1092
PepeLePew
Workshop & Performance

Thanks for the feedback. Those econ numbers are excellent. The Ranger is giving me mid 8's but thats primarly extra urban and better than most people see (I also drive VERY lazy), me thinks constant cruise which is pretty much my driving experience daily should see the Focus comfortably in front of that MMMMMMMMM
Old 24-06-2013, 10:01 PM   #1093
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Originally Posted by XRFALCON03 View Post
Think ill invest in this efocus engine mount.....Had that terrible "clunk" noise from a spirited 1st to 2nd gear change off the lights the other night......
yeah its a cheap easy mod so well worth it, doesn't get rid of it completely but much better

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Ive had it once, so im in no interest in changing it just yet. No doubt i will later at some stage.
LOL I don't know how you haven't the car just wants to go all the time hahah the wet its especially bad!

Old 25-06-2013, 08:29 AM   #1094
MKE13

Its not as if its a common problem, as I said its happened once and havent really driven it like mentioned in the wet...

I find the fuel economy is getting better and better the more the kms go on it and actually I think its running a lot better also, may just be the cool air that we have in Brisbane.

Who'd (ppl in Brisbane) be keen on a cruise sometime soon in the not to distant future?

Old 25-06-2013, 10:05 AM   #1095

Yeah they get better the more kms so I've heard.

I know there is a cruise on the 7th of July with a bunch of XR4/5's in brisbane. Im pretty sure it's the 7th ill double check.
Old 28-06-2013, 11:30 AM   #1096
chrisorm

We're getting a new SYNC feature.

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/568...-via-ford-sync

I've asked the ford twitter if any news on other features (AppLink would be nice) coming to AU anytime soon.
chrisorm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2013, 11:40 AM   #1097

New owners manual hahaha. Sweet.

Good idea i reckon, they will probably wait for cars to be serviced before its fitted. If i get a phone call ill be surprised.
Old 28-06-2013, 02:10 PM   #1098
hugoti

Can anyone please advise what is the latest software/firmware version we should have for the SYNC system on the ST? Just got mine delivered and it appears metadata is not being streamed over BT. Can't get song titles to display from the iPhone 5. Seems to work ok via USB but not bluetooth.

Suspect avcrp is not working or enabled on the SYNC - maybe it's not running the latest version -anyone got theirs working?

hugoti is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2013, 02:16 PM   #1099
aratic

Originally Posted by hugoti View Post
Can anyone please advise what is the latest software/firmware version we should have for the SYNC system on the ST? Just got mine delivered and it appears metadata is not being streamed over BT. Can't get song titles to display from the iPhone 5. Seems to work ok via USB but not bluetooth.

Suspect avcrp is not working or enabled on the SYNC - maybe it's not running the latest version -anyone got theirs working?

Mine doesn't show song titles when BT music from iPhone 5 either. Just assumed that's the way it is
Old 28-06-2013, 02:25 PM   #1100
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Originally Posted by chrisorm View Post
We're getting a new SYNC feature.

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/568...-via-ford-sync

I've asked the ford twitter if any news on other features (AppLink would be nice) coming to AU anytime soon.

Yeah pretty sweet, i was at ford this morning and they said there was a recall for it, like an hour or so job too! Did you guys see the TSB for the engine bang too? I am getting mine replaced in a couple of weeks.

Old 28-06-2013, 02:27 PM   #1101
hugoti

Originally Posted by phil545 View Post
Yeah pretty sweet, i was at ford this morning and they said there was a recall for it, like an hour or so job too! Did you guys see the TSB for the engine bang too? I am getting mine replaced in a couple of weeks.
Do you have any further info on this TSB? Would be interested to read about it.
hugoti is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2013, 02:32 PM   #1102
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Yeah mate - here is the document - http://www.focaljet.com/tsb/tsb13-06-10.pdf

Old 28-06-2013, 02:41 PM   #1103
chrisorm

Yeah mate - here is the document - http://www.focaljet.com/tsb/tsb13-06-10.pdf
The bang isn't bad enough to me to warrant replacing the engine mount myself, but if they are going to do it for nothing...

But how do you find these? And how do you know if Ford AU will do it? Normally I just wait to the next service and the dealer tells me. (already been one for the ST for some compliance sticker or something.)
Old 28-06-2013, 02:51 PM   #1104
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Mine axel tramps so bad in the wet especially. Yeah I already replaced one of my mounts with the same one they are going to lol bugger! I found the TSB through another forum, well Ford is going for the whole Global look now so they should. The service guy didn't seem to have any issues with it. It isn't a recall so don't be surprised if they don't ask, its more like if the customer complains its happening - this is the fix for it

Old 28-06-2013, 02:53 PM   #1105
chrisorm

The service guy didn't seem to have any issues with it. It isn't a recall so don't be surprised if they don't ask, its more like if the customer complains its happening - this is the fix for it
Hmm, well I'll keep the document for the next service (or if they magically call about the SYNC upgrade) and bring it up then. See what they say.
Old 28-06-2013, 03:41 PM   #1106
EVL BOS

Well small update mines cracked the 10,000 mark and still loving it! interesting with the above about the new sync update, I'll look into it at the nex service discovered something. The other day putting the esc into "sport" mode stope the bad axle tramp under hard acceleration but ill also ask my dealer about the TSB

Hope everyone is still love their pocket rockets

Daily: UA11 BiTurbo Everest
Weekend Project 1999 AU XR8
Past rides:

Mondeo XR5 Turbo

RIP: FGX XR8 MANUAL Build Thread:
http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11447239

AU Fairlane Sparkling Burgundy thread:
http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....61#post5854961

UX explorer limited

FOCUS ST,

UT Explorer limited Written OFF

BA XR8
Build Thread:
http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....1299363&page=7

AU XR6 VCT

ED GLI Classic
EVL BOS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2013, 03:51 PM   #1107

Yeah just cracked 4000kms in mine, still love it. Any excuse for a drive.
Old 28-06-2013, 06:07 PM   #1108
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Originally Posted by EVL BOS View Post
Well small update mines cracked the 10,000 mark and still loving it! interesting with the above about the new sync update, I'll look into it at the nex service discovered something. The other day putting the esc into "sport" mode stope the bad axle tramp under hard acceleration but ill also ask my dealer about the TSB

Hope everyone is still love their pocket rockets
Yeah mate, even less if you turn it off fully, i usually drive in sport mode because of this :-)

Old 29-06-2013, 10:50 AM   #1109

A guy in the UK on focusstoc.com had his ST3 in a 3 way hot hatch battle with the new MK7 GTi and Renault Sport Megane in Auto Express magazine, a test where the ST came out on top. It can be downloaded from the apple store or google play.
Heres the opening page, sorry its small i dunno how to get it any bigger without blurring it.
Old 29-06-2013, 10:52 AM   #1110
WILDB

I'd be very surprised if they do carry out the work on that overseas TSB, it hasn't worked in the past with overseas TSBs/recalls etc - the parts in question may not even be available here.

When they go to submit a claim Ford Australia will want a locally issued TSB number.

That being said I will happy eat my words if it does happen.
WILDB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post