You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 25-02-2010, 02:04 PM   #91
Outback

Originally Posted by HSE2
I think you are going to see a tough N/A engine but do the HSV boys snigger in the pub about the blower thats on the inline six?
If you can show me a blower that comes standard on an FORD inline six, I will buy you a brand new F6. the only thing i see on the inline six is a hairdryer.
Old 25-02-2010, 02:23 PM   #92

Originally Posted by Outback
If you can show me a blower that comes standard on an FORD inline six, I will buy you a brand new F6. the only thing i see on the inline six is a hairdryer.
The term "blower" is colloquial vernacular for "supercharger".

The high performance inline 6 cylinder engine in the current and previous Falcons are fitted with a "turbine-driven supercharger" also sometimes called a "turbocharger" or "turbo".

So therefore two facts are proven.

1) The Ford Falcon I6 engine has an permutaion available that can be correctly described as a "blower".

2) Post 41

Originally Posted by Outback in post 41
Sorry but i fail
Old 25-02-2010, 02:33 PM   #93

The term "blower" is colloquial vernacular for "supercharger".

The high performance inline 6 cylinder engine in the current and previous Falcons are fitted with a "turbine-driven supercharger" also sometimes called a "turbocharger" or "turbo".

So therefore two facts are proven.

1) The Ford Falcon I6 engine has an permutaion available that can be correctly described as a "blower".

2) Post 41
And this, my friends, is what is commonly known as "internet ownage".

Outback, I suggest you may want to either;

A) Set about researching topics before making your argument
B) Leave said argument
C) Continue with argument providing me with many LOL's.

EDIT:

Forgot something;

D) PM Flappist asking for details as to where he would like his nice new F6 delivered to.
Old 25-02-2010, 02:42 PM   #94
Outback

Originally Posted by RG
And this, my friends, is what is commonly known as "internet ownage".

Outback, I suggest you may want to either;

A) Set about researching topics before making your argument
B) Leave said argument
C) Continue with argument providing me with many LOL's.

EDIT:

Forgot something;

D) PM Flappist asking for details as to where he would like his nice new F6 delivered to.
He gets nothing because Ford has NEVER use a blower on an inline six yet.
Old 25-02-2010, 02:43 PM   #95

Outback as Flappist 100% correctly puts it, a turbine driven device that provides positive air pressure is ostensibly charging the air aka blowing; in the exact same vain as a belt driven supercharger charges air to provide positive air pressure again aka blowing. So Outback, the XR6T, the G6E-T, and the F6 in all its variations are samples of Fords inline 6 with blowers. Speaking of the F6, I'll take you up on your offer and I'll have my F6 in Vixen with Charcoal leather seats. When can I expect it?

Old 25-02-2010, 02:47 PM   #96

I find it odd that your typing and spelling are of such a standard considering the fact that you obviously cannot read.

Post 92, the post I previously quoted, outlines that Ford has in fact done so.

Re-read, research, retry.
Old 25-02-2010, 02:49 PM   #97
3vXT

I think outback should buy everyone a blower
Old 25-02-2010, 02:51 PM   #98
Kamshaaft
Broken eBay Starter Motor

Looks like it's time to redraw on your mortgage mate. Like has been said, Turbos, while conjuring their own distinct mental image, still fall under the supercharger/blower umbrella.

Also, interesting note: Some peoplepeople refer to Centrifugal blowers/superchargers as 'belt driven turbos'. They are one and the same, although that's not a legit term AFAIK. Supercharger though, is more or less a broad term. You've got whipple/lysholm/roots/centrifugal/turbocharger, etc

Last edited by Kamshaaft; 25-02-2010 at 03:03 PM.
Old 25-02-2010, 02:55 PM   #99
Outback

Whenever you want it, we currently have 3 in use but after they have reached 40k, you are more than welcome to buy one.
File Type: jpg F6C.JPG (125.2 KB, 98 views)
Old 25-02-2010, 02:56 PM   #100

Come on give up already troll
Old 25-02-2010, 03:06 PM   #101
Outback

Old 25-02-2010, 03:08 PM   #102
Kamshaaft

SVO probably have put a roots or centrifugal on a Ford 6 at some stage, for shits and giggles, but that wouldn't count.
Old 25-02-2010, 03:14 PM   #103
kezzer

To be fair, when people say 'blower' you think of a supercharger, like what will be on the 5.0l, instead of a turbocharger thats on the 4.0l, despite the 'proper' terms. I know I do.
Old 25-02-2010, 03:17 PM   #104

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Originally Posted by EgoFG
Last time I looked I could find no evidence of any Holden ownership of HSV - and this was about 6 months ago.

If you have such, please let me know.

A "Joint Venture" is not the same as saying "Holden's".

FPV is IIRC 49% Ford Owned, and as such can be called "Ford's".

This is why most car mags list HSV seperate, but FPV is listed under Ford.

Again, I'll stand corrected - with some proof,

HSV is not "Holden's"
As requested, sorry for the off topic but this should not take too long.

Direct cut and paste from HSV website on their history page.
History of HSV
Australian made muscle cars took on a new maturity when Holden Special Vehicles opened its doors to the public in February 1988.

The establishment of the joint venture operation between General Motors Holden’s and British Tom Walkinshaw Racing (TWR) group was a major coup not just for performance car connoisseurs, but also for the local industry.
From the history page of the FPV website.

FPV was formed as a joint-venture partnership between Ford and Prodrive, established to engineer and manufacturer a range of premium Ford performance vehicle for the Australian market.
What is a joint venture?
A joint venture is a legal term that describes the relationship between two or more parties entering into an agreement to work towards the same strategic goals while remaining separate entities. Joint ventures occur across most industries where companies may combine forces for a specific project but may even be competitors for others.
So, it seems that if HSV is not Holden's performance manufacturer as has been suggested, what I said was true and FPV is not Ford's.

By the way

Wheels list FPV separate to Ford as they do HSV separate to Holden, so do Motor and Top Gear, so what "most magazines' do you refer to?

It seems you may stand corrected.

Last edited by geckoGT; 25-02-2010 at 03:25 PM.
Old 25-02-2010, 03:20 PM   #105

No no Dallas.

Traditionally trolls have been "smote with furious anger" but occasionally one is just so ignorant, foolish and nonsensical that their actions are just downright amusing.

Outback has become the "Mr Bean" of the forum....
Old 25-02-2010, 03:21 PM   #106

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Originally Posted by kezzer
To be fair, when people say 'blower' you think of a supercharger, like what will be on the 5.0l, instead of a turbocharger thats on the 4.0l, despite the 'proper' terms. I know I do.

And a multitude of motoring journo's around the world refer to both turbo's and superchargers as blowers. Cough up the F6 Outback, you were :
Old 25-02-2010, 03:23 PM   #107

No no Dallas.

Traditionally trolls have been "smote with furious anger" but occasionally one is just so ignorant, foolish and nonsensical that their actions are just downright amusing.

Outback has become the "Mr Bean" of the forum....
Old 25-02-2010, 03:26 PM   #108
DJL351
XR & FPV Owner

2005 BF GT (6sp manual - Build #183)
2015 SZ MkII Territory Titanium
2016.75 LZ Focus Sport

probably the stupidist post on aff - congrats
There was once a time when every young man in this country was familiar with firearms and many owned them privately along with a stock of ammo and some bush gear.

Now the best we can hope for is to unfriend them on facebook then SMS their commanders with !!!1!!!!!!11!1!! and then finally plank a tank.......
Old 25-02-2010, 03:26 PM   #109
kezzer

Originally Posted by geckoGT
And a multitude of motoring journo's around the world refer to both turbo's and superchargers as blowers. Cough up the F6 Outback, you were :
Well it's the first i've heard of it, show me some articles to prove your point? Not saying your wrong, just I always thought blower was slang for supercharger.
Old 25-02-2010, 03:28 PM   #110
DJL351
XR & FPV Owner

So HIV say they are not worried........ I'm not worried at knowing they say that are not worried.
2005 BF GT (6sp manual - Build #183)
2015 SZ MkII Territory Titanium
2016.75 LZ Focus Sport

probably the stupidist post on aff - congrats
There was once a time when every young man in this country was familiar with firearms and many owned them privately along with a stock of ammo and some bush gear.

Now the best we can hope for is to unfriend them on facebook then SMS their commanders with !!!1!!!!!!11!1!! and then finally plank a tank.......
Old 25-02-2010, 03:31 PM   #111
kezzer

Originally Posted by ESP
"From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Based on that assumptive definition , I reckon that makes for a hell of a lot of BOGANS everywhere..........LOL.......probably driving KIA's and HYUNDAIS rather than HSV's or FPV's.

Sorry I digress.
I doubt a bogan could afford a nice car anyway, but shane warne already proved me wrong lol
Old 25-02-2010, 03:32 PM   #112
Kamshaaft

Arrow

Well it's the first i've heard of it, show me some articles to prove your point? Not saying your wrong, just I always thought blower was slang for supercharger.
To be fair, I wouldn't say 'everyone knows they're called blowers too, dur dur durr'. It's really only those of us who know better that call them all blowers, there are plenty (probably a majority) who don't.

And now you do too. But ignorance is no defence, so cough up.
Old 25-02-2010, 03:32 PM   #113

Wow ... am I too late for the Free F6 as posted by Outback???

Correct me if I'm wrong... but doesn't a turbocharger work by forcing more air into the engine... (ie: BLOWING more air)???

Originally Posted by Wikipedia
A turbocharger, or turbo, is a gas compressor that is used for forced-induction of an internal combustion engine. A form of supercharger, the purpose of a turbocharger is to increase the density of air entering the engine to create more power. However, a turbocharger has the compressor powered by a turbine, driven by the engine's own exhaust gases, rather than direct mechanical drive as with many other superchargers.
Outback - I think you've Blown it...
Old 25-02-2010, 03:46 PM   #114

Really, I do have some good things to do with my time and this does not rate up there. I do however know that in my 24 years of reading every car mag in australia, I have seen turbos referred to a blowers thousands of times.

You learn something new every day!
Old 25-02-2010, 03:51 PM   #115
kezzer

you post alot... should have plenty of time haha : jks

fair enough, I've just rarely ever heard it reffered like that.
FG XR6: pacemaker sterline coated headers, Xr8 snorkel + modified CAI, 100cpsi ballistic cat, 20" rims, lower with shocks, custom catback exhaust, custom spacers, tune soon to come, 1/4mile soon to come.
Old 25-02-2010, 03:55 PM   #116

Thought I'd just blow through and put my name down for one of those free F6's being offered.

Vixen Red - semi auto or manual, I'm not picky in that regard.
Old 25-02-2010, 03:55 PM   #117

you post alot... should have plenty of time haha : jks

fair enough, I've just rarely ever heard it reffered like that.
Plenty of time for topics and questions that are worthwhile.

Edit!

Oops, I just noticed he has been banned again, he was only back for a day!

Don't worry about it everyone.

By the way, can I have a F6 in viper please?
Old 25-02-2010, 03:59 PM   #118

C'mon guys being a little precious aren't we ?!

Is it Headers or Extractors ?? !!!!!!! :

-----------------------------------
My prediction >

HSV will release an "attention grabber" concept at the same time as the Coyote.
Old 25-02-2010, 04:00 PM   #119
Outback

If my car ever breaks down i know never to ask you lot to repair it , because you guys know jack about cars.
Old 25-02-2010, 04:05 PM   #120

If my car ever breaks down i know never to ask you lot to repair it , because you guys know jack about cars.

I want to say something, but alas I must not!

I really do need to remember the following quality advice-