You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: Thoughts on Text Lingo in this forum
Like it 21 6.52%
Ambivalent towards it 46 14.29%
Dislike it 83 25.78%
Should be banned 172 53.42%
Voters: 322. You may not vote on this poll

Old 19-02-2006, 01:44 PM   #91
xr8chick
HSV - I Just Ate One!

Originally Posted by red_hotxr6
I am still trying to work out what imao means.
um i dunno what imao iz but i think it supposed to be lmao which is laugh my a$$ off!!
hope it helps!!!
Old 19-02-2006, 08:48 PM   #92
red_hotxr6

I was even farther afield than i thought . Thanks anyway. :
Old 19-02-2006, 09:07 PM   #93
xr8chick
HSV - I Just Ate One!

its all good anytime
Old 19-02-2006, 11:51 PM   #94
chief
FTF Club Moderator

and ROFL what does that mean?

Falcon Tickford FPV (FTF) Car Club of NSW

Fords in the Park 2010

I use and recommend Stingray Car Security.
http://www.stingraycar.com.au/
Old 19-02-2006, 11:54 PM   #95

rolling on floor laughing:P
Old 20-02-2006, 11:06 PM   #96
HOON69

lets all bask in days of the cave men shall we?

get with it, its used alot more these days in sms and its always going to be on forums because more ppl learn to read it,i was one whom first saw it and though OMG WTF is he TRYN to write,but then i got to knowing it and yeah i use it often,though not all the time,so as long as its not in your face 10 pages of sms chat then whats the problem.

some ppl live in the stone ages lets go back to morse code shall we?
Old 20-02-2006, 11:14 PM   #97

NOT such a bad idea at least you will have to spell correctly and use proper grammar.

Old 20-02-2006, 11:27 PM   #98
Deadman

.__ __ | ...__ | ...__ | __...
Old 20-02-2006, 11:39 PM   #99
GRNKPR
DPC PERFORMANCE Race prep

sms is for thightasses and i dont even return them if its important call me and as for the short hand crap i dont even read it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria

Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club
Old 20-02-2006, 11:43 PM   #100

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Originally Posted by HOON69
lets all bask in days of the cave men shall we?
That is where we are heading with this sms BS, cave men couldn't spell either.
Old 20-02-2006, 11:51 PM   #101
XAGSV8
Member 178

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe
That is where we are heading with this sms BS, cave men couldn't spell either.
The latest generation of school children can't either.

1963 Morris Mini

1999 NU Fairlane Ghia
Old 20-02-2006, 11:56 PM   #102
GRNKPR

Originally Posted by GSWXA

but they can play the playstation all right ,thats why all trades are dropping off as all the kids are turning into retarded box heads

get outside make a billy cart find a big hill and go flat out with your mates till someone gets hurt instead of a bunch of cottonwool protected nancys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria

Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club
Old 21-02-2006, 12:18 AM   #103

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Originally Posted by GSWXA
Hmmm, i thought that was my point :
Old 21-02-2006, 12:22 AM   #104

Originally Posted by GRNKPR
but they can play the playstation all right ,thats why all trades are dropping off as all the kids are turning into retarded box heads

get outside make a billy cart find a big hill and go flat out with your mates till someone gets hurt instead of a bunch of cottonwool protected nancys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
Quote of the nite mate!!.... I'll even supply the old ball races & the 3" nails to hold em on the wood axles!
Old 21-02-2006, 12:46 AM   #105
GRNKPR

A forums billy cart derby should be arranged like the good ol days when everyone used their imaginations and handywork skills

Old 21-02-2006, 08:55 AM   #106
red_hotxr6

Cool

Just save the sms lingo for your friends on your mobiles and use the proper english that you were taught at school here. Hundreds of people have to read and try to understand what you are trying to get across to us. Then their is all the other threads that we have to read as well. :
Old 14-06-2006, 09:07 PM   #107

I hate "yer". Makes me want to slap the typist who typed the crap.

Last edited by GTP006; 14-06-2006 at 09:38 PM.
Old 14-06-2006, 10:25 PM   #108

Originally Posted by GMH8TR
I hate "yer". Makes me want to slap the typist who typed the crap.

You only want to slap them....I want to kick their backside till their nose bleeds or cleanse the gene pool!!!!!

Old 14-06-2006, 10:37 PM   #109

Originally Posted by John McMaster
You only want to slap them....I want to kick their backside till their nose bleeds or cleanse the gene pool!!!!!
Well I had to edit it 'cause the text I used first disappeared.
Old 14-06-2006, 10:44 PM   #110

Originally Posted by GMH8TR
Well I had to edit it 'cause the text I used first disappeared.

Fair enough...lol

Old 15-06-2006, 01:22 AM   #111
XRchic
Hello

I hate sms typing in forum posts and threads. Now, I have to admit that I use LOL, ROFL, IMO and probably a couple of others. But that is different to typing a whole sentence or post in sms speak. I agree with others, it just makes people seem stupid and lazy.

I dont send sms on my mobile either, and let me assure you that I am a total sms addict. 90% of the people who text me do it correctly, I would say only 10% of them text me using sms typing. These days there is no reason to sms type anyway. Most phones have over 450 characters per text anyway and they also have a dictionary which will complete the entire word with a click of one button. You can spell the word in full and correctly without the effort. If you still cant fit a message in your phone then you probably need to ring the person and speak to them.

As for crappy posts generally on these forums, I can live with the odd spelling/gramatical mistake but some are shockers. I recently saw "excellerator" instead of "accelerator". Please!!!!

There was one post I saw today which was mind blowingly bad, and is an example of a post just being plain bad, lazy etc... Here is is, I wonder if anyone will recognise it...

Originally Posted by anon
yo buddyforyou, i couldnt help but read ur lil statements about the vt being some sort of modern marvel, maybe at the time they were such a red hot item but compared to an au 2 or 3 heck ive seen better bags of cow poop bein sold by the road, and dont even get me started on that bland interior especially the door trims and another favourite of mine is the bumpy suspension and thats just me being picky to details but since its what your doing ild figure ild play by your rules but honestly nowadays aslong as a car is reliable, roomy, and has a smooth engine...ect people are gonna be happy and i am just not a fan of the vt lol
Need I say more? Seriously, a bit better punctuation, a reasonable attempt to spell correctly and banning of sms talk and everyone will be happier. No one expects perfection, but a bit of effort never hurts.

: Cobra :
Old 15-06-2006, 02:51 AM   #112
ziggee

I blame the school system ;) (thats my excuse)

If done in moderation it's fine. (not 1f dun n mod r ation 1s f1n3)

i think people use it becuase everyone wants to send the shortest and therefor cheapest text's.. maybe it should not be abused on forums though

the art of writing has died... (I wish i new how)
Had a friend that was a professor, if he recived a e-mail with any abreviations at all, he would just e-mail it back.. and he taught LAW. so imagine all the yuppie, self absorbed layers out there that do it! ;)

Do you think its an "age" thing?

this all started on IRC in the early 90's... lol, AFAIK, ppl, ROFLMGO etc etc.. dam phone companies then just pounced on it...

Old 15-06-2006, 03:17 AM   #113
normxb

Location: Sitting on the Dunny , Contemplating "What to do Next".

I was speaking to one of my daughters teachers earlier this year (high school) and they're finding some of the kids ( mm children) are having trouble reading text books & writing essays , how far is it going to go ?
Some of my grammer & punctuation may not be correct , but I try to keep it readable ? and if I have a big problem with a word I'll type (sp) or (spelling) at the end . least most people know I'm Trying .... BUT HATE sms :

Sms style replies ? ? ? I just don't read ...

Keeping FORDS in the family

(Embarressment :yeees: , Son now has a "Camira" : )
"Look Right , Look Left , Look Right , BEFORE crossing Roads"
Old 15-06-2006, 08:35 AM   #114

Originally Posted by ziggee
I blame the school system ;) (thats my excuse)

If done in moderation it's fine. (not 1f dun n mod r ation 1s f1n3)

i think people use it becuase everyone wants to send the shortest and therefor cheapest text's.. maybe it should not be abused on forums though

the art of writing has died... (I wish i new how)
Had a friend that was a professor, if he recived a e-mail with any abreviations at all, he would just e-mail it back.. and he taught LAW. so imagine all the yuppie, self absorbed layers out there that do it! ;)

Do you think its an "age" thing?

this all started on IRC in the early 90's... lol, AFAIK, ppl, ROFLMGO etc etc.. dam phone companies then just pounced on it...
I wonder if essays are handed in written in SMS type? Or would it then be a 3ss@y?

Now that you can sent 2 or 3 page sms very cheap (same cost as single page) then there is no need to abbreviate!

Maybe a built in spell check is a good idea!!
Old 15-06-2006, 09:25 AM   #115
Dazza TT
Now Prado Powered

It's not like you are restricted for space while posting on the forum.
People who say "Wot" also pee me off... You have typed 3 letters, why not one more?
I don't even use it when texting, let alone on a forum. I do not bother reading txt posts anymore. Simple!
Old 15-06-2006, 10:02 AM   #116
banarcus
hmm eyebrows

Theres no need for it on a PC, for crying out aloud, you have a full keyboard infront of you, not a nokia.
Old 15-06-2006, 02:19 PM   #117

Lol.

You all have entirely too much time on your hands. If my greatest concern was how people write on the forums, i'd be a happy man. It doesnt even register on my radar??

Having though about it, i really cant see the point. SMS typing in an SMS makes some sense - you have character limits and you have to press a key 3 or 4 times to get the letter you want... but if sitting in front of a qwerty keyboard then i dont see why you need to abbreviate so much and save 0.005 seconds per sentence...

I tend to use "SMS-like" words such as "tho" instead of "though" and "lol" instead of "that's quite amusing and made me laugh". If you feel the need to question my intelligence then so be it... if you're focusing on HOW something is written , not WHAT has been written... do you really think you're in a position to question someone's intelligence?

Predictive text sucks, i never use it on a phone.
Old 15-06-2006, 02:33 PM   #118

I think it ok to a certain level....I drop g's from words when typin in a hurry.....

Non car acronyms get go to hell

Its sad about the current young generation but it makes me just as mad when people openly state they judge people based on it...and that they are uneducated for doing so.....

you know the sayin cowboys
Old 15-06-2006, 02:40 PM   #119

Originally Posted by gozza

you know the sayin cowboys

You have your own copy of hump back mountain :monkes:
Old 15-06-2006, 02:52 PM   #120

Originally Posted by Laminge