Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
#91 | ||
OK - I own a turbo xr6 and I tried running it on e85 - the result was awful, the car ran very poorly, idle went all screwed up and power went down by heaps easily noticeable drop, at the same time it was drinking the fuel like it was going out of fashion. No it was not re-tuned for e85 I must say but it proves that if nothing else the cam and injection timings need to be altered to use it most effectively. I do not run ethanol blended fuel in my car as I have stated the car doesn't run good on it and it uses lots more of it, and in my area its only 10cpl cheaper at best, when you using 25/30% more that costs you more to run your car.
on the subject of governments pushing it (e85) lets say we find an easy way to adjust cars so they run good on it. We are all going to be using more litres to cover the same distance, last time I checked GST is charged per litre fuel purchased, not per km travellled. It becomes highly profitable having us using 80L/100kms over what we use now (around 18L/100 for a thirsty vehicle) all this talk of saving the environment and reducing CO2 emissions is a steaming stinky pile of rancid <X> if this was the agenda Stanley Meyers' system would be available in the open arena for all auto manufacturers and the public at large to scrutinize, does it work?? thing is nobody knows as the man passed away, his car and his legacy has been suppressed as it will destroy revenue streams - we can't have this just ask them. Also our fuel does not come from the Arabs, it comes from Singapore. So the money we pay for fuel does not go to the Arabs. save the environment my backside.
#92 | ||
dunno about stanley meyers, Eugene Mallove is more interesting
#93 | |||
#94 | ||
For outright performance E85 is the bomb!!! When properly tuned, especially on a vehicle with forced indution it will pi$$ all over 98. Guys in the states with Evos are now rebuilding their motors with 13.1 even 14.1 compression and still screwing 20+psi out of them to take advantage of the octane rating this fuel delivers. And yes like Daniel said, at compression figures like these the motor is much more efficient narrowing the fuel consumption gap between 98 and e85 further.
These threads are an excellent read from the skyline forums about tuning results with e85. http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/for...5-t239271.html http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/for...&mode=threaded |
#95 | |||
BA2 XR8 Rapid M6 Ute - Lid - Tint -18s 226.8rwkW@178kmh/537Nm@140kmh 1/9/2013 14.2@163kmh 23/10/2013 Boss349 built. Not yet run. Waiting on a shell. Retrotech thread http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...1363569&page=6 |
#96 | |||
#97 | |||
I didn't see a sign saying that Diesel is "not compatible with all cars"... yet, most of know not to put it in an petrol car....
#98 | |||
When I put my new cam in, I put 20L of Ultimate in my car. I gave it a start, and an idle, took it for a quick spin and then had it towed to where it was getting tuned. In the 15 minutes of idling, and a not even 5km drive, the power was down to the point of being dangerous, I ran out of fuel (yes, 20L) fouled my car, plugs and oxy sensor. All this becuase the car wasnt tuned for it. But I didnt blame the fuel I used. Im not by any means having a go at you, just saying that it really isnt the E85's fault that your car isnt tuned for it.
#99 | ||
Unsafe @ any Speed
For those who want to know.
E85 @ 2 sites in Adelaide now. United @ Seaton, Tapleys Hill Rd United @ Park Holme, Marion rd.
EBII Fairmont 4.0L NA - 206rwkw E85 cocktail === 13.48@102mph Thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11334087 By HEINRICH PERFORMANCE & TUNING E Series Falcon Image Museum on FB https://www.facebook.com/pages/E-Ser...29864000453208 |
#100 | ||
well i would've thought that it is illigal to allow the public to put e85 into a petrol tank without a sign explaining the compatability .
i could be wrong but i dont think you can fill a petrol car up with diesol due to the nozzle size it's impossible . in any case there should be some idiot proof < cat 600 heres your chance to ridicule me again - setup so that cross fueling by mistake cant happen . |
#101 | ||
Unsafe @ any Speed
It is possible to fill a petrol car with diesel & vice versa.
See it all the time.
EBII Fairmont 4.0L NA - 206rwkw E85 cocktail === 13.48@102mph Thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11334087 By HEINRICH PERFORMANCE & TUNING E Series Falcon Image Museum on FB https://www.facebook.com/pages/E-Ser...29864000453208 |
#102 | |||
Well, most people use common sense, every petrol flap has a sign to tell you what fuel to use.
#103 | ||
Geez Louize , I knew there were some idiots about but I didn't expect them to be on a Ford forum - just goes to show not all bogans drive Holdens - at least a couple on here are in XR6Ts and FPVs. Sad really. It seems we have to have a sign for everything to make it idiot-proof. WARNING, do not put water in your fuel tank even though the tap is right there on the driveway and it is free.
CAT600> Thanks for your balanced, informed and accurate posts. Oh, and even a bit of humour thrown in. |
#104 | ||
FFS. I think we have more than a few twisted up frustrated whinges here who need to take a few chill pills too.
i dont need to comment on common sense this is just a farquing forum . pretty sure i could show many people here a thing or 2 , as well as learn . judging on the net is effing disgracefull , and i see it here in just about every thread . this is a forum . not a rubbishing pit . i'm quickly starting to get over this place it's wrought with ridicule . |
#105 | |||
I miss my wheelbarrow
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
mrbaXR6t, if you were fooled/duped into thinking it was a straight "swap" fuel then I feel for you, but even if the servo does not advertise the fuel as "application-specific", you still need to do your homework prior to ASSUMING that the fuel would be ok. The analogy of filling up a diesl car with petrol and vice-versa is a fair point and the only thing that is different is that peoples exposure/knowledge of Diesel is much greater than E85. Daniel |
#106 | ||
GTX Turbo & KB Blown
Just read this from start to finish and T3Man great post.
CAT600 excellent contribution too... as always. My previous car was a Nizpro Stage 2 XR6 Turbo and I ran it on the (available at the time) 100RON Shell fuel (346rwkw). If it was available where I am now I would still be using it, even in my G6E Turbo. Yes it uses slightly more fuel but when tuned it is the absolute madman. I knew that 2 years ago when I had XR6T tuned... how this now cannot be common knowledge around performance circles is just BEYOND me. Some of the posts here are just funny. I was using E10 in my G6 until 98 became cheaper (during the GFC) but have switched back now because the only difference I can physically see is it averages just over 1L per 100k's and it's 20c or so cheaper per Litre. Do the math, it doesn't add up. And my current car isn't even tuned for it. Get a tune and away you go. And just for the record my Niz XR averaged under 12L per 100k's with an average speed less than 40kp/h. It is the future. To say that it isn't is just falacy.
465.6rwkw not a 10 @ 134.81 MPH SNOW WHITE 2004 BA FPV PURSUIT 2.6L Kenne Bell Brembos all round Twin Screw Awesomeness Supported, serviced and tuned by BLUEPOWER RACING DEVELOPMENTS http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11354744 |
#107 | ||||||
||||||
#108 | |||
#109 | |||
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
Real cars are not driven by front wheels,real cars lift them!!... BABYS ARE BOTTLE FED, REAL MEN GET BLOWN. Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! Dart 330ci block turbo black pearl EBXR8 482 rwkw.. Daily driver GTE FG.. Projects http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=107711 http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...8+turbo&page=4 |
#110 | |||
I miss my wheelbarrow
Daniel |
#111 | |||
#112 | ||
bagasse, isn't that a disease??
#113 | |||
makes sense . thanks . clarafies things . E-85 is a very new fuel to the public . i wonder now where we we'll end up as far as general motering goes . up untill now you could put petrol of almost any type in most general petrol powered vehicles . e-85 seems to stand on it's own . even from e-10 . will e-85 remain a performance based fuel far over and above petrol , or will general vehicles start being manufactured to take such a fuel bringing another alternate into the equation . example , lpg, deisel, premium petrol, standard petrol,e-85 where all these cannot be cross matched ??? interesting as i thought that ethonol based fuels would be an alternative by choice over petrol . as in the case with e-10 not a replacement ( which is where i lack an understanding ) but i can see performance vehicles now being produced with perhaps smaller engines for such a fuel - is this where e-85 is ultimately leading to? |
#114 | ||
My car says its E10 compatible, will it be alright with E85 or is that a bit too strong for it? From the sounds of some on this forum about Ethanol, filling your car up with anything ethanol is the equivilent of Hitler coming back from the dead and killing another 6 million jews.
#115 | |||
...um...
#116 | ||
ROFL....
Seriously though, dont run E85 in it unless its been tuned for it, no E10 compatible car will be compatible with E85.
#117 | ||
I miss my wheelbarrow
The problem with E85 is in the quantity of fuel required to maintain equivalent Air Fuel ratios. Ethanol has a 9:1 Stoich (perfect burn) point. E85, with its 15% Gasoline content is 9.7:1, 100% Gasoline (no Ethanol) is 14.7:1
As you can see putting E85 into a car tuned for 100% Gasoline will see the engine running way too lean (equivalent of almost 20:1 at cruise and around 16:1 at max power) and will assimilate Hitler returning with some modern weaponary to kill every living valve, seat and piston in your engines existance. E10 you can get away with, as the Wide open throttle on most cars is around 11.0-12.0:1 and will therefore still be at or under 13:1 at full throttle with just the 10% Ethanol content. Cruise will see over 15.5:1 but the cars narrowband O2 sensors will be able to trim for that back to 14.7.... so no problem. Daniel Last edited by CAT600; 21-10-2009 at 06:11 PM. |
#118 | ||
It was GM that sold the fuel formula to Hitler during the war.
MR Ford got in hounded for things happening before the filthy war. and all that he was trying to do was make cars affordable for every one. |
#119 | |||
Bit of a thread mine, but I dont see a point in starting another thread on the subject.
http://www.caradvice.com.au/70035/et...ol-the-basics/ Quote:
#120 | ||
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
There's some greenhouse offset growing the suger cane etc
Plus as I have said many times.. The money STAYS HERE !!! Many acres of grain are ruined by rains at the wrong time which can be used for fuel... Fuel companies as far as I'm concerned the more compitition they get the better!!!
Real cars are not driven by front wheels,real cars lift them!!... BABYS ARE BOTTLE FED, REAL MEN GET BLOWN. Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! Dart 330ci block turbo black pearl EBXR8 482 rwkw.. Daily driver GTE FG.. Projects http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=107711 http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...8+turbo&page=4 |