Old 27-12-2005, 06:56 PM   #91
FPV GT
I Like To Shake It

Originally Posted by Biggoggs
Hasn't he got enough names already? And what if he becomes a Holden/Import man? :P
Disown him and cut him out of the will

2016 S550 TY GT Coupe....some loud bits and some glass bits

I like My GT SHAKEN, and Blown
Happiness is a TY S550, a 1911 semi automatic, and the Lovey Lizzie by my side.
Originally Posted by Lovely Lizzie
whilst looking at man riding a pee wee 50
"That sure does nothing for his masculinity"
FPV GT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-12-2005, 10:47 PM   #92

I really do not see the problem here...so you want to name him Ford....big deal.....who knows he just might end up like Ford Prefect....Hitchhikers Guide to Galaxy.

Fasty you name your son whatever you like and to hell with the knockers....mind you it did show some very stilted minds on here!

Old 27-12-2005, 10:53 PM   #93
Ryan

I dont see the problem with the name Ford.

I would actually like my name as Holden Commodore or Holden Calais. :hihi:
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-12-2005, 10:58 PM   #94

Originally Posted by VY18s

You can change it by deed poll...a small fee and your name is...#$%^&@()&^%$#@

Old 27-12-2005, 10:59 PM   #95
Ryan

I think Calais would make a nice girl's name though, or Capri.
Old 27-12-2005, 11:05 PM   #96
XR6Gal
Just Super Happy now :)

Originally Posted by XRFPV8
Call him Typhoon he can learn to run....he is your boy call him what you like...I got a text message last week, a guy i know called his boy Shelby..
My cousin's name is Shelby, she's absolutely gorgeous.

PhantomBA XR6 (Sold), now a VW owner (don't hold it against me )

& also a CM Valiant Wagon, gotta love the old Val's
see her progress here
NOW SOLD :( but now have a
Honda CBR250 Motorbike
XR6Gal is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-12-2005, 11:59 PM   #97
fasty

Good to see all the input. I had chosen the name regardless of the flack I copped. It does show the norrow mindness of some but they are the each to thier own and I take no offense. Thanx to all. See you at the Creek tomorrow night.
Old 28-12-2005, 12:30 AM   #98
the_scotsman
MY21.5 Mustang GT

Hmmm...no offence intended, but I don't like it at all...

Would you ever have considered the name Ford if you weren't into cars/Fords? Probably not.
Seem like the name has been chosen for the wrong reason...thats what I dont agree with...but thats just my opinion...

I dont think he'll cop flak at school or with mates though, its not a BAD name by any means...
Old 28-12-2005, 12:37 AM   #99

I think Calais would make a nice girl's name though, or Capri.
Is there something you're trying to tell us?

Old 28-12-2005, 01:03 AM   #100
SSBUB
SSuper SSpy

call a girl Capri and you have mapped out her future as a 'working girl' - sounds very $2 hookerish
To be named 'Holden Commodore' as both first and last names, your parents should be shot!
SSBUB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-12-2005, 11:18 AM   #101

When he is 6 or 7 Ford will have won so many races he will be a hero at school.
Just teach him young to say " Ford's the best F$%K the rest"
Old 28-12-2005, 11:54 AM   #102
Ryan

Originally Posted by JC
Is there something you're trying to tell us?
lol nah just coming up with some ideas.

If I had a girl I wouldnt mind calling her Calais or Capri.
Old 28-12-2005, 01:31 PM   #103
max^power
Formerly au^ute

Originally Posted by SSBUB
call a girl Capri and you have mapped out her future as a 'working girl' - sounds very $2 hookerish
To be named 'Holden Commodore' as both first and last names, your parents should be shot!
i actually agree with u here.
max^power is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-12-2005, 04:13 PM   #104
Angry Beaver
Beaver fever

Ok I think some of you need to take a look at the actual meaning of the name before you start sprouting off about the teasing the child will get for his name.

This is an old english name that has been around longer than henry ford himself.
http://www.babynamesworld.com/meaning_of_Ford.html
And might I also ask how long it has been since alot of you went to school?

Kids get teased for worse things these days. Names are a nothing.... They are more likely to get teased about the colour of their skin and worse off their religeon. I think some off you are taking this the very wrong way. There are bigger things for these kids to worry about these days. So I think every body needs to take a step back and actually think outside of the square. Oh and by the way ford is nothing to what I was originally going to call Dayton. Hows wolfgang.
Angry Beaver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2006, 10:34 PM   #105
dvk
running from explosions

"Ford" has nothing on "Dirk" in terms of being ridiculed. From grades 1-7 every kid you run into thinks he's the first one to think up the whole "dirk the jerk" rubbish. Not to mention when it's written down anywhere, it being all too easily modifiable into "Dick". I won't even start on my surname. Then you hit high school and the diggler factor kicks in.... yes I had a rough trot. Heh. But I mean, thoughout school most kids cop it pretty harsh in some way. It's totally unacceptable, but you have to admit, it happens and it's hard to stop.

As someone who has an unusual name, at this point in my life I couldn't be happier that my parents named me what they did. Now everyone I run into loves it, including myself. I don't think I have been in any way scarred from my experience as a kid, if anything it made me a hell of a lot stronger. That was a stupid sentence. I don't run into myself. Ahem, so anyway, I agree with you, and disagree with the posters saying parents should refrain from naming their boy "Ford" because "he will be teased mercilessly". Name your kids what you like, don't change because you are scarred some little dumbИИИИs are going to give them hell. Just give your kids support if they do have problems.

..btw, what happened to fasty?

Last edited by dvk; 09-01-2006 at 10:42 PM.
dvk is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2006, 10:39 PM   #106

Originally Posted by dvk
..what happened to fasty?

Fasty decided to overstep the boundary of logic once too often then became abusive, he was sent on a 3 day holiday then decided to resign and : so it became a permanent holiday.

There is the site support for this type of question or PM to admin if need be
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2006, 10:49 PM   #107

fasty = :
Old 09-01-2006, 11:13 PM   #108

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

I saw the movie Torque a couple of years ago, it stars Martin Henderson who plays the lead biker named....Ford, it did't seem unusal at all, i think it's a great boys name, the only reason i didn't name my son Ford was family pressure and the fact my surname starts with C, FC ain't good initials for a young boy
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0329691/ Good movie.
Falcon Coupe is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-01-2006, 11:19 PM   #109

but his name wasnt Ford, his SURNAME was

Plot Summary: Biker Cary Ford is framed by an old rival and biker gang leader for the murder of another gang member who happens to be the brother of Trey (Ice Cube)...
it just seems very wierd, and now fordy isnt around any more (his own doing btw) i dont think it matters.....
Old 09-01-2006, 11:27 PM   #110
snypereb
[EBGLT]

Great name mate sounds good!

Become an E-Series Owners Club Member Today!
http://eseries.com.au/index.php/membership/
snypereb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2006, 09:14 AM   #111
troppo
Mr old phart

FWIW the main character in Ford Fairlane (rock 'n roll detective) is named....Ford. So too is a main character from hitchhiker's guide...Ford Prefect.

BA GT-P Blueprint
troppo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2006, 07:23 PM   #112

Personally I don't think it matters what you call them. As they get older you start to use their name less and less. For example, when you stand on one of their match box cars at 2 in the morning, the childs name then become "Little Bastard". Or when he scratch's the paint on the car, for a while he will be known as another name.

So it's all irrelevant.
Old 18-01-2006, 07:37 PM   #113
ten[A]cio[U]s

lol so very very true...
ten[A]cio[U]s is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2006, 09:27 PM   #114
Fordy
EMC-Benzenes Detailing

Originally Posted by MADNC_8

it just seems very wierd, and now fordy isnt around any more (his own doing btw) i dont think it matters.....
: It was "fasty" not Fordy, as you can see im still here.....
Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2006, 09:35 PM   #115

Originally Posted by Fordy
: It was "fasty" not Fordy, as you can see im still here.....
lol oops, my bad..

(easy mistake)
Old 18-01-2006, 09:53 PM   #116
BO55

I like the name mate. It's different. I don't know one person with that name.

YEAH he'll get teased in his school years but there are many worse names out there.

I think if ya like it,then use it. You'll proablly start a trend.
BO55 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-01-2006, 09:55 AM   #117
Felony
Wherever u go there u r

Lol Ford Elliott Donald Farnsworth i ИИИИing love it!!! You guys seen torque? his name is ford too, and the girls name is shane? wtf, all teasing aside and in all honesty its different and i actually like it, congrats on the rugrat matey,
cheers
Old 19-01-2006, 10:01 AM   #118
Mrs347stroker

Originally Posted by fasty
Fair is fair. There are much wierder names but I do thank you fot your input. At least it isn't Rainbow or Porshe.
I have a friend who is called Porscha, I don't find that wierd.
Mrs347stroker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-01-2006, 10:39 AM   #119
JG3282
Awake after dark

Originally Posted by SpoolMan
I got a text message last week, a guy i know called his boy Shelby..
That would be me... Shelby wasn't named after Carroll Shelby or the cars that he makes. Shelby's middle names are Victor (after his grandfather) and Gordon (after his great-grandfather). The first thing my cousin thought was that he was named after Carroll Shelby, Victor Bray and Jeff Gordon, thinking that with both parents being revheads, then that must be right, but as you can see it wasn't the case.

I have been stuck with the eternal nickname of Tray (if you know me you'd know why I got it), people think it offends me which is why some people over-emphasise it, but I dealt with it.

Anyway, I would put a lot of long hard thought into your kids name, because he/she is the one who has to live with it forever.

Calling your kid Ford may seem really cool and great, BUT is he going to want to keep it? And what grief will it cause from kids in school.

Also I once knew a guy who wouldn't date a girl because of her name and who can forget that classic Seinfeld episode with Mulva... or was it Gipple... or Dolores :

Other names I have known people to be called that have been a good laugh:
- Ben Larden (yes that IS his real name)
- A friend called her son Ocean
- Frank Zappa's kids Dweezil and Moon Unit
- Heaps of guys called Francis and Carol
- An old teacher who's first name was D|ck and middle name Leslie :
- A guy I knew who's name was Slobodan which he shortened to Bobby
- Cher's daughter Chastity
- Gaylord aka Greg (meet the fockers
- Sri Lankan cricketer Warnakulasuriya Patabendige Ushantha Joseph Chaminda Vaas
- An old g/friend from year 7, called Zekie aka Zekie the Geekie
- A former school mate Enterprise Spock Kirk
- Collin Woods and his sister Maggie Woods (AFL fans would get it)
- Gecko Bilby Jones (A kid I played cricket with)
- And not to forget my two favourites from the 12th Man, Ifeelikachunda and Imightneedapootoo

Source: http://www.angelfire.com/id2/heathersnamepage/

Girls Names:
Aiza
Aleara
Alera
Amisha
Aneeka
Aqualina, Aqualeena, Aqualyna
Arimle
Ariyah
Ashrai
Ataina
Avia
Ayliana
Ayslia
Azlyn
Braelyn
Brayah
Braydia
Breena
Brenyth
Brezanae
Brielyn
Brindon
Brinlynn
Brizjai
Brynlee
Bryntee
Bunderlai
Cadalyn
CamBrel
Camiya, Camiyah
Caslynn
Cayala
Ceja
Clarendy
Cleyandra
Cyri
Dailin, Daylin, Daelin
Daiyanissa
DaKaina
DaKesha
Denene, DaNeen
Donita
Eileesha
Elara
Emelda
Emeray, Emerae
Evereesha
Evza
Ezariah
Falera, Faleira
Gallaine
Greyti
Imaera, Imayra
Islara
Izona
Jaceina
Jacelyn
Jadzea
Jairyn
Jandi
Jandynn
Jasie
Jaymsana
Jaysia
Jazeda, Jazida
Jazeya
Jeremae
Jesaray
Jintaci
Jineya
Jolissa
Jyneesa
Kady, Kadie, Kadey, Cady, Cadie, Cadey, Kaydee
Kaia
Kai' Enna, K' Enna, Kai-Enna, Kay-Enna
Kareiah, Kareya, Karaya
Katesha
Kayanna
Kayten, Kaityn
Kelisa
Kelisha
Kessa
Kestyn
Kiana
Kiarna
Kielle
Kimeria
Kineldi, Kineldie
Kryzlyannie
Kyanna
Kyesha, Ky' Esha, Ky-Esha, Ki' Esha
Kymathie
Kyree, Kyrie, Kyri
Laina
Laryn
Lasarythe
LaQuell, Laquell
LaVallene
Lazona
Lecaysia
Lenaya
Lesaka
Lynesha
Madina
Maleesa, M' Leesa
Maquisha
Marielle
Markaya
Mavira
McKaiden, Makaiden
McKaya, McKaia, Makaya, Makaia
McKayten, McKaityn
McKeisha, Makeisha
McKenya, Makenya
McKyla, Makyla, Mackyla, Mikyla
Methisia, Methicia, Mathicia
Mikera
Mirella
Myangeleeze
Naia, Naya
Naisha
NaKeiyah, Nakeiyah, Nakeiya
Nalini
Nevaeh
Nevija
Nikeysta
Nondice
NyJhaia, NyJaya, NyJayah
Raesa
Raleda
Raleesa, Ralisa
Ranika
Ra' Shari, RaShari, Ra-Shari
Raskella
Remle
Rulya
Rychanna
Ryda
Ryell
Ryla
Sagan
Sarika
Sayley, Saylie, Saylee
Shaela
Shailyn
Shanae
Shariah
Shawnrika
Shiarain
Sisinelly
Taiven
Talana
Tallianna
Ta-Lynn
Tameryn
T'Anna, T Anna, Tianna
Tashanna
Tavonne, Ta' Vonne, Ta-Vonne
Teaka
Teniah, Tenaya
Tiessa
Tieza
Tyauna
Tylera
Vaisa
Vaushna
Veralidaine
Zailynne
Zaina
Zaira
Zanaya
Zariyah
Zaryn
Zaya, Zaia
Zeila
Zeverai, Zeverae, Zeveray

Boys Names:
Adron
Adsel
Aizel
Arzjah
Asric, Azric
Auron
Ausric, Auzric
Braxlin
Branton, Branten, Brantyn
Bristan
Chipolaux
Corvan
Cyrun
Danicio
Deveron
Draylen
Dre'Veis
Durius, Duryis
Ersaid
Esryn
Estin
Evijan
Jalaber
Jareth
Jayron
Jervaid
Jourdian
Kaius
Kaiven
Kenzel
Kerridon
Kylun
Laedin
Mikyn
Q'son
Qualin
Raziel
Rizi
Rymon
Rumen
Sabian
Saulth
Taiven
Talano
Talut
Taraketh
Tazon
Torin
Trasean
Trendon
Urek, Urik, Urich
Wylden
Wylon, Wylun
Xanthius
Xerin
Zarek
Zevlin
Zeric

His Car: XE Fairmont Ghia - For Sale Here

Her Car: ED Fairmont - Lowered, Pioneer stereo, Sony XPlod speakers, Big Exhaust & more
JG3282 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-01-2006, 08:24 PM   #120
efgiar
rofl copter

lol, ford isnt that bad of a name for a kid, id rather be called ford then "holden" imagine how many names u would get called if ur name was holden, better yet, COMMODORE eg. bombodore, commonwhoore, cornerwhore, crapadore etc. ford... theres.. uhmm... found on rubish dump? gee a 7 year old could think of that! LOL

thats all
efgiar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post