You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 20-03-2010, 06:57 PM   #121
schultzie
Just Images

lets get a cruise happening for good friday! more people the better
Old 20-03-2010, 06:58 PM   #122

Well possibly a good idea may be for members of this forum and/or associated clubs to go down there and give them a hand to clean up.

As it is Melbourne the Melbournite members would probably be the only ones who could attend.

As for me, if there can be an official AFF fund to help the BJTM owner cover anything that is not covered by insurance I will kick it off with $100.
Old 20-03-2010, 07:05 PM   #123

Well possibly a good idea may be for members of this forum and/or associated clubs to go down there and give them a hand to clean up.

As it is Melbourne the Melbournite members would probably be the only ones who could attend.

As for me, if there can be an official AFF fund to help the BJTM owner cover anything that is not covered by insurance I will kick it off with $100.
I was thinking a cruise, raise some coin the give it to the owner. If not ill put in aswell
Old 20-03-2010, 07:08 PM   #124

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

See channel 7 news, the young interviewed?
His comment err Our Easter Nats is like equivalent to world cup soccer..

Old 20-03-2010, 07:11 PM   #125
SNB05T
Dan Brown Photography

i'll help anyone in nsw organising a cruise too.

what those idiots have done is pathetic. : by all means have a winge but do it the right way yeah.

EDIT: i'm running a cruise to shellharbour in April, we could do this then if anyone's keen.
Old 20-03-2010, 07:14 PM   #126

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Originally Posted by SpoolMan
See channel 7 news, the young interviewed?
His comment err Our Easter Nats is like equivalent to world cup soccer..

Seems a fitting description looking at the Hooligans last night.
Old 20-03-2010, 07:24 PM   #127
xdc351
X-Series Club Moderator

Damn, glad I didn't go!

I had a feeling something like this would happen.... still a terrible outcome. It should be noted that the protest was started with the best intentions and there should have been a much larger police presence to keep the morons from rioting.

Having said that, it was inevitable that tensions were going to boil over somewhere, sometime. Cars and motorsport are something people get very passionate about and nothing but roadblocks have been created for years when it comes to car festivals. Not everyone has the common sense to deal with it rationally.

My concern is the media beatup that is sure to follow. There is no doubt that modified car owners will feel the brunt of a stupid few... over the top, knee jerk reactions are the only thing this government and police force are good at.
Old 20-03-2010, 07:29 PM   #128
jcxr
Tribal Elder

Originally Posted by bowershed
Pity You Dont Live In The Best Part Of Australia Cairns We Are Getting A Full Noise Drag Strip Of International Standards Just Got Approved On Tablelands Beats Going Through Muchilba Doing 100mph Like The Good Old Days Yee Haa
PlEasE ExPlaIne????
Old 20-03-2010, 07:32 PM   #129
jcxr
Tribal Elder

Originally Posted by Pinkbits
I realise it is short notice, but we may be able to organise an AFF charity Good Friday cruise & show and shine somewhere. (along the lines of our Flowerdale cruise) Although the events of last night won't make securing a site easy.
I reckon, just let the doo doo settle, and then have a rally, albeit a sensible one, anyone driving a modified vehicle may get a bit of a shellacin' for the next few weeks.
Old 20-03-2010, 07:33 PM   #130

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Hope the morons taking part in the rioting (as I'm sure there were people who actually wanted to protest peacefully) "power slide" their cars into a pole. Sick of these bogans ruining the reputation of real car enthusiasts.
Old 20-03-2010, 07:50 PM   #131
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

I spoke to them today and offered to help clean up, but they’re not allowed to touch anything until Monday.

I guess that there’s a lot of prints to be lifted.
Old 20-03-2010, 07:59 PM   #132
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

Originally Posted by Full Noise
I spoke to them today and offered to help clean up, but they’re not allowed to touch anything until Monday.

I guess that there’s a lot of prints to be lifted.

They would allready have most on file from the noble park incident
Old 20-03-2010, 08:01 PM   #133
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by xdc351
It should be noted that the protest was started with the best intentions and there should have been a much larger police presence to keep the morons from rioting..
What is there to gain by protesting outside the front of an independent franchise on a Friday night?
Originally Posted by xdc351
My concern is the media beatup that is sure to follow. There is no doubt that modified car owners will feel the brunt of a stupid few... over the top, knee jerk reactions are the only thing this government and police force are good at.
Yep, these morons have given the government, police and media all the ammunition they need. Law and order is a big election issue and you can damn well be sure that they will milk this for everything it’s worth.

What would you do if you were a politician trying to get elected or re elected?
Old 20-03-2010, 08:08 PM   #134

What would you do if you were a politician trying to get elected or re elected?
Thats a tough question indeed as you cant make everyone happy. But giving genuine car enthusiasts somewhere to 'hone their skills' so to speak.
Old 20-03-2010, 08:12 PM   #135
Melz

Hope the morons taking part in the rioting (as I'm sure there were people who actually wanted to protest peacefully) "power slide" their cars into a pole. Sick of these bogans ruining the reputation of real car enthusiasts.
As good as idea that sounds, I wouldn't want that to happen for the innocent people who will be involved in the clean up of the aftermath.. there is enough of that already don't burden them more
Old 20-03-2010, 08:22 PM   #136
xdc351
X-Series Club Moderator

What is there to gain by protesting outside the front of an independent franchise on a Friday night?
Only the morons were protesting at the Bob Janes. There were genuine fans out the front of the KFC across the road trying to get signatures to keep the event alive.

Don't get me wrong I'm not trying to condone the stupidity that was shown last night. It would have been better if they'd picked a more meaningful location, but as has been pointed out the police station is a stones throw away and what were they doing when all this went down?

I think if the newpapers had have reported "Thousands of people attend peacefull Easternats cancallation protest" it would have been hailed a victory. Too bad for all of us.
Old 20-03-2010, 09:08 PM   #137
CFOUR
The Destroyer

the "protesters"(used loosely) look like the vn dunnydoor/nisan silvia crew to me. seems the riot involved the events potential spectators as apposed to the people whom would have participated.
Old 20-03-2010, 09:10 PM   #138

Originally Posted by CFOUR
the "protesters"(used loosely) look like the vn dunnydoor/nisan silvia crew to me. seems the riot involved the events potential spectators as apposed to the people whom would have participated.

I dont know how you can tell what people drive just by the look of them.
By the way, its already been stated there were just as many falcons there as anything else.
Old 20-03-2010, 09:29 PM   #139
cosmo20btt
Fordaholic

Er... glad to see some people on here in support of rioters.

The truth? So a bunch of ************** at 11.30 AT NIGHT rioting in the street should be reported as a protest?
I beg to differ.... It was a riot and had NOTHING TO DO WITH EASTERNATS.

Brain dead morons trashing things at NIGHT is NOT A PROTEST.

This is NOT how you get your point across.... at 11.30 at night because your TOO GUTLESS to be seen in broad daylight and TOO STUPID TO ORGANISE a proper protest.

This is an EXCUSE to riot and cause mayhem.
I was not supporting them I was trying to point out that when ever anything goes wrong the media is the first to point the finger at people that are car enthusiasts, may be I should have pointed that out better.
Old 20-03-2010, 09:32 PM   #140
DABOSS
BA Black Edition

These people should be locked away for a long time, As for the damage most if not all will be covered by the insurance company as long as its not a staged event. ie someone that you know of hired to damage the store and cause the damage.
Old 20-03-2010, 09:36 PM   #141
stera

Great idea Flappist!
Maybe you could look at also doing some form of deal with him, on a weekend before a cruise - Members heading down for any new tyres, etc.
Old 20-03-2010, 09:40 PM   #142

Originally Posted by cosmo20btt
I was not supporting them I was trying to point out that when ever anything goes wrong the media is the first to point the finger at people that are car enthusiasts, may be I should have pointed that out better.
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/...highway-report
it seems to me that this from nine msn is not putting down car enthusiasts. it seems to know the difference between car enthusiasts and the boof heads
Old 20-03-2010, 09:52 PM   #143
fakegt

I live a couple of hunded metres from the Oakleigh T Mart, I sat out on the front Verandah looking at the Police Chopper, it was up there for around 45 minutes I suppose, and it was that loud you could'nt even think of sleeping, I thought someone must have robbed the Servo and a manhunt was on.
What a suprise I got on the 7am news when I saw what happened, I still cant believe what went on in my sleepy little neighbourhood.
I'd like to see these "legends" get put in Stocks in Fed Square for a week and the general public could pelt them with rotten fruit and dog ********, like they did in ye olde days!
Badly organised, poorly researched attempt at a protest.The people who put this on need to take a good look at themselves and ask "What were we thinking"
Whatever the reasons for cancelling the event the parties involved will be breathing a sigh of relief that they did'nt have these people at an event they staged.
Going by this logic the next time my neighbour plays his music a little bit loud, I should organise a gang of morons to protest outside and then smash up JB Hi Fi?

In all the footage I've seen, Not one person in the crowd did anything to stop what everone is calling the 'minority' from trashing the joint. So maybe the minority was really a Majority?
Thank God for mobile phone Video, these guys will at least have a visit from the law.
Dave
Old 20-03-2010, 09:59 PM   #144
Mad Maxine

I would like to see anyone who sent on the supposed text messages advising recipients that there was going to be a planned riot, fined at the very least. This is how all this crap spreads, idiots texting and forwarding ********** like this to their mates. The police are apparently going to be viewing thousands of hours of video captures to identify and catch the worst offenders. I hope they jail every bloody one of them. Rioting is unAustralian. It's not 'cool', or tough, or impressive, it's just brutality and scumbags looking for someone or something to bully and destroy for the fun of it. I despair of this next generation.

MM

1977 XC GS Coupe
Old 20-03-2010, 10:05 PM   #145

Why on earth are some people on here calling this a protest???

Stop linking this to a protest!

This was an excuse to riot, nothing more!

You dont "organise" a protest at 11.30PM !!

This was an organised riot, whith the usual bunch of halfwits wearing hoddies and being cheered on by other halfwits.

This is no different to soccer holigans.

If whoever was collecting so-called signatures at KFC or where ever had half a brain, they wouldve said to come during daylight hours.
No, instead it was 11.30PM so all the little rock spiders could come out from their hiding spots...

STOP CALLING IT A PROTEST GONE WRONG!!!

Old 20-03-2010, 10:06 PM   #146

Originally Posted by Mad Maxine
I would like to see anyone who sent on the supposed text messages advising recipients that there was going to be a planned riot, fined at the very least. This is how all this crap spreads, idiots texting and forwarding ********** like this to their mates. The police are apparently going to be viewing thousands of hours of video captures to identify and catch the worst offenders. I hope they jail every bloody one of them. Rioting is unAustralian. It's not 'cool', or tough, or impressive, it's just brutality and scumbags looking for someone or something to bully and destroy for the fun of it. I despair of this next generation.

MM

Thank you MM !!! Couldnt agree with you more....

Old 20-03-2010, 10:09 PM   #147
jcxr
Tribal Elder

Why doesnt everyone just get on to www.bobjane.com.au and vent there anger.
Old 20-03-2010, 10:18 PM   #148
jcxr
Tribal Elder

Originally Posted by Mad Maxine

MM
You really didnt pay attention at school when they mentioned the Eureka stockade did you. Aussies have rioted before. We have been standing up for our selves for years mate, and we need to now stand up for ourselves again. These bozo's are not drag racers, they are your normal bogan street racers. Bet none of them have even smelt a drag strip.
Old 20-03-2010, 10:26 PM   #149
cosmo20btt
Fordaholic

Originally Posted by gtxb67
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/...highway-report
it seems to me that this from nine msn is not putting down car enthusiasts. it seems to know the difference between car enthusiasts and the boof heads
No it was channel seven that said car hoons.
Old 20-03-2010, 10:28 PM   #150
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by jcxr
You really didnt pay attention at school when they mentioned the Eureka stockade did you. Aussies have rioted before. We have been standing up for our selves for years mate, and we need to now stand up for ourselves again. These bozo's are not drag racers, they are your normal bogan street racers. Bet none of them have even smelt a drag strip.
Hang on. The Eureka Stockade rebellion was about no taxation without representation. It was not a riot. It was a group of blokes in a stockade and the government forces snuck up and opened fire on them.

A little different to last night’s riot.

Also, standing up for your rights is a little different to a riot where senseless individuals are just looking for an excuse to smash up someone else’s property.