You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 02-11-2011, 01:22 PM   #91

Default Re: What's your Job?

Job: Financial controller (number cruncher) at a hire company
Like: working office hours, the management team and Having control of other people's money!!!
Dislike: Month end, Year end and staff who whinge and complain about work
How long in Industry: 5 years
Next Job (If any): Part owner of Accounting/Law firm
Dream Job: Ferrari Test driver!
Old 02-11-2011, 01:30 PM   #92
Falcman0o7

job: Doleman
Like: Sitting here doing nothing
Dislike: The money
Next Job: Pension
Dream Job: Old age pension
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 01:36 PM   #93

Job: Security Manager - Commercial Office
Like: The flexibility, my team the fact I can go for a run along the Yarra at lunch
Dislike: The fact that everone elses problems seem to automatically become mine
How long in Industry: 10+ years
Next Job (If any): Facilities Management, hopefully in the very near future.
Dream Job: One where I only have to turn up when I feel like it, am valued and appreciated and get paid well with good perks. Like that will ever happen!
Old 02-11-2011, 01:43 PM   #94
Mozz

Job: Manager
Like: Interesting and challenging work in the Qld public sector
Dislike: Nil
Next Job: Similar leadership type role
Dream Job: CIO @ Google
Mozz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 01:49 PM   #95
michael_ozzie
Consistently Dusty

Job: Trainee Electrical Tester
Like: Being able to write stuff like this on company time
Dislike: No overtime opportunities
Next Job: Probably same job forever, just different companies
Dream Job: Amateur racer, as long as the bills are paid.

HD Tow Bar, Rear Airbags, Reversing Camera & Trans Cooler
michael_ozzie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 02:27 PM   #96

Job: Applications Support Officer
Like: Ummmmm, getting what I want hardware wise
Dislike: Whinging property managers, whinging building supervisors, whinging accounts payable, whinging financial officers, slow infrastructure, being on the phone
How Long in Industry: 2 years but current job 4 months
Next Job (If any): If I start an IT degree something to do with development and programming
Dream Job: Train operator...

Last edited by TheSneakiness; 02-11-2011 at 02:32 PM.
TheSneakiness is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 02:43 PM   #97
msman

Job: Reliability Engineer (keep 25 year old cranes going)
Like: Exposure to everything, pneumatics/hydraulics/mech design, and being let loose to get things going when they break down.
Dislike: Long hours, **** pay, guys i'm in charge of get paid more
How Long in Industry:1.5 years
Next Job (If any): mining or own business next 6 months
Dream Job: valentino balboni~spelling has it at the moment, lambo test driver
msman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 04:29 PM   #98
Jestr75

Job: Mobile Plant Operator
Like: Operating machinery, the people,
Dislike: Away from home, Know it alls
How Long in Industry: 4 years
Next Job (If any): same only closer to home
Dream Job: Stay at home dad.

When you are dead, You don't know that you are dead
Only those around you know you are dead.
It's the same when you are STUPID!!!
Jestr75 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 06:55 PM   #99

Originally Posted by au3xr6
Job: Bus Driver + small IT business at home
Like: fairly cruisy job
Dislike: Split shifts
How Long in Industry: 2 years
Next Job (If any): Depot manager at Singleton ( will find out today)
Dream Job: something well paid in IT
Update:
Job: Depot manager + small IT business at home
Like: stability
Dislike: not sure yet start Monday
How Long in Industry: 2 years
Next Job: I just got it
Dream Job: something well paid in IT

Old 02-11-2011, 07:03 PM   #100

seems to me, there is either a lot of young people on this forum who haven't been in the workforce long, or a lot of people who don't stay in the same job long.

only a handful have gone 10+ years and even fewer 15+ years.
Old 02-11-2011, 07:38 PM   #101
Falcman0o7

seems to me, there is either a lot of young people on this forum who haven't been in the workforce long, or a lot of people who don't stay in the same job long.

Yeh that's what i thought...
Old 02-11-2011, 07:41 PM   #102
XR8 Uterous

Job: Scheduler/Operations Supervisor (Transport and Logistics)
Time: In the industry for 2 years, but grew up around the industry.
Like: Thinking on feet, the work, people I work with, the industry (sometimes!)
Dislike: Dealing with truck drivers
Next Job: Wouldn't mind something transport/logistics related in the mines
Dream Job: Futher up the management chain.
XR8 Uterous is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 07:55 PM   #103

Job: IT Business Analyst / Developer
Like: Solving problems, working with technology
Dislike: Business - implementing solutions that are high effort and add little to none business value because they don't want to change the process to suit standard!, policy and legislation.
How Long in Industry: In IT about 3yrs but in this role for 2 months
Next Job (If any): Anything outside the public service!
Dream Job: I would like to eventually have my own company after developing my own product however coming up with an idea is the problem
MITCHAY is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 08:08 PM   #104

Job: Senior Applications Developer
Like: Nothing, gives me the Shytes
Dislike: No sugar in my coffee.
How Long in Industry: Lost count. Especially after I ran out of fingers
Next Job (If any): Lotto Winner
Dream Job: Multiple Lotto Winner
Old 02-11-2011, 08:28 PM   #105
LS2 KLR

Job:Marine Engineer
Like: I absolutely love my job, wouldn't do anything else
Dislike: Being away from home for 5 weeks at a time
How Long in Industry: 13 years
Next Job (If any): N/A
Dream Job: I'm doing it! Maybe spending 12 months home a year instead of only 6.
LS2 KLR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 08:29 PM   #106
Pis-ton broke

Job: boilermaker/welder, part time farrier
town;S.W.Sydney
Time: BMW=15years, farrier = 5 years
Like: BM/welder= using skills on my farm. no stress. Farrier= job satisfaction.
Dislike: BM/welder= heat, grumpy bosses,poor conditions, farrier= heat, dangours job, i got a horse pull a shoe nail through my wrist last year.
Next Job: draftsman, start my own fabrication business.
Dream Job: professional show jump rider.
Pis-ton broke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 08:33 PM   #107

Job: Company Director (IT & C)
Like: Living the dream on the beautiful QLD coast
Dislike: 8 days a week, 25 hours a day, 367 days a year......
How Long in Industry: 26 years
Next Job (If any): Something that does not involve computers.
Dream Job: See above.
Old 02-11-2011, 08:39 PM   #108
vibe_xr6

Originally Posted by XR8 Uterous
Job: Scheduler/Operations Supervisor (Transport and Logistics)
Time: In the industry for 2 years, but grew up around the industry.
Like: Thinking on feet, the work, people I work with, the industry (sometimes!)
Dislike: Dealing with truck drivers
Next Job: Wouldn't mind something transport/logistics related in the mines
Dream Job: Futher up the management chain.

You have no worries about that crouchie
Old 02-11-2011, 08:42 PM   #109
MAGPIE

Job: Firefighter (Station Officer)
Like: The adrenalin rush
Dislike: Losing someone
How Long in Industry: 16 years
Next Job (If any): Hopefully there wont be a next job
Dream Job: Fighter Pilot
MAGPIE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 08:42 PM   #110
FreddyDUZ747

Job:Chef
Like:A different challange each day
Dislike:The hours
How long in industry:7 years(Im 29)
Next job:My own boss,not sure what at
Dream job:Forum Moderator lol,seriouslly,it would have to be a Fishing Charter owner/operator
FreddyDUZ747 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2011, 08:46 PM   #111

Job: Bottleshop assistant.
Like: Awesome pay, great people, hot girls coming through drive through.
Dislike: working weekends.
How Long in Industry: 2 1/2 weeks.
Next Job (If any): uni student for the next 4 years, so probably business management after that.
Dream job: billionaire.
Dream Job: See above.

Old 02-11-2011, 09:37 PM   #112

yeh I agree

my last job I was there for 11 yrs the one before that was 10 yrs and the only reason I left my last job was due to the probs with my youngest son when he was born below are a few pics of him over the last few yrs growing up ( now 4 yrs old )

that is the only reason I am not in my 15th yr in the last long term job i had

Jason

Old 02-11-2011, 10:55 PM   #113
LightingBA

Job: Trades assistant.
Like: Stripping and building turbo's average one weighs 30-40kgs, learn heaps like basic machining, installing turbo kits to 4WDs
Dislike: The distance i travel to and from work each day
How Long in Industry: 2 years 4 months
Next Job (If any): Mechanical Engineer
Dream job: As Above, just need to go back and finish that uni course lol
LightingBA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-11-2011, 08:43 AM   #114
RepSpec
Formerly XG-Panelvanman

Job: Marine mechanic (outboard motors)
Like: being around boats, talking about fishing,
Dislike: working on old crap, cable ties and electrical tape, dodgy boats/ wire up jobs, inboards
How Long in Industry: 7+years
Next Job (If any): insurance assessor for boats/marine
Dream job: something i get paid lots to do and dont do a lot of work

BA MK2 Wagon, dedicated LPG, white.

modifications:
cargo barriers, tow bar
RepSpec is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-11-2011, 10:01 AM   #115

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Can't think of anyone more deserving. Russ Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the technical support behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical submission 

Job: Manager, IT Consultancy group for large Software/Hardware company
Like: The technology and people I work with
Dislike: Long hours
How long in Industry: 29yrs
Next job: Who knows. Might look at Program Director or similar
Dream job: Would always liked to have been a fitter and turner.
Old 03-11-2011, 02:40 PM   #116
Falcman0o7

Originally Posted by Jason[98.EL]
yeh I agree

my last job I was there for 11 yrs the one before that was 10 yrs and the only reason I left my last job was due to the probs with my youngest son when he was born below are a few pics of him over the last few yrs growing up ( now 4 yrs old )

that is the only reason I am not in my 15th yr in the last long term job i had

Jason
Is he all ok now mate? What a dude! I have 3 girls and now my boy, A terror at 2! lol!
Old 03-11-2011, 02:48 PM   #117

Went eight years in the shed game, but it's too cutthroat now and with manufacturing costs going up it's not viable to stay in anymore.

I have two prominent shed companies still ringing me to come back and work for them.
Old 03-11-2011, 02:51 PM   #118
XYGTHO
FORD FREAK

Job: Electrical designer and Draftsman.
Location: Ofiice in Rockhampton - work all of CQ, north and west, and down to Bundy.
Like: The people I work with and satisfaction of doing things right and safe.
Dislike: No overtime, and if I do not paid. Not the best money but ok for in town. Have done an Associate Degree of Eng Elec, but have aplied to study the Bachelor which aint going to be a whole lotta fun - lovethe challenge though.
How long in Industry: 9yrs
Next job: Same thing but wuold like to maybe enter the distribution supply side and just move up the ranks and get my bachelor and become a RPEQ.
Dream job: ??? Think most people have summed this one up and they all sound good.
Old 03-11-2011, 02:51 PM   #119

Originally Posted by Rapid_Axe
Went eight years in the shed game, but it's too cutthroat now and with manufacturing costs going up it's not viable to stay in anymore.

I have two prominent shed companies still ringing me to come back and work for them.
I work for one of the large shed comapanies. Some business' are certainly feeling the crunch.

Old 03-11-2011, 02:58 PM   #120

Originally Posted by XR6_661
I work for one of the large shed comapanies. Some business' are certainly feeling the crunch.
Big time, that's why I got out. One company I worked for lost three franchisees in the space of 3 months...