08-11-2020, 06:59 AM | #91 | |||
a bull bar and driving lights,even though they never travel at night),maybe an extra spare wheel. Last edited by Tassie f100; 08-11-2020 at 07:14 AM. |
This user likes this post: |
08-11-2020, 09:37 AM | #92 | ||
have you thought about getting the 4X4 you want and having the GCM changed ?
but by adding a second rear axle and turing it in to a 4X6 https://6x6australia.com.au/ Since 1984 we have been constantly improving our systems to the point where now we offer GVM’s up to 8,000 kg’s and currently are working on the gap between 8,000 and 15,000 kg’s niche market. https://www.bossaluminium.com.au/pro...x6-conversion/
yes still (as money n time permit) doing the rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually just remember don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !! |
08-11-2020, 10:09 AM | #93 | |||
Keep coming across this WB ute which has a second rear axle doing the rounds around Melbourne's northern suburbs |
08-11-2020, 10:40 AM | #94 | ||
There is a secondhand 6x2 Mazda BT50 on Gumtree for $25,999 with 100,000kms in Victoria. You would have to check its weight certification. I'm guessing over time there will be more variety in 6 wheelers such as 6x6.
Last edited by Swordie; 08-11-2020 at 10:45 AM. |
08-11-2020, 11:21 AM | #95 | ||
08-11-2020, 11:22 AM | #96 | ||
08-11-2020, 11:46 AM | #97 | |||
08-11-2020, 12:39 PM | #98 | ||
08-11-2020, 12:40 PM | #99 | ||
I can see that, with the RAM 2500 post.
08-11-2020, 12:52 PM | #100 | ||
Might as well go the whole hog.
08-11-2020, 01:05 PM | #102 | ||
08-11-2020, 01:17 PM | #103 | ||
praek tih kl jo kr
Unfortunately this set up is not legal in Australia, I had looked at this set up before.
Apart from being more than a modest house in the Perth suburbs, the truck is 2.6mtr wide, which is ok in the states as they had a width increase in the 70's, the Smart car on the back being a W451 is 2.6mtrs long and I would say the 5th wheel would also take advantage of the width regulations , we are still limited to 2.5mtrs Plus there are all the other problems like where are you going to park it and what caravan parks will allow you to come in I had a similar idea, with a tail lift on the back of the canter, as the Smart only weighs in at 700kg, also the W450 (1st Gen) I have is 2.5mtr and a smidge, my W451 (2nd Gen) like the one in the picture is 2.6mtr so I cant use it . With the slide on camper I could carry around the Smart car on the tail lift as a run around . |
08-11-2020, 01:25 PM | #104 | |||
08-11-2020, 01:36 PM | #105 | ||
08-11-2020, 01:55 PM | #106 | |||
seed, you might like this site........https://www.truckconversion.net/forums/
08-11-2020, 02:04 PM | #107 | ||
I believe the caravan is already sorted, hence the need for a capable tow vehicle.
08-11-2020, 02:06 PM | #108 | |||
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/fren...991/1257527619 unfortunately like most modified vehicles (and a certain ltd) second hand they dont usually keep there value , just maybe another avenue if looking round and manage to find the right combination/situation/timing
yes still (as money n time permit) doing the rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually just remember don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !! Last edited by wodahs; 08-11-2020 at 02:18 PM. |
08-11-2020, 02:17 PM | #109 | ||
Nice cheap, Unimog locally to me for sale atm.
08-11-2020, 02:19 PM | #110 | ||
can never have too many options to choose from
some thing may tickle his goat
yes still (as money n time permit) doing the rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually just remember don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !! |
08-11-2020, 02:38 PM | #111 | |||
Same thing happened after 911 attacks everyone stopped travelling OS and started buying RV's until they saw some of the places they were forced to stay at.
08-11-2020, 03:53 PM | #112 | |||
08-11-2020, 06:17 PM | #113 | |||
Ramps attached to the side?? The second generation smart was a smidge under 2.7m long. Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
08-11-2020, 06:55 PM | #114 | |||
and then throwing up aw they are too expensive or that wont do Sh!t that was just the first i came across doing a quick search to throw an idea like you guys had he may find a cheap XXX 2x6/4x6/6x6 second hand looking round or may find a cheap vehicle thats worth the conversion and may still fall in to costs , its just more ideas out side the box the main point was there are other ways to get the GCM upgraded
yes still (as money n time permit) doing the rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually just remember don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !! Last edited by wodahs; 08-11-2020 at 07:02 PM. |
08-11-2020, 07:24 PM | #115 | ||
Ive driven (in drivers seat) a series 11 LWB for over 1000 k in one day, mind you it also had a nice V8 holden dock and 6 speed auto box all reg and SA road worthy. that was pulling more than skin off a rice pudding
08-11-2020, 08:22 PM | #116 | ||
Here's a 6x6 1990 Land Rover 110 with 4cyl Isuzu 3.9L TD currently up for auction. Just another example of what's around.
https://www.graysonline.com/lot/0023...-army?spr=true An article on 6 wheelers below. If you get into one of these check if a standard car licence will cover you for the weight planned to be towed around. https://www.carsguide.com.au/tradies...versions-80445 |
08-11-2020, 09:01 PM | #117 | ||
That 6x6 conversion in the ad said pricing starts at $50k and that did not include the tray or anything else a bit rich for me ,hopefully can get away from work sometime and go and check out a awd isuzu,spoke to the dealer who got me a bit worried about the awd apparently only works when the rear wheels lose traction so not sure how that would work in sand,getting some pricing on a 4x4 option as well and the cost to get them to ride ok as well(super singles etc ) but gets up there real quick.The other option I am looking at is the pre 06 7.3l f250 but mostly high Kms and $s to match but at least it's got 8 cylinders and a ford badge .The Certain ltd is going to be parted out if it does sell shortly .
08-11-2020, 09:03 PM | #118 | |||
praek tih kl jo kr
On the internet they list the 451 as 2.69 mtr, but with a tape measure I get 2.6 on the nose ( car could have been shortened against something at some stage? ), the 450 listed on the net as 2.5mtr, but again with a tape measure I get 2.53mtr, I dont think I would get pulled for 15mm a side with the 450, but I dont think I should push it with the 50mm a side in the 451, might get stuck with having to unload it in the middle of nowhere and get it back home . Last edited by prktkljokr; 08-11-2020 at 09:12 PM. |
08-11-2020, 09:22 PM | #119 | |||
picture a cork screw for easy explanation then (there can be both electronic lock and mechanical lock set ups for this) rears spin and fronts dont the cork screw can screw in and engage the front rotating it rears drive and push the vehicle forwards keeping the fronts rotating faster than the cork screw so it cant wind in to engage can be utilised for some of road work but not so suitable for sand more useful on road or hard track where you cant bog but can slip so fronts start pulling whist rear slip a bit