Old 03-07-2011, 11:16 PM   #91

Default Re: Australian International Motor Show 2011

Originally Posted by naddis01
Quick question. Is the show pram friendly or are they a no go?
Single would be fine, double would be hard to get inbetween more because of the people, not the cars. Main bits have easy access as I am sure its designed for people in wheel chairs aswell.

So BMW, does your showroom happen to have a new M5 in it. Oh it doesn't.

Dummkopfs.
Yes well there logic goes both ways...Merc certainly put effort in. And actually Merc had the best "give aways", two very nice and large posters (A1 I think) of the new SLS and the old Gullwing. Both are up in my sons room now.

I know alot of the free stuff can be seen as a waste of time, but honestly, todays kids are tomorrows buyers so when companies dont make an effort its pretty slack IMO.
Polyal is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-07-2011, 11:36 PM   #92

While I was busy taking pics I got my wife to do it and she even repeated stuff later over dinner
And there it is. Looks like having a new CEO with a background in marketing is starting to have some effect.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 03-07-2011, 11:48 PM   #93
Powdered Toast Man
Professional Mouse Jockey

I went today. Best Ford display I've seen for the last few shows I've been to. Was jam packed with people too so I hope it translates to some sales. Didnt have a good look at much apart from the GT engine bay as there were actually too many people to squeeze through.

I agree with Polyal re the Merc stand. It was a very good effort with plenty of cars including AMGs on display.

The Koreans (Kia and Hyundai) also put on good varied displays. And Subaru had their usual good technical static displays of the boxer engine and AWD drivetrain.

Apart from having a look at the Rodeo, or whatever, concept which didn't look too bad I must say, the only reason I walked through the Holden stand was to get to the food stalls. Nothing new in there, it's all old hat. How old is the VE shape now, 7 years?

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana. Groucho Marx
Powdered Toast Man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-07-2011, 11:53 PM   #94
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

Single would be fine, double would be hard to get inbetween more because of the people, not the cars. Main bits have easy access as I am sure its designed for people in wheel chairs aswell.
Cool, thanks. I thought that might be the case. Maybe I might stick our bub in a carrier on mum and I will handle our 2yo.
naddis01 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 12:59 AM   #95
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

Has anyone had a look inside the new vents on the bumper of the FPV Black? In the photo that Lupin posted there are 2 green marks in there which I assume are reflections off something.
naddis01 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 01:10 AM   #96
SM1DY
LIKE A BOSS 351

One please
SM1DY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 01:30 AM   #97
Bobman

Mate it's an XR falcon...I'd be finding a low k 50th anni before the LE.
Yes, but what does it look like? What have they done to it to make it "Limited Edition"?

Nice pics, but shame about the warp around tail lights that Ford seem to be making a signature look for new models.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 01:56 AM   #98

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by g220ba
On the ecolpi side of things, i had a good look at it and there's basically somebody there at all times to let you know what it is and all about it. The bloke probably could've had a bit better tact but still he's there.
haha, so it wasn't just me who thought that.

Originally Posted by Bobman
Yes, but what does it look like? What have they done to it to make it "Limited Edition"?
Original Typhoon wheels, full leather, colour screen and sports bars on the ute.

The 50th was a tad better but for the N/A XR6 comparison there was nothing really outstanding between the two models.
Old 04-07-2011, 02:03 AM   #99
Bobman

Original Typhoon wheels, full leather, colour screen and sports bars on the ute.

The 50th was a tad better but for the N/A XR6 comparison there was nothing really outstanding between the two models.
Thanks for that. Kinda feel for the FPV guys then if Ford are putting those 7 year old wheels on the XRs now.

Really hope the FG2 FPVs finally have some new wheels for the full range (especially the F6).

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 04:39 AM   #100
wsuser

I'm gonna go
wsuser is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 12:33 PM   #101
BAxtER
ive been 4490'd

Went down yesterday to the show. Was good to see alot of interest for the New Territory and Focus. People were flocking towards the territory at around midday...i had to wait 5mins just to sit in the Titanium variant.

I went to the counter to ask for an email for info on the new focus and as the gentleman was entering my details i overheard two other staff memebrs saying that the new territory and focus have already had over 2000+ queries...now if someone who works or ford was there? or can verify that then congrats because thats a huge effort.
Also i thought the little 1minute add in the new focus on the windscreen as you sit in it was a great idea. Really pushed alot of great info on the car.
www.taipanmotorsport.com.au
BAxtER is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 12:45 PM   #102
trippytaka

You can see all my tweets from Media Day if you head to twitter and search for @themotorshow

I was tweeting as the cars were revealed etc.
trippytaka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 05:17 PM   #103
Dr Smith

Took my daughter today, she (8yo) took all these shots. Polyals are great so I've added some other photo's.

EcoLPi boot

Last edited by Dr Smith; 04-07-2011 at 05:27 PM.
Dr Smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 05:49 PM   #104
Dr Smith

I thought this was my daughter's best shot:
Dr Smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 06:11 PM   #105
JutroXR8

Originally Posted by naddis01
Has anyone had a look inside the new vents on the bumper of the FPV Black? In the photo that Lupin posted there are 2 green marks in there which I assume are reflections off something.
The front bumper vents on either side of the air-dam are too cool the brakes.

FGX XR8, Auto, Black.

WG Fiesta ST Manual, Black.
JutroXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 06:20 PM   #106

Went today ..... one thing I must say is dont take the MRS! No ... I will not be seen in a Peugot 308CC!

Must say FORD stand was bedlam ..... had to line up to see most cars and there was a lot to see there. Wanted to have a proper look at the HSV equivalent but they were all locked .... weird! You could sit and play in almost all other cars but no not them.

Very disappointed in the few major missing manufacturers .... no Chrysler & Jeep .... wanted to have a good look at the 300C, BMW was a **** stand with nothing to look at other than 1 concept. No Alpha, Renault and so on.

The new Short based Range Rover was interesting .... cant see where the target audience is for it though ..... was impressed with the new offerings from Volvo. The new XC90, for a 7 seater was the pick .... especially comparing to the Q7 and the $50,000 plus difference (no way could I see it) and $12,000 more than the Terri which I thought is one really nice SUV and spot on for the money. Definite improvement on the old one.

Old 04-07-2011, 08:19 PM   #107
Pedro

Just checked out this thread and have to say a big thanks to Polypal for putting so much time and effort into a very good presentation.
Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2011, 10:55 PM   #108
Brute6
Lurvin' my Ute!!!

Spent a few hours there today, pretty impressed overall. I would honestly have to say that the Ford stand was the busiest that I saw! Territory - could hardly get near it!!!
But one big question I had - where was the Audi R8 GT? One of my favourites of the show - AMG CLS63.....

HERS: SZ Territory TS, Havana

Proud Member "FPV & XR Owners Club of Vic"

Brute6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 02:22 AM   #109
imugli

For all those who've been to the MMS, was it just me or were the gaps and mismatched fitting between dash and door trim in the new Territory massive. I swear they were 1cm out in the titanium I sat in.

Get in the new Focus or the Mondeo and everything just fitted together beautifully.

Shame, because the Territory looks to be the goods otherwise.

As does the ranger for that matter. Compared to it's stablemate the BT50 and the Colorado concept, the Ranger has them both beat in looks.

Highlight of the show was sitting in the Jag XJ and cranking that Bowers & Wilkins sound system. The car is not just a car, it's literally an experience. Chrome everywhere and oozing olde world charm in a skin that's sexy as hell.

The red Merc CLS (CLS, not SLS, though that is as well) is jaw dropping but the stand was full of pretentious prats.

The GT Black Edition is HORN! No other word.

All in all, a great show. Well worth the $20 entry.
imugli is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 04:58 PM   #110

Originally Posted by imugli
For all those who've been to the MMS, was it just me or were the gaps and mismatched fitting between dash and door trim in the new Territory massive. I swear they were 1cm out in the titanium I sat in.

Get in the new Focus or the Mondeo and everything just fitted together beautifully.

Shame, because the Territory looks to be the goods otherwise.
YES! I went today and noticed that too! Panel gaps were a bit off in a couple of the Falcons too, whereas the Mondeo Titanium was perfect.

Overall Ford put in a great effort, they had by far the best stand at the show, it was huge and really interactive as others have mentioned. I liked the way they really emphasised 'Quality', 'Safety', 'Sustainability' and 'Smart'.

Personally I loved the new Patrol, if it goes as good as it looks then anyone in the 4X4 market would have to really consider one.

However the Amarok was a bit of a disappointment, and the biggest let-down was the Kizashi. I thought it was gonna be this cool alternative to the Liberty or local large cars, but it was small, a bit twee and the interior was mediocre at best. The "Black Edition" HSV was a bit poxy too. That is of course judging purely by looking.

A couple more snaps just to add.

Old 06-07-2011, 05:27 PM   #111

So does anyone know if the 2012 motor show will be in Sydney.
I would love to go, but Melbourne is a bit far.
Old 06-07-2011, 05:32 PM   #112

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Yes they alternate between cities.
Old 06-07-2011, 06:14 PM   #113
Stealth00

Yep Sydney 2012 - although I went to Sydney last year and Melboure this year is tons better.
Stealth00 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 09:32 PM   #114

Ford stand was good, and Holden had bugger all.

The Lexus LFA was at the show earlier but it wasn't there today for some reason, can someone confirm it was there earlier?

There was a cutaway version of it that showed engine and chassis, which was pretty cool, but no complete car.
Old 06-07-2011, 09:48 PM   #115
g220ba
FGX XR8

Ford stand was good, and Holden had bugger all.

The Lexus LFA was at the show earlier but it wasn't there today for some reason, can someone confirm it was there earlier?

There was a cutaway version of it that showed engine and chassis, which was pretty cool, but no complete car.
Yeah mate it was there sunday when i went. It was blue if memory serves correct.
g220ba is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 10:24 PM   #116

Yeah mate it was there sunday when i went. It was blue if memory serves correct.
Yeah it was there friday night, and honestly, it is so ugly that no performance specs could help its cause. If its anywhere near the price of the Jag XKR then it wouldnt be a hard choice.
Polyal is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 11:05 PM   #117
weairy
Piston Broke

Went for a glance today. LOVELY XY GTHO-PIII there, absolutely drooled over it.
New Toyota concept is also a beautiful piece of machinery
Old 07-07-2011, 12:01 AM   #118

I couldn't work out why it wasn't there today.
Old 07-07-2011, 12:40 AM   #119
jed

is the new ranger bigger than the current model?
jed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2011, 10:33 AM   #120
aquahead2001

Originally Posted by jed
is the new ranger bigger than the current model?
Yes, a huge increase inside.

Went to the Motor show last night and was finally able to drool over the Ranger. I am looking forward to getting mine even more now!

Re the Ford Stand, I was impressed in the fact that most of the Booth Staff were actually Ford Engineers. I talked to the young lady that's in the Ford Territory Adverts ("I can visit all my Facebook Friends on 1 tank of fuel") and there were 2 engineers who worked on the T6 project that I spoke to. Needless to say I spent a long time chatting to the Engineers who worked on the Ranger as I'm dead keen on one.

One was a power train specialist and he suggested that the Auto in low Ranger was a standout feature and the 2.2L TDCi (375nm) could out pull the existing 3.0L TDCi (380nm) up a mountain road with a heavy towed load. He said the 3.2L was a torque monster.

The other engineer was from the electrical team and she said that challenge fro them was to ensure that connections and wiring were better placed and protected against water, dust and debris damage.

i walked away from the Ford display thinking that Ford had done a great job with using it's team of young, dynamic and super enthusiastic engineers on their booth. And if these guys were representitive of Ford's engineering capability in Australia, then we will be in for some very exciting Ford product in the future.