10-08-2012, 03:43 PM | #1081 | ||
You really don't get it. They guy has one. If you want it you pay what he wants or you miss out.
I want a Phase 3 GTHO. They were $6,000 new so anyone selling for more than that is greedy? Now the dealer with the BRZ will either sell it for $63k or not. It is lucky that you have a choice. You can buy it or not. But just because YOU do not want to pay that amount does not mean that others will not pay that amount, it comes down to how much you want it. Seriously......how do you think auctions work? Using the GTHO example if there was a shed found with 10,000 brand new phase 3 GTHOs in it how much would they be worth? $500K? No not at all. It is simple supply and demand and right now if you want a FT86 or BRZ you have two choices, 1) Pay what they want 2) Do not have a FT86 or BRZ. And if you don't want a BRZ or FT86 then why are you complaining? |
10-08-2012, 03:55 PM | #1082 | ||
[BU66OS]
Can I just say without coming off as rude, that this is the first time for as long as can remember, where I completely agree with you flappist.
10-08-2012, 04:09 PM | #1083 | ||
There's a sucker born every minute. If someone can get $63k for a Subaru BRZ, then I salute them in the highest order.
11-08-2012, 10:28 AM | #1084 | ||
Noticed Motor did the bang for your buck test at Wakefield and the Ecoboost G6 lapped the track around 2 seconds faster than the GTS 86. Still love the 86 but it did make me chuckle a bit.
11-08-2012, 01:19 PM | #1085 | ||
hope the pic works.. castle hill exhaust have their kit made up.
11-08-2012, 02:06 PM | #1086 | ||
So far I have seen an 8psi kit making 278rwhp .... 1200kg and over 300hp at thr engine .. Now it's sounding like fun !
Stock ... YYAAAAAAaaaaaaawnnnnnnn .
11-08-2012, 04:52 PM | #1087 | ||
Went to the WTAC/Tectaloy drift challenge yesterday and there were many FT86's/BRZ's around. The public were allowed to sit in one of the 86's. Driver's seat just hugs you, clutch is feather light and the shift is solid and short, steering wheel is tops. Interior is nice n simple, cheap by these days standards but by mine, its fine! Simple is good.
From all the cars ive sat in, this one is mmmmmmm. If i had and could throw $30k on a car without affecting future plans, i would sign up for one of these. There was one BRZ that went around the track (Eastern Creek raceway) a few times, it wasn't fast at all but thats not the point! It was all stock except the wheels. People keep going on about power....power can be fixed, no big deal! Id have one with this on it
12-08-2012, 08:38 PM | #1088 | ||
Seen a silver one with the full kit at the porsche hill climb track today.
Looked right at home. |
12-08-2012, 09:00 PM | #1089 | |||
12-08-2012, 09:36 PM | #1090 | |||
a falcon has 102+kw per tonne.
12-08-2012, 10:05 PM | #1091 | ||
it wouldnt have as much top end as a falcon and the higher the speed the faster the falcon would get. the 86 might handle better then the FG thou?? i think both falcon and 86 look great!! I loved the FG i drove!! i wanna drive the 86. i dont care if its a toyota!! it looks like a fun car too throw about!! i
13-08-2012, 10:24 AM | #1092 | |||
it is still silly to suggest that 205nm is not enough to get a car up a hill though. |
13-08-2012, 05:36 PM | #1093 | ||
F1 cars only have 250 odd Nm...
13-08-2012, 07:11 PM | #1094 | ||
torque * rev's = power.
Thats all that matters. Just means you have to keep it higher up the rev range to compensate for the reduced torque. Thankfully the engine has the Rev's to spare, with it making maximum power (roughly) 1000rpm after the Barra hits the Rev limit!!
13-08-2012, 07:49 PM | #1095 | ||
I saw one today. Very nice looking car
13-08-2012, 08:14 PM | #1096 | |||
Falcon 240nm per tonne Toyo 165nm per tonne Try a sense of humour, you'll live longer. |
13-08-2012, 08:16 PM | #1097 | |||
They also have 500+ kW at 19000 rpm... |
14-08-2012, 09:55 AM | #1098 | |||
Strange as it seems torque doesnt come into it as much when you holding the car in 2nd or 3rd gear at high rpm Put a horse float on and the dynamics will change of course..
14-08-2012, 10:29 PM | #1099 | ||
My mate owns an slk and test drove an ft and said " it handled and steered like ****"
14-08-2012, 10:36 PM | #1100 | |||
Ummm .... if they were priced accordingly .... it would be a decent comparison. Depending on model of SLK .... if the BZR/86 handled the same as the SLK ... then I'd be very worried being an SLK owner. I think a base model SLK costs twice as more as an FT 86 anyway
The Current Stable 2016 SZII TS Territory RWD Petrol The Evolution of the EGA54D utes AU Workshop Build thread of EGA54D B-Series Workshop Build thread of EGA54D 2004 SX TX Territory AWD - Gone but not forgotten 2010 FG XT "The ex-rental" - Moved onto a new home Mechan1k's Flickr Page |
15-08-2012, 12:11 PM | #1101 | |||
Maybe not if this motor test is anything to go by. http://imageshack.us/f/705/img0029urq.jpg/ Scroll down to see hill climb results, and that is from the 4 cylinder falcon. |
15-08-2012, 02:00 PM | #1102 | ||
The 86 held its own in those tests I reckon, the Falcon even more so.
I cant help but think the 86 would have been a lot more fun while obtaining those times though. |
15-08-2012, 02:55 PM | #1103 | |||
15-08-2012, 03:11 PM | #1104 | |||
But are you able to find a map of the hillclimb track? I just want to get an idea of how many corners are involved it cant be very long either with all cars doing it in the late 20 second range. and thers only 3.2 sec from fastest to slowest. Note: the BRZ was quicker in the hillclimb though??
15-08-2012, 03:52 PM | #1105 | ||
Hey... I've driven one of these GT86's before!!! On Gran Turismo 5, that is
15-08-2012, 05:24 PM | #1106 | |||
15-08-2012, 07:21 PM | #1107 | |||
I choose..............one of the blown ones with between 5 and 600nm (F6/GT) |
16-08-2012, 04:09 PM | #1108 | ||
LOL lets pick the Toyota then
I choose... one of the Turbo ones Kenneth Moen MK4 Supra http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0iwK...=youtu.be&hd=1 Im over the silly comparisons..
16-08-2012, 05:39 PM | #1109 | ||
The Toyota 86 is crap because this completely unrelated car can do such and such...
Continual Falcon comparisons are funny...apples/oranges... Its not a indicator of the 86 lacking, but an indicator of how good a car Australia has in the Falcon, if anything....
16-08-2012, 06:08 PM | #1110 | |||
I reckon this 86 has been compared to every car on the planet in this thread