You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 02-03-2006, 02:54 PM   #91
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

yeah i agree it lingers and is why i dont smoke indoors around other non smokers - i do consider that and can understand why non smokers get annoyed with smokers choking them out like that, but to ban something like smoking at a bus stop outdoors is rediculous , gee u cant even have a ciggy at the footy ground , and thats outdoors too !

:eclipsee_
Old 02-03-2006, 02:56 PM   #92

Originally Posted by 42.57lb
Serious question, Are you suggesting that all partons of pubs smoke? And if so are you suggesting that pub culture will die becuase no one is allowed to smoke there (when it happens)???

nope
but just for example my local...the alderly....has a pub/pool/bar area

99% of people in there smoke
all of them people are buying jug after jug after jug after jug...not too mention chips and nuts etc etc

i barely see people eating in the resturant
i see half the amount in the pokie room and half of them are drinking and smoking

in this case..if they banned smoking they would lose alot of customers and regulars
Old 02-03-2006, 02:57 PM   #93
42.57lb
Is tuna chicken or fish?

Originally Posted by gozza
why do you think man
itr aint rocket science
its easy to flick a butt on the ground than to stubb it out and put it in the bin(which i do 9 time out 10) in the bin that is
You're right. And that's sad. It's not just butts mate, anything. I just don't get why people chuck stuff on the ground.

That's another thread anyways.
Old 02-03-2006, 02:58 PM   #94

I ave up the smokes 6 weeks ago.. wont ever be a smoker again.

Wanna know why?

Cost. $12 a day is simply unaffordable. I prefer to spend it on my car.
Screw all the other reasons.. I did it cause of the hip pocket

Old 02-03-2006, 02:59 PM   #95
42.57lb
Is tuna chicken or fish?

Originally Posted by gozza
nope
but just for example my local...the alderly....has a pub/pool/bar area

99% of people in there smoke
all of them people are buying jug after jug after jug after jug...not too mention chips and nuts etc etc

i barely see people eating in the resturant
i see half the amount in the pokie room and half of them are drinking and smoking

in this case..if they banned smoking they would lose alot of customers and regulars
Interesting point. I guess I work in a fairly non-smoker pub. We have a section for smoking and for the most part it's never full, and the rest of the pub is smoke free. Having said that Obviously the smokers congregate in the smoking area.
Old 02-03-2006, 03:00 PM   #96

Originally Posted by Casper
One more swipe, I swear.

Add up what you spend on smokes in a year and see how much you guys could be saving for other things (holidays, cars, houses, mods, whatever)
Old 02-03-2006, 03:01 PM   #97
42.57lb
Is tuna chicken or fish?

Why did everyone start up smoking? I was curious as to

a) why I shouldn't
b) what it taste like
c) (this is the worst reason of all) all my mates were smokers at the time
d) it seems to be a social activity (all the smokers hang out together, know each other well)
e) I was a near sighted 15 y/o

Anyone else like to share?

Anyone need a hug? Come on group hug

*hug*
Old 02-03-2006, 03:01 PM   #98
fiery

Originally Posted by Casper
I ave up the smokes 6 weeks ago.. wont ever be a smoker again.

Wanna know why?

Well done.......
I gave up about 4 weeks ago, same reason..... but my cigs were $16 a pack (depending on where I bought them I could pay up to $18 pack) and this was daily too........ I also would prefer to be spending it on my car.
Old 02-03-2006, 03:01 PM   #99
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

I got nothin against the people who have quit , that really is a good thing , for your health mainlly of all things , wd. But those smokers now reformed to non smokers just plz dont become one of the atni-smoker-nazi's , remember what it was like when u smoked ! . ;)

Old 02-03-2006, 03:02 PM   #100

about enough to turbo charge my eb mate
atm it would be my only reason for quitting
Old 02-03-2006, 03:04 PM   #101
[Martin]

I'm so glad they brought these new laws in. I'm sick of having to put up with smokers smoking around me at the pub.

I have no problem if you have the desire to pay a corporation to help you kill yourself, that's your affair (and money), just please, don't do it near me.
Old 02-03-2006, 03:06 PM   #102
fiery

Originally Posted by XR6-VCT-2000
I got nothin against the people who have quit , that really is a good thing , for your health mainlly of all things , wd. But those smokers now reformed to non smokers just plz dont become one of the atni-smoker-nazi's , remember what it was like when u smoked ! . ;)
I could never become one of 'those' reformed smokers......loved smoking way to much........ :
I must admit that I hunt smokers out, just so I can stand near them.,.... :

how sad is that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 02-03-2006, 03:12 PM   #103
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Originally Posted by [Martin]
I'm so glad they brought these new laws in. I'm sick of having to put up with smokers smoking around me at the pub.

I have no problem if you have the desire to pay a corporation to help you kill yourself, that's your affair (and money), just please, don't do it near me.
With an attitude like that i'de blow it in your face on purpose ! ..lol > Have you ever considered that maybe you are the one standing around the smokers ?, not them astanding around you ! - this is what gets me too , if u don't like it near you then MOVE !. And it is a Pub you mentioned , beer and cigarettes have gone hand in hand for years .

Old 02-03-2006, 03:14 PM   #104
tex
Broken

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: With the exception of maybe HSE2, nobody writes a review like Texy. 

I don't care about people smoking outdoors, the change of legislation in TAS that has now made it illegal to smoke in pubs, clubs, while widely argued would send pubs / clubs to the wall...... has had the opposite effect.

MORE people go out for a drink now in the local than ever before. Those that want to smoke and drink can do so in the beer garden. No hassle.

As for bus stops, take a look around the footpath, gutter and any other environmental ' ashtray' for smokers. It is a dirty, dirty habbit due to many (MOST) smokers throwing the bloody things everywhere.

I used to smoke lots, and now don't so I guess Im the worst kind of non smokin whinger.... the reformed one.

Well all I can say that if ALL smokers did not treat the world as their ash tray, it would be a lot nicer habit...... for others.

Dirty bastards stubbing their butts in every nook and cranny, throwing their butts into the water or onto the ground makes my blood boil. I smoked for 10 years and never threw a single cig on the ground. Carried a little film canister in my pocket to put the things in when a proper bin was not handy.

Many argue this is a ****............ I earn a living from the sea and it makes me sick to see the amount of butts that end up there. I even work with others that make a point of chucking their butts in the water 'cause it washes away never to be scene again...........

I find it hard to be sympathetic to 'rights' of smokers in light of the 'world wide ash tray' mentality.

11.4 @ 128, 1.88 60ft.
Old 02-03-2006, 03:19 PM   #105

Originally Posted by AUII_SE_Ute
One more swipe, I swear.

Add up what you spend on smokes in a year and see how much you guys could be saving for other things (holidays, cars, houses, mods, whatever)
: In todays money, from when I first started 17 years ago... more than most people here earn gross in a year. I prefer not to think about it.

Unlikely. My wife still smokes, doesnt worry me. In fact I'm suprised how little it bothers me at all. I am not anti-smoke at all. I prefer not to have people smoke inside now (but I think most smokers even agree wiht that) but I dont give a rats if people smoke anywhere else.

Old 02-03-2006, 03:51 PM   #106
goldfire

meh, good luck enforcing it!.

I worked as a bouncer for 5 years and was working when all the smoking laws came in, no one enforced it and no one cares. Health Dep came out a few times and ripped us saying why we wheren't enforcing it, we told em to STFU and enforce it themselves.

Cops aint gonna do ИИИИ cos it to much paper work. Me and my mates where standing in a no smoking area (well kinda right next to one, i moved off to the side a little), In a full open air environment, I lit one up right next to the cop and he didn't say a thing. I casually asked him later and his words where litterally "Can't be ИИИИed".

It's silly it really is.

Tho total bans in nightclubs i liked, even as a smoker myself the atmosphere at times felt damn toxic with the smoke machine etc.
Old 02-03-2006, 04:16 PM   #107
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Well i got nothing against laws banning smoking indoors of places ( apart from your own house if u wish ), thats fair enough, i personally don't even smoke inside my house or car, i go outside for 1 these dyas because it smells the house out (but the fact of banning anything really that was legal annoys me, just taking away our freedom of choice/rights ).. I'm even for putting like a small built in ashtray into the packet, made out of the tinfoil/paper they use to wrap the smokes , ive many times butted out in an empty pack and that stuff can with stand the heat np.... if that solves the rubbish problem then do it , i'de use it np.... but even that's another matter - a rubbish/litter matter -many people , smokers or not still use plastic shopping bags instead of using your own bags for shopping , those plastic bags are one of the biggest rubbish and recycling problem we have !.
The comments could go back and forth for ages - with no resolve , I think it all just comes down to everyone having a bit more respect and consideration for each other , something that has seemed to have been lost over the years unfortunately !.

Old 02-03-2006, 04:24 PM   #108
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Just to finish that off - It's like we are all still in school these days - the politicians are the teachers and we are the students , like student - we fuss and rant and cant agree on stuff, so like teachers - the government applies more rules to keep you under control . Where will it end ? !

Old 02-03-2006, 04:39 PM   #109

only when every movement we make is monitored by microchips
Old 02-03-2006, 04:39 PM   #110
Jeld-Wen Falcon

Are you all that stupid or just plain ignorant? You dont go behind your car and inhale the ИИИИ. If you want to ruin your lungs and your health, I dont give a ИИИИ. But think of otheres. My late grandmother who had lung cancer directly caused from smoking, passed out in a pub because she couldnt breath because of the air. If you ever saw a family member go through lung cancer, you would see what its about. Its not only torture for the person with it but loved ones aswell. Theres no doubt that car/companies emit toxins but that is usually outside, which is where people have been asked to smoke so its not continually recirculation through everyones lungs in a closed enviroment.
Old 02-03-2006, 05:20 PM   #111
Dave_au

Just to finish that off - It's like we are all still in school these days - the politicians are the teachers and we are the students , like student - we fuss and rant and cant agree on stuff, so like teachers - the government applies more rules to keep you under control . Where will it end ? !
I blame you, you elected them. :ticking: : :Reverend: jk

You need to reduce or discourage the population smoking, it's a definate cancergenic, it's not doing anyone favours, any doctor will tell you that, and the inhilation of passive ciggy smoke has been linked to cancer, there are pages and pages of scientific journals on the matter.

It all comes down to ethics and the need for the greater good.

From your first post many pages ago, I think your major concern was the plan to ban smoking in cars. In some ways, smoking whilst driving is just as bad as using a mobile while driving, and your inevitably going to burn the car.
Old 02-03-2006, 05:51 PM   #112
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

omg . I have actually gone through loosing 2 family members both through cancer , and neither 1 of them smoked a cigarette in their life - and both of them said your gonan die of something so if you want to smoke and it makes you happy then go for it , and i couldnt agree more ! . If u can't get past the fact that there is more to cancer than cigarettes then ur just turning a blind eye to everyting you do yourself and others each day too , which contribute to the problem !.

Now as for the voting , im an australian resident but born in england , i dont have to vote - and i don't - IMO it's either vote for this ******** or vote for that ******** , until someone worth voting for joins the political ranks then i'll continue not voting.

Old 02-03-2006, 05:52 PM   #113
Bluefreak

Due to my family history, I feel it's more genetics than luck that will lead a smoker to develope cancer... My grandmothers family(on my mums side) consisted of 9 siblings, all of whom smoke(ed)... The youngest, my grandmother, is 85. She and her siblings were pack-a-day smokers and the 7 who are dead all died of natural causes, well into their 90's. On my dad's side, my grandmother and her 5 siblings are/were all smokers. Again, my grandmother is the youngest of the siblings and the only one still breathing, she still smokes her pack-a-day at 87 with no adverse health affects... All of her siblings lived into their 90's and most died of natural causes, 2 died in a car crash...

This leads me to believe that you must have a genetic predisposition to cancer for it to affect you. Perhaps we should be genetically mapped at birth and can make life decisions based around this...

BTW, as a smoker, I'm kinda in favour of the bans... I hate the way I smell after a night at the pub. Anywhere else I travel, I take steps to minimise the effect of my smoking on others... I will not light up with non-smokers, I will find a place outside to do so. Smoking is a habit not a necessity, I can go without for a few hours if it makes others feel more comfortable.
Old 02-03-2006, 05:56 PM   #114
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Originally Posted by Bluefreak
Due to my family history, I feel it's more genetics than luck that will lead a smoker to develope cancer... My grandmothers family(on my mums side) consisted of 9 siblings, all of whom smoke(ed)... The youngest, my grandmother, is 85. She and her siblings were pack-a-day smokers and the 7 who are dead all died of natural causes, well into their 90's. On my dad's side, my grandmother and her 5 siblings are/were all smokers. Again, my grandmother is the youngest of the siblings and the only one still breathing, she still smokes her pack-a-day at 87 with no adverse health affects... All of her siblings lived into their 90's and most died of natural causes, 2 died in a car crash...

This leads me to believe that you must have a genetic predisposition to cancer for it to affect you. Perhaps we should be genetically mapped at birth and can make life decisions based around this...

BTW, as a smoker, I'm kinda in favour of the bans... I hate the way I smell after a night at the pub. Anywhere else I travel, I take steps to minimise the effect of my smoking on others... I will not light up with non-smokers, I will find a place outside to do so. Smoking is a habit not a necessity, I can go without for a few hours if it makes others feel more comfortable.
Yep i totally agree with that comment too ! .

And doing what you do to consider non smokers rights is good too , but it would be nice if at least even 1 non smoker could consider our rights !

Old 02-03-2006, 05:58 PM   #115
Deadman

I don't smoke any more but if I did I still wouldn't mind these laws to much. When I did smoke, as Bluefreak was saying - I'd go out of my way to ensure that I wasn't smoking near anyone (except other smokers).

People who smoke and walk around smoking near non-smokers (in the mall, bus stops, parks and stuff) and don't think anything of it are pretty careless and not very considerate.
Old 02-03-2006, 06:00 PM   #116
brenx

Yep i totally agree with that comment too ! .

And doing what you do to consider non smokers rights is good too , but it would be nice if at least even 1 non smoker could consider our rights !
I think your confused?

Consider your rights? No-one is stopping you from smoking. You just can't smoke in close proximity to a non-smoker. Nothing hard about that.

Other person has the right to breathe clean air so you have to consider that. You have the right to smoke but as above it'll have to be in your own personal space.

Tuned by Hallam Performance
Old 02-03-2006, 06:09 PM   #117
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Originally Posted by brenx
I think your confused?

Consider your rights? No-one is stopping you from smoking. You just can't smoke in close proximity to a non-smoker. Nothing hard about that.

Other person has the right to breathe clean air so you have to consider that. You have the right to smoke but as above it'll have to be in your own personal space.
So what - if i rock up at a bus stop OUTDOORS and no-one is there and i light up a smoke , then a non-smoker comes along i have to put it out ? i dont think so ! NFW ! ( but this is what your saying ! ).. where as if a non smoker was there first i would be considerate and not light it up. Where as most non smokers - even if second there will look in discust as if to say your choking me - darn im outdoors ! - ill smoke where i like - specially if i was there first - have some consideration or use your brain and sit or wait where there is no-one smoking or until they have finished ! ..... Darn non smokers - rock up second then have a winge , i see it all the time !.

Old 02-03-2006, 06:11 PM   #118
borry
Now With 2 Cylinders More

With an attitude like that i'de blow it in your face on purpose ! ..lol > Have you ever considered that maybe you are the one standing around the smokers ?, not them astanding around you ! - this is what gets me too , if u don't like it near you then MOVE !. And it is a Pub you mentioned , beer and cigarettes have gone hand in hand for years .
for most, its hard to get away from the smell of smokers, particularly is areas like this, you may well be 5 - 10 metres away, but we can still smell you

how you would like it if me and a group of my mates all ИИИИ ourselves on the floor in the pub, then you had to smell it and it was causing damage to your health, you wouldnt like it at all...
Old 02-03-2006, 06:26 PM   #119
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Originally Posted by borry
for most, its hard to get away from the smell of smokers, particularly is areas like this, you may well be 5 - 10 metres away, but we can still smell you

how you would like it if me and a group of my mates all ИИИИ ourselves on the floor in the pub, then you had to smell it and it was causing damage to your health, you wouldnt like it at all...
Mate ! - your allready damaging mine and everyone elses health soon as you start your car or spray insectisides etc etc ( the list goes on ) - but do you hear me complaining to you to stop using your car and so forth ?.... NO .... and do i hear you wanting to stop using it ....NO ..... why because you need it ( it isnt essential to YOU- you just choose to live like an ant and follow the rules of life which you need it for work to pollute even more in some cases ) - and like that smokers need their cigarettes , in reality your petrol poluting car is no more essential than my cigarettes ! - If you really want to have a sook about something then do something about the major pollution problems we have which really is prolly causing 80% of the cancers ( but just blame it on smoking like allways !) .... and then , maybe then will i consider quit smoking , until then though , i've seen it with my own eyes on a meter that reads gas emmisions and gasses created and released , a car idling for a few seconds even from a good distance away produces more pollution and carbon monoxide/toxins that a whole pack of cigarettes lit at once !. So dont tell me my fellow smokers and their cigarettes are killing you when you and everyone else are doing more damage to yourself just running your car alone , and ever machine u run at work that pollutes if thats the case !.

Old 02-03-2006, 06:31 PM   #120
Van D

I'm mixed on this. I smoke casually on occasions.. But I only smoke pipe tobacco. Most people who are around when I smoke a pipe actually love the smell of it, and don't mind me smoking for that reason (I only do it on special occasions). If it does bother someone, i'll happily move.

I mean, outside, i think smokers have a right to light up if they'd like to, as long as it's not a really enclosed sort of area.

In the way of pups, I don't mind really.. If you want to smoke in a pub/bar, go to one that allows it.. If you don't, you can usually smoke out the back anyway.

For some people, smoking is an enjoyment (hence banning cigg's etc outride would be stupid anyway).. Then again, for some (ie station rats) it's generally not.

I wouldn't mind if these new laws came in.. There's not much point to this post I spose, other than to point out to everyone getting a bit hot headed that everyone's got opinions and there's allways going to be someone who's not happy with something.