You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: What engine would you rather in an XY?
351, worked, 500hp 98 62.82%
turbo 4L OHC, 500hp 41 26.28%
other: please specify 17 10.90%
Voters: 156. You may not vote on this poll

Old 19-11-2007, 11:53 PM   #91
Jase
-Village Idiot-

BBlock+fuel Prices = :(
Old 20-11-2007, 12:02 AM   #92

If you want something a little different why not a 351 Windsor.

I know
A Chev motor, really cause a stir lol
Old 20-11-2007, 12:35 AM   #93
V3RSAC3
... Fear it!

sit it on chromies and make it look unoriginal and you will get the looks and approval from your mates and other young blokes ... although, alot of the older generations will think ur a tool! i how ever, haven't made up my mid until i see the final project!

good luck with it anyway!
Chrysler 300C Sedan
SY Territory Ghia
Old 20-11-2007, 12:37 AM   #94
Cooper69S

Originally Posted by stockoau
Funny enough, I was going to suggest a turbo rotary. He said he wants different
haha - he can line up at the drags next to a mazda roadpacer. anyone remember the 13b powered holden kingswood sold by mazda in 1976 or thereabouts? hilarious.
Old 20-11-2007, 12:45 AM   #95
SPK-250

I voted for a 500hp 4 litre. But my train of thought would be that thats at the wheels. It will make any worked 351 look like.............well a worked 351. Cant argue with 1500nm at the wheels either : .
Not many people on here would have heard a turbocharged lumpy 6 with a 2 inch screamer pipe! Now that means tough!

WHO CARES WHAT OTHER PEOPLE THINK!!
Old 20-11-2007, 01:13 AM   #96
private9
www.TUFFCARPARTS.com

Originally Posted by TomXY
apparently its not that hard to get 1000nm out of a turbo xflow? how many 351's have that much?
If you're talking about figures from a chassis dyno (tractive effort) then it means SFA mate.

I have a 4l turbo, and while I love it, there's no way that I'd have the same motor in an XY. IMO the 4l cannot possibly compare to a decent 351 for sound and ambience. I'd dare say you may even get the clevo done cheaper than an equivalent power 4lt conversion, turbo, ecu etc etc.
Old 20-11-2007, 02:02 AM   #97
2smooth
xygtho

why not rebuild the 250 2v strong and turbo that.
2v aren't easy to come buy these days.
Old 20-11-2007, 10:43 AM   #98
ms700
Big Member

Worked 351, stroke it, and chuck a Vortech blower on it for good measure. V8 rumble, with enough grunt to blow the majority of 6T's away.

500hp? Nah, with that combo, 1000hp will be achievable. And its been done.

Tuned by GENTECH 567rwkw/760rwhp

BA XR6T Tuned by GENTECH 349rwkw.

2013 H/D Nightrod Special - DynoJet PowerVision tuned.
Old 20-11-2007, 10:45 AM   #99
ms700
Big Member

Originally Posted by TomXY
apparently its not that hard to get 1000nm out of a turbo xflow? how many 351's have that much?
Quite a few.....

Old 20-11-2007, 10:50 AM   #100

Originally Posted by ms700
Worked 351, stroke it, and chuck a Vortech blower on it for good measure. V8 rumble, with enough grunt to blow the majority of 6T's away.

500hp? Nah, with that combo, 1000hp will be achievable. And its been done.
Geez... i love how figures get plucked out of the air..!
for starters he's a 17 y/o student looking to take on his first project and you're telling him to build a 1000hp turbo stroker cleveland???? there's probably 25K in the motor alone before you get around power and licence restrictions, driveline, safety.. etc etc..

Old 20-11-2007, 10:54 AM   #101
ms700
Big Member

Geez... i love how figures get plucked out of the air..!
for starters he's a 17 y/o student looking to take on his first project and you're telling him to build a 1000hp turbo stroker cleveland???? there's probably 25K in the motor alone before you get around power and licence restrictions, driveline, safety.. etc etc..
No, not turbo stroker, supercharged stroker.

Earlier he was talking about 6 cyl x flows making 1000nm, well to build a 6cyl engine to make that sorta torque wont be exactly cheap either!

Old 20-11-2007, 11:04 AM   #102

Originally Posted by TEaaron
Crap VL's? I've seen street VL turbo's running high 8's - low 9's, what does your 302 run?
C16 Fuel or Avgas is not street legal, nor are MT Streets (esp in vic!)...

Although i have respect to VL's that run those insanely fast times, im sure you would be aware that the moment these cars that are setup to run the 8s and 9s placed one tyre on public road they would be canaried quicker than you can say it!

Tom have you thought about what something like this will actually cost??? I hope you are not into women, or going out with mates.
Maybe setting yourself up with a more realistic goal will allow you to be cruising by the time your 18 not 28!
Old 20-11-2007, 11:07 AM   #103
SPK-250

Originally Posted by ms700
No, not turbo stroker, supercharged stroker.

Earlier he was talking about 6 cyl x flows making 1000nm, well to build a 6cyl engine to make that sorta torque wont be exactly cheap either!
6 cyl's make that at the wheels on near on dead stock internals. I fella i know has just got one together in a TE and it made just over 300rwkw and 1017nm atw.

Correct me if i'm wrong but 300rwkw's converts to just over 500hp at the engine, all with a stock 250 with a turbo grind cam.

Sure the turbo, computer, injectors etc will cost a bit, but no more than 5 g's for quality gear.

My best mate has a clevo in his XE and it makes around 450 engine hp. He had to spend the best part of around $15,000 to get there.

When my 250 gets running in a few weeks it will make 350+rwkw's and around 1400nm at the wheels. Total outlay so far, around $3200.

It's not as expensive as most people assume.
Old 20-11-2007, 11:10 AM   #104

Originally Posted by TZENU
Tom have you thought about what something like this will actually cost??? I hope you are not into women, or going out with mates.
Maybe setting yourself up with a more realistic goal will allow you to be cruising by the time your 18 not 28!
Well said, a nice XY GS replica with a 350 holley on a 250 2V would make an awesome project and first car, no engineers certificate needed or rego issues, sensible reliable engine and power output seeing its your first car and guess what, it probably wouldnt cost the earth to build and would probably go up in value too!

Old 20-11-2007, 11:13 AM   #105
XCSEDAN
i'm baaaack....

There's more to a car than just hp. The 4L turbo would produce the 500hp at a lower rpm (depending on cam and how much boost) therefore more torque. Not to mention less weight.
change the diff gears in the N/A v8 and you have a potent jump off the line.
i don't think tom realises how much power 500hp is.... nor the amount of torque either could produce.

I'm not saying the 351 clevo is **** i'm just sick of people thinking somthing is crap because it's different.
he asked for peoples opinions and got them.... your issue is that others ipions aren't the same as yours?

by the way tom, you could build a turbo v8 for probably.... 8K and have a GOOD setup making 250rwkw+ and probably up round 500ft/lbs of torque (flywheel measurement)

there's a couple of guys on here with turbo 351s...
Old 20-11-2007, 11:17 AM   #106
apolloxbgt
cross breeder

Originally Posted by SPK-250

When my 250 gets running in a few weeks it will make 350+rwkw's and around 1400nm at the wheels. Total outlay so far, around $3200.

/In Jerry McGuire voice "SHOW ME THE DYNO SHEET"

If you can get 350rkw out of a 250 for $3200 , I'll put one in my gt coupe
Get a grip.

I sold a toploader to a guy I asked him what is was going into and he told me a corty with a 250,he told me that the car was going to have enough power once the 250 was built to blah blah blah.
Seen it at the spring nats about a year later in the burn out comp,he couldn't manage more than a chirp out of the heap of ,and got boo and laughed out of the pad.

Moral of the story,don't count you kw's until you've had it dyno'd.

Last edited by apolloxbgt; 20-11-2007 at 11:23 AM.
Old 20-11-2007, 11:17 AM   #107

Well said, a nice XY GS replica with a 350 holley on a 250 2V would make an awesome project and first car, no engineers certificate needed or rego issues, sensible reliable engine and power output seeing its your first car and guess what, it probably wouldnt cost the earth to build and would probably go up in value too!
And what state does he live in, are there not laws preventing installation of either?

Id have a 6 until I was off my P's, and then in the mean time I would be building an 8 on the side. There are other things to be spending this kind of cash on when your 18!
Old 20-11-2007, 11:19 AM   #108
XCSEDAN
i'm baaaack....

Yep there's a guy on this forum making 1320nm from 15psi out of his turbo Xflow.

Can't remember his name it was an XF though
was that at the rear wheels? in that case it meens didly squat imo
seriously high number from the flywheel...

Last edited by XCSEDAN; 20-11-2007 at 11:26 AM.
Old 20-11-2007, 12:21 PM   #109
SPK-250

Originally Posted by apolloxbgt

/In Jerry McGuire voice "SHOW ME THE DYNO SHEET"

If you can get 350rkw out of a 250 for $3200 , I'll put one in my gt coupe
Get a grip.

I sold a toploader to a guy I asked him what is was going into and he told me a corty with a 250,he told me that the car was going to have enough power once the 250 was built to blah blah blah.
Seen it at the spring nats about a year later in the burn out comp,he couldn't manage more than a chirp out of the heap of ,and got boo and laughed out of the pad.

Moral of the story,don't count you kw's until you've had it dyno'd.
You do realise mine is turbocharged? and i did say $3200 so far. By the time i'm done i'll have spent around the $5000 mark. I will gladly put my dyno result up when i get one. At first though it will only have around 270-280 as i'll run out of fuel pump which i'll have to install a 2nd pump or one bigger all together.

Sorry for getting off of topic TomXY. You should just do what you want! Who cares what everyone else thinks. If you have the time and motovation, then get stuck into it!!
Old 20-11-2007, 12:22 PM   #110
Boosh Brus

6 cyl's make that at the wheels on near on dead stock internals. I fella i know has just got one together in a TE and it made just over 300rwkw and 1017nm atw.

Correct me if i'm wrong but 300rwkw's converts to just over 500hp at the engine, all with a stock 250 with a turbo grind cam.

Sure the turbo, computer, injectors etc will cost a bit, but no more than 5 g's for quality gear.

My best mate has a clevo in his XE and it makes around 450 engine hp. He had to spend the best part of around $15,000 to get there.

No offence but your friend got ripped.

Trick and Mansweto who are known for being expensive are guaranteeing 450hp and running 11.5 in 3500lb car for $10k. (this is taken from a ad in the latest Street Fords)

Also heres a quote from Pavteks website:
"3V" GOLD PRO 393 CLEVELAND ( 600 HP )
Long engine package reduced to $12,950 - for orders taken this month only ( October 07 )

A Saving of $500 this month only.

When you run 11s in your 250 then I'll believe your dyno figures.
Old 20-11-2007, 12:38 PM   #111
apolloxbgt
cross breeder

You do realise mine is turbocharged? and i did say $3200 so far. By the time i'm done i'll have spent around the $5000 mark. I will gladly put my dyno result up when i get one. At first though it will only have around 270-280 as i'll run out of fuel pump which i'll have to install a 2nd pump or one bigger all together.
So your story changes.

First you said 350rwkw for $3200,now your saying 270 for $5k,umm,WTF?????

I've spent $250 so far on my clevo,but it will make 800rwkw in 2 weeks,oh wait maybe it will make 600 rwkw untill I can afford the molecular crystal as it runs out of clean molecules at high revs.

Can I come and live in your world :lookedat:
Old 20-11-2007, 12:55 PM   #112
SPK-250

So your story changes.

First you said 350rwkw for $3200,now your saying 270 for $5k,umm,WTF?????

I've spent $250 so far on my clevo,but it will make 800rwkw in 2 weeks,oh wait maybe it will make 600 rwkw untill I can afford the molecular crystal as it runs out of clean molecules at high revs.

Can I come and live in your world :lookedat:
Dude why you getting angry?? And dont tell me your not either or else you wouldn't have written all this junk up here about molecules and stuff.

My story never changed! Maybe you should take some time and consideration into reading other peoples posts more dilligently!!?? Just a thought

Form a handful of post's back:
Originally Posted by myself
Total outlay so far, around $3200.
Originally Posted by henry_buckle
No offence but your friend got ripped.

Trick and Mansweto who are known for being expensive are guaranteeing 450hp and running 11.5 in 3500lb car for $10k. (this is taken from a ad in the latest Street Fords)

Also heres a quote from Pavteks website:
"3V" GOLD PRO 393 CLEVELAND ( 600 HP )
Long engine package reduced to $12,950 - for orders taken this month only ( October 07 )

A Saving of $500 this month only.

When you run 11s in your 250 then I'll believe your dyno figures.
Sorry about that figure mate. I forget to include trans work and converter into that too.

Out of interest does the Pavtek engine come with a carby, fuel system and ignitio? I reckon it probably wouldn't so there is probably another $1000-$2000 on top.

Oh and i'm aiming straight for 10's. 450-500hp in a car that weighs 2900lbs.

Last edited by SPK-250; 20-11-2007 at 01:00 PM.
Old 20-11-2007, 01:03 PM   #113
Boosh Brus

Sorry about that figure mate. I forget to include trans work and converter into that too.

Out of interest does the Pavtek engine come with a carby, fuel system and ignitio? I reckon it probably wouldn't so there is probably another $1000-$2000 on top.

Oh and i'm aiming straight for 10's
I believe it does come with carby and full ignition. But your right a lot more money gets spent on the drive train to hold that kind of power down reliably.

Good luck on the 10s, make sure your internals are strong.
Old 20-11-2007, 01:15 PM   #114
apolloxbgt
cross breeder

Dude why you getting angry?? And dont tell me your not either or else you wouldn't have written all this junk up here about molecules and stuff.
Not anger,disbelief .
My story never changed! Maybe you should take some time and consideration into reading other peoples posts more dilligently!!?? Just a thought
Reread your own post,maybe you should word it so it doesn't sound as though you can build a 250ci Falcon engine with 350rwkw for $3200,and then back pedal and say that it won't come close to that power figure for $2k more than you said in the first place.

It's all fairyland stuff atm though,when you run a 10 is when I won't be a skeptic anymore.
Old 20-11-2007, 01:39 PM   #115
SPK-250

Not anger,disbelief .

Reread your own post,maybe you should word it so it doesn't sound as though you can build a 250ci Falcon engine with 350rwkw for $3200,and then back pedal and say that it won't come close to that power figure for $2k more than you said in the first place.

It's all fairyland stuff atm though,when you run a 10 is when I won't be a skeptic anymore.
Originally Posted by myself
A few key words in there.

"WHEN" as in my car is not running yet, but soon will be.

"TOTAL OUTLAY SO FAR" as in i have spent $3200 to get my car to the point it is and i'll have to spend a further amount of money to turn "WHEN" into "IS".

It choose not to go to 350kw to start off with due to things like running in, sorting out etc etc and once that is done it "WILL" make over 350rwkw's.

Is it so hard to believe?
Old 20-11-2007, 01:40 PM   #116
SPK-250

Also running a 10 might be a little hard for me at the moment as you need a drag strip to do that. :
Old 20-11-2007, 02:08 PM   #117

BOOSTED I6 FTW - Would certainly get my attention - You expect every XY to be a V8 -
Old 20-11-2007, 03:10 PM   #118
T-BOOST
Blue Power enhanced

If you're even considering anything other than a cleveland or windsor in an XY : than you might as well go the whole "ricer" route and include a Rotary in your equation...
oh.. and some Kenwood stickers too... :Reverend:
Just because someone might have a turbo doesn't mean the cars a ricer!
If thats the case the whole new Ford line up is just ricer cars is it???
Turbo Falcons (sedan/ute), Focus, Mondeo and Territory. Nearly every model has one.
The word ricer is so missused these days!

I do think you should go the V8. But it depends on what your going for.
If you want something differant go the turbo. The V8 will probably sell better when the day comes though.

also selling my C.A.P.A tune box

pics of my Turbo Ghia are here
EGO TTG
Dont forget to rate it :
Old 20-11-2007, 03:15 PM   #119

If you're even considering anything other than a cleveland or windsor in an XY : than you might as well go the whole "ricer" route and include a Rotary in your equation...
oh.. and some Kenwood stickers too... :Reverend:

rotaries are ricers? your mums a ricer - plenty of Rotaries street registered that would pass you like you were standing still -

Rice - I think not
Old 20-11-2007, 03:22 PM   #120
FlipXW

Originally Posted by gozza
rotaries are ricers? your mums a ricer - plenty of Rotaries street registered that would pass you like you were standing still -

Rice - I think not
I think he was refering to putting a Rotery in an XY would be rice. The key point was turbos dont belong in XY falcons.