You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Focus

Old 01-08-2013, 09:40 AM   #1261

Default Re: New Focus ST Info thread.

Way your going Phil you will pass me with kms and I've had mine longer
DJM83 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2013, 10:21 AM   #1262
Michelle 333

Still going wow, wow, wow! Drove to work through middle of Hobart. I traded a 2012 Focus Trend Auto on the ST. I was getting around 7.5 on city runs in the Trend. The ST settled in at around 6.8, except for one little burst up a hill which took it back up to 7.0. So better fuel economy in the ST. Very happy. And it looks good sitting in the car park as I look out my window lol.
Michelle 333 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2013, 10:39 AM   #1263
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Way your going Phil you will pass me with kms and I've had mine longer
Hahha mate yeah I love it mate, can't stop driving it!

New Build Thread! http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11396029

Old BF Falcon Build Thread - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11317452
phil545 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2013, 11:13 AM   #1264

re fuel econ.
I havnt reset my average fuel since I've had mine 6700~kms
Old 01-08-2013, 11:41 AM   #1265
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 

Originally Posted by Michelle 333 View Post
Still going wow, wow, wow! Drove to work through middle of Hobart. I traded a 2012 Focus Trend Auto on the ST. I was getting around 7.5 on city runs in the Trend. The ST settled in at around 6.8, except for one little burst up a hill which took it back up to 7.0. So better fuel economy in the ST. Very happy. And it looks good sitting in the car park as I look out my window lol.
Shows how much of a difference not having the cheapo ford dsg makes.
Headlights don't work in your B Series? Here's how to fix it!
martinijosh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2013, 07:15 PM   #1266
gassed250

Originally Posted by WILDB View Post
Mine's averaged mid to high 8's from new - I've got 12,000km on it now so I'd say it's as settled as it will get. Still very impressed with the economy these can achieve.
mine is coming up for its 15000 service and at the moment im getting 8.2 but I think it will go to 8.1 soon
Old 01-08-2013, 09:22 PM   #1267
Camelicious

Originally Posted by MKE13 View Post
I have found with the more KM's the better the fuel economy. Drove to the V8's last Saturday and sat on about 7.6L-7.8L the whole way, all highway driving....

Getting some KM's up on it now as my other half drives a bit of a distance to and from work, kinda surprised how the KM's creep up.......

Anyone done a tyre rotation yet? What intervals are recommended?
Yep I got a tyre rotation with my 15,000 km service. The steering's much nicer again, not so twitchy.
Camelicious is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2013, 09:29 PM   #1268
Camelicious

Originally Posted by Camelicious View Post
Yep I got a tyre rotation with my 15,000 km service. The steering's much nicer again, not so twitchy.
Oh and I just checked, I'm getting 8.3 l/100 km around Canberra over the life of the car, generally pretty gentle driving. As low as 7.3, and as high as 9.1.

Here's a question: Is there any way to make it so the instrument lights only come on when the headlights turn on? I don't like forgetting to put the headlights on, but I don't notice they're off when starting in a well-lit carpark at night sometimes. If I can't see the speedo then I know there's something amiss...
Camelicious is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2013, 09:35 PM   #1269
gassed250

Just leave the lights on auto
Old 01-08-2013, 11:05 PM   #1270
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Agreed, auto is the way to go, however the auto wipers i gave up on, they wouldn't work properly when it was raining lol!

Old BF Falcon Build Thread - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11317452
Old 01-08-2013, 11:08 PM   #1271
WILDB

The auto wipers can be a hit and miss affair, however if you fiddle around with the sensitivity (the control which would normally be your variable intermittent setting) they can work quite well. Not so well that I would personally leave them in auto all the time, but well enough that you can set and forget once it starts raining.
WILDB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-08-2013, 11:11 PM   #1272
hugoti

Agreed on using the sensitivity settings when using auto wipers. Seems to work better leaving it on auto and just adjusting the setting.
hugoti is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-08-2013, 08:14 AM   #1273
phil545
Hot Hatch!

Yeah i have fiddled with that numerous times. its alright when its full on raining but i found when its not quite coming down properly sometimes it wouldnt swish across even though the screen was full of water lol

Old 02-08-2013, 08:59 AM   #1274
chrisorm

Am I winning? Just topped 20,000km

Which leads me to my question - it's coming up with a message like "reminder: engine oil change due". It started yesterday, I think it's date based as the car was made in August. Anybody can save me a call to the dealer and know how to reset this? It's only been 5000kms since service.
chrisorm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-08-2013, 09:10 AM   #1275
pajoda

Phil, who did your resonator removal if you don't mind me asking?

edit - strike that, should have read your build thread here

Last edited by pajoda; 02-08-2013 at 09:17 AM.
pajoda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-08-2013, 07:08 PM   #1276
phil545
Hot Hatch!

:-) no worries mate, any shop could do it though

chrisorm - ford should have reset it so it goes off at 30km, ring em up!

Old 02-08-2013, 07:35 PM   #1277
Mulga

I'm looking to change the colour of the stock wheels to black.....could someone from the sydney area point me in the direction of a business that can do this type of work. Obviously looking for a referral to a someone that does quality work.

Thx
Mulga is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-08-2013, 07:43 PM   #1278
NanoDuke

Like this?

Check the build thread of the fella above you ;)
NanoDuke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-08-2013, 09:24 PM   #1279
WILDB

Originally Posted by chrisorm View Post
Am I winning just topped 20,000km

Which leads me to my question - it's coming up with a message like "reminder: engine oil change due". It started yesterday, I think it's date based as the car was made in August. Anybody can save me a call to the dealer and know how to reset this? It's only been 5000kms since service.
Its because the car has a 20k service interval in Europe and it doesn't get adjusted for other markets - the solution is dead simple:

Push the power button without your foot on the clutch (turn it into on/accessories in other words).

Hold your foot flat to the floor on the accelerator and as hard as you can on the brake simultaneously - a message will come up on the display letting you know the service reminder has been reset, push ok to close this.

All sorted.
Old 02-08-2013, 10:42 PM   #1280
gassed250

Filled up today
Old 03-08-2013, 10:02 AM   #1281
WILDB

I once had this:

I also got 800km out of a tank from mine with pure highway driving, I was pretty stoked with that - although there was only about 3L left in the tank.... :S
Old 03-08-2013, 01:18 PM   #1282
MKE13

^Thats awesome!

So I got one of these AutoBrite Snow Foam Lance's for my Karcher.......Works a treat!!!! Makes cleaning with a Microfibre less of an effort..

If you havent seen one check the link below, highly recommend it!!!

http://www.carcareproducts.com.au/pr...now_foam_lance

PREVIOUS RIDE - 2002 FORD FALCON AU SERIES III XR8 TICKFORD BLUEPRINT BLUE SEDAN....
MKE13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-08-2013, 06:34 PM   #1283
aratic

Originally Posted by MKE13 View Post
So I got one of these AutoBrite Snow Foam Lance's for my Karcher.......Works a treat!!!! Makes cleaning with a Microfibre less of an effort..
Yeah Ive got one as well. Used it a few times but the novelty has worn off a bit as it adds about half an hour to the washing process. The snow foam doesnt magically remove all grime either, atleast not on a white car
Old 03-08-2013, 06:38 PM   #1284
aratic

On another note I installed the e-Focus mount today. Such a simple job and it has reduced the shift bang to an acceptable level with no noticeable NVH
Old 03-08-2013, 06:50 PM   #1285
MKE13

Mmm yeah mine was pretty dirty and it mad the job a lot easier after I gave it a good hit with the Karcher...

Interested in doing this mount change over, Im disgusted in that noise......

PREVIOUS RIDE - 2002 FORD FALCON AU SERIES III XR8 TICKFORD BLUEPRINT BLUE SEDAN....
MKE13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-08-2013, 09:19 AM   #1286
aratic

Is anyone in Brisbane interested in a Triple R Composites splitter? Im probably going to order one in the next few weeks and have found out that to ship 2 splitters costs the same as shipping one.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?...8667911&type=1

Cost would be around $200 each shipped. PM me if you'd prefer
Old 04-08-2013, 09:53 AM   #1287

I might be but i dunno how it would go getting into my driveway. I have a mate with one fitted if you can hold out until i can get him to have a go at my driveway and it will get up ill prob take you up on that offer.

Edit he is pulling his off to repair it so im wondering if i just go for it

Last edited by DJM83; 04-08-2013 at 10:02 AM.
Old 04-08-2013, 10:18 AM   #1288

My mate is going to measure some gaps and ill do the same in my driveway but i reckon if im careful (which i always am it will be good. Ill confirm during the week.
Old 04-08-2013, 10:55 AM   #1289
WILDB

It's just a shame I've had some bad luck with mine, otherwise I'd happily drop by DJ.

I might paint it a metallic black once I've fixed it....?
Old 04-08-2013, 11:14 AM   #1290

Gee doesn't look too promising in my driveway I might have to wait until someone can have a go at getting up my driveway