You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 27-07-2007, 08:46 AM   #121
HOON69

Originally Posted by 4vxc
would you let your daughter have her own Myspace and use MSN ect if she was 12 - 14 years old. Not being into it I dont really know how secure it is, what do you reckon?
Nope certainly not,in this day and age of the internet anyways.

myspace is a dangerous place if the info falls into the wrong hands

Msn i could handle as i usually have control on whom is accepted to our Msn etc
HOON69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 09:21 AM   #122
Aeron
DJR Fan

would you let your daughter have her own Myspace and use MSN ect if she was 12 - 14 years old. Not being into it I dont really know how secure it is, what do you reckon?
No, because there are people like me with MSN and MySpace.
EC 1:51.283
WP 1:10.190

Me Drifting on the Skid Pan **Video**
Aeron is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 09:39 AM   #123

Originally Posted by falzoony
It's been around since the 80's believe it or not. I done my research. Started in washington dc.

yeah i was listening to an interview from someone..Lol couldn't remember specifics...Just the gist
Old 27-07-2007, 10:55 AM   #124
robbo_yobbo
Kick out tha Jams

If you say no to msn and myspace, you might aswell say no to the internet in general, and for that matter not let her out of the house!

Myspace is realy nothing more than free webspace that lets the user create thier own limited website with its own message board so that people that view the 'space' can interact and comment.
Theres litteraly billions of other ways to publish information about yourself on the net. This ford forums website is just one example of a messageboard where people can share info about themselfs without having to pay for the space.

MSN is nothing more than instant email, or free text messaging. Only even more secure! with email, if you recieve something from someone you dont know, or dont want to hear from, you need to set up a junk mail filter to bin it. Text messages cost money, and you cant block anyone at all, but MSN, you can choose who can and cant make contact with you. Its realy just an extension of hotmail email, and there thousands of other alternatives to MSN aswell.

reality is, your daughter is going to want to socialise with her friends, and while she is not at thier house, she will probably want to be talking to them. If her friends all use MSN, thier not going to wast thousands of dollars on phone calls and TXT when they can talk for free.

The sooner the kids stop being baby'd, the sooner they can grow up. the longer you baby them for, the more naive they will be when you finaly do let them use MSN (ledalone out the house to go to the movies!).

if you dissallow them from using something thats sits there everyday and looks them in thier face, they will consider it unfair, and no doubt, go out of thier way to get around it, and then do something stupid to rub it in your face.

When it comes down to it, its your daughter, but IMO, theres plenty more things in the world to worry about than myspace and MSN
Old 27-07-2007, 11:40 AM   #125

I agree with Robbo - Although i don't have Kids we all have been one at some stage -

I think as parents its your job to train your children(in a sense) with life lessons..Shielding them from every possible danger is futile - If you do your job and keep them on point with information and knowledge they will be aware of situations and avoid them

If a teenager feels the need to take naked pic's for the internet thats not the internet's fault nor is it the person who may be looking at it..There are dirtys pervs everywhere...the net just lets them be discrete

Just for example my Parents tried to shield me from parties and drugs etc etc..Didn't stop me smoking dope till i almost lost it - I learnt the hard way but i guess somtimes when you grow up you have to figure some lesson on your own..For the record i haven't smoked for quite some time and never will again
Old 27-07-2007, 12:08 PM   #126
Poetic Justice
NOT A TOYOTA :/

I reckon it's the lack of trust and communication between yourself and your child if you have to consider blocking this sort of thing.

If a kid is smart enough and doing something they don't want you to know about, they're usually going to be a little more clicky to figure out ways to cover their tracks (Especially if it's something they know their parents dont want them doing.)

MSN in my opinion is fairly harmless, you only speak to those people who know your email address. Teaching your kids to understand what is right and wrong in life is the most important thing in parenthood is it not? It's just that... in the past decade that responsibility has updated to include stuff like your children using the internet. As long as you tell them what is right and what is wrong, and use examples, your kids should be smart enough themselves to know when someone chatting to them isn't really a good thing..

Invading your childs privacy by recording everything they do on the internet.. well I think that's a little over controlling - and if they catch on to it you're going to have hell to pay. I'm a fairly easy going person and understand all of these things today because my parents trusted me with what I was doing.
Old 27-07-2007, 12:32 PM   #127
Ringo
I see you....

If you keep you kids wrapped in cotton wool and apron string they will just rebel harder later on when they are 18.

My little of a brother in law is a walking disaster after being molly coddled his whole life....he can't look after himself now....still needs Mum and he's 21
Ringo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 12:45 PM   #128
CaRtZ
Aspiring mr efxr

i dont have kids but i have always thought 15 is a good base age to let a child start browsing the online communication sites such as myspace. MSN and IM Messenger are fine and i would allow that before 15 but not open stuff that anyone in the world can contact them easily

Standard = 99.6rwkw <!> 2.5" SuperCat cat back exhaust, Wade 1636 cam, K&N boxed pod (new dyno required
Sony headunit, splits, 6.5"s and 2 x 12" with response precision amp = 135.5 dB

Daily = Ae82 '85 corolla Fwd :togo: , 5 speed, 12" sub, 6x9's, green LED's

the course i am studying: http://www.wodonga.tafe.edu.au/01_courses/course.jsp?id=AUR30905NANA
CaRtZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 12:59 PM   #129
[Tonko]

Originally Posted by S3SR
emo = emotional
theyre the ones that dye their hair black, usually have half their face covered with their long hair....some sort of black or dark clothing...sometimes alot of dark coloured make-up as well
Damn, my missus dyes her hair black, its long and she mostly wears dark clothing... And i met her on myspace :togo:
Meh.
Plus, the Emo guys are usually really skinny and wear tight Queer-eye style jeans...
I hate EMO's

Some emo chicks can look alright though.

EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU -

1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps-

[Tonko] is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 01:28 PM   #130
Bucket
XR5 Pilot

Originally Posted by TonkoXR8e
Emo guys are usually really skinny and wear tight Queer-eye style jeans...
A lot of them buy girls Jeans...

Some emo chicks can look alright though.
Damn straight....but they need to keep it simple
Old 27-07-2007, 02:35 PM   #131
Riksta
Captain Malcolm Reynolds

Originally Posted by pecker73
It is estimated that less than 20% of profiles on My Space contain honest and factual information.
Well, I'm proud to say mine's one of that "less than 20%" Everything's honest & truthful on mine, including pics of me being a drunken twat!

I must admit, I have a couple of under-18 guys added on my myspace, but they added me and I do actually know them outside of myspace through the Adelaide LANning community and regularly see them at these events. Plus Nathan & John from here added me after the AU Cruise, I think they're both 17. Its not like everyone out there is out for deviant purposes etc.

well I told her no,not at this stage. Her reaction was similar to the Krakatoa eruption to say the least! Hopefully she will settle down a bit over the next half decade.
Did you explain your reasonings and thoughts behind it (or attempt to), or was it just a blanket "no"?
Riksta likes VN's so much, he has the ashes of a VN in a jar on the mantle piece, a vile of VN engine oil hanging from his neck and a BT1 build plate locked up in a safe, buried under 6ft of concrete.
pretty much what has happened here is i trolled you. and it was fun.
Riksta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 02:39 PM   #132
TEaaron

^ yeah an explination is always needed :p

I remember when I was 12-14 if I was told just no by one of my perents I'd question why and if I didn't get a reason I'd just do it any way.

Such a lovly child.

E32 740iL Leather, sound system, rollin' on 19's
TEaaron is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 02:40 PM   #133
stiddy

My cousin now is 21, all her life she was babied by her mother, not allowed to do this, not allowed to do that, you cant have this, cant have that, be home before 9 or god help me i'll smash ya face in, she was still slap smacked hit punished grounded sent to bed without dinner still at the age of 21.. oh yeah, no msn no myspace no internet unless it was for study, but she still had all that mummy just didnt know. mummy also didnt know she snuck out at night, got drunk, partied hard, kissed and probably alot more with guys.. all to get back at her mum.. where is she now ?? LOL in Hong Kong, and I dont blame her for doing the runner.
My aunt has seen some of the things I do, drink alot, internet alot, eat alot, drive alot, everything her kids arent allowed to do, she even said to me, if you were my son you wouldnt be like this, id belt the out of you blah blah blah, LOL well if you were my mum I would of pushed you down the stairs, but thats beside the point.

If your kids want to use myspace, msn, internet whatever.. let them, ive been using the net heavily since I was 11 im now 23, its funny seeing the types of freaks out there. Keep personal stuff to yourself, dont meet randoms offline and your laughing. Although ive met plenty of randoms offline, some are my best friends today. Just dont give them a reason to go behind your back.
I set my little cousin up, he went up the road to score a free motorbike, after I hit him he couldnt move for a few days.. taught him a good lesson though. Its more importantly about being careful.
If your daughters are careful, dont give out any personal details, they will be fine.

lol worried about the internet, id be more worried about parties, underage drinking and drugs.. oh does that bring back memories.
stiddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 02:47 PM   #134
TEaaron

Lol, true that.

I havn't been to a party that didn't have alcohol since I was 14.

Old 27-07-2007, 02:54 PM   #135
Sick EB
ORSM Ford Cruisers

i am 17 and i use both myspace and msn. i am always on the lookout on myspace but msn i usually know if i have given it to someone i know. ill add them. if i dont know them- block and delete. no harm done.

my sister on the other hand i am keeping a good eye on.

1993 EB2 Gli---->Build Thread
2008 FG XR8 SEDAN 300RWKW N/A

2008 FG XR6 TURBO-UTE>>> SOLD
2002 AU3 XLS UTE>>>SOLD
Sick EB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 03:03 PM   #136
Mark351
Built Ford Tough

My only suggestion is that any parents who do let kids use myspace to tighten it up by making it private so that non-friends are prevented from viewing the profile/blogs/pics/etc. Do not let them put the town where they live in the profile, even it is prrivate. Educate them to remove comments, etc that may allude to their whereabouts. Weirdos can find a lot out without making any actual contact.

Prevent them from doing it, and they're likely to create a hidden profile you don't know about at their friends house one day and that's worse. Better the devil you know.
Mark351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 03:52 PM   #137
TEaaron

LMFAO
http://www.filecabi.net/video/h173738120.html

That's emo.

Old 27-07-2007, 06:54 PM   #138

Msn yes, its fairly safe an can be monitered better than myspace!
Old 27-07-2007, 07:31 PM   #139
Grechie

nothin wrong with msn, however myspace is just, pathetic.
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 - 255/35/19 - 275/35/19
Shockworks Coilovers
PITLANE AUTOMOTIVE & PERFORMANCE
Grechie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-07-2007, 08:18 PM   #140
4vxc

Originally Posted by TEaaron
funniest video I've seen in a while.........you are human, nothing more than human!
4vxc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2007, 01:19 PM   #141
GK
Walking with God

I would say NO to both.

I'm a teacher and see the bullying that takes place on MSN.

Also, Myspace is full of kids giving out way too much info, making it easy for people with wrong motives to prey upon them.

Good old face to face communication is the best for growing healthy friendships IMO.

All the best with your decision.

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2007, 08:31 PM   #142
TEaaron

Originally Posted by GK
I would say NO to both.

I'm a teacher and see the bullying that takes place on MSN.

Also, Myspace is full of kids giving out way too much info, making it easy for people with wrong motives to prey upon them.

Good old face to face communication is the best for growing healthy friendships IMO.

All the best with your decision.

GK
Lmao..
You're concerned of the bullying on msn? and you're a teacher?
Ever patrolled a school yard?

I left school not even 2 years ago.. Throughout my school life i've been bullied and bullied people. I can honestly say that "msn bullying" is NOTHING compared to what happens on the school yard lol.

Old 28-07-2007, 08:37 PM   #143
fordxrtfan

[QUOTE=OpTrader]I agree entirely...
On MSN you can adjust the options to log all conversations in a folder of your choosing and that way you can go in later and check on the content.

QUOTE]

Hi being fairly new to MSN etc but having teenagers that use it, can you tell me how this is done?
Thanks

Winter White
6 Speed Manual, Sunroof, Premium Audio System, Side Airbags, Bluetooth, DVD Satellite Navigation, Reverse Parking Sensor, Ipod/MP3 kit, Tinted windows, Brembos, Enkei RPO3 wheels
Phase 3 kit, installed & tuned by Autotech 332rwkw
!!FOR SALE!!
fordxrtfan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2007, 10:07 PM   #144
El_Poochino

The hole for the outhouse has more substance than myspace.

I'm suprised no one has mentioned www.facebook.com which is basically the same as myspace but dosen't allow html editing (thank god, some myspace pages are ugly) and has a stronger security. No open profiles, anyone who wants to see your profile has to add you to a friend list and you have to approve it.
El_Poochino is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2007, 11:08 PM   #145
jdg
Aussie cars rule!

Personally I think the biggest danger of MSN/Mysace for young people is distraction from important things such as school work, uni, tafe, work etc...

jdg is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2007, 11:19 PM   #146
andrewts
White Car Driver

MSN isn't too serious, if your child is cluey enough they will know not to add anybody without asking who they are afterwards, and deleting them if they don't know them. Also, as for logging conversations, yes it is a good idea, but only to have there, not to sit and read through after every conversation, your children deserve some privacy.

Myspace is not appropriate for ages 0-100+ I'm afraid.
andrewts is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-07-2007, 03:12 AM   #147

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

people should just take control of their own actions. as with anything in life

Old 29-07-2007, 08:25 AM   #148
SHIFTN
CL&JW BATHURST CHAMPS!

I'm 13 and have both. Myspace is private and MSN is not a huge amount of people and most of them are people I know

-SHIFTN

Originally Posted by tx3dude
geeves can you pass the toothpicks please, i have some rice stuck between my teeth.....
Originally Posted by irwley93
Holden made the decision to make thier utes for pretty boys years ago. Wannabe tradesman drive them. If my son came home and told me he bought a holden ute I would struggle to come to grips with the fact he is a homosexual.
SHIFTN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-07-2007, 08:32 AM   #149
Ives

Originally Posted by fordxrtfan
Hi being fairly new to MSN etc but having teenagers that use it, can you tell me how this is done?
Thanks
The hardest part of that is asking your daughter for her password so u can log-on into her account and change some of her settings.

Originally Posted by jdg
Personally I think the biggest danger of MSN/Mysace for young people is distraction from important things such as school work, uni, tafe, work etc...
Good point.
Ives is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-07-2007, 09:09 AM   #150
opium
XR Experiment

Originally Posted by Ives
The hardest part of that is asking your daughter for her password so u can log-on into her account and change some of her settings.

Good point.
We dont ask we just tell her we need the password as part of our conditions of use!!!
opium is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post