Old 10-03-2011, 08:00 PM   #121
irish2

Yeah, you might try and stop but your non power assisted drum brakes and cross-ply tyres won't pull you up in time.

Stopping distance 2001 ford focus 1.8l 100-0 in 147 feet.
Stopping distance 1965 ford mustang 4 wheel drums with no power assist 96-0 143 feet.
Old 10-03-2011, 08:16 PM   #122

Meh bubble wrap society. The laws have been implemented for a while now and have they achieved anything?

I drove a WRX on my P plates and it never did me any harm, in fact my car was and is much safer than what most P platers get around in
Old 10-03-2011, 08:48 PM   #123
buggo
[BU66OS]

Originally Posted by au3xr6
you think they are stupid? they would remember the majority of banned cars fairly quickly and P platers are not supposed to drive modified (performance) vehicles either or at least that is the case in NSW
I never said they were stupid. Far from it.
They would remember the majority, yes, especially all Falcons/ Commodores. But it's those 'iffy' cars that aren't as common, like old Japanese turbo's or something, as an example. Or any grey/ black imports which aren't on the list because they were never sold here. Who's to say they can't just up the boost through a tune, and alot of people don't pay attention to the 'can't modify' rule. How many guys have an exhaust and intake on the Falcon or Commodore? Alot.
Just my opinion

BA XR8 Manual
Old 10-03-2011, 08:53 PM   #124

Originally Posted by irish2

Stopping distance 2001 ford focus 1.8l 100-0 in 147 feet.
Stopping distance 1965 ford mustang 4 wheel drums with no power assist 96-0 143 feet.
Well, the Mustang is lighter than a 2001 Focus by about 50kg. Mines not a 2001 model either, its a 2010 which is heavier even still.

I'd like someone here with a 1960/70s car to see how long it takes them to go from 100km/h to complete stop.
Old 10-03-2011, 09:02 PM   #125

Originally Posted by buggo_gt
I never said they were stupid. Far from it.
They would remember the majority, yes, especially all Falcons/ Commodores. But it's those 'iffy' cars that aren't as common, like old Japanese turbo's or something, as an example. Or any grey/ black imports which aren't on the list because they were never sold here. Who's to say they can't just up the boost through a tune, and alot of people don't pay attention to the 'can't modify' rule. How many guys have an exhaust and intake on the Falcon or Commodore? Alot.
Just my opinion
Being a P plater as you are yourself i'm assuming by your avatar, how many P platers do you see getting around in those "iffy" cars mate?

I don't know any P platers that drive around in grey/black imports and you'd have to agree if they were never sold here then what are the chances that a P plater would be able to source and afford one to drive around in Aus?

I'm not to familiar with jap crap or anything that relates to it, but it isn't my job to be. If a power to weight formula was introduced regarding driving high powered vehicles whilst on P plates you can guarantee that being there job, the police would be on top of what's what. They'd have to be.
Old 10-03-2011, 09:45 PM   #126
buggo
[BU66OS]

Originally Posted by 8-WORKN
Being a P plater as you are yourself i'm assuming by your avatar, how many P platers do you see getting around in those "iffy" cars mate?

I don't know any P platers that drive around in grey/black imports and you'd have to agree if they were never sold here then what are the chances that a P plater would be able to source and afford one to drive around in Aus?

I'm not to familiar with jap crap or anything that relates to it, but it isn't my job to be. If a power to weight formula was introduced regarding driving high powered vehicles whilst on P plates you can guarantee that being there job, the police would be on top of what's what. They'd have to be.
Yeah I see your point mate, but I know a few p-platers that have some imports like Supra's, some skylines and silvia's etc. These are all quick cars off the bat. Add a big turbo and they can do 12's easy.
If Jonny Falcodore sees his mate in a 200sx thats smokes everything, I'm sure if he could he'd try and do the same, and the system grows.
But regardless, yes the police would be all over them, and most p-platers wouldn't be able to fund them anyway.

And to get on topic- No I don't think p-platers should be in V8's, just buy a 6 nd wait.

BA XR8 Manual
Old 10-03-2011, 11:07 PM   #127
irish2

Well, the Mustang is lighter than a 2001 Focus by about 50kg. Mines not a 2001 model either, its a 2010 which is heavier even still.

I'd like someone here with a 1960/70s car to see how long it takes them to go from 100km/h to complete stop.
Achieving this on the street is not easy. Not many places you can do 100km/h and stand on the picks without someone running into you!
Old 10-03-2011, 11:11 PM   #128
drew`SEVNT5

Quote of the century has to be from this morning on Ch 9 when an interviewee who specialised in adolescence stated:

Teenagers' brains are still developing so basically the are just not right in the head.

Not that there is any evidence of this on AFF..........

I wouldn't just limit that to those of teenage years....

Plenty of people must still be teenagers at heart (head?)

-2011 Nissan 370z Coupe (6M)-
-2006 Husqvarna SMRR450-
Old 10-03-2011, 11:18 PM   #129

Achieving this on the street is not easy. Not many places you can do 100km/h and stand on the picks without someone running into you!
I am going to assume you live somewhere like Sydney.
Old 10-03-2011, 11:25 PM   #130

My first car was my 2009 WS Fiesta I bought in.... 2009, I was 17 and I saved up through working since I was 15. Most P platers could afford $12K no problems if they stopped blowing 90% of their cash on illicit drugs, alcohol and smokes.

Would I rather be seen in a Suzuki Alto over a 70s car? Yes, if I was in that 70s car driving home from work you'd probably be reading about the deaths of two kids when I had my accident, and everyone would be up in arms P PLATE LAWS BLAH BLAH BLAH.

I used to like old cars, then I escaped serious injury thanks to a new safe car. I don't give a rats *** about looking cool, its better to be payed out on for driving a new small safe car, then to be looking cool before you died in the accident.
So how did you crash by the way?
Old 10-03-2011, 11:33 PM   #131

LOL, you can tell the city folk
Old 10-03-2011, 11:35 PM   #132
irish2

Well if you do it on country roads you probably won't get a good reading either with the loose and or pot holed surfaces everywhere.
Old 11-03-2011, 06:35 AM   #133

Well if you do it on country roads you probably won't get a good reading either with the loose and or pot holed surfaces everywhere.
I live in middle of Newcastle and the inner city bypass right near my house is a great quality road that you would have no problems doing a 100kmh brake test at night. Hell it's Newcastle, you could do it during parts of the day too
Old 11-03-2011, 10:29 AM   #134

I'd like someone here with a 1960/70s car to see how long it takes them to go from 100 km/h to complete stop.
I've got a '68 Beetle convertible. If I ever get brave enough to get it up to 100 I'll give it a go
Old 11-03-2011, 11:36 AM   #135

I have an XB sedan with 4 wheel discs and an AU wagon...
I can safely say the XB (XF calipers on front) takes more to slow down then my wagon if you were jump on the anchors.

Old 11-03-2011, 11:49 AM   #136
|Nate

I'm a P-Plater and I agree with some of the arguments presented on this thread.

ALL I had to spend was $3000 for my first car and I bought it not to long ago, (1992 EB II Falcon GLi) it's a damn good car with a almost brand new ed xr6 Long motor and other nice things.
I didn't have more because I coulnd't afford more, I barely can work because of uni and previously, year 12, and the money I did have, WASN'T spent on Drugs, booze or ciggies.
I have never smoked or done any illicit drugs in my entire 18 years on this planet, and never spend my own money on alcohol, yet alone drink maybe 1 or 2 beers every couple of months or so.

Yes I could've bought a smaller Excel or whatever, but I wanted a car that I can hop in everyday, and bring a smile to my face, because lets face it, we spend half our time driving, and half our time living, if you don't have a car you are proud to own, whether it be a Commodore (Sorry Strongly opinionated AFF members) or a Nissan Micra, then you are depressing yourself!

Anyway -> I agree with the Power to Weight Ratio, perfectly reasonable policy that enables inexperienced drivers to start somewhat on a lower level.
I do NOT agree with banning all V8's, I mean, I do not need one ever, I can't afford to drive one, but for the other people, like my best mate, who's mum only owns a 2004 Land Rover Discovery V8 is very unfortunate because he isn't allowed to drive it when he gets his P's. If he crashed that, I doubt he would even feel a bump, it has ESC, ABS, tonnes of airbags and all those other goodies.

I also do get very disappointed at the current P-Plate reputation, I understand with some of the seasoned drivers on here that you do see a lot of the glaring Red and Green P's doing stupid crap on the road, but next time you see someone doing that, just feel sorry for them. Because they cannot adhere to the simplest of rules.

Also, to the person whom commented on us only wanting to get to the front of peak hour traffic etc, I do that, I do it safely though, and tell me this, what FULLY licensed driver doesn't do the same? When we have places to be, we like to get there on time, safely. My way is to weave through traffic, ONLY after a brief examination of the current road conditions and my surroundings before moving my car left or right through lanes.

I am obviously inexperienced in ways on the road, but my Nan was a driving instructor for 35 years and she has taught me a lot, I also do know how to drive defensively and get myself out of a dangerous situation, just as good as any experienced driver.

In summary, just because some idiot P-Platers/drivers thinking it's funny to do 180 in a 60 zone get killed, doesn't mean that every other person wants to do that, just feel sorry that their inability to follow the regulations of the road has gotten them killed, because if a Tradie at work forgets to do something related to OH&S and gets killed, doesn't mean ALL tradies are going to do that. (Pretty bad analogy I know, but all I could think of at the present moment)

And to give some light to OP, here in Vic, I was talking to someone at Uni and apparently their friend was allowed to drive some Mercedes Turbo on an exception because it was their recently late mothers car, not sure if it's true but if it is, it'll be one safe car!
Old 11-03-2011, 01:12 PM   #137

Good first post mate, and welcome to the forum.

Only one snag:

I am obviously inexperienced in ways on the road, but my Nan was a driving instructor for 35 years and she has taught me a lot, I also do know how to drive defensively and get myself out of a dangerous situation, just as good as any experienced driver.
I'm sorry dude, but it's simply not true. You will continue to get better as you drive. It's a constant learning experience. Just because you may of done a 1 day course one time, doesn't mean you'll instinctively know how to react.. that comes from years of learning.
Old 11-03-2011, 05:22 PM   #138
|Nate

Originally Posted by SgtBourne
Good first post mate, and welcome to the forum.

Only one snag:

I'm sorry dude, but it's simply not true. You will continue to get better as you drive. It's a constant learning experience. Just because you may of done a 1 day course one time, doesn't mean you'll instinctively know how to react.. that comes from years of learning.
Thank you! I've been reading a lot of threads on here for a month or two but decided to post today :P
Yeah I know what you mean, it sort of came out wrong, I wasn't intending to come off as over confident, I've just been in way too many hairy situations driving to the city and around so I have a beginning instinct on how to react (:
I really do look forward to actually passing my P's and being able to experience large v8's and ridiculous turbos etc, but I'll save the enjoyment for the track
Old 11-03-2011, 05:34 PM   #139

So how did you crash by the way?
Another kid had pulled into the emergency lane and went into the grass with his front of his car facing to the right (road), went to reverse back to tail into the grass some more but had the steering wheel the wrong way still and he punched it in reverse and come out across the freeway in front of me and I t-boned him at about 90km/h. Looking back, the timing was epic, he came out in front of me probably 30m before impact. By the time I reacted I hit him. ABS didn't even have time to react like it usually does, wheels lock for a split second then unlock, left a skidmark right up to the impact (none in my jocks though, happy about that LOL).

We're both happy we're alive without serious injury, had it been head on or I swerved the other way and hit the trees we'd both be dead no doubt.

5Km/h faster and he would have come out behind me I reckon.

My car had 847km on the clock too lol.

Then again today something similar nearly happened on the same freakin' road going home, someone decided to go from emergency lane and u-turn onto the grass onto the other side of the freeway, the on coming traffic just missed t-boning them by a bees dick. Speed kills, but u-turns across freeways don't must be the logic here.

On the whole old cars thing, Dad's old EA, we where going down Mt Macedon and the pedal dropped to the floor, oops.

Last edited by Franco Cozzo; 11-03-2011 at 05:48 PM.
Old 11-03-2011, 05:54 PM   #140

Originally Posted by zxctive
Also, to the person whom commented on us only wanting to get to the front of peak hour traffic etc, I do that, I do it safely though, and tell me this, what FULLY licensed driver doesn't do the same? When we have places to be, we like to get there on time, safely. My way is to weave through traffic, ONLY after a brief examination of the current road conditions and my surroundings before moving my car left or right through lanes.
20 years of driving on Sydney roads in peak hour traffic has taught me that trying to weave through it;

a) causes accidents.

b) raises your stress levels.

c) annoys other road users.

d) causes the flow of traffic to slow even more.

e) rarely gets you to your destination faster.

If I had a dollar for every clown I've passed who has spent the last 4kms continually changing lanes while I stayed in a single lane, I'd be able to retire.

It certainly isn't confined to P platers though, plenty of full licenced drivers also engage in it.
Old 11-03-2011, 07:12 PM   #141
irish2

On the whole old cars thing, Dad's old EA, we where going down Mt Macedon and the pedal dropped to the floor, oops.

Using a poorly maintained car and lumping it with "old cars" is just silly. Also it is common sense to be engine braking on a large decent, or you will boil the brake fluid in almost any car.
Old 11-03-2011, 07:17 PM   #142

Using a poorly maintained car and lumping it with "old cars" is just silly. Also it is common sense to be engine braking on a large decent, or you will boil the brake fluid in almost any car.
How do you know it was poorly maintained? I mentioned "Dad's old EA". It is an old car, 1988 was a long time ago.

I used my brakes on my Fiesta going up and down the same mountain, no issues. Modern cars also use DOT4 instead of the old DOT3 which has a lower boiling point.

Last edited by Franco Cozzo; 11-03-2011 at 07:24 PM.
Old 11-03-2011, 07:37 PM   #143

there is an easy solution to the power to weight problem any car that does not comply with P plate restrictions would have a madatory label on the number plate ( like the LPG diamond ) it would only take 12 months to fully implement as it could be part of the re registration process. P plates and label = pull over driver , with label would be on all non complying cars not just those belonging to P platers
this would remove any grey area for the police and remove any ignorance pleas from drivers. after the 12 month phase in period any car with the lable missing would get booked

Old 11-03-2011, 07:46 PM   #144

I don't think all the fully licensed drivers would like a sticker on there number plate just to show the police that a P plater can't drive it.

My suggestion is have all the cars illegal to drive by P platers in a database the police can look at in there vehicles. Now in saying this there probably not going to get every single car made by every single company, but atleast all the well known ones.
Old 11-03-2011, 07:48 PM   #145

I got a good idea, anything with a power to weight ratio of 120KW/Tonne comes under a separate license category, want to drive something powerful? Sit the test, for everyone.

Hot damn, *flame suit on*.
Old 11-03-2011, 08:00 PM   #146

this idea also has merit
I got a good idea, anything with a power to weight ratio of 120KW/Tonne comes under a separate license category, want to drive something powerful? Sit the test, for everyone.

some people don't like having LPG stickers on their number plates but they do it because it's the law this would be the same we are not talking a great big sticker just something small like the LPG one, it might even become a status symbol " my car is too fast for P platers to drive and has the label to prove it"
I don't think all the fully licensed drivers would like a sticker on there number plate just to show the police that a P plater can't drive it.

My suggestion is have all the cars illegal to drive by P platers in a database the police can look at in there vehicles. Now in saying this there probably not going to get every single car made by every single company, but atleast all the well known ones.

Old 11-03-2011, 08:11 PM   #147
irish2

How do you know it was poorly maintained? I mentioned "Dad's old EA". It is an old car, 1988 was a long time ago.

I used my brakes on my Fiesta going up and down the same mountain, no issues. Modern cars also use DOT4 instead of the old DOT3 which has a lower boiling point.
Well a car is poorly maintained when a sealed hydralic system loses pressure. DOT3 or 4 are no different after about a year in the system anyway. Brake fluid is hydroscopic and and the boiling point drops very quickly once it is in the car.
Old 11-03-2011, 08:29 PM   #148

Another kid had pulled into the emergency lane and went into the grass with his front of his car facing to the right (road), went to reverse back to tail into the grass some more but had the steering wheel the wrong way still and he punched it in reverse and come out across the freeway in front of me and I t-boned him at about 90km/h. Looking back, the timing was epic, he came out in front of me probably 30m before impact. By the time I reacted I hit him. ABS didn't even have time to react like it usually does, wheels lock for a split second then unlock, left a skidmark right up to the impact (none in my jocks though, happy about that LOL).

We're both happy we're alive without serious injury, had it been head on or I swerved the other way and hit the trees we'd both be dead no doubt.

5Km/h faster and he would have come out behind me I reckon.

My car had 847km on the clock too lol.

Then again today something similar nearly happened on the same freakin' road going home, someone decided to go from emergency lane and u-turn onto the grass onto the other side of the freeway, the on coming traffic just missed t-boning them by
a bees dick. Speed kills, but u-turns across freeways don't must be the logic here.

That sounds pretty bad but i have never heard of a car reversing onto a freeway causing an accident before. So I'd risk owning an old car and driving sensibly for recreation.

Ok so I know turbo diesels are exempted on nsw p plate laws. But are V8 diesels exempt?
Old 11-03-2011, 09:06 PM   #149

Good thinking, but when you say everyone you're talking about P platers sitting the test correct? Or incorporating it in the Full Licence test when the Probationary period is over?
Old 11-03-2011, 10:36 PM   #150

That sounds pretty bad but i have never heard of a car reversing onto a freeway causing an accident before. So I'd risk owning an old car and driving sensibly for recreation.

Ok so I know turbo diesels are exempted on nsw p plate laws. But are V8 diesels exempt?
Either had I until I was sitting in the middle of the freeway with the airbags deployed, the car full of powder and smoke, a bad taste in my mouth and the front of my car back to the passenger door.

I'm not sure in NSW but in Victoria anything 8 cylinder is banned including diesel, I remember vageuly in another state they showed that a V12TD Audi was OK to drive, not sure if it was NSW.

Good thinking, but when you say everyone you're talking about P platers sitting the test correct? Or incorporating it in the Full Licence test when the Probationary period is over?
Yeah it would include P platers, it could be changed to full licensed drivers but you're pretty much back in square 1 in the current system when you get someone who overnight turns in to an experienced driver with the ability to drive anything because their Ps ended at 12AM, they've never driven anything powerful and over the last 4 years on P plates they've been building up a 500KW monster in the shed they can now suddenly legally drive, or buys an F6 and comes out of a Ford Festiva.