Old 05-06-2011, 06:19 PM   #91
sudszy

Default Re: Call to cut Luxury Car Tax on Australian-made vehicles

Originally Posted by geckoGT
You need some help with your comprehension skills, I never mentioned a ban on foreign cars. I just stated that LCT increases the cost of a new car over a second hand car.
No problems with my skills here, no, I never said you mentioned a ban on foreign cars, just that you logic was pointing to it, there's a difference.

The part you dont seem to comprehend is that increased prices of new cars due to import duties, lct or any other factors increases the price that can be demanded for 2nd hand cars. More people seek them, value goes up , supply and demand. also what you havent thought through is that there is not an unlimited supply for 2nd hand vehicles, bar a few, they all start of as new vehicles in this country.
sudszy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-06-2011, 06:24 PM   #92

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Originally Posted by sudszy
No problems with my skills here, no, I never said you mentioned a ban on foreign cars, just that you logic was pointing to it, there's a difference.

The part you dont seem to comprehend is that increased prices of new cars due to import duties, lct or any other factors increases the price that can be demanded for 2nd hand cars. More people seek them, value goes up , supply and demand. also what you havent thought through is that there is not an unlimited supply for 2nd hand vehicles, bar a few, they all start of as new vehicles in this country.
I am fully aware of the price increase through import duties etc, I just did not mention it as it is not the topic of the thread, but you seem to have to overcomplicate everything. Considering I have 2 imports in my driveway I should know.

I also am fully aware of the fact that all 2nd hand cars start off new but do you ever wonder why the new car market is suffering across all makes, particularly in the upper model ranges, do you think for a moment LCT may contribute to this, even just a little?
Old 05-06-2011, 06:30 PM   #93

So you think its ok, people that send their kids to private schools should get the whole $13000 grand handout from the government? Do you think that goes against the spirit of why education was made free for everyone?
No, I said they should get a tax deduction for taking their child out of the
publicly funded system and paying the school fees themselves, nothing more.
By that I mean an exemption on the tax they would normally pay earning the money for school fees.

State governments rely on private schools continuing because without them,
there isn't enough places for all kids at state schools, this is why private schools are given money...
Old 05-06-2011, 06:32 PM   #94
irish2

Originally Posted by ILLaViTaR
Lol and your mentality is to disregard the world and look out for number one??? That would be ok, if it wasn't at the expense of others.

People are born, grow up, work their life away all for a gold watch or a car, when you think about it they're just objects, especially a gold watch. Golds only worth something because someone decided it would be, not because it is. It's just a form of rock otherwise. You're taught into what you want, brainwashed.

No meaning whatsoever, unless you're religious.....

Just think about this for a second. If it wasn't for society, you either work or you die. It is that simple. I Believe in a fair days pay for a fair days work. That means making money for the boss. I am also part of a union.
irish2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-06-2011, 06:37 PM   #95

Originally Posted by irish2
Just think about this for a second. If it wasn't for society, you either work or you die. It is that simple. I Believe in a fair days pay for a fair days work. That means making money for the boss. I am also part of a union.
So you would be completely comfortable with the flood of 457A skilled migration visa immigrants
about to descend upon Australia and take jobs because employers refused to train enough apprentices...

Life is great until business finds a way to undercut you and the work you do, take look at the
fast food industry, they amortized leave, sick pay and converted most into casuals for a pittance rise.
Old 05-06-2011, 07:12 PM   #96
irish2

So you would be completely comfortable with the flood of 457A skilled migration visa immigrants
about to descend upon Australia and take jobs because employers refused to train enough apprentices...

Life is great until business finds a way to undercut you and the work you do, take look at the
fast food industry, they amortized leave, sick pay and converted most into casuals for a pittance rise.

I said a fair days pay for a fair days work. Not **** work for **** pay... The boss still has to be profitable for the business to be viable. I am happy to make more for the boss than I cost him, as that is how is has to work.
Old 05-06-2011, 08:07 PM   #97
xtremerus
FG XR6T trayback

Some posters seem to have "The tall poppy" syndrome here.
The logic that some-one can spend their own money on expensive cars seems to repulse them. They must pay more tax.

Why not extend this " Luxury " tax to other things.

You don't need a big plasma TV to watch TV.
Luxury tax anything over 80cm screen.

Don't need to have an iPhone, when a basic phone can make a call. Tax it more if you want one.

Extra tax on holidays. You must have made too much money working, if you can afford them.

The list can go on.

I just hope I am not giving the Socialists any more tax ideas for the future .
xtremerus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-06-2011, 08:51 PM   #98

Originally Posted by irish2
I said a fair days pay for a fair days work. Not **** work for **** pay... The boss still has to be profitable for the business to be viable. I am happy to make more for the boss than I cost him, as that is how is has to work.
Sorry mate, not having a go at you one bit but who judges that Fair days work for fair days pay?
I see a well known fabrication company is importing 400 Phillipino boilermakers into Aust.
on special contracts indentured for two years....

I see a lot of people slowly getting the shaft under the pretense of increased costs and
a desire for employers to reduce costs (employees).
I hate that idea, when you look at a precious resource like trained and skilled employees
as just another expense, it's corporate depersonalizing at its worst.

Funny thing is I have seen the very same thing done to a competitors work force a few years back
and it has all but destroyed their name and business so my hope is that corporate greed does not
overtake the intelligence of skilled and astute managers.

Last edited by jpd80; 05-06-2011 at 08:56 PM.
Old 05-06-2011, 09:43 PM   #99
irish2

Sorry mate, not having a go at you one bit but who judges that Fair days work for fair days pay?
I see a well known fabrication company is importing 400 Phillipino boilermakers into Aust.
on special contracts indentured for two years....

I see a lot of people slowly getting the shaft under the pretense of increased costs and
a desire for employers to reduce costs (employees).
I hate that idea, when you look at a precious resource like trained and skilled employees
as just another expense, it's corporate depersonalizing at its worst.

Funny thing is I have seen the very same thing done to a competitors work force a few years back
and it has all but destroyed their name and business so my hope is that corporate greed does not
overtake the intelligence of skilled and astute managers.
No offence was taken. I have seen work from phillipino boiler makers and it is shocking to say the least. The company that hired them lost multiple contracts and all credibility.
Old 05-06-2011, 11:18 PM   #100

Originally Posted by xtremerus
Some posters seem to have "The tall poppy" syndrome here.
The logic that some-one can spend their own money on expensive cars seems to repulse them. They must pay more tax.

Why not extend this " Luxury " tax to other things.

You don't need a big plasma TV to watch TV.
Luxury tax anything over 80cm screen.

Don't need to have an iPhone, when a basic phone can make a call. Tax it more if you want one.

Extra tax on holidays. You must have made too much money working, if you can afford them.

The list can go on.

I just hope I am not giving the Socialists any more tax ideas for the future .

According to some stupid 'study' or survey done not long ago luxury items these days are, espresso machine, ducted AC, a guest bedroom or a pool.
Soon they will have luxury tax on the above items

According to the Government(and some people here) the following cars are 'Luxury'
Chrysler Grand Voyager
Mazda CX9
Mini Cooper
Mitsubishi Pajero
Nissan Pathfinder
Nissan Patrol
Subaru Tribeca
Toyota Tarago
Toyota Prado
Toyota LandCusier

Few more I haven't included, but I do not see any of the above vehicles as a luxury car.
All of the cars I have listed cost $60,000 or more, in one or more model variant.
Old 06-06-2011, 12:41 AM   #101

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by DJR-351
I understand where you are coming from, but what does 100k buy you these days, it would not even get you a half arsed block of land in the trashiest suburb in suburbia....
The 100k figure was though of for two reasons.

1. No Aussie car sold now is over it.
2. Its a start. Trying to meet half way is a start. Having an all or nothing attitude to stuff like this will get us nowhere.
Old 06-06-2011, 12:51 AM   #102

Scrap all the protectionist crap once and for all. Let vehicles be sold here at thier true imported cost instead of protecting our car makers from the Big Bad World outside.
Old 06-06-2011, 12:52 AM   #103

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

According to some stupid 'study' or survey done not long ago luxury items these days are, espresso machine, ducted AC, a guest bedroom or a pool.
Soon they will have luxury tax on the above items

According to the Government(and some people here) the following cars are 'Luxury'
Chrysler Grand Voyager
Mazda CX9
Mini Cooper
Mitsubishi Pajero
Nissan Pathfinder
Nissan Patrol
Subaru Tribeca
Toyota Tarago
Toyota Prado
Toyota LandCusier

Few more I haven't included, but I do not see any of the above vehicles as a luxury car.
All of the cars I have listed cost $60,000 or more, in one or more model variant.
A lot more on that list, like a quarter of the listings on the back pages of Wheels Magazine. Like I said, $57k is not very luxury now.

By the way, no Mini attracts LCT as they all have fuel consumption less than 7L/100km.
Old 06-06-2011, 01:19 AM   #104

That list was quick selection of popular cars.
I wouldn't consider G6E, FPV, Holden Calais, Clubsports or any other cars like that as luxury cars.
BMW 1 Series Diesel is not really a luxury car.
Nissan 370z, Mitsu Evo and WRX STI are not really a luxury cars, more like a sports car.

Either way all the cars above are over 57k which means that would be hit with LCT.

Luxury cars in my head are BMW 7 Series. MB S-Class, Jaguars, Masserati's, RR Phantom, Bentley's, Range Rover Vouge.
Old 06-06-2011, 01:35 AM   #105

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by 2011G6E
Scrap all the protectionist crap once and for all. Let vehicles be sold here at thier true imported cost instead of protecting our car makers from the Big Bad World outside.
Yes why should we be like the rest of the world and protect our car industry.
Old 06-06-2011, 09:33 AM   #106

Agree about protecting our car industry but we are talking about Luxury cars, what is left to protect ? as someone mentioned above the Fairlane has gone and the Statesman is on shaky ground....

As for the G6E, two limo companies up here running V8 Fairlanes laugh at the idea of using what they see as nothing more than a tarted up taxi, or as one of the owners says "isn't that the new Fairmont", both these companies are long term V8 Fairlane buyers and both will soon be cycling them out for Euro's or waiting for the 2012 330C.....

Edit: Also i don't think the LCT was in anyway implemented to protect the local industry, it was and is just another govco cash grab....

Old 06-06-2011, 12:41 PM   #107
bobthebilda

Because no one has yet been able to come up with any credible figures to say that other countries (other than mainly developing countries), do infact protect their industries to the same extent as we do in Australia on a dollar per car basis. We protect the crap out of it, and yet 89% percent of australians still chose to buy foreign made cars.

What are we protecting it for, so 11% of Australians can buy a car that is not economically feasible?? Maybe we protect it so Holden can make a car and sell it here for $50,000 and they can then send the same car to the US and give it to US police Forces for $28,000. Wouldnt it be far more environmentally friendly just to send bundles of tax payers cash to your average american.

Last edited by bobthebilda; 06-06-2011 at 01:05 PM.
bobthebilda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-06-2011, 01:18 PM   #108
dimka100

I totally agree that the current 57K luxury tax threshold needs to be reviewed. There are plenty of genuine work (non luxury cars) easily exceeding that threshold – particularly many 4WDs and work utes, as well as many cheaper euro imports that are definitely not as “luxurious” as people preserve them to be …

Personally I feel that a 100K threshold would be far more representative of the realistic luxury car market.

As for helping the Australian manufacturers I feel the government needs to review the stamp duty tax. Lower it for Australian manufactured cars to 1% – 2% for NEW purchases ONLY, and that will surely make a difference.

Registration fees structure needs to be relooked at as well. Personally I feel its needs to be a matrix combining both vehicle weight categories and fuel consumption categories with 4 – 5 levels for each measure. Obviously the lighter and the more fuel efficient the car is the cheaper it should be to register. Currently we got the Falcon in the same bracket as the large and very heavy 4WDs .. that’s silly.
dimka100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-06-2011, 06:52 PM   #109

Originally Posted by bobthebilda
Because no one has yet been able to come up with any credible figures to say that other countries (other than mainly developing countries), do infact protect their industries to the same extent as we do in Australia on a dollar per car basis. We protect the crap out of it, and yet 89% percent of australians still chose to buy foreign made cars.

What are we protecting it for, so 11% of Australians can buy a car that is not economically feasible?? Maybe we protect it so Holden can make a car and sell it here for $50,000 and they can then send the same car to the US and give it to US police Forces for $28,000. Wouldnt it be far more environmentally friendly just to send bundles of tax payers cash to your average american.
Yes, that news item (which seemed to vanish quite quickly... ) that showed how little the Yanks were paying for the "Pontiac G8" compared to what we pay for an SS here opened a few peoples eyes...
I was reminded on this very forum of the questions that were asked when Ford did the same thing with the Capri some years back...it sold in the USA for a hell of a lot less than it was sold here.

I don't know why Falcon and Commodore are special cases for protection...we're constantly told that we have to "compete in an open world market" with our exports and also our product has to compete with other markets product sold here, and plenty of smaller all-Aussie companies have fallen on thier bum because the government refused to help them out in any way when they were beset by imports at a tiny percentage of thier price. What's so different about a car?

Servicing costs are not really a good indication...I've been reliably informed that the 6 speed auto in our G6E will, at a "full" flush and service, cost nearly a grand. How is that different to Mercedes or BMW, for example? One main reason services on those cars are expensive is that, because of protectionist taxes, they are seen as wholly and solely "luxury prestige cars", and dealerships have been set up to suit..."prestige service", when overseas they just turn up and get serviced like any other car.

Price anything high enough and it becomes a "luxury item", no matter how common it is in its home market...

Last edited by 2011G6E; 06-06-2011 at 06:58 PM.
Old 21-06-2011, 09:21 PM   #110

http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-new...621-1gd4w.html

Abolish the luxury car tax: Toyota
Barry Park
June 21, 2011 - 4:27PM

It’s time to stop hurting our buyers, Australia’s biggest-selling car brand claims.

Australia’s biggest-selling car brand today weighed into the fight against the federal government’s luxury car tax, labelling it inefficient, punitive and poorly designed.

According to Toyota Australia senior executive director sales and marketing David Buttner, the Japanese car maker is Australia’s biggest luxury car brand according to the tax, with Toyota models filling the top two places for cars slugged by the levy.

‘‘In 2010 the top two vehicles exceeding the Luxury Car Tax threshold were the Toyota Prado and LandCruiser with 15,423 and 7273 car sales respectively,’’ Mr Buttner said in a statement released today.
Advertisement: Story continues below

’’The current luxury car tax was introduced in 2000 and since then the price customers are prepared to pay for cars has risen,’’ he said.

‘‘However, the tax threshold has not kept pace and today customers have to pay an unfair tax on cars that exceed $57,466, a level that most people would not consider to be a luxury car.’’

Buyers are hit with a 33 per cent tax rate on the proportion of a car’s cost above the $57,466 threshold, compared with the normal 10 per cent GST paid on the portion of cost below the threshold.

In a concession to luxury car makers who invest in fuel-saving technologies, the tax rate threshold was recently raised to $75,375 for vehicles that use no more than 7.0 litres per 100 kilometres of fuel.

Porsche Australia recently showed how easy it was to bend the rules, with a $298,300 hybrid-engined version of its Panamera sports car costing about $5000 less if buyers spent $290 on optional ‘‘green’’ tyres that cut fuel use by 0.3L/100km and allowed it to slip below the 7.0L limit.

In another blow that appears to have prompted Toyota’s decision to weigh into the debate, the Australian Financial Review also revealed earlier this month that some buyers were flouting the tax by posing as wholesale car dealers, avoiding payment of ‘‘tens of thousands of dollars’’ at a time to government coffers.

However, Buttner also hit out at the tax for penalising buyers who customise their vehicles.

‘‘With an increasing number of accessories, such as roof racks, bullbars and tow bars available as vehicle extras, vehicles priced below or on the cusp of the luxury car tax threshold currently creep past the threshold once the accessories are added,’’ he said.

Toyota also claims the tax is discriminatory because it only applies to vehicles and not other luxury items.

‘‘Toyota Australia and the Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries have long opposed the luxury car tax on the basis that no other consumer product has an additional tax applied simply because the value of the product exceeds an arbitrary threshold.

‘‘Toyota Australia would like to see the luxury car tax abolished,’’ he said.

‘‘But if not, then at the very least, it should be fundamentally reformed to feature a more realistic threshold and to exclude low-emissions vehicles and parts and accessories from the tax.’’

Toyota’s luxury arm, Lexus, is also hard hit by the tax, with only the hybrid-engined RX450h soft-roader gaining a LCT advantage for its low fuel use.

Other hybrid models, including the V6-engined GS450h sedan and the V8-engined LS600hL limo have too high an average fuel use figure to slip in under the threshold, while the brand’s newest hybrid car — the Corolla-sized CT200h hatchback — is priced below the $57,466 benchmark.

Mercedes-Benz Australia has also hit out at the tax, controversially claiming that the federal government made more money out of each Benz-badged car it sold here than the car maker did.

The decade-old luxury car tax was introduced with the goods and services tax as a replacement for the complex wholesale tax that was phased out by the Howard Government.

It is pegged to inflation, so rises each year depending on the performance of the Australian economy.

It was raised from 25 to 33 per cent in 2008, and this financial year alone is expected to reap $580 million for Treasury.
Old 21-06-2011, 09:47 PM   #111
sudszy

^ Geez, listening to car manufacturers crying poor.....as funny as those nanny tobacco ads worrying about their poor customers

People willing spending a little more shouldnt be denied a little luxury......, that's why they call it a luxury car tax.
are people trying to tell us they cant get basic transport for less than $60000?
Old 23-06-2011, 08:49 PM   #112
ILLaViTaR

Originally Posted by drew`SEVNT5

If you are serious, then you need to put away the drab green uniform and the hat, comrade.

*edit*

Why are there lots of people in casual jobs? Because there skillset doesn't make them valuable enough to employers to keep.

I myself, have always had FULL TIME jobs, from the day I finished year 12. Started off with a traineeship, rewarded that employer with a few good years, then moved onto a higher job. Rinse and repeat. I do a casual job occasionaly, driving trucks for extra play money.

If you don't have the skillset to be useful enough for an employer to want to keep you, its your own fault.
Yeah mate I'm dead serious:

Can't hold my tongue any longer and the bad mood today isn't helping.

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...ghlight=sparky

That popped up a few days after my posts.

"Sick EB" Ive got a FG XR6t ute with leather seats that i use for work (sparky) and i dont want to wreck the seats.

"AUIIPURSUIT" hey champ, im a sparky too, and have leather in the au xr8

First 3 posts are from sparkies all going on about their leather seats in their turbo's XR8's and muscle cars, when the thread has nothing to do with trade vehicles and only leather seats, god knows howm any are traides. Are the extra 2 cylinders required because the I6 struggles to carry the weight of a few rolls of copper??

It all depends on how they use the vehicle though of course, if they claimed it as a base model and paid for the luxuries out of their own pockets and not societys (their tax) then that's fine. If the vehicle is for private and public use and the luxuries weren't partially deducted like the rest of the cost then that's fine. Stop playing ignorant the tax for a work vehicle not a *** perk vehicle.

This is the problem with the country, tax cheats. If they did it it right this country would have far far more money.

Idiot baby boomers raised into a life of resource whoring and greed, thinking they're entitled to everything. **** of and stop cheating the system, you're no better than dole bludgers.

Massive right wing views on this forum, anything that isn't is deemed as communist propaganda. Because centre field views are completely communist lol. It's more about the idea of looking after others and not stealing their entitlements (tax) from them so you can have elather seats. That somehow doesn't sound fair to you. That's your problem, and a big problem with society.
Old 23-06-2011, 10:12 PM   #113
xtremerus
FG XR6T trayback

You did have a bad day, didn't you Illavitar.

"First 3 posts are from sparkies all going on about their leather seats in their turbo's XR8's and muscle cars, when the thread has nothing to do with trade vehicles and only leather seats, god knows howm any are traides. Are the extra 2 cylinders required because the I6 struggles to carry the weight of a few rolls of copper??"

Ummm. They were answering about the OP
Not driving a GWM ute at work are you?

"It all depends on how they use the vehicle though of course, if they claimed it as a base model and paid for the luxuries out of their own pockets and not societys (their tax) then that's fine. If the vehicle is for private and public use and the luxuries weren't partially deducted like the rest of the cost then that's fine. Stop playing ignorant the tax for a work vehicle not a *** perk vehicle.

This is the problem with the country, tax cheats. If they did it it right this country would have far far more money."

You obviously don't work for yourself, or you would have a better understanding of the tax system. The cost of equipment does come from the tradies pocket, and not the tax payer. He get the tax break at the tax rate that he pays.It's not 'free' from the taxpayer. It is not tax cheating, as you claim.

"Idiot baby boomers raised into a life of resource whoring and greed, thinking they're entitled to everything. **** of and stop cheating the system, you're no better than dole bludgers."

The so-called Baby Boomers didn't have all the luxuries of today world. They invented, and made them, for themselves and future generations to enjoy. including yourself. You want to go back to 50's-60's technology, do you?

As to the OP, the work utes are under the LCT, so your post is meaningless, and more of envy.
xtremerus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2011, 10:46 PM   #114
Supercharged

All cars in the Holden Special Vehicles and Ford Performance Vehicles ranges – and Holden's top end Calais, SS and Caprice – are affected by the 33 per cent LCT.

Not all vehicles as Utes are exempt from LCT.

And remember: Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways - Beer in one hand - meat pie in the other - body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming "WOO-HOO, what a ride!!"
Supercharged is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2011, 12:13 AM   #115

^ Geez, listening to car manufacturers crying poor.....as funny as those nanny tobacco ads worrying about their poor customers

People willing spending a little more shouldnt be denied a little luxury......, that's why they call it a luxury car tax.
are people trying to tell us they cant get basic transport for less than $60000?
Trust sudszy to agree with government revenue raising.

But your right, people who are willing to pay more should get some luxury. But they pay the car company extra money for supplying them with a better car.

What's that got to do with the government? The government didn't do anything extra why should they make more tax because someone wants a decent car.
Old 24-06-2011, 02:48 AM   #116
sudszy

Trust sudszy to agree with government revenue raising.
Is it just authority that is your enemy Ben, or more specifically the present government?

Here's what I wrote earlier,http://www.fordforums.com.au/showpos...2&postcount=73
pity you couldnt offer something intellectual in response, and just play your low brow personal abuse card every time.

But they pay the car company extra money for supplying them with a better car.
and they end up with a better car

The government didn't do anything extra why should they make more tax because someone wants a decent car.
Geez Ben, next time you do some overtime and they take tax out, call up the government, tell em it was you that did the extra...not them, and they are thieving your money..... ...............
Old 24-06-2011, 10:08 AM   #117
GTP owner

Originally Posted by ILLaViTaR

This is the problem with the country, tax cheats. If they did it it right this country would have far far more money.

Idiot baby boomers raised into a life of resource whoring and greed, thinking they're entitled to everything. **** of and stop cheating the system, you're no better than dole bludgers.

Massive right wing views on this forum, anything that isn't is deemed as communist propaganda. Because centre field views are completely communist lol. It's more about the idea of looking after others and not stealing their entitlements (tax) from them so you can have elather seats. That somehow doesn't sound fair to you. That's your problem, and a big problem with society.
You seem to misunderstand the difference between a tax cheat (read: illegal) and tax minimisation. This is a classic error from someone who has all their tax taken out by their employer and does not have to think about actually running a business. Tax cheating is deliberately and illegally not paying a tax. eg. Lying about your actual income. The usual method is cash-in-hand jobs.
Tax minimisation is where you legally reduce how much tax you pay. Eg. taking $ directly out of your business and paying 35% corporate rate, or putting it into super and paying the lesser rate of tax (I don't remember the actual %). That way I have minimised the amount of tax i have paid - and it is legal. As a business I can choose any car I want, but I will be penalised unfairly if I go a more expensive one. If however I was an abalone diver and wanted to buy a much more expensive and luxurious boat, there is no "luxury tax" on that purchase...
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2011, 04:20 PM   #118

Geez Ben, next time you do some overtime and they take tax out, call up the government, tell em it was you that did the extra...not them, and they are thieving your money..... ...............

Well you already pay income tax.

After being taxed about 40% of your income, you finally have enough money to buy a nice car..... then the government comes and sticks their nose in and charges another 30% tax on the price of your car.

Everyone already pays heaps of income tax, then the 10% GST, then you pay rego which is basically another form of tax. then when driving you pay tax on the fuel you buy, then you think its ok for them to add LCT?

I know all governments tax people, but come on, Enough,is enough. LCT is nothing but a quick and easy cash grab.
Old 24-06-2011, 08:53 PM   #119
sudszy

Originally Posted by GTP owner
You seem to misunderstand the difference between a tax cheat (read: illegal) and tax minimisation. This is a classic error from someone who has all their tax taken out by their employer and does not have to think about actually running a business. Tax cheating is deliberately and illegally not paying a tax. eg. Lying about your actual income. The usual method is cash-in-hand jobs.
Tax minimisation is where you legally reduce how much tax you pay. Eg. taking $ directly out of your business and paying 35% corporate rate, or putting it into super and paying the lesser rate of tax (I don't remember the actual %). That way I have minimised the amount of tax i have paid - and it is legal. As a business I can choose any car I want, but I will be penalised unfairly if I go a more expensive one. If however I was an abalone diver and wanted to buy a much more expensive and luxurious boat, there is no "luxury tax" on that purchase...
Cmon GTP, you know the point Illivatar is making, people are getting an unfair break in claiming cars for business, it may be legal atm, but rorting it certainly is.

Hadnt thought about it before, but the rest of us subsidising a vehicle that supposedly is a plumbers ute, but comes with a v8, leather interior and all the other goodies is just robbing the rest of us.

I wouldnt have any trady in a frigging hotted up ute doing any work for me, based on how that alone, and because I want real tradies, not posers.
Old 24-06-2011, 08:58 PM   #120
GTP owner

Cmon GTP, you know the point Illivatar is making, people are getting an unfair break in claiming cars for business, it may be legal atm, but rorting it certainly is.

Hadnt thought about it before, but the rest of us subsidising a vehicle that supposedly is a plumbers ute, but comes with a v8, leather interior and all the other goodies is just robbing the rest of us.

I wouldnt have any trady in a frigging hotted up ute doing any work for me, based on how that alone, and because I want real tradies, not posers.
You are in no way subsidising that vehicle. They pay for it, then pay again with LCT.
Your thought pattern in regards a tradie in an FPV ute should also apply to surgeons and doctors - ie that you would not be treated by one that drives a Porsche. Ahem. So you look for the one driving a 1982 XE falcon right? I personally would avoid them like the plague as they are very likely poor at what they do, and their remuneration mirrors their abilities
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post