Old 17-12-2006, 12:56 PM   #91
Duffman
Oh Yeah!

Im sure a hyundai wouldnt use much fuel if it was driven very slowly. They need to get driven hard just to keep up with a standard falcon taking off at the lights. Its not so much the fuel economy its the car in general they are ugly small and handle like poo
Old 17-12-2006, 01:54 PM   #92
Living the dream

Originally Posted by Ford_Boy
i don't now how anyone can claim hyundai's for having poor fuel economy. they are light with a small engine. my dad bought my mum one 5 years ago for about 12grand. she drive about 45 minutes to work in traffic and on the way back. and she only uses about 20 bucks of fuel a week. if she needs to top up then she will put five buks in and be driving for another 2 days. she drives like a grandma but.

i even practice on my L's with it and to say i'm lead footed is an understatment. it's a five speed manual and its revs out real quick in first. i got up to 100 in 3rd gear.

it sounds like a lawn mower, the hubcaps fall off, and the dash board cracks but if it was kept in good condition then they are pretty reliable. the only problem we hav had for the past five years was spark plugs needed changing and the clutch needed a change. (most likely from me riding the clutch when i first started)

I don't really like asian eco boxes but the xcel looks alot cleaner and neater then a festiva or barina.

Dont get me wrong, I like the Getz. I enjoyed punting them round on the weekends, and I'd buy one if I needed a small runabout. They're fantastic cars, and loaded with kit for the money. However, they DO use more fuel than an equivalent 1.4/1.6 litre Japanese car.

I borrowed a 1.6 litre auto Getz from work once, had 5 people in it, drove it hard and got about 300km to a tank :

Others who used the Getz' we had there commented similarly. Manuals might be a different matter though, we only had autos. Hard to drive em economically though, because they rev to like 4 grand on normal takeoff :Reverend:

Originally Posted by Duffman
Im sure a hyundai wouldnt use much fuel if it was driven very slowly. They need to get driven hard just to keep up with a standard falcon taking off at the lights. Its not so much the fuel economy its the car in general they are ugly small and handle like poo
True. Understeer city.

Btw, sorry for going off topic.
Old 17-12-2006, 01:57 PM   #93
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Picture of a Sigma Turbo , dont be fooled by its 70's Porno Look , there a nice quick car !

Old 17-12-2006, 05:00 PM   #94
OZFORDAU

Default Best advice so far...

Originally Posted by JC
If you've been offered that as a trade in, I'd take it. I've seen AU2 & 3 Fairmonts for the same money privately, so if you can get that sort of money for a series 1, get back to that dealer as quick as you can and take it!

If you are looking at selling the car because it is unreliable or something, then that's a pretty good reason. But, if you are looking at swapping a dual fuel AU for a BA LPG and it's for eceonomy reasons, you really need to make a list of what you have in the current car, and then what you want in a car, and you may find that the AU fulfills most of those things anyway. Economy on a BA EGas will be worse than the AU.

Perhaps have a look at this thread:
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=78126

Oh, and just in case your engine is dead, you can get a lowish km one from the wreckers for around $500, and with a hoist, it's not too hard to change it over for the dead one (I'm thinking your cam install has had an adverse effect!?).

I guess where I'm coming from is that a few years ago, I went through 5 cars in 4 years, and all it did was cost me money. I am still paying for that! I have now had my current cars for 3 and 2.5 years, and when I get sick of something, I just get a new set of wheels - it's like getting a whole new car, except you get to keep the "personality" of your current car (yes, all the squeaks and groans etc).

Good luck whichever way you decide to go, but yours is one of the nicest series 1s on here - it would be a shame to get rid of it for something that you may actually end up being less happy with.
Than you JC, you've given me the most helpfull advice so far!

Not like these other people who are talking crap about Getz and how Hyhundais go with fuel economy........

Keep this thread on topic please.....

Simon

PS: JC i didn't get the cam installed....Im not going to either! Also why do the e-gas BA's go through so much gas?

My car doesn't start on gas much, i normaly have to switch it to fuel and drive for a couple of k's then change it over! But my car should do that automatically but it doesn't! No service place can get this issue right.....Im getting really sick of it not starting.....

Oh and thank you for the nice comments on my car about it been the nicest S1 here.... :king:
Old 17-12-2006, 05:54 PM   #95

Originally Posted by OZFORDAU
...... why do the e-gas BA's go through so much gas?
No idea, but all gas cars use more gas than the petrol equivalent - gas is a less efficient fuel, so you burn more of it to make similar power. The fact that it's half the price of petrol is it's saving grace.

My car doesn't start on gas much, i normaly have to switch it to fuel and drive for a couple of k's then change it over! But my car should do that automatically but it doesn't! No service place can get this issue right.....Im getting really sick of it not starting.....
That would annoy me too, but seriously, it will cost you less than the 3% stamp duty on a $5000 car to get it fixed. You just need to find an LPG mechanic with a godd reputation who can fix it for you. If you come up to Canberra, bring the car with you and I'll introduce you to Dave Elliot - the best gas mechanic I've ever dealt with.

But it should only be a computer issue - maybe it's not getting the correct signal from a sensor. I think maybe the water temp sensor could be at fault, or the temp setting for it to switch to gas is set too high (if that's how it switches over). Mine starts on petrol, and at 1000rpm on acceleration changes over to gas by itself - it's not heat dependant at all (in winter can be a PITA sometimes though). If you can get yours changed to switch over at certain revs instead of a temperature or some other parameter, get them to do that - at least that way you get to control when it changes.

Oh and thank you for the nice comments on my car about it been the nicest S1 here.... :king:
I said one of the nicest (and I meant non-XRs). It is a very nice car!

Old 17-12-2006, 06:27 PM   #96
Eu-GenixX

Originally Posted by SR_AU
that wasnt crap talk , Sigma Turbos are a Nice , Little , 2.8 Lt (or 3.0 if your Lucky) Astron II , There UBER Quick and would run rings around a Stock Falcon Anyday ,

You Can also Pick Good Original ones up for about $3500 , RWC and Registration , Also , Garrett T-04 Turbos Use the Same Flange as the Original One , So its a straight bolton !

Looking Easy 200rwkw , That video was just what it could do in the end !!

Daniel
Sorry for OT but i gotta reply to this...

Sigma Turbo's only came out in 2 Litre... the Astron II was 2.6 Litre and never released as a turbo... a mate of mine has a sigma.. here is a quick clip of what it can do...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FEoFUcwW0N8
Old 17-12-2006, 06:42 PM   #97
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Yeah they were , the Last of the ST's Came out with the Astron II , Ill Take a Photo of the VINPlate and the Engine , my mate has one , its Red !!

Daniel

Old 17-12-2006, 06:46 PM   #98

Originally Posted by Eu-GenixX
pulsar Q's do not have an SR20DE.. they are a 1.6L i think.. the SSS have the 2 litre...
Incorrect, some Q's did come with the SR20, it was an option. My ex-brother in law used to own one, a '92 model, and it was a good quick little car. Very bloody quick in fact. If you are after a 4cyl this is probably one of the better cars to go for, relatively economical, no real major problems, got a bit of poke, and the SSS has a bit of style but is more expensive. The Q is what I call the granny sleeper look.
Old 17-12-2006, 06:55 PM   #99
OZFORDAU

Default Keep It On Topic!

Stop Talking About ****, How Many Times Do I Have To Say It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

KEEP THIS THREAD ON TOPIC!
Old 17-12-2006, 06:57 PM   #100
Eu-GenixX

what is the current topic of this thread.. it was about 5k cars.. and even you changed it.. what is it you want opinions on and discussion on?
Old 17-12-2006, 06:58 PM   #101
Eu-GenixX

sorry the above post wasn't meant to sound rude.. was just genuine question about topic
Old 17-12-2006, 07:02 PM   #102

I seriously hope that wasn't directed at me. Listen the only person who can make up your mind about what to do is yourself, and by the sounds of it you don't truly know what it is that you want. If you want a BA go for it, if you want an econo box for <5k go for it, if you want to keep the AU then go for it, but if you blast people on here who are trying to help you then maybe this isn't the place to ask the question.
Old 17-12-2006, 08:01 PM   #103
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Last Time i Checked Simon , You Were not a Moderator , You wanted some help finding a New Car , and I Suggested one, its not my fault if myself and others found something else funny about it ,

Pull your Head in Fool , the topic is ontrack , Were helping you , what more do you want !

This is a 'AU Falcon' Forum , Not , 'What Should i Buy instead of an AU' Forum...

Learn to take a Joke and Constructive Critisim once in a While

jesus ...
Daniel

Old 17-12-2006, 08:09 PM   #104
Living the dream

Last Time i Checked Simon , You Were not a Moderator , You wanted some help finding a New Car , and I Suggested one, its not my fault if myself and others found something else funny about it ,

Pull your Head in Fool , the topic is ontrack , Were helping you , what more do you want !

This is a 'AU Falcon' Forum , Not , 'What Should i Buy instead of an AU' Forum...

jesus ...
Daniel
I agree.

Think of it this way, its not off-topic, its obscure knowledge. Now you know that a Getz sounds cool bouncing off the rev limited while consuming an inordinate amount of petrol, and that Sigma's didnt come in 2.6 litre 4 bangers, and that certain Pulsar SSS' had SR20 motors!

Car salesman - This '83 Lada Niva came factory with an SR20 motor.
OZFORDAU - Nope.

Knowledge FTW.

Old 17-12-2006, 08:25 PM   #105
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Originally Posted by BLC
I agree.

Think of it this way, its not off-topic, its obscure knowledge. Now you know that a Getz sounds cool bouncing off the rev limited while consuming an inordinate amount of petrol, and that Sigma's didnt come in 2.6 litre 4 bangers, and that certain Pulsar SSS' had SR20 motors!

Car salesman - This '83 Lada Niva came factory with an SR20 motor.
OZFORDAU - Nope.

Knowledge FTW.

I Stand Corrected ,the Sigma had an Engine Swap in 2000 , Sorry

But Still , Buying a Sigma would be awesome

Old 17-12-2006, 10:03 PM   #106
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Sigma Power simon , you should buy one if your after a Cheap and Quick Car, !!

Old 17-12-2006, 10:18 PM   #107
I6corp
Was V6corp

Where do you think i got my name from SR_AU ;) Go the scorpion :P

Oh no, I'm going to get held at :
Planned Engine Mods: ; Extractors; Tickford CAI; Twin Mufflers; Shift Kit; Hi-Stall; Cam; ECU Flash
Bling Mods: Tinted Windows; JVC CD/DVD HU
Planned Bling Mods: TS50 Front; High Series bonnet; Rebel Skirts and Rear Bar; SL Springs; Clear Side Indicators; Rear Spolier; Mags
Old 17-12-2006, 10:53 PM   #108
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

man , dont be Ashamed , Sigmas are the Best 'BANG' for no Bucks car , and if you Chuck a Scorpion Diff in it , there a Really Good Fuel Efficient Rocket

Old 17-12-2006, 11:29 PM   #109
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Fits you Perfectly Simon , Man , there a Sick Car !

Old 17-12-2006, 11:37 PM   #110
HOTC2R

man , dont be Ashamed , Sigmas are the Best 'BANG' for no Bucks car , and if you Chuck a Scorpion Diff in it , there a Really Good Fuel Efficient Rocket

SIGMA = bang 4 buck HA ha ha ha :hihi: : : :hihi:
Old 17-12-2006, 11:38 PM   #111

Originally Posted by BLC
and that Sigma's didnt come in 2.6 litre 4 bangers
They didnt? Damn, my wifes old 2.6 Astron Sigma 4 door with duel throat carby (that took off like a rocket) must have been a figment of my imagination then.. and yes, it was 100% factory.

Old 17-12-2006, 11:41 PM   #112
Whoosha
AU DIE HARD

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the things you do behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

Fits you Perfectly Simon , Man , there a Sick Car !

Now that"s funny ........ SR_AU.............. lmfao

........Age and treachery will ALWAYS overcome youth and skill.......

CORTINA 250 2V POWER soon to be AUXR8 Windsor pwrd

.............WINDSOR WARLORD WHO CARRIES THE CLEVO MAFIA AND BROKEN BOSSES...

Originally Posted by Riksta
Quote of the weekend: "The quarter mile wasn't as long as I expected it to be".
Old 18-12-2006, 07:40 AM   #113
Living the dream

Originally Posted by Casper
They didnt? Damn, my wifes old 2.6 Astron Sigma 4 door with duel throat carby (that took off like a rocket) must have been a figment of my imagination then.. and yes, it was 100% factory.
Uh.. umm.. factory freak! Dont tell anyone! :

Actually, I was going by one of the earlier posts in the thread about Sigma Turbos.

Originally Posted by Eu-GenixX
Sorry for OT but i gotta reply to this...

Sigma Turbo's only came out in 2 Litre... the Astron II was 2.6 Litre and never released as a turbo... a mate of mine has a sigma.. here is a quick clip of what it can do...
My bad, I didnt write Turbo in my little sarcasm inspired rant.

Old 18-12-2006, 07:45 AM   #114
Eu-GenixX

heh.. yeah the 2.6 was just never released as a turbo...
Old 18-12-2006, 11:03 AM   #115
OZFORDAU

Angry Whatever

jesus ...
Daniel
**** SAKE, EVERYONE IS TALKING ABOUT WHAT ENGINES ARE IN WHAT CARS, BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH! **** THIS THREAD! I ASKED FOR PEOPLE TO STOP TALKING **** AND DICKHEADS POST OF IMAGES ******* SIGMAS WITH A PHOTO OF ME IN IT! I NO IM NOT A BLOODY MOD!

I CAN TAKE A JOKE BUT STOP ******* TALKING **** IN THIS THREAD, IT'S POINTLESS ****!

THAT GOES FOR EVERYONE WHO IS TALKING ****

out:
Old 18-12-2006, 02:39 PM   #116
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

**** SAKE, EVERYONE IS TALKING ABOUT WHAT ENGINES ARE IN WHAT CARS, BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH! **** THIS THREAD! I ASKED FOR PEOPLE TO STOP TALKING **** AND DICKHEADS POST OF IMAGES ******* SIGMAS WITH A PHOTO OF ME IN IT! I NO IM NOT A BLOODY MOD!

I CAN TAKE A JOKE BUT STOP ******* TALKING **** IN THIS THREAD, IT'S POINTLESS ****!

out:
Fine , Someone Close the Thread then , as no one is allowed to talk , Your a Bloody Sook Simon , !

And if your worried about that picture there is more to come..

You are a Sook , Your Worried how much Gas Your AU guzzles , and im TRYING to beat it into your Thick head that the 2.6 Astron II wouldnt Eat as much Fuel , But I Spose if no-one is allowed to talk , ill be the first to say this ,

"FIND YOUR OWN &&&&ING CAR THEN ! and dont ask for help , if you dont want it !"

Daniel

And As for calling me a ******** , if thats the best you have got , You are the One who is getting all C0cksure about people having a joke !

Old 18-12-2006, 02:42 PM   #117
nat_daly
Nat D

Fine , Someone Close the Thread then , as no one is allowed to talk , Your a Bloody Sook Simon , !

And if your worried about that picture there is more to come..

You are a Sook , Your Worried how much Gas Your AU guzzles , and im TRYING to beat it into your Thick head that the 2.6 Astron II wouldnt Eat as much Fuel , But I Spose if no-one is allowed to talk , ill be the first to say this ,

"FIND YOUR OWN &&&&ING CAR THEN ! and dont ask for help , if you dont want it !"

Daniel

And As for calling me a ******** , if thats the best you have got , You are the One who is getting all C0cksure about people having a joke !
i agree,
take a joke
old ride#1: ED XR6 5 speed-gone to new home:(
old ride#2:dumped EL fairmont 5l
new ride: Winter white AU2 XR8-manual
Old 18-12-2006, 02:49 PM   #118
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

If you dont like Sigmas , Theres Always Mitsubishi Colts , Nissan Pintara , Subaru Leones , and Toyota Camrys Out there !

Old 18-12-2006, 03:42 PM   #119
KOUPE76
OLD SKOOL BABY

LOL, I was waiting for someone to bite back, well said SR AU and Simon, take it to the pub forum and see the reaction you get, at least the AU Boys can have a laugh about it.

Mick

1976 XB GS COUPE (waiting to start the rebuild)
Old 18-12-2006, 04:47 PM   #120
FRDGAL
GT-P #0336

out:
Damn youngin'! Since when can't you take a joke. You do a fair amount of stirring yourself. Settle petal..

Anyhoo. Why do you want a BA? For power. Lol, you'll be sadly disappointed. Plenty AU's will terminate an XT. You'll end up spending more getting the BA and then knowing you, you'll wanna do some cosmetic mods to it. I say keep the AU and put some money into that over time. It's already a nice car.

I reckon sit and work out exactly what you want out of a car? Is it about power, size, looks, bragging ... what? Or are you no longer a fan of the AU? Whatever the reason, make sure it benefits you, especially financially.
2003 FULLY OPTIONED MERCURY SILVER BA GT-P BUILD #336
REVERSE CAMERA - SAT NAV - PIONEER SUB & AMP - SUNROOF - DVD PLAYER - CUSTOM DUAL EXHAUST
~Tuned By Bluepower Racing~