Old 22-12-2011, 01:40 PM   #91
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

Default Re: FORGET the lucky country - Australia has been branded the land of the great, big rip-

Originally Posted by ltd_on20s
where did you hear this????

60k / 52 weeks = 1153.84

1153 pw current tax table $239 pw in tax - take home pay becomes 914

$80 pw petrol? 39.64c of every litre goes to the government.

current petrol cost lets say 1.30 = 61 litres? you pay $24 or there abouts to the government out of every tank.

239 + 24 = 263 pw

now , just basing it on this, not putting in council rates, water, electricity fees, levies, stamp duty, WHATEVER ELSE

1153.84 / 5 day working week = 232.60

you work a day and a half just for the government based on personal tax, and some petrol......

like i said, thats just based on two things the government sucks out of us.
Well done. So you'll be paying full price for health care, education your kids won't be going to Uni because the only places for local students at all but private tertiary providers are CSP places etc etc. We'll make sure you don't have to pay taxes though, meanwhile, the rest of society can pay their menial taxes and get the benefits.
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Old 22-12-2011, 05:56 PM   #92
ltd_on20s

Default Re: FORGET the lucky country - Australia has been branded the land of the great, big rip-

The usual cry of someone who doesnt want to better themselves, the government is holding me back i thought the same as a teenager growing up in a relatively poor family who struggled to get by, now all us kids are grown up and have made changes for the better and not relied on everyone to make our lives for us.

Nice work trying to attack the man and not the point. The government isn’t holding me back, I have a successful business with my wife, and we are relatively wealthy by the usual standard, but that’s not the point I am trying to make here. I suspect you already know this though.

With this horrible oppressive government I have been able to retire at 35, indulge in all my hobbies, start a family all without going anywhere near the mining sector and nothing but hard work.

That’s fantastic, I wish you all the best, I sincerely hope you don’t offload all your assets to your family before your 60 to gouge a taxpayer funded pension as well later on.

Sick of people who ***** and complain about oppression yet have no idea what it really means, go live under the taliban as a woman that was oppression, being a woman in Saudi Arabia that is oppression, only an idiot would compare Australia to that.

Please, you and most others wouldn’t know a thing about Afghanistan and Saudi further then what you read on fox, and you certainly didn’t invade Afghanistan for anything as noble as the “women”. If you did, you wouldn’t have allowed yourselves to be tools to reinstall the northern alliance, the same guys who promote bachi baza, and just passed a law saying it’s ok to starve your wife. And there are different kinds of oppression. Social, economic, military, the list goes on economic oppression is different to being told who you are going to marry.

Stop twisting what I am trying to suggest here.

And it ignores the money that goes towards educating you and your kids, providing healthcare, roads, etc etc

If the government is going to tax everything like it does, it has a moral and ethical obligation to make social services such education and healthcare free. It’s that simple.

Either you don’t want to get it or it’s simply too far over your head.

I have already linked previously that less than 50% of all money gouged out of motorists goes back into roads and road infrastructure. Healthcare? Well unless you have money and private health you go on a list. Now here is where I stand. I don’t care who you are. I don’t care if you have money or not, everyone should be in line period. Whether you are a bum on the street, or the prime minister money should not be a factor in who gets treated first. Whether or not that bum deserves a transplant or not is irrelevant.

we have it pretty damb good in Australia if you despise it so much why not leave and make space for a refugee who will actually savour the opportunity to live here and make a go of life as an Aussie.

Who said I despise it? Is that the best argument you can come up with? You don’t like it leave? Because I despise government non accountability I should leave? Because I despise government lies I should leave? Because I despise government secrecy I should leave? What a pathetically weak argument.

Look man, the government works for us, not the other way around. It’s too big, too bloated, constantly lies and gives itself stupid pay rises for doing nothing. Once you get it through your head that unless you demand it (and yes we do have a right to demand it because we are paying through the nose for the right to) they will continue to put stupid tolls, to put rates higher, to put more levies, higher fines, higher everything.

too many of you think you are getting "benefits" from the government when in reality you would be lucky to see 25% back of what they take from you.

why do you think they want to put in an internet filter in? and have a black list? it's got nothing to do with animal porn or anorexic websites.
Old 22-12-2011, 05:58 PM   #93
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by lotski
Well done. So you'll be paying full price for health care, education your kids won't be going to Uni because the only places for local students at all but private tertiary providers are CSP places etc etc. We'll make sure you don't have to pay taxes though, meanwhile, the rest of society can pay their menial taxes and get the benefits.

you know, it's people like you who allow the government to do what they like with the money you earned. one day when it does all turn to poo, you'll wonder "what happened"?

come back to this post.
Old 22-12-2011, 06:16 PM   #94
Lotte

you know, it's people like you who allow the government to do what they like with the money you earned. one day when it does all turn to poo, you'll wonder "what happened"?

come back to this post.

Nope. I don't agree with everything that Gov Co does with our money, (take the recent payrises for example, for the pollies of course). But at the end of the day, if it wasn't for all the government benefits such as:
-Medicare
-Mental Health plans
-HECS
-Commonwealth scholarships
-Unemployment/study benefits
To name a few, I wouldn't be where I am today. In fact. I'd probably be homeless.
The difference between me and a lot of others is that no, I don't accept the negative crap Gov Co does with our taxes et al, but rather than bitching about how we're overtaxed and get nothing for it, I compare it to other countries, because, we as a country are sitting higher up than we'd like to admit.

Have a read:
http://blogs.crikey.com.au/pollytics...xceptionalism/

Pay close note to the section on taxes, and overall economic growth.

Sure, the cost of living is high here. But ultimately, half the stuff that is boosting that cost up, is stuff we don't need (restaraunt meals, pub outings, flashy new cars, more than one car, video game consoles and TVs for each member of the household, 5 bedroom home, with two lounges for a family of 3 etc etc. Some are extremes but you get the picture). The difference being, the cost of living vs the cost of lifestyle.

Last edited by Lotte; 22-12-2011 at 06:25 PM.
Old 22-12-2011, 06:21 PM   #95
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by lotski
Nope. I don't agree with everything that Gov Co does with our money, (take the recent payrises for example, for the pollies of course). But at the end of the day, if it wasn't for all the government benefits such as:
-Medicare
-Mental Health plans
-HECS
-Commonwealth scholarships
-Unemployment/study benefits

To name a few, I wouldn't be where I am today. In fact. I'd probably be homeless.

Have a read:
http://blogs.crikey.com.au/pollytics...xceptionalism/
and like i said, with the tax paid out these days health and education should be free. edit -for everyone.
Old 22-12-2011, 06:31 PM   #96
Lotte

and like i said, with the tax paid out these days health and education should be free. edit -for everyone.
Did I say it shouldn't be? Please don't twist my words, or try to batter me into a corner by making blatant assumptions.

Free primary and secondary education should be a given in ANY country as far as I'm concerned, and tertiary study is optional, and heavily subsidised to the point where, CSP places are the only available in the vast majority of insitutions.
If we were to get free healthcare and education, along with all the other benefits, we'd be being taxed at the rate of some of the more successful European countries, we'd be being taxed, ALL OF US at a rate of between 40%-50%. Mind you, dental, medical, education, it'd all be free. I would safely bet though that everyone here would still be bitching.

The point I'm making is this: We are an exceptionally succesful country, given the massive hurdles that have been thrown our way. There are flaws in the system yes, but on a worldwide scale, we are sitting amongst the best with our economic growth. Cost of living vs cost of lifestyle is debatable. There are certainly things that cost more than they should, and their are components in all people's budgets that could pretty much be erradicated, as they are not a necessity. We are a far more materialistic society than we should be, and that drives the rise in the cost of "living"

Old 22-12-2011, 07:06 PM   #97
COOLHAND
Luke

People need to get a grip, yes things are expensive (most of which have no real reason to be expensive other then price gouging), but we are a very large country with a relatively small population.

We are also selling ourselves overseas to the highest bidder, a lot of our farm and grazing land is now owned by overseas interests. Most of our mineral reasources are owned/ sold over seas.

We no longer have a manufacturing base and a lack of farm land means we have to import a lot of rubbish into this country.

We are more interested in making a quick buck now instead securing our future anymore.

People comment that our fruit and vege is expensive.... one wonders the logic of fruit and vege in far north qld being driven all the way to the brissy market and then being bought by coles/ woolies and being trucked all the way back here again! hmmmm thats logic for you...

Best quote I have seen on Ford Foums....... EVER. Good work Jim Goose. I have been thinking about this for quite a while.

We are letting these overseas companies RAPE AND PILLAGE our country. They buy our precious land (some of it irreplaceable rich farming land) to develop into mines of some sort. To benefit who???? China & Japan???? Pfffft.

If our country is going through this current so called 'mining boom' then where the hell is all the money? We still have roads that need improving, hospitals to be built, schools to be built etc and the Government apparently cant afford it even in this fricken 'mining boom'.

I believe that we should 'soften' our mining and make it last for generations to come. Not just go all out and sell it all to the highest bidder like Jim Goose said. These resources that we are digging out of the ground are non-renewable. Once they are gone, they are gone forever.

Also while im at it.... some pathectic young first home buyers want their FIRST HOME to be a 4x2 with a garage, home theatre, alfresco, pool table, shed, every goddam appliance known to man....blah blah blah blah. Then they have the stupid frame of mind to complain about food prices, Health Insurance, fuel costs etc. GET REAL, get a life and get out of that stupid rat race.

I have seen/heard first home buyers ask 'what the most I can borrow'. Damn, I was the one approving or denying these loans as a Bank Manager. They then proceed to max themselves out with a $450k home loan, then a $40k car loan, then buy a $3000 LED TV just so they look good in front of their mates when in fact, they just look like every one else. One big competition.

Dont get me started on the greed of the banks. Id probably get sued if I divulged too much info here about some of things they ask employees to do in order to make the sale and increase profits.

Also, if you want to whinge about rip offs.... complain to Coles and Woolorths. These two companies are dictating to farmers how and when to grow their produce and then tell them how much they will get for it.... stuffall. The mark up on products from the farmer to the retailer is ridiculous. We have sold our pumpkins to Coles/Woolies for $0.50 kilo in the past only to see them retail it in the shops for $2.50 kilo. THIS HAPPENS EVERY DAY TO EVERY FARMED PRODUCT IN AUSTRALIA. Please be a bit smarter with your shopping habits people.... try and buy direct from farmers markets etc. Have a chat to the farmer and educate yourselves in regards to the fruit and veg prices etc. BOYCOTT COLES AND WOOLIES I RECKON.

Those of you who say they would prefer to purchase imported goods to save a dollar.... you make me sick. Its un-australian; you are hurting young Australian farming families who also need food on their table and money to pay for their childrens education. Australia was built on farming and if you buy imported goods, you are kicking sand in the face of many people.

Tear me to shreds if you like. Ill be Prime Minister one day so I might get my way. Haha, just joking.... but seriously. Maybe I will be.

Note: At 27 years old, I talk from small bits of experience at two fronts. I have worked in Finance/Banking Industry for the last 6 years and I am also a third generation Banana Farmer (WA). Its a unique combination and I am glad I have seen two sides of the spectrum.

Goodluck to those out there who are struggling. Merry Christmas to all.
Old 22-12-2011, 07:41 PM   #98
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by CoolHandRacing
Best quote I have seen on Ford Foums....... EVER. Good work Jim Goose. I have been thinking about this for quite a while.

We are letting these overseas companies RAPE AND PILLAGE our country. They buy our precious land (some of it irreplaceable rich farming land) to develop into mines of some sort. To benefit who???? China & Japan???? Pfffft.

If our country is going through this current so called 'mining boom' then where the hell is all the money? We still have roads that need improving, hospitals to be built, schools to be built etc and the Government apparently cant afford it even in this fricken 'mining boom'.

I believe that we should 'soften' our mining and make it last for generations to come. Not just go all out and sell it all to the highest bidder like Jim Goose said. These resources that we are digging out of the ground are non-renewable. Once they are gone, they are gone forever.

Also while im at it.... some pathectic young first home buyers want their FIRST HOME to be a 4x2 with a garage, home theatre, alfresco, pool table, shed, every goddam appliance known to man....blah blah blah blah. Then they have the stupid frame of mind to complain about food prices, Health Insurance, fuel costs etc. GET REAL, get a life and get out of that stupid rat race.

I have seen/heard first home buyers ask 'what the most I can borrow'. Damn, I was the one approving or denying these loans as a Bank Manager. They then proceed to max themselves out with a $450k home loan, then a $40k car loan, then buy a $3000 LED TV just so they look good in front of their mates when in fact, they just look like every one else. One big competition.

Dont get me started on the greed of the banks. Id probably get sued if I divulged too much info here about some of things they ask employees to do in order to make the sale and increase profits.

Also, if you want to whinge about rip offs.... complain to Coles and Woolorths. These two companies are dictating to farmers how and when to grow their produce and then tell them how much they will get for it.... stuffall. The mark up on products from the farmer to the retailer is ridiculous. We have sold our pumpkins to Coles/Woolies for $0.50 kilo in the past only to see them retail it in the shops for $2.50 kilo. THIS HAPPENS EVERY DAY TO EVERY FARMED PRODUCT IN AUSTRALIA. Please be a bit smarter with your shopping habits people.... try and buy direct from farmers markets etc. Have a chat to the farmer and educate yourselves in regards to the fruit and veg prices etc. BOYCOTT COLES AND WOOLIES I RECKON.

Those of you who say they would prefer to purchase imported goods to save a dollar.... you make me sick. Its un-australian; you are hurting young Australian farming families who also need food on their table and money to pay for their childrens education. Australia was built on farming and if you buy imported goods, you are kicking sand in the face of many people.

Tear me to shreds if you like. Ill be Prime Minister one day so I might get my way. Haha, just joking.... but seriously. Maybe I will be.

Note: At 27 years old, I talk from small bits of experience at two fronts. I have worked in Finance/Banking Industry for the last 6 years and I am also a third generation Banana Farmer (WA). Its a unique combination and I am glad I have seen two sides of the spectrum.

well, thats what happens when you allow government to sell things off to private companies in full. you never see the money. and if you don't sell everything off...well you guys can fill that in.
Old 22-12-2011, 08:13 PM   #99

Originally Posted by CoolHandRacing

A few years ago now (cant remember his name sorry) this guy who was in the mining game started to buy up a lot of mineral rights of dorment mines and known mineral deposits.

He had a twisted vision of starting up the ANSETT name all over again and actually bought the rights to the name and the old Ansett logo, in fact many years ago i saw a lot of beat up land crusiers with the "A" logo and thought WTF???!?!

Anyhoo this great aussie patriot who had NO experience in aviation sold off ALL the mineral rights he posssed to OVERSEAS interests, mostly American and Canadian.

(The old Ben Lomand Uranium mine just outside Townsville is now owned by a Canadian company and now think that there is a push to sell this wonderous product to India).

So what happened to this guy? He bought out Macair Airlines and then went bust some 18months later....

So why is it that these mineral rights were able to be sold by a private citizen to overseas interests?

Just like our so-called mining boom where the only people reaping the rewards are the mines themselves and all the money and reasources go overseas.

Coles and Woolies also have a lot to blame for our high food prices, not to mention they own the majority of service stations in Australia and own the majority of the petrol in the country and then SELL IT BACK to the independants and then there is their questionable ownership of pubs, clubs and bottle shops (BWS as an example) and the soon to be monopoly of the hardware store industry with Bunnings (owned by Westfarmers who is owned by Coles) about to be outdone by Woolworths new hardware chain "Masters".

Cool handracing you mention you were a banana farmer at one point... our bananas from Innisfail area are driven at great expense to the Brissy markets, then trucked back here to the supermarkets where we pay MORE then people in Brisbane for a product which grows 200km away..

We have the worst rail system in the world with every state nearly having a different rail gauge so that no train can really criss cross the country (unless you go throught the middle of the country to Darwin).

One could go on.....

But on the balance of things, Australia is still a good place to be in, unfortunately we are no longer smart about how we do things here. We only seem to think about short term "today" instead of 10yrs down the track.

Old 22-12-2011, 08:30 PM   #100
ltd_on20s

A few years ago now (cant remember his name sorry) this guy who was in the mining game started to buy up a lot of mineral rights of dorment mines and known mineral deposits.

He had a twisted vision of starting up the ANSETT name all over again and actually bought the rights to the name and the old Ansett logo, in fact many years ago i saw a lot of beat up land crusiers with the "A" logo and thought WTF???!?!

Anyhoo this great aussie patriot who had NO experience in aviation sold off ALL the mineral rights he posssed to OVERSEAS interests, mostly American and Canadian.

(The old Ben Lomand Uranium mine just outside Townsville is now owned by a Canadian company and now think that there is a push to sell this wonderous product to India).

So what happened to this guy? He bought out Macair Airlines and then went bust some 18months later....

So why is it that these mineral rights were able to be sold by a private citizen to overseas interests?

Just like our so-called mining boom where the only people reaping the rewards are the mines themselves and all the money and reasources go overseas.

Coles and Woolies also have a lot to blame for our high food prices, not to mention they own the majority of service stations in Australia and own the majority of the petrol in the country and then SELL IT BACK to the independants and then there is their questionable ownership of pubs, clubs and bottle shops (BWS as an example) and the soon to be monopoly of the hardware store industry with Bunnings (owned by Westfarmers who is owned by Coles) about to be outdone by Woolworths new hardware chain "Masters".

Cool handracing you mention you were a banana farmer at one point... our bananas from Innisfail area are driven at great expense to the Brissy markets, then trucked back here to the supermarkets where we pay MORE then people in Brisbane for a product which grows 200km away..

We have the worst rail system in the world with every state nearly having a different rail gauge so that no train can really criss cross the country (unless you go throught the middle of the country to Darwin).

One could go on.....

But on the balance of things, Australia is still a good place to be in, unfortunately we are no longer smart about how we do things here. We only seem to think about short term "today" instead of 10yrs down the track.

why do you think in the US, despite a near media blackout on the guy in the first few months, are starting to gravitate to ron paul....

because people know, deep down, there is something inherently wrong with our economic/ governmental system.
Old 22-12-2011, 08:52 PM   #101

because people know, deep down, there is something inherently wrong with our economic/ governmental system.
Its not just the USA with that feeling.... one finds a lot of people out there who know things are going wrong and finally realise that it doesnt matter which side of politics is in power, it simply wont get better. Its a bit like the line from the Matrix... you know something is wrong but you cant quite put your finger on it.

Old 22-12-2011, 08:57 PM   #102

I'd rather have 1st world problems than 3rd world ones. It's funny how much we complain and I'm even guilty myself at times.

Everyone wants thousands more than what we get and wonder why things cost so much here. You can not have both.

To put things in perspective my manager is always coming back to the office with tons of food everyday.

It turns out it is for his girlfriend who would only get half a cup a rice a day while doing 16 hrs worth of hard work and would get beaten if she was caught eating a bug that happened to crawl on pass.

I can not imagine how hard that would be and so it really gives some perspective.
Old 22-12-2011, 09:04 PM   #103
raptorv8

The usual cry of someone who doesnt want to better themselves, the government is holding me back i thought the same as a teenager growing up in a relatively poor family who struggled to get by, now all us kids are grown up and have made changes for the better and not relied on everyone to make our lives for us.

Nice work trying to attack the man and not the point. The government isn’t holding me back, I have a successful business with my wife, and we are relatively wealthy by the usual standard, but that’s not the point I am trying to make here. I suspect you already know this though.

With this horrible oppressive government I have been able to retire at 35, indulge in all my hobbies, start a family all without going anywhere near the mining sector and nothing but hard work.

That’s fantastic, I wish you all the best, I sincerely hope you don’t offload all your assets to your family before your 60 to gouge a taxpayer funded pension as well later on.

Sick of people who ***** and complain about oppression yet have no idea what it really means, go live under the taliban as a woman that was oppression, being a woman in Saudi Arabia that is oppression, only an idiot would compare Australia to that.

Please, you and most others wouldn’t know a thing about Afghanistan and Saudi further then what you read on fox, and you certainly didn’t invade Afghanistan for anything as noble as the “women”. If you did, you wouldn’t have allowed yourselves to be tools to reinstall the northern alliance, the same guys who promote bachi baza, and just passed a law saying it’s ok to starve your wife. And there are different kinds of oppression. Social, economic, military, the list goes on economic oppression is different to being told who you are going to marry.

Stop twisting what I am trying to suggest here.

And it ignores the money that goes towards educating you and your kids, providing healthcare, roads, etc etc

If the government is going to tax everything like it does, it has a moral and ethical obligation to make social services such education and healthcare free. It’s that simple.

Either you don’t want to get it or it’s simply too far over your head.

I have already linked previously that less than 50% of all money gouged out of motorists goes back into roads and road infrastructure. Healthcare? Well unless you have money and private health you go on a list. Now here is where I stand. I don’t care who you are. I don’t care if you have money or not, everyone should be in line period. Whether you are a bum on the street, or the prime minister money should not be a factor in who gets treated first. Whether or not that bum deserves a transplant or not is irrelevant.

we have it pretty damb good in Australia if you despise it so much why not leave and make space for a refugee who will actually savour the opportunity to live here and make a go of life as an Aussie.

Who said I despise it? Is that the best argument you can come up with? You don’t like it leave? Because I despise government non accountability I should leave? Because I despise government lies I should leave? Because I despise government secrecy I should leave? What a pathetically weak argument.

Look man, the government works for us, not the other way around. It’s too big, too bloated, constantly lies and gives itself stupid pay rises for doing nothing. Once you get it through your head that unless you demand it (and yes we do have a right to demand it because we are paying through the nose for the right to) they will continue to put stupid tolls, to put rates higher, to put more levies, higher fines, higher everything.

too many of you think you are getting "benefits" from the government when in reality you would be lucky to see 25% back of what they take from you.

why do you think they want to put in an internet filter in? and have a black list? it's got nothing to do with animal porn or anorexic websites.
****, didnt know i invaded Afghanistan, must have fallen asleep and did it while sleepwalking, dont think ive ever sat down and watched Fox either.

What i do know about Afghanistan is my best friend was dressed as a boy and smauggled into pakistan en route to Australia and have gotten plenty of stories from her and her family about what oppression really is.

One second you are banging on like you want a socialist state, the next is we are to highly taxed cant have it both ways.
Old 22-12-2011, 09:11 PM   #104
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by raptorv8

One second you are banging on like you want a socialist state, the next is we are to highly taxed cant have it both ways.
you have not heard a word i said. either that or you can't read.

i said if we are going to be taxed to this level, then social services such as education and health should be free. all of it. schools, higher education etc.

health care from someone on the street to someone who has millions should all be in the same line for health care.

you do realise that all road taxes, fee's rego's etc etc could be potentially 40% cheaper and they would still have more then enough money for all road infrastructure in the country?

this whole apathetic "meh" attitude is why they get away with what they get away with.
Old 22-12-2011, 10:12 PM   #105
z80

I for one tried reading your posts but they are way too long and lack structure.

i said if we are going to be taxed to this level, then social services such as education and health should be free. all of it. schools, higher education etc..
You seriously believe that and yet you claim to be a successful business man?

health care from someone on the street to someone who has millions should all be in the same line for health care..
But you would complain about the attendant increase required in the Medicare levy...would you not say that you were being raped by the govt again?

you do realise that all road taxes, fee's rego's etc etc could be potentially 40% cheaper and they would still have more then enough money for all road infrastructure in the country?.
Prove it if you can?

this whole apathetic "meh" attitude is why they get away with what they get away with.
Feel free to elaborate on what steps you are taking, (apart from complaining on forums), to change the entire Australian economy to your apparently more equitable, and totally free system of social equality?
Old 22-12-2011, 10:22 PM   #106
charles_wif_xf
Purveyor of filth

Its not just the USA with that feeling.... one finds a lot of people out there who know things are going wrong and finally realise that it doesnt matter which side of politics is in power, it simply wont get better. Its a bit like the line from the Matrix... you know something is wrong but you cant quite put your finger on it.
Very well put Jim. In my experience, that 'lot' you mention, is actually a pretty small percentage of the population. 'Most everyone else are either too busy becoming rich at the expense of others and the environment or are too lazy and slovenly to know any better. Ignorance is rife and until that small minority of people that are waking up grows and reaches that critical mass point, govco and its real shareholders will do as they please with the money they fleece off us.

Just ask yourselves this question: Why does a government need taxation when it produces the nations currency? The answer isn't as straightforward as you might think...

Last edited by charles_wif_xf; 22-12-2011 at 10:30 PM.
Old 22-12-2011, 10:31 PM   #107
z80

Originally Posted by charles_wif_xf
Just ask yourselves this question: Why does a government need taxation when it produces the nations currency? The answer isn't as straightforward as you might think...

Hmmm...global conspicacy theory now is it?

Your statement can be answered by a year 11 economics student..

How about you ask yourself this equally inept question?

If the govt can print as much money as it wants,

why does it bother taxxing you?
Old 22-12-2011, 10:45 PM   #108
charles_wif_xf
Purveyor of filth

My statement can't be answered by a Yr11 economics student (unless of course the student is well versed in the fraud that is fractional reserve banking).

Taxation is a form of control and a means to keep people for lack of a better term, a slave to the system. A true government of the people, by the people and for the people would be an institution that is many orders of magnitude smaller than the behemoth that we have today. It would be there to provide the essential services needed and that is it (hospitals, sanitation, water, power).

It would also be the entity creating the nations currency (not the banks via aforementioned fractional reserve banking). The currency would be backed by the economic output and labor of the nation (read: manufacturing and agriculture), not backed by hot air from the buffoons in Parliament. As the creators of the currency, they would be able to create enough so that this limited government could deliver the essential services without having to go cap in hand to the people.
Old 22-12-2011, 11:06 PM   #109
ltd_on20s

I for one tried reading your posts but they are way too long and lack structure.

Fair enough, I’ll try to fix that

i said if we are going to be taxed to this level, then social services such as education and health should be free. all of it. schools, higher education etc..

You seriously believe that and yet you claim to be a successful business man?

Without a shadow of a doubt. These are social obligations. Even gaddafi gave this to his people.

health care from someone on the street to someone who has millions should all be in the same line for health care..

But you would complain about the attendant increase required in the Medicare levy...would you not say that you were being raped by the govt again?

Why would we need an increase in the levy? We already subsidise private health with taxpayer money! In 1999 the government subsidised private health (that’s private companies) to the tune of 1.5 billion dollars, or about 4% of the overall budget. Do you know how many people can be treated for 1.5 billion dollars in the public system? How much do you think the subsidy is now in todays dollars? The subsidy made roughly 220,000 people take up private health. It saved $96 million in the public sector, but gave 1.5 billion to private companies. Regardless of the cost, you want private health, you pay for it. Not the taxpayer.

you do realise that all road taxes, fee's rego's etc etc could be potentially 40% cheaper and they would still have more then enough money for all road infrastructure in the country?.

Prove it if you can?

South Australia made 100 million just from from speed camera’s.

In 2007, Australians paid 583 billion in personal tax, not including company taxes, fees, levies, charges, fines, petrol tax etc etc. JUST personal tax. In QLD, the road budget is 5.4 billion. In NSW, the road budget is 5.4 billion. Even if we say every single state and territory was 5.4 billion, the entire countrys road budget is 43 billion.

The governmet makes roughly 8 billion plus a year just from fuel tax alone This does not include the tax from royalties, or the the PRRT (Petroleum Resource Rent Tax) or Company tax.

"Analysing the nation’s tax returns, the data revealed Australian workers paid more than $583 billion in tax in 2007-08, an increase of more than 9 per cent on the previous year."

numbers dont add up do they? any private individual who fudged his books the same way the government does would be jailed.

Feel free to elaborate on what steps you are taking, (apart from complaining on forums), to change the entire Australian economy to your apparently more equitable, and totally free system of social equality?

Good question. I doubt I would ever be elected in any form based on my convictions.
Bring all troops ho
me. it’s cost us over 20 billion dollars for two wars we should even be in. let them sort out their own issues.

If your going to allow gay marriage in a secular state, you have to allow polygamy.

Genuine, 100% thieves should have a three strikes rule, by the third strike a hand should come off.

Genuine 100 % proven rapists should never see light of day.

Remember, this is 100% proven, beyond any doubt, not balance of probabilities

If your going to tax motorists through the nose, we should have the best roads in the world. Distance is a killer here in Australia, and nothing less then dual lane carriageways across the continent should be considered, plus higher speed limits.

And peg the dollar to gold. That’s the only true way of having a currency that can’t be cheated.

There is a hundred other things as well, but you get my drift.
Old 22-12-2011, 11:16 PM   #110
Work Horse
Budget Racer

There is a hundred other things as well, but you get my drift.
Yes...
Old 23-12-2011, 02:20 AM   #111
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by z80
Hmmm...global conspicacy theory now is it?

Your statement can be answered by a year 11 economics student..

How about you ask yourself this equally inept question?

If the govt can print as much money as it wants,

why does it bother taxxing you?

because paper money is a lie.

Paper money is only a representation of the our wealth. If you print more paper that doesn't mean our wealth increases, it makes the paper worth less.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperinflation
Old 23-12-2011, 02:22 AM   #112
ltd_on20s

Bring all troops ho
me. it’s cost us over 20 billion dollars for two wars we should even be in. let them sort out their own issues.

sorry that should be "shoud'nt" even be in.
Old 23-12-2011, 10:23 AM   #113

Is this still going ??

Wow i didn't miss much in a week ...
Old 23-12-2011, 11:41 AM   #114

Originally Posted by XR6menace
Is this still going ??

Wow i didn't miss much in a week ...
This is a car forum and as there are two types or race tracks there are also two types of threads.

One type starts, goes straight to the point in as quickly as possible then ends.

The other goes around and around and around with the safety car appearing occasionally in times of stress until the final lap.

"When the flag drops the bull crap stops" is often heard.

The difference between a thread and a race is the in the race the flag is at the start while in a thread it is at the end.

The flad is now dropped.

CLOSED