Old 31-03-2011, 06:50 PM   #91

Default Re: Ford Australia Revives Mad Max Interceptor

Originally Posted by Wretched

Really though I don't see it needing to be too close to a Falcon, wasn't the interceptor destroyed in the second film?
A stunt car was destoryed in the 2nd movie, the orginal lives on in England at the Cars of the Stars museum.
Max drove a coupe and it was a Ford.
The concept is a bit um... silly as in Max's world none of these things no longer exsist, so you cant have " futurisitc" looking car.

What they shoulda designed, or more correctly is to redesign the XB coupe to look a bit more modern (like Ford did with the retro looking mustang).
Blower, sidepipes, fat wheels, flares, spoilers and black paint....

Old 31-03-2011, 07:01 PM   #92
Pis-ton broke

[QUOTE=
What they shoulda designed, or more correctly is to redesign the XB coupe to look a bit more modern (like Ford did with the retro looking mustang).
Blower, sidepipes, fat wheels, flares, spoilers and black paint....[/QUOTE]

+1

and a return of the night rider (cryin like a bady=holden driver) and the goose. maybe that could be a bit like the terminater robots or half man half machine.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7Bco...eature=related
Chase scene from Mad Max 1
Pis-ton broke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-03-2011, 10:11 PM   #93
Buntz
Straight Eight

Originally Posted by Pis-ton broke
if those cars are for mad max, do the yanks think max is a pussy or what. i agree that there more like "batman" cars. If this is maxs ride, i can just see it now, max no longer has a grubby blue heeler sittin beside him. his new dog is a tidy poddle, max will open the door for him, and says, don,t snatch that seat little tiger.
A cappucino make in the centre console serves hot soy cinnamon latte with whipped cream.

Old 31-03-2011, 11:01 PM   #94

Ok here's my my latest, cleaned it up, better coat of paint, sharpend the rear 1/4 glass a little...

Also cleaned up the last one.

Now whoever works for ford please show them the light..

Old 31-03-2011, 11:30 PM   #95

I'm not sure about the old-skool blower and intake on it. A modern Interceptor has to have a modern iteration of that, or I'm not going to drive it.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 31-03-2011, 11:42 PM   #96

Tough crowd haha...yeah i might fix that tomorrow...

Old 01-04-2011, 12:44 AM   #97
Buntz
Straight Eight

I'm not sure about the old-skool blower and intake on it. A modern Interceptor has to have a modern iteration of that, or I'm not going to drive it.
Ha.
Old 01-04-2011, 05:37 AM   #98
FalconXV

You all whinge too much. What other vehicle has a live electrical current running across the grille? None that's what. This thing is way cool. Original Mad Max cars were never referred to in the film as 'Falcons', if they were restricted to that then it would limit their imaginations and defeat the purpose.
FalconXV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-04-2011, 05:41 AM   #99
FalconXV

it's heaps awesome
FalconXV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-04-2011, 06:55 AM   #100
smally289
growing up is optional

Love 'em or hate 'em, neither of those 2 cars shown in the OP will be in MM4. The cars have already been built and are sitting in a shed on location waiting for the vegetation to dry out.
smally289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-04-2011, 07:11 AM   #101

Rubbish. Wish they'd stop giving real jobs to the American design department. Next they'll want to install a big chrome grille.
Old 01-04-2011, 08:18 AM   #102

Rubbish. Wish they'd stop giving real jobs to the American design department. Next they'll want to install a big chrome grille.
ahh what?

"...Ford Australia's Melbourne-based Asia, Pacific and Australia Design Director, Chris Svensson, jumped at the chance to design a new Interceptor and has since thrown the full weight of Ford Australia's Research Centre behind the project, with stunning results..."
A stunt car was destoryed in the 2nd movie, the orginal lives on in England at the Cars of the Stars museum.
Max drove a coupe and it was a Ford.
I was referring to the movie itself. The car was destroyed hence no need to reference any Falcon. The car itself can be anything.
Old 01-04-2011, 09:16 AM   #103

Originally Posted by smally351
Love 'em or hate 'em, neither of those 2 cars shown in the OP will be in MM4. The cars have already been built and are sitting in a shed on location waiting for the vegetation to dry out.
Oh god, I hope you are lieing.

I'm one of the biggest fans and have already had to scrub out BTD, I hope I don't have to add FR to the list.
Old 01-04-2011, 10:14 AM   #104
Ducati888

ahh what?

I was referring to the movie itself. The car was destroyed hence no need to reference any Falcon. The car itself can be anything.
A replica of the black on black coupe has been made for MM4, to be used for a montage of the first three films during the first ten minutes of MM4.

It was built by a very reputable Coupe builder in Moorabbin who's name escapes me at the moment.

I saw it last year in May when I took my XB Coupe in there for a quote.
Old 01-04-2011, 12:19 PM   #105

Originally Posted by smally351
The cars have already been built and are sitting in a shed on location waiting for the vegetation to dry out.
Here's all i could find

Old 01-04-2011, 02:33 PM   #106

ahh what?

Every die hard madmax fan would disagree with you there...

Old 01-04-2011, 03:08 PM   #107

Yup. To paraphrase Henry.....

You can have any car you like, as long as it's a Ford.
Old 01-04-2011, 03:18 PM   #108

Not so sure about that. More like every die hard Ford fan would disagree.
Old 01-04-2011, 04:44 PM   #109

Er um.. we are talking about the movie, not ford fans?

And are you saying that all Ford fans dont like the fact a Ford XB coupe was used in the orginal movie? Sorry not following the logic here...

Old 01-04-2011, 11:05 PM   #110
onlinejames

really depends on what timeline they use, if its 70,80's then get a xb if they have the spare 50,000 each car, if its more todays timeline then for sure a fg, if its in the year 2020 or what ever , then maybe a fm or what ever they like to call it, what we do know is that they will all be fords in the movie as all the holdens have rusted away or melted down and turned into bullets oops i mean plastic bullets
as for those 2 designs i dont think much of either of them, whats with the second car is it a pod racer, is max going to have jar jar binks as his pet dog
tocchis's fg looks really nice, would be good with a supercharger or twin turbos just sticking out of the bonnet bulge
onlinejames is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-04-2011, 01:12 AM   #111
smally289
growing up is optional

Originally Posted by LTDHO
Oh god, I hope you are lieing.

I'm one of the biggest fans and have already had to scrub out BTD, I hope I don't have to add FR to the list.
I know the bloke that built the shed for the cars. Can't say too much more, but he has photos of them. Don't ask me to put them on here, not worth the legal hassles!
smally289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-04-2011, 01:51 PM   #112
conordec

can we lock this post so i don't have to throw up again?
reef green xwgt falcon
lime green HT GTS Monaro 308 4 speed
reef green ZC Fairlane black interior
conordec is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-04-2011, 03:57 PM   #113

Er um.. we are talking about the movie, not ford fans?

And are you saying that all Ford fans dont like the fact a Ford XB coupe was used in the orginal movie? Sorry not following the logic here...
I was referring to the movie. I simply stated that you're under the assumption that what I said would upset Mad Max fans, I didn't agree, more like it would upset Ford Fans as they care more about the car used in the movie. Not hard to understand really.

Anyway not the right forum for this kind of discussion so I guess we'll have to agree to disagree.
Old 03-04-2011, 02:29 AM   #114
rjk74

Originally Posted by Ducati888
A replica of the black on black coupe has been made for MM4, to be used for a montage of the first three films during the first ten minutes of MM4.

It was built by a very reputable Coupe builder in Moorabbin who's name escapes me at the moment.

I saw it last year in May when I took my XB Coupe in there for a quote.
About 4 weeks ago l was parked at the rear of BP northbound at Calderpark, when a fwd cruised past it had a car trailer with x series coupe on it wrapped in black plastic and duct tape. A couple of weeks later saw the same vehicles heading south from Mildura, shame didnt have time to get some photos.
rjk74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-04-2011, 02:35 AM   #115

Originally Posted by GasOLane
Yup. To paraphrase Henry.....

You can have any car you like, as long as it's Ford.
black..
Old 04-04-2011, 09:43 PM   #116
Antwon

Originally Posted by TheInterceptor
The crap is crappy shadow haha.
Oh no sorry mate not yours, yours look good. i ment the second one out of the ones ford designed.
Old 22-06-2011, 12:04 PM   #117

Bumping this thread. Both concepts are to be shown at AIMS apparently.

But on another note, check out this concept drawing that we havent seen yet - must have been to "normal" to pass muster but I reckon this one is the shiz! Check out the shape of the quarter window and the design detail of the back end! Remind you of something...?

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 22-06-2011, 12:49 PM   #118

Yes indeed...the car can be anything at all. But look at the timeline of the movies.
Cars start out normal in Mad Max, then by Mad Max 2 society has collapsed and the cars that are still around are obviously cobbled together from whatever is lying around. By Mad Max 3, cars are pretty much gone...even Max tows his truck by camel power (presumably to conserve whatever fuel he does have or find). In the end the cars are even more quite obviously junk yard bitza's.

Not exactly sure how the "new Mad Max film" can have such a modern looking vehicle in it...it just won't fit. The "spy" photos look like vehicles that would belong in such a film, but the extremely modern and high tech cars shown in concept pictures just won't fit in.

Of course, if an American film company is involved, you can't expect them to keep any sense of reason with a film timeline or show much respect for what came before...
Old 22-06-2011, 01:09 PM   #119
anto
Za Dom spremni

its not an american company doing the film..it is George miller and is well and truly and Aussie production.

The VFX will be done at Dr D studios in Sydney and hopefully ( for my sake ) spill over to some other Aussie VFX houses like RSP.

http://www.chud.com/21286/george-mil...rom-mad-max-4/
AU III XR8 red ute
anto is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-06-2011, 01:17 PM   #120

Originally Posted by 2011G6E
Yes indeed...the car can be anything at all. But look at the timeline of the movies.
Cars start out normal in Mad Max, then by Mad Max 2 society has collapsed and the cars that are still around are obviously cobbled together from whatever is lying around. By Mad Max 3, cars are pretty much gone...even Max tows his truck by camel power (presumably to conserve whatever fuel he does have or find). In the end the cars are even more quite obviously junk yard bitza's.

Not exactly sure how the "new Mad Max film" can have such a modern looking vehicle in it...it just won't fit. The "spy" photos look like vehicles that would belong in such a film, but the extremely modern and high tech cars shown in concept pictures just won't fit in.

Of course, if an American film company is involved, you can't expect them to keep any sense of reason with a film timeline or show much respect for what came before...

These cars have nothing to do with the films.. and they wont be appearing in it at all. Just some idea for a "modern" madmax interceptor, nothing to do with the film.