You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 24-04-2015, 05:56 PM   #91

Default Re: Havent bought a house yet? has the boat sailed away?

Originally Posted by Uncle Niceguy View Post
Man threads like this make me want to get out of the city and have a fresh start in the middle of nowhere.
Where can have a REAL garage !!!
Old 24-04-2015, 05:59 PM   #92

Originally Posted by NTF6 View Post
I don't think so, I have been checking prices in Perth and there are some bargains to be had compared to 6 months ago when I was looking for new houses or 3x2 apartments around the Balcatta area. Some of the similar investments are now 80k cheaper and I think there is more to come. I for one will be keeping a close eye on Perth and looking to snap one up when I feel the bottom is close.
Mining bust...perth would be the hardest capital I guess.

Might be good to get in at the bottom, next boom houses will rise again.
Old 24-04-2015, 06:01 PM   #93

Originally Posted by mr smith View Post
Once Labour get in and crunch negative gearing, house prices will drop like victorian taxi licences.
They tried that way back . The rents went up the public housing couldn't keep up.. It came back in no time .. Remember NG is the expenses from running a business .. It's a claim on income tax like anything else. You would be crazy to keep it in negative gearing for long though ..
Old 24-04-2015, 06:59 PM   #94

Originally Posted by nuthin' fancy View Post
Geelong Grammer is sandwiched between the old Shell Refinery and Corio, a rough old commission area*

Not quite....there is no year 9 at Corio.

year 9 is in Mansfield, for all students..45k for just that year...EACH!

Not bad for a backward country school.....
Old 24-04-2015, 07:07 PM   #95
Giant Cranium
PURSUIT 250

Originally Posted by HULK_I6T View Post
If price wasnt a barrier are you telling me people would chose against the premium spots in a capital city???

The truth is everyone wants to live in the capital city, but the demand ensures the top spots command the highest price and those willing and able to pay up get to enjoy it. The rest are pushed out further and further.
come on hulk, troll level 10000

i have a mate born in mudgee hanging to go go back but as he is a marine electrician he can't.

look outside your tiny box
Old 24-04-2015, 08:09 PM   #96
HULK_I6T

A member said earlier that it was crazy talk to pay $400k for a 400sq metre block..

But I'd argue it would be crazy to buy 1000 acres in port moresby even for $1000.

It really does depend where the land is doesn't it?
Old 24-04-2015, 08:25 PM   #97
Ruination

Originally Posted by XB GS 351 Coupe View Post
Big assumption, yet country towns are full of people who enjoy a real lifestyle, yeah sure I would want to swap my acreage 15 minutes from the beach and 30 minutes from Port Macquarie for a stinking house in a smelly City.

I spend years busting my balls to get out of that rats nest, if you gave me a free house in Sydney I would not live in it, and neither would any of my neighbours, or people I know. There is a whole world out there that does not stink like sewerage and car exhaust, full of self important people with bad attitudes.

Last time I went to Sydney we were going to stay a week, lasted one night, before we left, the stench was unbearable, the people obnoxious and the traffic insane, life is too short for that crap.

I would rather walk out to the horse paddock, and watch my daughter ride her horse after school, or my son ride his motor bike on the back paddock instead of being worried about Pepdoiles and having your kids locked up all day playing video games, or may be do some archery or go out for an afternoon hunt or a spot of fishing, walking distance from home, or may be wander across the back paddock to my 12 meter x 14 meter shed and work on my cars. Yeah I really miss the sewerage and exhaust smell I get in Sydney

My view in the morning, wow can't wait to be squashed back into a sardine can in Sydney eating breakfast while I can hear my neighbour taking a dump 5 meter away:

I grew up in regional/country towns in WA, (Broome, Albany, Esperance and Kalgoorlie) and honestly I wouldn't go back out bush.
Barren wastelands - Especially Kalgoorlie, man that place blows. As a teen that town was torture.
Moving to the City was the best thing I've done with my life.
Old 24-04-2015, 08:43 PM   #98
mr smith

The city is rubbish, Australia has some of the best landscapes on the planet.
Living in an Australian city is as stupid as having a 4 bedroom house and living in the kitchen only. I cant understand why we are crammed into the corners.
Live in an apartment? People in countries where you are forced to live in a dog box must laugh at Aussies who choose this in a country our size.
Old 24-04-2015, 08:44 PM   #99
XB GS 351 Coupe

Originally Posted by Ruination View Post
I grew up in regional/country towns in WA, (Broome, Albany, Esperance and Kalgoorlie) and honestly I wouldn't go back out bush.
Barren wastelands - Especially Kalgoorlie, man that place blows. As a teen that town was torture.
Moving to the City was the best thing I've done with my life.
I think you need to find better locations. Outback is not fun, been out there and checked it out, did not like it. No point living somewhere you hate.

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

Old 24-04-2015, 08:47 PM   #100
Havoc

the job market in s.a isnt tough its decimated 20 percent youth unemployment in areas we had a job going at work after 1 day and 280 applications they shut the job ad the job market is ****** and only going backwards.
Old 24-04-2015, 08:48 PM   #101
nuthin' fancy
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent

The thing that attract people to the big city is the thing that drives others away. '000s of other people doing whatever it is you want to do.

"Comedy is when you fall into an open sewer and die, tragedy is when I get a paper cut"
Old 24-04-2015, 08:51 PM   #102
usernametaken

Originally Posted by Havoc View Post
the job market in s.a isnt tough its decimated 20 percent youth unemployment in areas we had a job going at work after 1 day and 280 applications they shut the job ad the job market is ****** and only going backwards.

...and some here think that property can only go up.

pay off your debt, folks, she's a rocky road ahead.
Old 24-04-2015, 08:58 PM   #103
Mont5.0

Living in an Australian city is as stupid as having a 4 bedroom house and living in the kitchen only. I cant understand why we are crammed into the corners.
Live in an apartment? People in countries where you are forced to live in a dog box must laugh at Aussies who choose this in a country our size.
where are the jobs at? Wheres the money at? Have you noticed there's not much doing in Central Australia...
Old 24-04-2015, 09:04 PM   #104
XB GS 351 Coupe

Originally Posted by Mont5.0 View Post
where are the jobs at? Wheres the money at? Have you noticed there's not much doing in Central Australia...
For some jobs you might need to live in the city, for most jobs you don't, there is plenty of people who work in menial jobs in cities, why work at Bunnings in Sydney when you can work at Bunnings in Coffs Harbour and live near the beach instead of a smelly city for the same money.

There is plenty of work for anyone in the construction industry, machinery operators, retail workers, mechanics, panel beaters, bakers, butchers, etc etc

Who is talking about living in Central Australia??

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

Old 24-04-2015, 09:08 PM   #105
Mont5.0

Originally Posted by usernametaken View Post
...and some here think that property can only go up.

pay off your debt, folks, she's a rocky road ahead.
when has residential property ever gone down?
Old 24-04-2015, 09:18 PM   #106
Mont5.0

Originally Posted by XB GS 351 Coupe View Post
For some jobs you might need to live in the city, for most jobs you don't, there is plenty of people who work in menial jobs in cities, why work at Bunnings in Sydney when you can work at Bunnings in Coffs Harbour and live near the beach instead of a smelly city for the same money.

There is plenty of work for anyone in the construction industry, machinery operators, retail workers, mechanics, panel beaters, bakers, butchers, etc etc

Who is talking about living in Central Australia??
No one. But who is talking about living in dog boxs? Im glad leaving the big smoke worked for you. But its not for everyone. maybe we need to go back and look at the original post. Pretty sure the OP's question wasn't "what works for me country v city living".
Old 24-04-2015, 09:23 PM   #107
usernametaken

To answer your very broad and general question...

... when interest (and mortgage) rates go up.
Old 24-04-2015, 09:29 PM   #108
Mont5.0

^^ this bloke
Old 24-04-2015, 09:37 PM   #109

In my lifetime?

1983, 1990,1997 and 2016
Old 24-04-2015, 09:39 PM   #110
usernametaken

^^ this bloke
Pretty sure you're the muppet here..
Old 24-04-2015, 09:40 PM   #111
Mont5.0

Originally Posted by zilo View Post
In my lifetime?

1983, 1990,1997 and 2016
...and where are they now? still in the negative?
Old 24-04-2015, 09:40 PM   #112
Mont5.0

Pretty sure you're the muppet here..
you'd know
Old 24-04-2015, 09:41 PM   #113
usernametaken

Yep.

But then again...

Just ask any economist.
Old 24-04-2015, 09:41 PM   #114
HULK_I6T

Is this a serious post?

People live on the edges of the country for many reasons

1. Water views are nice
2. Not everything is produced in australia, quickest transport from other countries is our coast/ports. Who wants additional transport costs going inland
3. Hence thats where businesses setup, hence thats where the jobs are
4. Land sizes are getting smaller in capital cities but who cares if there is a council maintained park across the road??
5. People dont want to mow acres of land. By the time you finish mowing you need to start over again
6. Populations are higher near coasts, more opportunities and networks, more opportunity to communicate with people.
7. Our immigration policies let in people with cash behind them. They want to live in capital cities and pay for good properties. They contribute to driving up prices.

For all these reasons there is upwood pressure on prices in city/coastal/port areas.

Those venturing inland know its way cheaper but give up many of the opportunities that capital cities offer.
Old 24-04-2015, 09:42 PM   #115
Mont5.0

Yep.

Chum............

....p
Obviously a loser that lost out. Maybe invest better next time.
We can all edit...
Old 24-04-2015, 09:45 PM   #116
usernametaken

LOL,

Not sure why you're going down that path.

Don't worry about me.

I'll be retired by 50.

39 now.
Old 24-04-2015, 09:47 PM   #117
Mont5.0

same age as me....yet opposite advice. Go figure.
retired at 50...pfft ...that long?
Old 24-04-2015, 09:50 PM   #118
usernametaken

You're the one tripping...

Property prices do fall when interest rates go up... history proves this.

But you, like me, have never seen 18% interest rates on properties we own.

Ask anyone owing a house during the 9o's how it was///

And I edited before (or during) your post... .
Old 24-04-2015, 09:51 PM   #119
Havoc

listen to you two idiots crapping on housing isnt some wealth creator its peoples ******* lively hoods were selling this country down the ****ter ******* our grandchildren oh sure plenty of work to be done how many maccas workers or cleaners are buying houses but **** them they can rent in the all investors houses in every increasing rents.
Old 24-04-2015, 09:53 PM   #120
Mont5.0

Originally Posted by Havoc View Post
listen to you two idiots crapping on housing isnt some wealth creator its peoples ******* lively hoods were selling this country down the ****ter ******* our grandchildren oh sure plenty of work to be done how many maccas workers or cleaners are buying houses but **** them they can rent in the all investors houses in every increasing rents.
cool rant bro..