Old 13-08-2021, 07:50 AM   #91

Default Re: One day to live - what car do you choose to drive

Originally Posted by XD 351 Ute View Post
Hehhe, good choice. If I was trucking it, I'd go Battle Truck.

Ed
Yeah, Battletruck would be the afternoon choice......

followed by Killdozer if I lasted long enough.......Shake hands with Danger.

Old 13-08-2021, 02:51 PM   #92

Originally Posted by MercuryT View Post
Ok thanks for clearing up as I didn't know obviously......

No doubt you are right they would be a lot better - in any case I'd definitely have one Replica or not! ha
Well buy a ticket or 10......

https://classicsforacause.com.au/ele...bC2ypCk83EgVbQ

Old 13-08-2021, 02:52 PM   #93

Originally Posted by DJR-351
Group B's where absolutely insane and a great example of what happens when you have virtually free reign on building a race car, they sounded fantastic and are great to watch, it was a sad day when they were banned but entirely understandable given the incidents leading up to the ban...

Here's one of my all time favourite Group B in car footages, Ari Vatanen's "Dear God" video, driving an Opel Manta 400 at some insane speeds on wet tarmac....always looking for an excuse to post this...

These drivers were incredible. There is so much going on at one time, the required concentration must be unbelievable. Especially on such a tight road as in the video. How they managed to accelerate and brake, steer, shift gears and catch slides, all while trying to hear and interpret the pace notes is an amazing skill.
Old 13-08-2021, 02:54 PM   #94
MercuryT

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post
I reckon I would die before I could choose
Always amazes me seeing people casually standing by watching when a rally car is near sideways and flying by a few metres away.......
MercuryT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2021, 02:57 PM   #95
MercuryT

That video is sped up surely......still amazing regardless.
Old 13-08-2021, 07:26 PM   #96

That video is sped up surely......still amazing regardless.
Na, thats fair dinkum speed and one of the main reasons they got banned, plenty more examples online.

Old 13-08-2021, 07:45 PM   #97
Pis-ton broke

Originally Posted by DJR-351 View Post
Group B's where absolutely insane and a great example of what happens when you have virtually free reign on building a race car, they sounded fantastic and are great to watch, it was a sad day when they were banned but entirely understandable given the incidents leading up to the ban...

Here's one of my all time favourite Group B in car footages, Ari Vatanen's "Dear God" video, driving an Opel Manta 400 at some insane speeds on wet tarmac....always looking for an excuse to post this...

yeah the group b,s are insane. and thoroughly entertaining. many wild cars like the lancers. as i understand, so dangerous the whole b category was eventually canceled.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPk90JZqWM8
Pis-ton broke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2021, 08:14 PM   #98
MercuryT

Love the video.

What does "maybe" mean though in rally terms?

The co-driver says it constantly.....if I was driving i don't want to hear "maybe", i want what actually is the next turn! I'm guessing an estimate
Old 13-08-2021, 09:01 PM   #99

Originally Posted by Pis-ton broke View Post
yeah the group b,s are insane. and thoroughly entertaining. many wild cars like the lancers. as i understand, so dangerous the whole b category was eventually canceled.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPk90JZqWM8
This is my my favourite go to source re Group B, some rare video and a lot of behind the scenes history....

https://rallygroupbshrine.org/

There's a short paragraph in there that says...... "some drivers complained that the cars had become very hard to handle and that the performance level exceeded their abilities to counter the 'tunnel vision syndrome' it created in some situations. Co-drivers had a tougher time keeping up with pace notes as gear changes and corners came and went too quickly" crazy lol....

Old 13-08-2021, 10:01 PM   #100

Love the video.

The co-driver says it constantly.....if I was driving i don't want to hear "maybe", i want what actually is the next turn! I'm guessing an estimate
In rally racing Pacenotes, "maybe" denoted in the Pacenotes with a ?, denotes something that lacks confidence and thus is left to the driver to decide how to deal with. This is commonly used to refer to potential weather issues, such as a slippery surface, or decisions that depend on the type and condition of the vehicle......
Look up rally pacenotes, there's a few different systems in use but all are a form of shorthand.

Old 13-08-2021, 10:09 PM   #101
slowsnake

Love the video.

It means the opposite of "absolute" on dirt roads the navigator travels the track taking pace notes for the actual race, bit like you see race jockeys walking a racetrack.
If a corner or bend is a bit dodgy or hard to read he says his speed estimation and right left and "maybe" means he is not absolutely sure or positive, the driver knows then he has to gauge it.....

I got that off a TV show called "Wheeler Dealers"..then onto YouTube to check it out for real.

Cheers Billy
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2021, 06:31 PM   #102
123Cat

A Skoda 100L
Its got a big fan in the back
Old 20-08-2021, 06:58 PM   #103
98TLS

This for me,have spent some time in it but not near enough,a day in this car on the Buller Gorge (West coast of South Isle NZ) would see me off happy.
Old 20-08-2021, 07:36 PM   #104
five 7

The old dunga in my shed, i have my favourite car/cars.

Last edited by five 7; 20-08-2021 at 07:41 PM.
five 7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2021, 09:22 PM   #105
ford71V8

I really really like that.
I mean really like that.
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-08-2021, 07:49 AM   #106
hackney

Bugatti Veyron!Just a no brainer!
Old 21-08-2021, 09:33 AM   #107
Tonz

Originally Posted by 98TLS View Post
This for me,have spent some time in it but not near enough,a day in this car on the Buller Gorge (West coast of South Isle NZ) would see me off happy.
anywhere with big natural walls around you, Buller Gorge, Arthurs Pass, Milford and growling exhaust jumping at you.
Old 22-08-2021, 09:07 AM   #108

Originally Posted by Tonz View Post
anywhere with big natural walls around you, Buller Gorge, Arthurs Pass, Milford and growling exhaust jumping at you.
Better in something with a 2 stroke Detroit on Jakes.

Old 22-08-2021, 09:18 AM   #109
slowsnake

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Or a Commer knocker, lol.....

Cheers Billy
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2021, 09:29 AM   #110
PooDog

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Preferably with a 12V71 up front

Au11 fairmont Ghia ported gt40p heads ,comp springs and locks
Xe 264 cam,custom intake,pacemaker tri y headers
524nm torque

19 Triton GSXR manual
PooDog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2021, 09:44 AM   #111

Originally Posted by PooDog View Post
Preferably with a 12V71 up front
Actually the 12-16s are a lot quieter than the 6s and 8s straight piped.

Old 22-08-2021, 09:47 AM   #112

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
Or a Commer knocker, lol.....

Cheers Billy
Pity they didn't have Jakes.